Mindjack Xbox 360

Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 26 out of 42
Buy On
  1. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Mar 1, 2011
    74
    You'll feel frustration nearly as much as exhilaration, but the concept shines through. [Apr 2011, p.96]
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    67
    Mindjack is an ingenuous bit of design that belongs in a much better game. With any luck, someone with a more spirited sense for how to build a shooter will steal the idea.
  3. Feb 8, 2011
    60
    If you can look past the lack of polish and horrible graphics, there's a compelling and unique take on cover-based shooters here, along with an interesting lesson on how games deal with plot. It's a rewarding little game, if you can hack it.
  4. Apr 13, 2011
    56
    Don't just skip the cinematics, skip Mindjack altogether. Playing this game made me wish it were as easy to enjoy a crummy videogame as it is a B-movie, but really, Mindjack is worse than that. It's more like a student film.
  5. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 3, 2011
    50
    A short and throwaway campaign, held together with repetitive combat, Mindjack is, just another by-the-numbers shooter to add on top of the pile. [Issue#69, p.89]
  6. Feb 27, 2011
    50
    Interesting ideas like the multiplayer interactions aren't supported by a suitable structure, story and technical execution.
  7. Feb 15, 2011
    50
    I really am a sucker for a decent third person shooter but where MindJack wasn't mediocre, it was downright terrible. An interesting gameplay conceit was brutalized by bad design choices and even worse execution.
  8. Feb 13, 2011
    50
    Mindjack is a bit of a mixed bag. I really like the concept but I hated the execution of the game.
  9. Feb 2, 2011
    50
    A good concept doesn't always evolve into a good game. That's MindJack, an interesting game with good concept, poor controls, bad AI and poor storytelling.
  10. Feb 1, 2011
    50
    With its defining features only partially living up to their potential, it's reduced to a barely average third-person shooter.
  11. Jan 30, 2011
    50
    Mindjack teaches us that a good concept doesn't always evolve into a good game. Square Enix should really think about all the mistakes they've made if they ever want to create a successor.
  12. Jan 27, 2011
    50
    Mindjack's chilling vision of the future is smothered by awkward controls and poor storytelling.
  13. Jan 27, 2011
    50
    Myriad control problems, brain dead AI, and a cringe-worthy storyline make Mindjack a shooter worth skipping.
  14. Jan 25, 2011
    50
    Enemy AI is dim as hell (foes will often run right by you to attack a comrade as you shoot them in the back of the head at point blank range), the wonky cover system often has you shooting bullets into nothingness even when it appears they should be hitting your targets, and there's no way to pause the game.
  15. Jan 25, 2011
    50
    The worst part is that MindJack's implementation of the shooter is so imbalanced and guileless that it actually harms the game.
  16. Jan 24, 2011
    50
    Normally I wouldn't mind graphics that weren't state-of-the-art if they had a unique style to them, but Mindjack's style is just too bland to excuse.
User Score
1.2

Overwhelming dislike- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 34
  2. Negative: 31 out of 34
  1. Feb 28, 2011
    2
    WOW. Never have I seen such a mildly unique game be so brutally raped by terrible producing and awful buggy gameplay. This game looks likeWOW. Never have I seen such a mildly unique game be so brutally raped by terrible producing and awful buggy gameplay. This game looks like crap and plays like crap. A shame as it had some potential. Full Review »
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    0
    THIS GAME SUCKS ASS!!!! How could square enix let thir name be on this. I will give a brief list of why this game sucks ass

    1. An enemy
    THIS GAME SUCKS ASS!!!! How could square enix let thir name be on this. I will give a brief list of why this game sucks ass

    1. An enemy walked up to me and said "Watch out grenade!" even though there wasnt a grenade, after i shot him in the face. HE SAID THE SAME DAMN THING!

    2. One boss repeatedly shot at the ground and wouldnt die until all the other enemies were dead

    3. THE MAIN CHARACTERS DONT KNOW WHAT MINDJACKING IS!!!

    4. you have to earn the right to make teams

    5. The graphics suck donkey balls

    6. I can name hundreds of other games you could be playing right now.

    7. Cover sucks balls

    8. its extremely buggy

    9 and 10: It issnt even worth talking about

    Do not play this game under any circumstances
    Full Review »
  3. May 8, 2012
    0
    Probably the worst game of the generation. I'd rather play fracture then this.