Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.3

Overwhelming dislike- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With this unique action shooter set in 2031, Square Enix continues to expand its portfolio of video games across a wide variety of genres. Drawing upon the graphics and storytelling mastery of both Square Enix and feelplus, MINDJACK offers a distinctive experience that throws players into a revolutionary playing field where an engaging solo campaign transitions seamlessly to thrilling, cooperative multiplayer gameplay. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 26 out of 42
  1. You'll feel frustration nearly as much as exhilaration, but the concept shines through. [Apr 2011, p.96]
  2. Jan 30, 2011
    50
    Mindjack teaches us that a good concept doesn't always evolve into a good game. Square Enix should really think about all the mistakes they've made if they ever want to create a successor.
  3. Feb 27, 2011
    50
    Interesting ideas like the multiplayer interactions aren't supported by a suitable structure, story and technical execution.
  4. Jan 24, 2011
    40
    Cheap science-fiction, lame story and a not-fun gameplay system. We're still wondering why Square Enix wanted to develop an action-paced game without any kind of meaning at all, just a copy & paste of games like Gears of War and Uncharted. Nothing interesting here, better wait for something that's worthy of our attenttion.
  5. Mar 3, 2011
    40
    Feelplus and Square-Enixʼs new try in the shooting genre falls way too short, compared even to the weakest 3rd-person shooters of the last five years.
  6. Feb 9, 2011
    30
    The bottom line is the more I played Mindjack, the more I wanted to stop playing Mindjack. I made it through to the end, but it wasn't without a lot of head-scratching, hair-pulling, and obscenity-laced tirades.
  7. Jan 21, 2011
    20
    Basic, totally generic gameplay.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 28
  2. Negative: 25 out of 28
  1. May 2, 2013
    10
    10/10 come on people. the fun i got out of this frm using it as a frizbee was unbearably enjoyable. i also liked playing the game when i wanted to have a wank Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2013
    4
    MindJack has an excellent concept about its story line, however when the game was released in January 2011, this game is currently panned for the lack of aesthetics, poor enemy AI, and poor control of the character. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2011
    4
    Seems like everything in this game works bad, like hundreds games that just copy and paste ideas of other games without any care.

    The
    multiplayer can be fun, but when you realize that some are better than this, you will wanna get out.
    If you want a good game, move away from here.
    Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    1
    This is maybe the worst game I have ever played and I have played many. The only words that describe this game are broken, Unbalanced and abomination to game kind. This pile of techno-vomit should be shot into the sun were it's evil can be destroyed and never seen again. There is no point in trying to explain the game-play or story because there virtually is none. Do yourself a favour the next time you go the toilet dump mind jack in the toilet, do your business and flush it to the pits of hell. 1/10-Epic Fail. Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2012
    0
    To all of those who would of have given this game a positive review, please get passionately acquainted with some radiation for a looong time. This game is nothing but pure GARBAGE!!!!! The AI, story, gameplay, sound, acting/syncing is all GARBAGE!!!!!! DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!!! Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    this game is the worst piece of ever the graphics, physics, gameplay and music is terrible it feels like im playing a PS1 game. The story doesnt make any sense what so ever it is like the makers have had a meeting and said lets just make a game. Expand
  7. Feb 2, 2013
    0
    THIS GAME SUCKS ASS!!!! How could square enix let thir name be on this. I will give a brief list of why this game sucks ass

    1. An enemy
    walked up to me and said "Watch out grenade!" even though there wasnt a grenade, after i shot him in the face. HE SAID THE SAME DAMN THING!

    2. One boss repeatedly shot at the ground and wouldnt die until all the other enemies were dead

    3. THE MAIN CHARACTERS DONT KNOW WHAT MINDJACKING IS!!!

    4. you have to earn the right to make teams

    5. The graphics suck donkey balls

    6. I can name hundreds of other games you could be playing right now.

    7. Cover sucks balls

    8. its extremely buggy

    9 and 10: It issnt even worth talking about

    Do not play this game under any circumstances
    Expand

See all 28 User Reviews