Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
Buy On
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    70
    Between the challenge of establishing a comfortable existence out of rough-hewn wilderness, the hunger to learn the game's metanarrative, and the opportunity to de-stress from the worries of real life, Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition transformed itself from a dull dirt-digging sim into something challenging, appealing, and far different from what I'd usually spend time with. I never thought I'd become a devotee, but I have to admit that there is greatness here-anyone describing the game as simple creation is massively underselling the concealed complexity of the ultimate design.
  2. May 31, 2012
    70
    A well-made conversion of the incredibly popular PC-game. The lack of features and modes is made up by a great interface, very good controls and the awesome possibility to play four player local co-op.
  3. 70
    As a fan you know what to expect. As a new comer you might be dissapointed that this is based on 1.6.6. This means that there is only survival mode and no realaxing creative mode. Still we know it will propably come along in the form of an update. Awesome splitscreen options make this is sure hit if you got hours to spare juggling building blocks.
  4. May 11, 2012
    70
    Despite the nice multiplayer options, the improved accessibility, and the refined crafting system, the missing elements are a sizable backslide from the PC version. But is the core foundation still a lot of fun? Absolutely--if you temper your expectations.
  5. May 10, 2012
    70
    Chop, mine and build - the world is your canvas with almost endless possibilities for creative minds. A lot of features from the PC-version are missing, but it's still a fantastic game.
  6. May 7, 2012
    70
    The plethora of in-game tips and tutorials make Minecraft far less intimidating to gamers with little time or patience to stumble around blindly looking for the fun, much of the mystery and discovery of the original game has been stripped away by the very things meant to make it more palatable.
  7. 70
    For all the game's possibilities, however, it also feels remarkably sparse at times, with a seemingly limited set of materials, animals, and enemies in the world. Minecraft is naturally a very slow and deliberate experience, but the Xbox 360 Edition is curiously based on a year-old PC beta version, and thus lacks many of the elements seen in the official release and later updates, including new animals, resources, food, enemy actions, and combat mechanics.
  8. 60
    Can kill a couple of hours, but the PC version is far superior.
  9. May 10, 2012
    55
    If Minecraft on the PC is the video game equivelent of LEGO, then Minecraft on XBLA is Duplo. It's a perfect introduction to the game and its experience-but it won't take long for you to outgrow it and want the real thing.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 483 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 177
  1. May 9, 2012
    8
    It's Minecraft, just now on 360. The maps are smaller, it is running on an older version of the game (with updates to be rolled out over time,It's Minecraft, just now on 360. The maps are smaller, it is running on an older version of the game (with updates to be rolled out over time, much like the pc version), and it has ditched dedicated servers in favor of a drop in, drop out system based on the original player's save. It also includes a nice 4-player splitcreen mode, and allows for eight people to play together at any one time. They have also implemented a more intuitive crafting system, allowing the player to easily manage that which he wishes to create, along with the materials needed, doing away a lot of the trial and error that normally comes with crafting. If the changes they made to the game don't bother you, then you are in for a great experience. Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2012
    2
    This version of Minecraft should only be played by those who have not or can not play it on the pc. The game is based on an old version of theThis version of Minecraft should only be played by those who have not or can not play it on the pc. The game is based on an old version of the game, it has no texture packs, mobs spawn during the day as well as inside your house when you try to sleep. Food does not stack, the maps are limited, the time it takes to create and save a map is grossly disappointing, there tends to be considerable lag when playing online, and there is input lag from the controller to the game. The only positive thing I can say is that at least this is a version of the game before hunger was introduced. If you've never played Minecraft before this could be fun, but for the price it should have at least been the first released version of the game. Therefore I say doodoo pie overall. Full Review »
  3. May 9, 2012
    6
    By no means a bad game but the pricing is all wrong 1600msp . I tried the demo enough to get what its about @ 800 point I may have bit , wayBy no means a bad game but the pricing is all wrong 1600msp . I tried the demo enough to get what its about @ 800 point I may have bit , way overpriced . Many many games on XBLA that simply offer more fun and content. Full Review »