Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 484 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. 100
    4J has turned in an accomplished port, boasting crisp, high-resolution visuals and a reorganised inventory...In terms of console sims, nothing touches it. Minecraft's world is one that everybody should experience.
  2. May 8, 2012
    90
    A perfect console porting for the Notch's masterpiece, with the promises of new, free of charge updates.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 13, 2012
    90
    A learning experience of the best kind. [July 2012, p.67]
  4. 80
    The amount of missing features is disappointing, but as a first step this is an excellent console version of one of gaming's most open-ended and creative experiences.
  5. May 22, 2012
    80
    This version is somewhat limited compared to the original, but overall it is a decent adaptation and absolutely obligatory for anyone who has never experienced the game on PC.
  6. May 11, 2012
    80
    Only on the console you'll get basic explanations as well as comfortable crafting without having to read through millions of forum pages. But the pad-explored worlds are limited and not infinite like on the PC with the result of you losing a sense of freedom. It is still fascinating, though.
  7. May 10, 2012
    55
    If Minecraft on the PC is the video game equivelent of LEGO, then Minecraft on XBLA is Duplo. It's a perfect introduction to the game and its experience-but it won't take long for you to outgrow it and want the real thing.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 173
  1. May 16, 2012
    10
    I found it great adaptation. The music is very good and the only thing that could improve the control. I played a bit on PC and the keyboardI found it great adaptation. The music is very good and the only thing that could improve the control. I played a bit on PC and the keyboard is still the best but having Minecraft on the xbox is superb. Really recommended and justified the 1600 MP. Expand
  2. May 12, 2012
    10
    Well guys, this game is just insanly amazing, way to put out! Currently me and a friend need miners to help us, message me on Xbox if you areWell guys, this game is just insanly amazing, way to put out! Currently me and a friend need miners to help us, message me on Xbox if you are willing an we will talk about a reward :) -Hubbs554 Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    I first played minecraft on the pc but once I played it on the 360, the controls and the crafting menu was definitely better. even though youI first played minecraft on the pc but once I played it on the 360, the controls and the crafting menu was definitely better. even though you cant get the same perks as the pc, who cares because when minecraft first came out it was exactly like this and hey the title updates come out fast and they will eventually catch up to the pc at this rate. to anyone who try's to compare to the pc version, shame on you, all because it don't have the same perks as pc, this is an early stage just like when it first came out. sorry it cant be up to date with the latest version on pc. Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    If you are wanting to check out Minecraft for the first time, the Xbox 360 version adds a few new features that make it more user-friendlyIf you are wanting to check out Minecraft for the first time, the Xbox 360 version adds a few new features that make it more user-friendly than its PC counterpart. But at the same time, the 360 version is an older build of the popular PC game with some changes. There are no dedicated servers, some items are unavailable (clay), and a limited map size. At the same time, they offer drop in/drop out play on other players save files.

    The 1600 MSP is cheaper than its PC counterpart ($26.95) but since there are features missing (dedicated servers, some items not available to be crafted, limited map size) its a wash in my opinion. If they decide to update the 360 version to the PC's current version, I would give this a 9.
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2012
    8
    It's Minecraft, just now on 360. The maps are smaller, it is running on an older version of the game (with updates to be rolled out over time,It's Minecraft, just now on 360. The maps are smaller, it is running on an older version of the game (with updates to be rolled out over time, much like the pc version), and it has ditched dedicated servers in favor of a drop in, drop out system based on the original player's save. It also includes a nice 4-player splitcreen mode, and allows for eight people to play together at any one time. They have also implemented a more intuitive crafting system, allowing the player to easily manage that which he wishes to create, along with the materials needed, doing away a lot of the trial and error that normally comes with crafting. If the changes they made to the game don't bother you, then you are in for a great experience. Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2012
    7
    I bought this game for PC not knowing anything about it, but soon fell in love with this masterpiece of a game. I then thought, well if theI bought this game for PC not knowing anything about it, but soon fell in love with this masterpiece of a game. I then thought, well if the game was awesome on PC, it's gotta be awesome on Xbox. So I went out and got some Microsoft points, and bought the game. Now don't get me wrong, Minecraft is a great game, whether it's for PC or 360. But I find the version on 360 is a lot more dulled down and isn't as thrilling as it is on PC. Now I say this because when you use a crafting table, it shows everything that you can build, and how many of something you need and what you need. On PC you had to figure this stuff out and remember it, which I felt made the game just that much more of a challenge and fun. (fun if your friends didn't know how to do it but you did) Minecraft is an awesome game; no doubt, but I think it should only really be played on PC. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    They took minecraft went back a few updates, made terrible controls, made it a really small map, you cant get mods, you cant get texture packsThey took minecraft went back a few updates, made terrible controls, made it a really small map, you cant get mods, you cant get texture packs and its generaly for people that cant afford a good pc. Expand

See all 173 User Reviews