Mirror's Edge Xbox 360

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 339 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 339
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GaryL.
    Feb 10, 2009
    6
    There is a lot to like in this game. The running is a lot of fun and the aesthetic is really nice and all, but I really have a problem with the combat system, which is the focus for the last few chapters, and it is one of the worst combat systems I have played in a game. Awkward, clunky controls, little to no health, no way to know how much ammo you have, weird timing in order to grab aThere is a lot to like in this game. The running is a lot of fun and the aesthetic is really nice and all, but I really have a problem with the combat system, which is the focus for the last few chapters, and it is one of the worst combat systems I have played in a game. Awkward, clunky controls, little to no health, no way to know how much ammo you have, weird timing in order to grab a gun from an enemy, among other problems. I love the running part of this game, but the combat is flat out terrible and should have been left out out. Plus, it is very very short. I would recommend that you play it, if only just to play the fun parts, but it's definitely not one of the best games of '08. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    I liked the game. It may be short but it is good. Also, it's not that easy. It has awesome graphics, great artstyle, it's action-filled. I want to mention, THIS IS NOT A FIRST PERSON SHOOTER!!! It's possibly the only parkour game. There are some bad things in this game - gunfight sucks, it's too linear (wanted to have a free roam, or atleast different routes). It's a good game, butI liked the game. It may be short but it is good. Also, it's not that easy. It has awesome graphics, great artstyle, it's action-filled. I want to mention, THIS IS NOT A FIRST PERSON SHOOTER!!! It's possibly the only parkour game. There are some bad things in this game - gunfight sucks, it's too linear (wanted to have a free roam, or atleast different routes). It's a good game, but totally not worth the full price, you could rent it, it's no more than 10 hours. Expand
  3. JohnPifer
    Feb 22, 2009
    7
    People rip on this game too much. Yes, the story line is not that exciting and the fighting needs a bit of working on. But this game is amazing, I love it! The free-running fad has finally come in to the lime light with a very innovative game. I would have LOVED for this to be a sandbox style game, with a free city to run across.
  4. AndrewS
    Aug 15, 2009
    5
    I foolishly bought this game based on the demo. Shortly after the levels in the demo, the game becomes much more frustrating than fun. The detection on grabs seems to not want to work sometimes, and since the game has a lot of grabs onto poles and pipes, this is not a good thing.
  5. JasonP
    Nov 23, 2008
    6
    I'd have to say those giving this game above a 7 smell suspiciously of AstroTurf. Great in concept, the controls are awful. You just have to look at another free running game, Assassin's Creed to see it done right, and you realize just how far off the mark Mirror's Edge is. Repetitive, boring, frustrating. Not Fun.
  6. BrianP.
    Dec 31, 2008
    7
    The outdoor visuals are excellent. Indoors, not so much. The freerunning gameplay is loads of fun for the first few chapters until you start encountering too many enemies. After a point, the game seems to become more about forcing your way through the opposing law enforcement than speedily racing through a streamlined level. It's definitely worth trying if you've been enjoying The outdoor visuals are excellent. Indoors, not so much. The freerunning gameplay is loads of fun for the first few chapters until you start encountering too many enemies. After a point, the game seems to become more about forcing your way through the opposing law enforcement than speedily racing through a streamlined level. It's definitely worth trying if you've been enjoying the trailers and everything, but just know that you're going to die a lot. Also, you can't do most of the awesome disarming moves that the game will show you during loading screens. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2010
    5
    Mirror's Edge is the epitome of an one trick pony. While the first levels of the video game are enjoyable and truly unique, it eventually becomes stale at the midpoint of the game. Additionally, what becomes fun becomes frustrating. Even at the easiest difficulty, the game will be based on trial and effort. Even if you complete the difficulty after multiple times, the result is notMirror's Edge is the epitome of an one trick pony. While the first levels of the video game are enjoyable and truly unique, it eventually becomes stale at the midpoint of the game. Additionally, what becomes fun becomes frustrating. Even at the easiest difficulty, the game will be based on trial and effort. Even if you complete the difficulty after multiple times, the result is not satisfying enough. Overall, Mirror's Edge is something that you have never experienced before, but that does not necessarily mean it is a good game. Expand
  8. Aug 29, 2013
    5
    Mirror's edge is something unique,new and refreshing in the gaming world.. but its not for everybody...

    The good: Running jumping and moving around at great speeds while performing acrobatics is great fun and its the games greatest strength. Its something you never experience in gaming before.. especially when you string a series of moves together as you gain speed its very
    Mirror's edge is something unique,new and refreshing in the gaming world.. but its not for everybody...

    The good:
    Running jumping and moving around at great speeds while performing acrobatics is great fun and its the games greatest strength. Its something you never experience in gaming before.. especially when you string a series of moves together as you gain speed its very exhilarating. Also the graphics and the overall design concept is great and beautiful..

    The bad
    The story in the single player campaign is just an excuses to go through all the levels. Also the story at times dosent even make sense, and its plain ridiculous. Almost zero character development and the artistic style of how everything is communicated looks bad and feels cheap.

    This game is not a shooter, but you have the option to pick up a gun.. AVOID THIS AT ALL COSTS.. the combat mechanics are beyond broken.. Almost unbelievable that this game came from the creator of the BF series.

    Also this game is very short.. which almost feels like a tech demo rather than a full game.

    Today it can be found in bargain bins for like 5-10 bucks.. for that price its worth playing this unique and short game...
    Expand
  9. Sep 11, 2014
    7
    This game is NOT a first person shooter. It has a first person perspective, but it is a PUZZLE game. The main objective is parkouring your way through the city, and figuring out how to get around obstacles. I know this has some shooting in it, but it is hardly a shooting game, and furthermore the combat system is horrendous. Not to mention the controls are extremely complex, and movingThis game is NOT a first person shooter. It has a first person perspective, but it is a PUZZLE game. The main objective is parkouring your way through the city, and figuring out how to get around obstacles. I know this has some shooting in it, but it is hardly a shooting game, and furthermore the combat system is horrendous. Not to mention the controls are extremely complex, and moving around can be finicky. This could have been a great game, but it is held back by a few but not insignificant flaws.

    However, the game is not all bad. Of course not -- ! The concept, though not necessarily original, is well executed enough that it is unique. It's a lot of fun rolling around, and jumping, and running along walls, and climbing. Not to mention, despite coming out several years ago, the graphics still hold up. The high contrast world, the buildings, and the paint make this a visual feast. So it is worth checking out, but it may not be worth it for everyone.
    Expand
  10. Tongs
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Alright, this game is apparently NOT for everyone. If you like a gameplay experience that includes great sound and visuals, a story that actually makes sense and isn't completely blown out of proportion (anyone played almost any video game on the market today?), coupled with very well done levels and a way to get around things that isn't just jumping. I wasn't so sure about Alright, this game is apparently NOT for everyone. If you like a gameplay experience that includes great sound and visuals, a story that actually makes sense and isn't completely blown out of proportion (anyone played almost any video game on the market today?), coupled with very well done levels and a way to get around things that isn't just jumping. I wasn't so sure about the first time I played through the game, but when I went through again, just about everything about it really shone. There are only nine or ten levels, but some are fairly long, and so far (and this is since the game came out), I really haven't gotten tired of playing them. There are a few issues. Occaisonally, I've noticed that a particular jump from one object to another that should be easy, and usually is, will suddenly decide to stop working for a while. I failed a particular jump of about three feet ten times in a row due to this. But I've found that's rare. Others have mentioned getting stuck in scenery; I can't speak for that, as it has not happened to me in all the time I've played the game. Sometimes the levels become repetitive in design, but that doesn't really bother me. The use of color and contrast keeps things fresh-looking, and at the rate you're moving, you're never in the same place long enough to really mind. The plot's a little clearer the second time around, I will admit. At first everything happens a bit quickly. To anyone who was utterly confused, well, I bet you skipped the movies the second you were able and/or didn't actually try to put two and two together with the collective info you recieved. Or maybe you did put two and two together. And got seven. In short, a game that's beautiful in its simplicity, a concept that a lot of games today just have a lot of trouble with. Great gameplay (in my opinion), great sound and visuals, and the first person perspective has really never given me any trouble seeing where I need to go or what I need to do. In fact, in this game I'd actually prefer it to a third person view. Because, in the long time I've been playing it, I haven't been able to find anything to really complain about, I'm giving it a well-deserved 10 of 10. Just a warning, though: some people seem to have much more trouble with this game than others, and unfortunately, seem to rate the game directly with their ability to play it. Maybe rent it first, and if you love it, great, if you don't, at least you tried. Definitely not everyone's game. Expand
  11. Aug 14, 2011
    7
    Mirror's Edge, to me, was an excellent concept that was executed a bit poorly. The idea of free running around rooftops with parkour and jumping skills while in first person view...is interesting - and could be a blast if done right. And at times, it is a blast in Mirror's Edge - when you know what to do and the controls don't screw you over or confuse you. Most of the time you will beMirror's Edge, to me, was an excellent concept that was executed a bit poorly. The idea of free running around rooftops with parkour and jumping skills while in first person view...is interesting - and could be a blast if done right. And at times, it is a blast in Mirror's Edge - when you know what to do and the controls don't screw you over or confuse you. Most of the time you will be forced to stop dead in your tracks and stumble around the environment looking for the next thing you're supposed to jump to, jump from, or climb up...and it kills the momentum and the fun. Much like Sonic, for a game that hypes itself on being all about speed, it loves to slow you down to a halt about 90% of the time. Also, the combat in this game is horrendous and arguably broken but definitely cheap. Once again, just like with speed, for a game that's all about running it loves to put you into tight spaces where fighting is the only option, and the protagonist Faith is severely lacking in this area. To put it frankly, this game is frustrating 3 times more often than when it is fun. The gameplay mechanics just didn't gel properly and needed more work. As for the aesthetics though, I love the sterile feel that the pastel colors provide to represent this totalitarian utopia. It is a nice looking game, but even flaws come up there as the cutscenes are all done in a different style of choppy, sloppy, hand-drawn animations that just clash with everything else in the game. All in all, this game is worth a rental as there are some fun moments to be had (especially the chase scene near the end of the game where there are enemy runners after you) and some interesting set pieces as obstacles....but I can't justify paying much more than $10-15 on it. It's just flawed, but you can see the foundation for a potentially brilliant sequel in the future. Expand
  12. Jun 28, 2011
    1
    This game is bad in every way: The story is told almost exclusively in monologue, the characters are all uninteresting, and important things only happen in cut-scene, which is like a movie giving plot points in nothing but text, and every plot element is as defined as a blurry photo of Big Foot. In the field of Game-play, it's nothing but frustrating, and the level design is idiotic. WhyThis game is bad in every way: The story is told almost exclusively in monologue, the characters are all uninteresting, and important things only happen in cut-scene, which is like a movie giving plot points in nothing but text, and every plot element is as defined as a blurry photo of Big Foot. In the field of Game-play, it's nothing but frustrating, and the level design is idiotic. Why would a game about free-running have about half of the levels solely indoors. Its also repetitive, as the only time it breaks away from running away from things is when you have to punch a security officers using the same moves. The only thing going for it is a creative premise, but even that's handled poorly. Instead of running all around a mall part of a city trying to figure out a good path to the objective, like a free runner actually does, this game has you run along linear repetitive paths. Expand
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    Wow, did this game have potential. Wow, did it totally foul it up. The demo truly makes Mirror's Edge look like fun, but that completely belies its nature: a game that can made you so mad that you're ready to swear off your Xbox forever. The game's emphasis is on flight rather than fight, which is fine. But when you take a character and game mechanic that is weak on combat and put theWow, did this game have potential. Wow, did it totally foul it up. The demo truly makes Mirror's Edge look like fun, but that completely belies its nature: a game that can made you so mad that you're ready to swear off your Xbox forever. The game's emphasis is on flight rather than fight, which is fine. But when you take a character and game mechanic that is weak on combat and put the player in a situation where combat is nearly unavoidable, it is not an entertaining challenge, it's just frustrating. The game's touted movement system, enabling regular couch potatoes to move with freerunner grace does not work as advertised. Sure, you can get through the tutorial, but in the real game? Forget stringing moves, you can barely do the basics because, surprise, you're being shot at. Falling off a handrail is a problem; when that handrail is on the 35th floor of a building, it's back to the last save checkpoint. That leads us to the next gripe: the checkpoints are VERY widely spaced. Expect to redo large sectors of the game only to be killed off by the same incomprehensible situation. Being trapped in a building atrium without any clear exit and a LOT of SWAT troopers can really put a damper on your enthusiasm. All in all, it was a game that had an interesting premise and a lot of promise, but failed to deliver on both. It does, however, give the gamer good cardio; you'll get so mad your heart rate will top out a few times. Expand
  14. UrielS.
    Feb 28, 2009
    4
    When i first saw this game, i was impressed. The graphics are totally awesome and the gamplay is cool too. But, even though this game is absolutely beautiful, it gets to a point where you realize that it's not really fun to play. I saw my friend playing the other day and he was totally happy, and the next week, he told me that it was boring after a while. I tried again to see if I wasWhen i first saw this game, i was impressed. The graphics are totally awesome and the gamplay is cool too. But, even though this game is absolutely beautiful, it gets to a point where you realize that it's not really fun to play. I saw my friend playing the other day and he was totally happy, and the next week, he told me that it was boring after a while. I tried again to see if I was mistaken, but all I saw is a bunch of repetitive things thrown in a pile of levels. Dont get me wrong, it's beautiful, but it's not really fun to play after a while. Expand
  15. ZacharyB
    Jan 12, 2009
    2
    While playing the demo i was impressed with the game. However, after renting it i can see now that it is nothing more than hype applied to a pile of rubbish. While the concept is good the game tackles it badly, telling you to run instead of fighting and then putting you in small enclosed areas with enemies you HAVE to fight. The clipping is ghastly and shoddy, at one point i was killed While playing the demo i was impressed with the game. However, after renting it i can see now that it is nothing more than hype applied to a pile of rubbish. While the concept is good the game tackles it badly, telling you to run instead of fighting and then putting you in small enclosed areas with enemies you HAVE to fight. The clipping is ghastly and shoddy, at one point i was killed mid air and was stuck there. Very short, poor game design. Expand
  16. Jan 17, 2012
    3
    Trial and error, trial and error. Nobodies reflexes work this fast and if they did then the unresponsive controls would screw you over. The overly sexualising of the women annoyed me too. Something I normally don't care about, but here it's just so overt and cheesy. The cut scenes try and have a unique style to them, but end up looking like a flash game. Neat concept, which literallyTrial and error, trial and error. Nobodies reflexes work this fast and if they did then the unresponsive controls would screw you over. The overly sexualising of the women annoyed me too. Something I normally don't care about, but here it's just so overt and cheesy. The cut scenes try and have a unique style to them, but end up looking like a flash game. Neat concept, which literally falls on it's behind. Expand
  17. MGSFan
    Jan 13, 2009
    0
    Possibly the Worst Platformer Ever.

    Well i have nothing much to say about this game. You are a japanese girl in this game. This game is a straight RIP OFF from Prince Of Persia. Mirror's Edge is nothing but Prince Of Persia in First Person.

    If you feel sissy or want to change your sex from male to Female, this game is a MUST BUY.

    Terrible Game. Highly OVERRATED.
  18. AR
    Dec 12, 2008
    9
    This game is not without its flaws, but if you are a little forgiving for a first time attempt of a new genre, you will enjoy this game that was for once made with heart.

    While the combat is a little frustrating, the overall experience is fantastic. The game looks great, feels great, and it's so refreshing to see game developers take those risks and give us something new to enjoy.
    This game is not without its flaws, but if you are a little forgiving for a first time attempt of a new genre, you will enjoy this game that was for once made with heart.

    While the combat is a little frustrating, the overall experience is fantastic. The game looks great, feels great, and it's so refreshing to see game developers take those risks and give us something new to enjoy.
    Definitely worth playing!
    Expand
  19. [Anonymous]
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    This is probably the best game I've ever played. There are one or two places with extremely annoying puzzles (where I found myself attempting the same damn jump 20 times in a row before finally getting it). Also the contrast between the flash-esque cutscenes and photorealiztic gameplay is a little excessive. That't it though. Other than those two minor complaints, this game is This is probably the best game I've ever played. There are one or two places with extremely annoying puzzles (where I found myself attempting the same damn jump 20 times in a row before finally getting it). Also the contrast between the flash-esque cutscenes and photorealiztic gameplay is a little excessive. That't it though. Other than those two minor complaints, this game is flawless. The story is pretty cool so far (although I haven't gotten to the end yet), the controls are tight and game flow is brilliant. This is a game that I want to buy twice for each system I own so that EA gets the message to take chances like this more often. Expand
  20. MichaelR.
    Dec 27, 2008
    8
    As a final-year game design student, I find some of the negative reviews quite frustrating and very discouraging. Especially the review from a usually very trusted source - Edge Magazine, whom gave this game a 5. Regardless of this I chose to purchase this game, as the Demo alone, had me very interested. Now, the main problems that I was generally faced with this game, was the lack of As a final-year game design student, I find some of the negative reviews quite frustrating and very discouraging. Especially the review from a usually very trusted source - Edge Magazine, whom gave this game a 5. Regardless of this I chose to purchase this game, as the Demo alone, had me very interested. Now, the main problems that I was generally faced with this game, was the lack of guidance in certain scenarios, leading to either a wrongly footed jump to somewhere I'm not supposed to go, or being surrounded by four armed police because there seems no alternate route. However, despite this, the game is more than manageable, and it proves nothing more than a slow learning curve that causes the trial and error process. Being a brand new idea, the game is immediately slated by a minority of critics, horribly obsessed with destroying an original concept. When first person shooters went "X and Y axis", using two analogue sticks to control both movement and camera, were definitely found as a bit tricky, when most gamers were used to the singular D-pad. Looking down the line and you can see how easy it is for all gamers to manipulate this movement. The same goes for Mirrors Edge, and gamers getting used to the manipulation of flowing movement through first person perspective. Getting used to naturally knowing where the characters body is placed without having to slow yourself down, to know that you ARE close enough to the edge without having to look down at your feet. The other thing that pissed me off about Edge, was the fact all they seemed to care about, was how it massacred the portrayal of Parkour. Now that to me, really pissed me off. Being a game designer, and knowing NOTHING of parkour, to me, the concept of runners that are used to deliver information via the means of parkour in a futuristic, communist world, sounds great. I dont care if i'm doing justice to parkour, its just a character I have designed, the IDEA that the movement used to deliver, is very much like parkour, but not indefinitely "parkour". If it was purely about parkour, it would probably have a story that talks about this popular sport, but it doesn't, its simply characters that are acrobatic on rooftops. Much as Tomb Raider isn't slated because its not true to Gymnastics... Mirrors Edge offers a lot to a gamers desire, not the parkour specialist. It offers cool looking, feeling, movement that is interlinked with simple button presses. Of course, dying can break this flow, but regardless of that, getting good at this game, which essentially we all need to do if there is ever going to be this sort of game again, is all it takes to really enjoy it. Combat lacks that extra oomf, but these guys are "runners" not "fighters", and most times, i find taking out just one guard, and then avoiding contact with the others, tends to be the best way forward. Dont forget, this game is actually really easy if your not going for the "test of faith" achievement/trophy. So maybe if the reviewers just shoot the enemy, its not as hard as they make out... Im giving it an 8 because its very unique, the graphics are the best iv seen the 360 produce, the whole concept is just awesome, yet it is slightly short on lower settings, and the story is shallow. Id bank on a sequel, washing away these criticisms. Expand
  21. DarrenL.
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    Glorious! I couldn't stop playing this game, its completely unique and challenging but achievable. Personally I was in awe the first time I experienced the textures and when coupled with the gloss effects really gives you a fresh atmosphere to run around almost freely. Although many players will despise the fact that Faith is not equipt with hand guns / SMG's / Grenades / Rocket Glorious! I couldn't stop playing this game, its completely unique and challenging but achievable. Personally I was in awe the first time I experienced the textures and when coupled with the gloss effects really gives you a fresh atmosphere to run around almost freely. Although many players will despise the fact that Faith is not equipt with hand guns / SMG's / Grenades / Rocket Launchers and Missiles once you master the timing and and react rationally to your situations the your reminisce fondly as to how well you cope with their gun fire than the first time you did cowering behind walls because you didn't have anything to fire back! Wow and that comes from a massive FPS fan! :-) After completing this in normal difficulty im powering up the xbox to play again on hard! Congratulations Dice and EA on what should be a true classic. Expand
  22. DarrellH.
    Nov 14, 2008
    7
    Mirror's edge as it stands now is not a triple A title. Yes we all love it when games implement new ideas and concepts. We should not let a game pass through however just because they came up with a new idea. That said, the amount of times you will die, be it from death or from combat is so frustrating that it will inspire many gamers to just quit playing all together. Probably the Mirror's edge as it stands now is not a triple A title. Yes we all love it when games implement new ideas and concepts. We should not let a game pass through however just because they came up with a new idea. That said, the amount of times you will die, be it from death or from combat is so frustrating that it will inspire many gamers to just quit playing all together. Probably the most frustrating part of the game is its reliance on indoor environments, which are harsh because they are the stages that use the least amount of runner vision increasing the difficulty 10 fold (play through the first time you enter an office space and you'll see what I mean) If your looking for a great first person platformer, your not going to find it here. Mirror's Edge is good, but its not A material like say Portal, who Mirror's Edge could use a few notes from. Even though you may have found yourself scratching your head as per how you were supposed to solve a particular puzzle in Portal, you never were frustrated nor killed 20 times to figure it out. There were clear visual cues, which is really all Mirror's Edge really needs to make it say an 8. Better story for a 9. Expand
  23. Aug 19, 2011
    8
    Mirror's Edge is in a genre all it's own. The closest it comes to is a FPS, but it's definitely not as you won't be shooting for most of the game and won't even have to if you choose not to. It'll have you run across the rooftops of a breathtakingly rendered city, jumping from building to building, and breaking open doors as you run from your chasers. It's exciting, unique, and currently,Mirror's Edge is in a genre all it's own. The closest it comes to is a FPS, but it's definitely not as you won't be shooting for most of the game and won't even have to if you choose not to. It'll have you run across the rooftops of a breathtakingly rendered city, jumping from building to building, and breaking open doors as you run from your chasers. It's exciting, unique, and currently, well worth the price. My only disappointment with it is that it doesn't really have multiplayer, just time trials you can compare with others. Expand
  24. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is a bit short, and its control system has a bit of a learning curve, but once you get over these two things the heavens open and you realize you have a block of pure gold in your hands. The graphics/art are excellent, and the gameplay is EXTREMELY fun, nothing short of inspired. You will finish this game repeatably!

    Did I like it? It was INSPIRED!
  25. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    This is honestly one of my MUST HAVE 360 recommendations. It's not perfect but it's easily the most original game in recent memory. The parkour stuff is a lot of fun but even better is the setting. Despite your exposure to the world of Mirror's Edge being quite limited the design is so unique with a feel completely it's own that, if you're anything like me, it will stay with you LONGThis is honestly one of my MUST HAVE 360 recommendations. It's not perfect but it's easily the most original game in recent memory. The parkour stuff is a lot of fun but even better is the setting. Despite your exposure to the world of Mirror's Edge being quite limited the design is so unique with a feel completely it's own that, if you're anything like me, it will stay with you LONG after.

    It's a disgrace that a title this original isn't getting a sequel when Call Of Duty and HALO are churning out the same tired games repackaged each year.
    Expand
  26. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Mirror's Edge is an excellent title, have much interesting missions, and the gameplay is new, the graphics are amazing, this title is incredible. I love Mirror's Edge.
  27. Mar 3, 2013
    5
    A solid new IP from EA. Its nice to see EA take some chances with new IPs. The game has an elegant simplistic art style that is different from any other game out. The game focuses on parkour which combines running and a puzzle element of where to go next. Its interesting to see a game focus purely on running. Although, free running in videogames this generation is nothing new, it hasn'tA solid new IP from EA. Its nice to see EA take some chances with new IPs. The game has an elegant simplistic art style that is different from any other game out. The game focuses on parkour which combines running and a puzzle element of where to go next. Its interesting to see a game focus purely on running. Although, free running in videogames this generation is nothing new, it hasn't ever been the sole focus of a game. As of any game that relies heavily on one or two main game mechanics, the game starts getting tiring as the game progresses. And the combat could have been better implemented. Overall though, its nice to see EA games go the creative route instead of playing it safe with a more traditional type of new IP. Expand
  28. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    This is a game that seemingly rewards you for your observation and response speed but a lot of the situations you get into can be solved with trial and error (and there's a good chance you'll be doing a lot of that here) as a lot of the moves you have to perform require precisely timed button combo's.

    Single Player The single player story has a good steady flow to it, in the style of
    This is a game that seemingly rewards you for your observation and response speed but a lot of the situations you get into can be solved with trial and error (and there's a good chance you'll be doing a lot of that here) as a lot of the moves you have to perform require precisely timed button combo's.

    Single Player

    The single player story has a good steady flow to it, in the style of a conspiracy murder story set in a utopian looking city. In-between levels you are shown FMV's in a very different art style to the game engine which I feel some gamers may not be fond of.

    While the environments can look and seem like a playground you're always being directed, it's not about multiple paths, in fact most of the gameplay boils down to three types; enemy area's where you will either run away run around or take on enemies it's usually your choice but there are moments where you will have to take them all down, puzzle area's where you will have to use your repertoire of parkour moves to ascend, descend or navigate through a room and chase area's where you will either chase down a target or be chased down yourself.

    Multi-player

    Multiplayer, perhaps not a major selling point here, though it does feature a competitive time trial and speed run modes both of which include ranked leader boards.

    Gameplay

    The gameplay is very smooth and frame rate drop is an absolute rarity, although occasionally once a level the action will pause for a moment to "load level" which can be quite the immersion killer.

    Most levels consist of moments where you may be bounding and wall running at your own pace toward an objective, to suddenly being chased or often confronted by armed police, you have all kinds of offensive moves at your disposal as well as a counter attack which if activated at the right moment will disarm and disable enemies, unfortunately this can take getting used to, as all enemies have different melee attacks and therefore different timing.

    There are also elevator rides that often break up chases which is good, so you know your safe to take a breath when you reach an elevator, but the preceding load time in the elevator's can be astonishingly long, which is strange because dying and respawning takes practically no time at all.

    Graphics

    Graphics are impressive, with stunning cityscape vistas and the city itself definitely hits the neo-Tokyo feel it was aiming for. Textures are very high resolution, I'm not completely sure what they were trying to achieve with the colour scheming but it's well implemented and rarely feels out of place. most of the environments area's are themed on a colour, there is a section where you're running through an office that is all yellow and out into a plaza and subway that is completely blue.

    Sound

    The sound design here much like the graphics is high quality and immersive(especially through headphones or surround sound.)
    Most music and ambient sound is very subtle, helping the player to lose themselves in the world of mirrors edge.

    Longevity

    Averagely the single player story will take most between 6-7 hours to complete, you might replay the main story to find all of the messenger bags that are hidden throughout each level.
    Outside of the single player there are time trials which are made of small sections of story areas.
    Then there is speed run, which is basically a time trial for whole levels of the single player as mentioned before both of these include leader boards to compete with friends and other users on a world ranking board.

    Final thoughts

    While I have no personal reason to dislike the art style of the cutscenes, I do wish they'd kept all the cut scenes in engine, I feel it would have helped me feel more connected to the character's (A very well executed example is Half Life 2).
    I would also like to have seen a co-op mode, maybe with players playing as other couriers seeing events from a different perspective, taking different paths helping each other throughout levels.

    Overall, even though It got a little frustrating at times, I enjoyed the ride (even If it was a little on the short side) and was left wanting more.
    Expand
  29. DanA.
    Dec 2, 2008
    8
    Mirror's Edge is by far one of the most innovative and exciting, genre-defining concepts this year. However, it's not perfect. The game is ridiculously short and does get repetitive. It's got a bit of Assassin's Creed syndrome in that sense. It takes the strides it needs to but overall feels like it could've been much more. I wouldn't recommend buying itMirror's Edge is by far one of the most innovative and exciting, genre-defining concepts this year. However, it's not perfect. The game is ridiculously short and does get repetitive. It's got a bit of Assassin's Creed syndrome in that sense. It takes the strides it needs to but overall feels like it could've been much more. I wouldn't recommend buying it unless you intend on doing time trials and learning how to speed run the game like crazy. Expand
  30. DmitriyP
    Apr 8, 2009
    9
    After the initial disappointment passed(when I got stuck on the scaffolding, running away from the heli - all I had to do was turn around) and I decided to give it another try - I really fell in love with the game. While there were some frustrating moments that could have been avoided my better level design, the visual experience was so unique, that it was really a joy to retry those After the initial disappointment passed(when I got stuck on the scaffolding, running away from the heli - all I had to do was turn around) and I decided to give it another try - I really fell in love with the game. While there were some frustrating moments that could have been avoided my better level design, the visual experience was so unique, that it was really a joy to retry those tough spots. The combat, while can be frustrating at first, become pretty easy once you realize that all you have to do is isolate and disarm your enemies. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. But for every bit as brilliant Mirror’s Edge is, it’s also equally as frustrating. For every time you exclaim in joyful accomplishment by nailing a series of jumps and lifts, you’ll lament missing a ledge by the width of a fingernail for what feels like the hundredth time, just as much.
  2. Mirror's Edge is a distinct game, both in playability and visuals and that's a major feat. Faith is full of character and her world is colorful and vibrant, although the adventure is quite short.
  3. Mirror’s Edge seems to be yet another game marking EA’s gaming renaissance. Rather than churning out endless sequels, it’s encouraging to see that they’re willing to take a leap of faith (pardon the pun) and let ace developers such as DICE try out new IPs and ideas.