User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 290

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    I liked the game. It may be short but it is good. Also, it's not that easy. It has awesome graphics, great artstyle, it's action-filled. I want to mention, THIS IS NOT A FIRST PERSON SHOOTER!!! It's possibly the only parkour game. There are some bad things in this game - gunfight sucks, it's too linear (wanted to have a free roam, or atleast different routes). It's a good game, but totally not worth the full price, you could rent it, it's no more than 10 hours. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    Wow, did this game have potential. Wow, did it totally foul it up. The demo truly makes Mirror's Edge look like fun, but that completely belies its nature: a game that can made you so mad that you're ready to swear off your Xbox forever. The game's emphasis is on flight rather than fight, which is fine. But when you take a character and game mechanic that is weak on combat and put the player in a situation where combat is nearly unavoidable, it is not an entertaining challenge, it's just frustrating. The game's touted movement system, enabling regular couch potatoes to move with freerunner grace does not work as advertised. Sure, you can get through the tutorial, but in the real game? Forget stringing moves, you can barely do the basics because, surprise, you're being shot at. Falling off a handrail is a problem; when that handrail is on the 35th floor of a building, it's back to the last save checkpoint. That leads us to the next gripe: the checkpoints are VERY widely spaced. Expect to redo large sectors of the game only to be killed off by the same incomprehensible situation. Being trapped in a building atrium without any clear exit and a LOT of SWAT troopers can really put a damper on your enthusiasm. All in all, it was a game that had an interesting premise and a lot of promise, but failed to deliver on both. It does, however, give the gamer good cardio; you'll get so mad your heart rate will top out a few times. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2010
    5
    Mirror's Edge is the epitome of an one trick pony. While the first levels of the video game are enjoyable and truly unique, it eventually becomes stale at the midpoint of the game. Additionally, what becomes fun becomes frustrating. Even at the easiest difficulty, the game will be based on trial and effort. Even if you complete the difficulty after multiple times, the result is not satisfying enough. Overall, Mirror's Edge is something that you have never experienced before, but that does not necessarily mean it is a good game. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2011
    7
    Mirror's Edge, to me, was an excellent concept that was executed a bit poorly. The idea of free running around rooftops with parkour and jumping skills while in first person view...is interesting - and could be a blast if done right. And at times, it is a blast in Mirror's Edge - when you know what to do and the controls don't screw you over or confuse you. Most of the time you will be forced to stop dead in your tracks and stumble around the environment looking for the next thing you're supposed to jump to, jump from, or climb up...and it kills the momentum and the fun. Much like Sonic, for a game that hypes itself on being all about speed, it loves to slow you down to a halt about 90% of the time. Also, the combat in this game is horrendous and arguably broken but definitely cheap. Once again, just like with speed, for a game that's all about running it loves to put you into tight spaces where fighting is the only option, and the protagonist Faith is severely lacking in this area. To put it frankly, this game is frustrating 3 times more often than when it is fun. The gameplay mechanics just didn't gel properly and needed more work. As for the aesthetics though, I love the sterile feel that the pastel colors provide to represent this totalitarian utopia. It is a nice looking game, but even flaws come up there as the cutscenes are all done in a different style of choppy, sloppy, hand-drawn animations that just clash with everything else in the game. All in all, this game is worth a rental as there are some fun moments to be had (especially the chase scene near the end of the game where there are enemy runners after you) and some interesting set pieces as obstacles....but I can't justify paying much more than $10-15 on it. It's just flawed, but you can see the foundation for a potentially brilliant sequel in the future. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    1
    This game is bad in every way: The story is told almost exclusively in monologue, the characters are all uninteresting, and important things only happen in cut-scene, which is like a movie giving plot points in nothing but text, and every plot element is as defined as a blurry photo of Big Foot. In the field of Game-play, it's nothing but frustrating, and the level design is idiotic. Why would a game about free-running have about half of the levels solely indoors. Its also repetitive, as the only time it breaks away from running away from things is when you have to punch a security officers using the same moves. The only thing going for it is a creative premise, but even that's handled poorly. Instead of running all around a mall part of a city trying to figure out a good path to the objective, like a free runner actually does, this game has you run along linear repetitive paths. Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2012
    3
    Trial and error, trial and error. Nobodies reflexes work this fast and if they did then the unresponsive controls would screw you over. The overly sexualising of the women annoyed me too. Something I normally don't care about, but here it's just so overt and cheesy. The cut scenes try and have a unique style to them, but end up looking like a flash game. Neat concept, which literally falls on it's behind. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2011
    8
    First lets start with the graphics, they are breathtaking and impressive. This isn't the typical first person game were you simultaneously you're running and gunning, wrong, it's not a first person shooter, is almost real. The gameplay shakes everything , tricky I most say, right when you are going to run is an interaction game, you utilize your instincts , is how you react to the obstacle to be as fast as you can. They put you a ledge and a wall, okay, so you need to run press a combination of buttons and then you're in the rooftops. In other words , this is a first person plat former . Dice ( the creators of Battlefield) made something unique. Expand
  8. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    Mirror's Edge certainly had it's flaws, particularly in the final few combat focused chapters, but five years after release there is still nothing else quite like it. Traversing the unique landscape in first person is fantastic and the excellent soundtrack only adds to the overall experience. This first game didn't sell as well as it should have but I hope we get a sequel one day.
  9. Aug 19, 2011
    8
    Mirror's Edge is in a genre all it's own. The closest it comes to is a FPS, but it's definitely not as you won't be shooting for most of the game and won't even have to if you choose not to. It'll have you run across the rooftops of a breathtakingly rendered city, jumping from building to building, and breaking open doors as you run from your chasers. It's exciting, unique, and currently, well worth the price. My only disappointment with it is that it doesn't really have multiplayer, just time trials you can compare with others. Collapse
  10. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Finally a game that has true basic freerunning! The game is great in terms of the freerunning and the story but there are a few gripes. One, disarming an enemy is nearly impossible to do on the first try. And two, the training part has a very picky part where you have to run up a wall and the turn around and jump on a platform. I did what I told me to do God knows how many times and now once did it say I did it right, despite following all of the instructions.

    All in all, the game isn't perfect since it's art direction can confuse some eyes like mine. But it never stops in delivering it's core gameplay element: Freerunning.
    Expand
  11. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    The story is really bad, and the campaign is short. Takes under 2 hours on second playthrough from start to finish. But if you are looking for an arcade-style first-person platformer that's addicting, you can't afford to ignore this. The levels and maps are so well made, it's worth it just for the time trials. If you just want a good story, avoid. If you're looking for something different, you won't be dissapointed. I still played this game after completing story 4 times (excluding speed runs) and having all achievements just to go back and improve times on the trials. The problem is EA shut down servers for the game on Xbox 360. It's got a lot of replay value though. The game and its controls are simple and easy to understand, but I still enjoyed playing this even without doing the crazy glitches and taking overtly insane shortcuts like the world record holders. I still had fun playing the game like an average player and improving times despite not looking up guides to try new routes and stuff. There's so much more to this game than meets the eye. The best thing is that anyone can pick it up, play it and gain satisfaction from doing the game. There's nothing out there like it, and as long as you're into the idea of spending a lot of time perfecting something, you'll enjoy it in the same way as a racing game. It doesn't matter if you can't get anywhere near the world records. What matters is setting a target and achieving it with YOUR playstyle, not copying someone else's. That said, you do learn new things as you go along and perhaps watch a few world record videos. Regardless of how you play it, this game is addicting, fun and innovative. Expand
  12. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is a bit short, and its control system has a bit of a learning curve, but once you get over these two things the heavens open and you realize you have a block of pure gold in your hands. The graphics/art are excellent, and the gameplay is EXTREMELY fun, nothing short of inspired. You will finish this game repeatably!

    Did I like it? It was INSPIRED!
  13. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Truly outstanding. A very challenging but innovative game. The storyline is gripping and interesting and the gameplay is fantastic. The game will have you scratching your head for hours on some of the levels. Once you master the art of free-running, you will then have to master combat - and just because you've played COD doesn't mean that you'll be a natural by any means. Oh and not forgetting that intelligence and problem solving are the main skills required. These three things mean that you will be playing it for hours but when you complete it you will be over the moon - a feeling that few games give you anymore. The missions aren't too repetitive and most of them have their own adrenaline pumping section as well, whether its skyscrapers or cranes, the game will deliver on realistic situations that will have your heart breaking out of your ribcage. Aside from the story, it has a few other features to keep you going that are equally as challenging. The closest it gets to multiplayer is a leaderboard but not all games need online do they? The realism of the story and the city is second to none because the city looks realistic but you can also see that it is in the future and you can also sense that the city is ruled by a dictator. A game that I would recommend to anyone who takes gaming seriously and to anyone who wants to feel a sense of achievement at the end of a game. It deserved to win all the awards that it got. Expand
  14. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    This game is creative and different in a market saturated with generic military shooters. Games like this make me grateful that their are still innovative people in the gaming industry. But like anything in this world, it has it's flaws. The visual art style is one that feel clean and vivid. The controls take some time to get used to but is fine if your not picky. The story is somewhat generic but the way its told engages you. The score is blissful and balanced. Replay value is medium considering there is a time trial mode.
    This game isn't for everyone. It's for those who will give games a chance to soak in and marinate.
    Expand
  15. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    This is honestly one of my MUST HAVE 360 recommendations. It's not perfect but it's easily the most original game in recent memory. The parkour stuff is a lot of fun but even better is the setting. Despite your exposure to the world of Mirror's Edge being quite limited the design is so unique with a feel completely it's own that, if you're anything like me, it will stay with you LONG after.

    It's a disgrace that a title this original isn't getting a sequel when Call Of Duty and HALO are churning out the same tired games repackaged each year.
    Expand
  16. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    get adrenaline pumping game although the story is rather pointless you feel like the character when you play this game its all about running and there is a learning curve once you learn it you will be able to pull off sweet moves this game is parkour in a nutshell and it is fun the only problem is the story and the very organized parts that will keep you running around in circles for 20 minutes but its a great game other wise Expand
  17. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Mirror's Edge is an excellent title, have much interesting missions, and the gameplay is new, the graphics are amazing, this title is incredible. I love Mirror's Edge.
  18. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    A solid new IP from EA. Its nice to see EA take some chances with new IPs. The game has an elegant simplistic art style that is different from any other game out. The game focuses on parkour which combines running and a puzzle element of where to go next. Its interesting to see a game focus purely on running. Although, free running in videogames this generation is nothing new, it hasn't ever been the sole focus of a game. As of any game that relies heavily on one or two main game mechanics, the game starts getting tiring as the game progresses. And the combat could have been better implemented. Overall though, its nice to see EA games go the creative route instead of playing it safe with a more traditional type of new IP. Expand
  19. Jul 12, 2012
    9
    What a game! I love the complete first-person style of the game (yes, even when you roll) and the pace of it. It combines puzzles with fast-paced action. This is a game that truly challenges your mind without being a slow-paced puzzle game. It brings about what games should be--not mindless kill-ems, but challenging and testing of problem-solving skills.
  20. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    This is a game that seemingly rewards you for your observation and response speed but a lot of the situations you get into can be solved with trial and error (and there's a good chance you'll be doing a lot of that here) as a lot of the moves you have to perform require precisely timed button combo's.

    Single Player

    The single player story has a good steady flow to it, in the style of
    a conspiracy murder story set in a utopian looking city. In-between levels you are shown FMV's in a very different art style to the game engine which I feel some gamers may not be fond of.

    While the environments can look and seem like a playground you're always being directed, it's not about multiple paths, in fact most of the gameplay boils down to three types; enemy area's where you will either run away run around or take on enemies it's usually your choice but there are moments where you will have to take them all down, puzzle area's where you will have to use your repertoire of parkour moves to ascend, descend or navigate through a room and chase area's where you will either chase down a target or be chased down yourself.

    Multi-player

    Multiplayer, perhaps not a major selling point here, though it does feature a competitive time trial and speed run modes both of which include ranked leader boards.

    Gameplay

    The gameplay is very smooth and frame rate drop is an absolute rarity, although occasionally once a level the action will pause for a moment to "load level" which can be quite the immersion killer.

    Most levels consist of moments where you may be bounding and wall running at your own pace toward an objective, to suddenly being chased or often confronted by armed police, you have all kinds of offensive moves at your disposal as well as a counter attack which if activated at the right moment will disarm and disable enemies, unfortunately this can take getting used to, as all enemies have different melee attacks and therefore different timing.

    There are also elevator rides that often break up chases which is good, so you know your safe to take a breath when you reach an elevator, but the preceding load time in the elevator's can be astonishingly long, which is strange because dying and respawning takes practically no time at all.

    Graphics

    Graphics are impressive, with stunning cityscape vistas and the city itself definitely hits the neo-Tokyo feel it was aiming for. Textures are very high resolution, I'm not completely sure what they were trying to achieve with the colour scheming but it's well implemented and rarely feels out of place. most of the environments area's are themed on a colour, there is a section where you're running through an office that is all yellow and out into a plaza and subway that is completely blue.

    Sound

    The sound design here much like the graphics is high quality and immersive(especially through headphones or surround sound.)
    Most music and ambient sound is very subtle, helping the player to lose themselves in the world of mirrors edge.

    Longevity

    Averagely the single player story will take most between 6-7 hours to complete, you might replay the main story to find all of the messenger bags that are hidden throughout each level.
    Outside of the single player there are time trials which are made of small sections of story areas.
    Then there is speed run, which is basically a time trial for whole levels of the single player as mentioned before both of these include leader boards to compete with friends and other users on a world ranking board.

    Final thoughts

    While I have no personal reason to dislike the art style of the cutscenes, I do wish they'd kept all the cut scenes in engine, I feel it would have helped me feel more connected to the character's (A very well executed example is Half Life 2).
    I would also like to have seen a co-op mode, maybe with players playing as other couriers seeing events from a different perspective, taking different paths helping each other throughout levels.

    Overall, even though It got a little frustrating at times, I enjoyed the ride (even If it was a little on the short side) and was left wanting more.
    Expand
  21. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Best new IP this gen. The game is gorgeous. The game is long by today's standards and the controls, while a little hard to get used to feels great. The story is also interesting.
    The game is a tad old so I am not gonna go crazy reviewing it here but it is a must buy. No reason to not have this gem in your collection.
  22. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    A really under-rated game. The art style, the soundtrack and the parkour gameplay were really solid, and this made Mirror's Edge one of my favorite games of this generation. Sure, the combat wasn't really solid, and the game was relatively short, but you can find it dirt cheap anywhere online, and you won't regret it.
  23. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    Personally, this was my favourite game of 2008. It wasn't perfect and to be honest the game feels much like a tech demo/prototype for another game. The game is rather niche, hence the lack of mainstream success but if you're into visually stunning games with inspiring settings and unique gameplay mechanics then Mirror's Edge might just be for you.

    Graphics: 9/10
    Gameplay:
    7/10
    Features: 6/10

    Mirror's Edge may be too basic for some and can feel quite empty in terms of content and story but if you enjoy replaying levels (time trials) to improve your time, then Mirror's Edge should keep you satisfied for a while.
    Expand
  24. May 2, 2013
    8
    I had a lot of fun with this game. Such creativity and innovation was put into this game. A first person parkour action shooter? Mirror's Edge was the first of its kind, and hopefully won't be the last. The entertainment was superb, the plot engaging, and I also thought the animated cut scenes were a nice addition; added to the aesthetic of the overall experience. My only problem with the game was the controls, at times were a bit hard to master. Especially the wallriding and the disarming actions. If those were cleaned up just a wee bit, it would have been a 10/10. I honestly hope they'll be doing a sequel, excellent work. Expand
  25. Aug 29, 2013
    5
    Mirror's edge is something unique,new and refreshing in the gaming world.. but its not for everybody...

    The good:
    Running jumping and moving around at great speeds while performing acrobatics is great fun and its the games greatest strength. Its something you never experience in gaming before.. especially when you string a series of moves together as you gain speed its very
    exhilarating. Also the graphics and the overall design concept is great and beautiful..

    The bad
    The story in the single player campaign is just an excuses to go through all the levels. Also the story at times dosent even make sense, and its plain ridiculous. Almost zero character development and the artistic style of how everything is communicated looks bad and feels cheap.

    This game is not a shooter, but you have the option to pick up a gun.. AVOID THIS AT ALL COSTS.. the combat mechanics are beyond broken.. Almost unbelievable that this game came from the creator of the BF series.

    Also this game is very short.. which almost feels like a tech demo rather than a full game.

    Today it can be found in bargain bins for like 5-10 bucks.. for that price its worth playing this unique and short game...
    Expand
  26. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic gorgeous visuals and fun game-play with a decent story, although the game is a bit on the short side and has....well cut-scenes that suffice the Time trials add a lot of replay value as well as the hidden runner bags, the game is worth the buy just for the anti-runner encounters that we will hopefully see more of in the sequel.
    So to sum up this game is stupidly
    cheap fun beautiful and has a good amount of replay value that will leave you entertained for hours and hours on end this is a must buy for anyone even remotely interested in free-running (Parkour) Expand
  27. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    I found that mirrors edge is a great game. I know that some people complain about the shooting system but the game wants you to think outside of the box and connect different moves. I didn't find that the shooting system was okay. The running and jumping system feels so fluid like I found that anytime I did a skill roll I was proud that I did it. The only thing I didn't like about the game is that the story is way too short I completed it in an hour. Expand
  28. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    Mirrors Edge was a unique experience for all the way back to its' time. Free running was mostly unheard of, and this game was purely that. This is what gripped me about the game; I loved the fluent, intuitive movement, and the flow of the game was so incredibly smooth and flawless that you couldn't really go wrong. After playing the demo, I can't say my opinion changed. In fact, the game seemed even more worthwhile than before. Having finally got the game, I found it to be a new experience, with an interesting story set in a subtly dystopian alternate reality, where the general public disregarded free speech and went about their lives without questioning anything. This is something else Mirror's Edge does well; rather than an in-your-face, dark and dreary setting, the city looks clean and rather pleasant, but is underlined by darker goings on. The tale unravels as you make your way through, running, fighting and shooting your way along rooftops, through office buildings and underground.

    The game isn't perfect, though; simply free running the entire way, there isn't really much variation, no extra mechanics that games nowadays would make use of to break up the monotony. The story is inspired, and in some ways unpredictable, but feels a little unimaginative.

    I can't say the game isn't good though, and anyone that has yet to play it is greatly missing out on a genre defining classic.
    Expand
  29. Sep 11, 2014
    7
    This game is NOT a first person shooter. It has a first person perspective, but it is a PUZZLE game. The main objective is parkouring your way through the city, and figuring out how to get around obstacles. I know this has some shooting in it, but it is hardly a shooting game, and furthermore the combat system is horrendous. Not to mention the controls are extremely complex, and moving around can be finicky. This could have been a great game, but it is held back by a few but not insignificant flaws.

    However, the game is not all bad. Of course not -- ! The concept, though not necessarily original, is well executed enough that it is unique. It's a lot of fun rolling around, and jumping, and running along walls, and climbing. Not to mention, despite coming out several years ago, the graphics still hold up. The high contrast world, the buildings, and the paint make this a visual feast. So it is worth checking out, but it may not be worth it for everyone.
    Expand
  30. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    This is one of my favorite games of last generation, of all time for that matter. The aesthetics in this game are absolutely amazing. The high contrast in color is not only helpful, but also visually amazing. The game is a parkour adventure game with some of the best video game music I've ever heard. The music really completes the experience. This game is a wonderful experience for both your eyes and ears. The story is a bit weak, but it is fairly easy to follow because of that. This can be a positive or negative depending on how much you care for a deep story. Mechanically, this game excels greatly. The game does not make you feel nauseous or dizzy, the dot in the middle of the screen helps a lot with that. The game is fairly short, but you are getting a very high quality experience in that time. Your first play through will most likely take about 6 hours. After that, it should only take you about 3-4 hours. For $60, the game is a bit overpriced, but today you can buy it for $20 or less. This is an amazing bargain. Even though this game was released in 2008 (Xbox 360 and PS3), its graphics are still beautiful and hold up very well. The game runs very well on 360, with only a few texture pop-ins. There have never been frame rate drops in my experience with the game either. If you have never played Mirror's Edge, it is an amazing game that every gamer should experience. Expand
  31. Aug 30, 2014
    8
    Was really fun at first until I got more into the game.. In the beginning really you were just jumping off anywhere you wanted and using different methods of "parkour" to get where you had to be, and it was a blast. When combat was first introduced it was alright , kinda repetitive but atleast you could just ignore the people shooting you if you didn't wanna fight them. Then, the storyline kinda turned into a drag, you were frequently forced to fight 1v5 and transform this great parkour game into a mini FPS where you just sat behind cover and shot them with a gun, which really ruined it for me. Also, the random free-running parts of the game kinda drifted away... And, the tricky challenges which you didnt ever wanna do, start to make you rage ALOT more. As you get more and more good with the mechanics of the game, you wanna start doing objectives a little faster and try to run the way through, well let me just say THIS GAME IS NOT FORGIVING AT ALL, and you will constantly fall to your death at the stupidest times. Expand
  32. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    From Start To Finish This Game Is Unique. The fantastic art style, parkour and fighting is simply great. I would recommend this for any platformer fan considering its pretty much a fps platformer (literally)
  33. Aug 19, 2011
    0
    Mirror's Edge is in a genre all it's own. The closest it comes to is a FPS, but it's definitely not as you won't be shooting for most of the game and won't even have to if you choose not to. It'll have you run across the rooftops of a breathtakingly rendered city, jumping from building to building, and breaking open doors as you run from your chasers. It's exciting, unique, and currently, well worth the price. My only disappointment with it is that it doesn't really have multiplayer, just time trials you can compare with others. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. But for every bit as brilliant Mirror’s Edge is, it’s also equally as frustrating. For every time you exclaim in joyful accomplishment by nailing a series of jumps and lifts, you’ll lament missing a ledge by the width of a fingernail for what feels like the hundredth time, just as much.
  2. Mirror's Edge is a distinct game, both in playability and visuals and that's a major feat. Faith is full of character and her world is colorful and vibrant, although the adventure is quite short.
  3. Mirror’s Edge seems to be yet another game marking EA’s gaming renaissance. Rather than churning out endless sequels, it’s encouraging to see that they’re willing to take a leap of faith (pardon the pun) and let ace developers such as DICE try out new IPs and ideas.