Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Major League Baseball 2K13 promises hours of baseball action for sports fans or gamers where players can master the signature right analog pitching controls to achieve the perfect delivery from the mound, enjoy the authentic baseball environment of MLB Today, and develop winning players and teams in My Player, Franchise & Postseason modes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. 64
    The problem is that MLB 2K13 doesn't feel like it was made by people who love baseball. It feels like it was made by a company who used to love baseball and is trying to milk a couple of extra bucks out of fans before Major League Baseball takes their contract away.
  2. 60
    From the initial menu screen, it’s clear that little has changed over the course of a year beyond pasting in David Price as the cover star. The interface is essentially identical, the play modes are unchanged in execution, and the on-field action is precisely where it was last season. Even the Achievements are carbon-copied.
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    50
    It’s sad to watch a once-proud franchise struggle...It is, literally, the same exact game as MLB 2K12 with updated rosters, schedules, and uniforms.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    50
    MLB 2K13 is a complete and utter retread with all the appeal of used chewing gum.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    45
    The hard truth of the matter is that there is a rival game out there that schools 2K13 on every conceivable level. MLB 2K13, by comparison, is an embarrassing use of the MLB license, feeling more like a half-assed attempt to rake in a few bucks off fans who haven't read reviews than any real attempt to make a fun baseball game.
  6. Mar 28, 2013
    40
    MLB 2K13 is one of the most embarrassing whiffs I’ve seen. Whether I was playing CPU or human opponents, games frequently hinged on something that shouldn’t have happened on the diamond. Only play it if you have a YouTube account dedicated to archiving video game glitches.
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    30
    It's as much a shame on 2K Sports for releasing this game as it is for the MLB to carelessly stamp its name on it. Whether it was sheer apathy or contractual licensing obligations that caused MLB 2K13 to exist in this state, it certainly wasn't a love for baseball, sports games, or its fans.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 11 out of 24
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    MLB2K13 is Awesome baseball game. I have been playing this game all morning and the gameplay/graphics are great especially the pitching. Career mode gets a huge boost thanks to more realistic expectations and progression. It's still a solid performer If your a baseball fan you grab MLB2K13 it awesome! Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game a great example of good developers with a bad publisher. If this team got the support The Show did they would blow them out of the water. They are doing what they do on the engine they have for the original Xbox and make it look great. I can't wait to see next year when the new engine is done on next gen. This game is more realistic then The Show which is why I prefer it and they made great changes to My Player. This game is truly an eight and a half but I'm giving it a ten because of the scum from The Show that will down this game. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Is this a perfect game? No (and perhaps ironically so, given the game's marketing campaign). Is it the same game as last year? Honestly, I didn't play 2K12 so I couldn't tell you. What I can say is that it captures the pitcher-batter battle amazingly well and provides a satisfying experience that will surely give me 100+ hours of gameplay, as most baseball games have before it. The commentary is top-notch, the statistical presentation is a baseball junkie's dream, and for all the glitch-clips and complaints that I see posted across the web, I have only encountered one and it had little to no effect on the gameplay experience. I'm not the type to whine and complain about a baseball videogame being "nothing more than a roster update" from the year before. When I watch real MLB, I know my Cubs will have a roster update but it will be the same game as last year no World Series win, and another year of disappointment.

    All joking aside, if you're looking for a game that can give you a solid return on investment in terms of gameplay time, you could do far worse. 10 games into my franchise Spring Training, and 31 games into My Player mode, I've already felt that my $60 will be justified. Sure some of the player models aren't the prettiest, but for those of us who grew up on Atari and Intellivision, we can look past that into the quality elements of the gameplay which matter most. And 2K consistently delivers the best pitching system that I have played in years of gaming on the digital diamond.
    Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    This game is incredibly similar to MLB 2k12. The menus look exactly the same, the game modes are the exact same, and the game itself plays exactly the same. It's pretty much an exact copy of 2k12 with some minor tweaks except for one thing- for whatever reason, 2k13 does not support online leagues. 2k12 had online leagues, and these have been a fixture for the 2k series for years. The minor tweaks I was talking about are mostly mechanical- fielding looks a bit smoother (although still jerky on some plays), the crowd looks a bit better, and, most importantly, the AI is a bit smarter, especially in late game situations (the computer will actually sub out pitchers at appropriate times.) When it comes down to it, MLB 2k13 is a stripped down rehash of MLB 2k12. Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    3
    What a waste of money! As every 2k fan knows, 2k does not do good with baseball. To be frank, if you have Mlb 11 and Mlb 12 don't buy '13! It is a replica to the past games. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    Greetings sports fans the season is upon us and unfortunately the grass may be "greener on the otherside." For all of you diamond lovers who are tethered to the Xbox console prepare yourself for a let down. Not only is this years MLB 2k baseball game a simple rehash of last years the failing company even went as far as to all out pull the most popular feature...its online league play. Now as a die hard MLB 2k supporter every year I defend my beloved franchise against all the haters and PS3 rabble rousers that claim that MLB The show is better. Time and time again I continue to point out the obvious reasons for my continued patronage...but alas 2k you have crossed the line. Limiting players to meaningless ranked matches is a sure fire way to ruin what's left of your already failing reputation. In closing the game plays well enough with only minor cosmetic glitches but is no where near the 60 usd price tag that the game retailed at. Also due to a lack of online leagues the game is actually LESS than the previous years iteration. Buyer beware... Collapse
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    Do not buy! This is an exact clone of last years game! Anyone who says something good about this game must be a developer. Half the bench players are fake names, the gameplay is terrible (just like 2k11), and I have yet to find anything new that made this game worth buying other than roster updates. Regret wasting my money! Expand

See all 24 User Reviews