Monopoly Streets Xbox 360

Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    83
    In short, it's Monopoly, only prettier and easier to get out and put away than the board game. Now if you excuse me, I need to roll doubles to try and get out of jail.
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    80
    At the end of the day, Monopoly Streets won't replace the real Monopoly in your weekly family board game meet-up, but EA Salt Lake still manages to bring a faithful and interesting representation of the classic - yet simultaneously frustrating and mesmerizing - board game to your console.
  3. Feb 11, 2011
    77
    Despite some drawn-out presentation moments, I really enjoyed Monopoly Streets and it will likely replace my board game the next time anyone wants to play.
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    Monopoly Streets isn't going to make new fans if you already find the core Monopoly gameplay boring and mundane, but if you're a fan of Monopoly and want a version to play on your home console, whether online or offline, you probably needn't look any further.
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    Monopoly Streets is a fantastic rendition of the classic board game that offers up just about any combination of play styles you can imagine.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jan 6, 2011
    70
    Those looking to play solo should probably look elsewhere. [Issue#67, p.87]
  7. Jan 4, 2011
    70
    The essence of Monopoly on your console, with a bunch of some new features that improve the game playability without much further ado. Buy it if you want to experience the 'original feelings' on your TV screen.
  8. Jan 6, 2011
    67
    But here the developer's essentially gave players the chance to skip the most irrelevant portion of the game while forcibly skipping critical information by not leaving messages on screen for at least five seconds. Combine this with the complete lack of fun associated with the board game, stripping out the ability to strategize, and hurling flashing graphics and towering buildings at you sans an understanding of what anything means, and the result is a rapid-pace disaster of a game.
  9. Jan 7, 2011
    65
    As a computer game, Monopoly can't keep up the pace. Since you don't have actual dices in your hands, you also can't get any feelings out of the game.
  10. Dec 20, 2010
    65
    Monopoly Streets admirably brings the famed board game to life, but annoying characters and poor pacing keep this outing from rolling doubles.
  11. Mar 29, 2011
    63
    If you love Monopoly, but couldn't care less about online play, get a 2008 version. It makes no sense to pay extra for pretty much the only new feature.
  12. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jan 30, 2011
    60
    As good as you'd expect it to be. [Feb 2011, p.97]
  13. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    If you like Monopoly you'll like Monopoly Streets. But it you like it, you will probably already have the table-top game at home, and would prefer to play it without watching a television. But its virtue lies in the possibility to set up specific rules, and add additional extras to a basic formula, specially in online modes.
  14. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    EA hasn't done that bad a job here, but I'd personally rather stick with the real thing.
  15. 57
    The only benefit of owning Monopoly Streets is the ability to play with friends online, as otherwise you could just stick to the regular board version. This is essentially just Monopoly with a few rule variations and a swanky 3D board, and is hardly worth shelling out for if you already own the original version. Plus, what's better than bankrupting friends and family in the comfort of your own home, replete with wonderful paper money? This game is simply not meant for consoles.
  16. Jan 13, 2011
    50
    A un-needed version of the board game, with annoying sound and I.A. issues.
  17. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    Streets is about as anemic as a retail game can legally be.
  18. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Jan 30, 2011
    42
    It's Family Game Night with just one (dull) game. [Feb 2011, p.108]
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    Definitely worth the time of going out and purchasing if you're a fan of Monopoly or you know somebody who is. And with a 40 dollar price tagDefinitely worth the time of going out and purchasing if you're a fan of Monopoly or you know somebody who is. And with a 40 dollar price tag for all platforms, it's a steal. Personally I'm not a huge fan but my wife and in-laws are and I brought it home at 2 this afternoon and they are still playing. Graphically, it's nothing to write home about but I don't think anybody is expecting the greatest graphics in the world from a game like this. The ambient sound is cute and suits all the boards well.
    All in all, I would give this game an 8. Good family fun, 4 player co-op on a single console or over Xbox Live, and all in all a positive experience.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    1
    Saw this advertised on the xbox DLC and figured, what the hell, I like monopoly... Wow what a disappointment.

    The Good: The graphics are
    Saw this advertised on the xbox DLC and figured, what the hell, I like monopoly... Wow what a disappointment.

    The Good:
    The graphics are decent enough, it is a fresh face for an old game... I will give it that much, however some of the interactions between tokens and avatars are sketchy at best. The bad: The sound is god awful. If you make it past the voice overs, there are still subtle annoyance I dislike, as in, hit the button to roll the dice, and hit the button again to stop rolling the dice.... was the second button tap really necessary? Its just one more thing that slows down the game. The biggest flaw with this game is that it is almost entirely unplayable on xbox live. I have found that in about half of the games, either some glitch will happen that will freeze the game during player movement, or whomever is the host will leave, and the game will collapse. What a critical flaw in a game designed to be played by multiple people. Based on the fact that this game was released 8-9 months ago, which is more than enough time to fix these multiplayer flaws, which the maker obviously doesn't care about, I am leaving the review of 1. The entire game just feels like it was thrown together in a weekend.

    In short, if you cant play with other people, then you are just playing with yourself,
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    the graphics are really nice and the game is a lot of fun to play. However, there are obvious glitches and cheats that's some players exploit.the graphics are really nice and the game is a lot of fun to play. However, there are obvious glitches and cheats that's some players exploit. It's no fun fighting an uneven game where nobody but one person can win, and it frequently happens.be prepared to pick and choose whom you play against. And don't forget to turn off your chat microphone Full Review »