Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Oct 2, 2011
    63
    For the low price of $10 though I can look past the issues with Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 and play it even as is just for the pure bloody fun it was. If you want to relive your childhood then this is one of the arcade packs I suggest you buy before any other because let's face, everyone wanted to be Liu kang or Sub-Zero at one point or another, and this is as close as you're going to get. Not counting the brand new versions with HD graphics and killer X-Ray moves.
  2. 75
    Finding an opponent online is easy, although newbies will find little mercy and even less help. Otherwise, this Kollection is an appealing, if never mind-blowing, package.
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    65
    This game really isn't expensive but the other Mortal Kombat games are just more fun to play. Also the fact that there aren't many players online is a shame.
  4. Sep 16, 2011
    55
    Only $10 for three arcade titles that have written the Mortal Kombat history might seem like a bargain, but the big issues with the online mode and sounds does not justify the purchase. At least until a substantial patch to fix them will not be released.
  5. Sep 15, 2011
    65
    A compilation only recommendable for the series hardcore fans or for really nostalgic gamers.
  6. Sep 14, 2011
    75
    The first three classic Mortal Kombat in one single bargain collection, back to the 90 again with these ultra-violent beat'em up perfectly converted on next-gen consoles and PC.
  7. Sep 14, 2011
    60
    This compilation uses the nostalgia effect to draw money from the hardcore fans of Mortal Kombat. Unlike Street Fighter III: Third Strike Online Edition, anyway, after so many years the three games of the Kollection are less appealing than before. The horrible lag, moreover, prevent players from having fun with the online multiplayer.
  8. Sep 11, 2011
    65
    he games really just have not aged well at all, and the terrible up-and-down of the matches to get you to pump tokens into the game still remain, making it an incredibly frustrating fight.
  9. Sep 10, 2011
    70
    Overall the Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection is only ten dollars and is a great deal for that price.
  10. Sep 10, 2011
    40
    The Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection is a package that will truly inspire nostalgia, for better or for worse.
  11. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection is bloody, nostalgic fun that brings three influential games back into the spotlight. Fans of MK won't want to miss this kollection.
  12. Sep 8, 2011
    50
    Ultimately, if you're looking for an easy way to get an old-school Mortal Kombat fix, the Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection does the job, but just barely.
  13. Sep 6, 2011
    63
    What you see is what you get with the Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection. This includes the touchy controls and difficult AI. These are pure emulations of the very same arcade games that first arrived on the scene almost two decades ago.
  14. Sep 6, 2011
    70
    Sure, it has its problems; the AI literally cheats and the online is broken; but owning all three games in one sweet package was more than worth the price of admission for me.
  15. 60
    Mortal Kombat: Arcade Kollection is unfortunately a painful reminder of what could've been a full HD remake. That being said, without any major overhauls to the game's mechanics, it still wouldn't have played as well as it did in the past.
  16. Sep 1, 2011
    42
    Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection's low price forgives the absence of modes and options we usually take for granted. The problem is it's also lacking what amounts to basic functionality. The arcade ports are lazy and desperately in need of a patch and the online interface was plagued with lag. The worst part is the higher your appreciation for Mortal Kombat's golden years, the more glaring Arcade Kollection's gaffs become.
  17. Sep 1, 2011
    60
    Unless online gets patched I don't see myself going back there, and honestly unless somebody asks me to load it up, I won't be playing the Arcade Kollection much after this week. But ripping out spines, and desperately trying to remember the right spam moves to beat Motaro was a fun nostalgia break.
  18. Sep 1, 2011
    40
    Given how loveably other classic arcade fighters have been treated recently, the problems and omissions make Arcade Kollection nothing but depressing. These games deserve better.
  19. Oct 23, 2011
    77
    Best played locally with other videogame veterans over an alcopop or two. [Dec 2011, p.87]
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    It's Mortal Kombat in its purest, simplest and most fun form. MKII alone (for me) is worth the 10 bucks, however having all three games is an incredible value anyway. Im not going to mention the critic review whose website's name pretty much describes his review. I really dont get why people need extra bonus content for a game to be worth something. Online play is fine for me unlike the other guy, so as long as youre not downloading porno while on Live youll be fine. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    4
    I already have all these games on multiple consoles. There's no need to review the actual games, everyone knows they're good and obviously I bought this because I love the games, but the biggest problem for the MK games has always been the AI. Which can be very cheap, so I just wanted to play these games online.

    Too bad I they don't let you try the multiplayer in the trial because I have been attempting in vain over the past week to find ONE game online. The only reason I bought the thing and I've been ripped off for 800 ms points because the multiplayer just doesn't work. I have no connection issues in any other game (bar, oddly enough, Mortal Kombat 9) so there's no excuse.

    Also the menus - why can't you view the moves list between rounds ? It blocks out the menu which is annoying if you want to remind yourself how to do a particular fatality and why don't they display the controls relative to the side of the screen your on? I know that I'm complaining about something pretty trivial, but the fact is this on the Xbox 360 - this should be the best version of these games by far and its not.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    Tis collection is arcade perfect and it only cost $10 while it comes wit MK1, MK2, and UMK3 we would not have minded if they added Trilogy as a non-online game. After a few months this game gets a patch that helped its lag and got rid of alot of bugs. Many players may find tese games to be very hard and cheap well they are thats how they were back then they are always gonna stay that way the very same way we love them. Its a must buy for MK lovers such as myself. Full Review »