User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 92
  2. Negative: 5 out of 92

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    What can I say? Its just a great game. The fighting, the fatalities, everything in it is good. The story line is good too, but it does not really make sense, but, its still fun, very challenging though, even on easy! Get it.
  2. AGK
    Jan 2, 2014
    10
    My favorite game and I love every second of this godlike game. blood and gore is more than my cup of tea, it's my thing when it comes to video games and the fatalities just leave me smiling to no end, I just adore this game!
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2) (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2013
    8
    Well, I don't exactly own the "Komplete" edition, but I have all the DLC. This game is definitely fun and is my favorite 2D fighter. It's much better than Street Fighter. It's well balanced and plays great. The fatalities are awesome and the story mode is cool... Although I wish it was longer. Multiplayer is good but some people are just too good for me. The ladder is ridiculous though. With all this, I can't help but feel like something is missing. This game doesn't keep me coming back for more. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Strong reboot. Solid game. Great precision on the fight system. Well-developed characters here. Great story. But... it just doesn't add nothing to the table. Maybe that's the intention. To compensate the disappointing PS2 franchise, here we have a fresh restart that takes Mortal Kombat back to its origins.
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    Let me say first say i enjoy mortal kombat, always have, real cool graphics and a bit on the storyline, execpt when i get to raiden's story....its gets a bit hecked...first u get to this part when u have to fight his friends..that became unstable for me fighting 9 ppl without health recovery, then the unthinkable happens...fighting shoakahn(the impossible) not given raiden stable special abilities becomes impossible tp defeat shoakahn...becomes an unfair fight all the time...despite my millions trys of killing him the game is alrite and good ridance at the same damn time.... Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Well I wasn't expecting this. I grew up with fighters and football being my favorite genre. Fighters have really been in a dark place for a while. There just isn't a lot you can do for replay value for those without a great internet connection. It doesn't help that the stories in fighting games border on ridiculous. Games like DOA and Street Fighter do not even try and you can see everything aside from costumes in a 30 minute play session. Well Ed Boon and company is here to show how things are done. After MK VS DC I thought Netherrealm Studios were done. Well it apparently did well because WB Games gave them infinite money to make this game and it shows. The graphics are amazing. There are over 30 fighting stages, most remakes of older ones from MK 1-3. All of the fighters are also from the first 3 games except the downloadable fighters. The 360 version does not have Kratos however. (PS3 exclusive). It plays like the MK's of old 2-D plane and all. A larger move list, special x-ray moves which look cool as hell, more special moves per fighter, and that is basically all that has been added to the fighting. It is a remake in that regard, Bit each fighters moves look a bit different and the game is nicely balanced, good enough even for tourney play. Of course the staple fatalities are back and babalities make a return as well. These have never been better or more brutal. The story mode will take a few hours to complete but it is worth the play through. The crypt is back and the unlockables are endless. There is also a new mode which is 200 (Or was it 300?) stages where certain things need to be done. No throws, fighting 2 enemies, hitting fighters when they are in the light, and so on and so forth. Some of these are very challenging and give the game variety most fighters lack. Online play is well done and the normal arcade modes are there as well. The game simply has the meat other fighters lack. It looks awesome, it is brutal, and it is fun without being difficult to master. But newbies will have to practice to beat the vets. There are some problems with it. My main problem is the animation is not as fluid as most other fighters. However it is much improved over past MK's. Also I wish their were more variety in throws and a better counter system. Each fighter only has 2 throws and the counter is more of just pushing away from the other fighter. Again like all fighters these days, the DLC was a rip off but at least they did not go the extreme's of Ark System or Capcom. As good as this is, I am a little worried about the next version. How can they top this? Also have to give them their props. Freddie Kruger was a great guest character. Bring on Injustice Netherrealm. It will be a day one buy for me..... Collapse
  8. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    good game and new moves i like it.... buy it guys... i like the moves when you do the x rays is nice my best player is sub zero i think he is the best of all i recomended
  9. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    I don't generally play fighting games but this game makes me want to start. Everything about it is just so well done. The only reason its not a 10 is because of some technical problems and one terrible character (Sheeva). Even if your like me and don't play fighting games, buy this one. You won't regret it.
  10. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    Is a good game and the extra contents are fantastic the online multiplayer is fantastic and is optimal to play with friends specially 2vs.2. the fatalities are awesome to see and the x-ray attacks too.
  11. May 11, 2012
    10
    one of the best fighting games this generation played it for hours and hours on end and loved every second of the game and I still play it today and will continue until it gets replaced
  12. May 3, 2012
    9
    This game is basically no different from the original all you get is the four DLC characters a few new skins,and coupons to get the sh***ty ass movie. But its really fun but somehow they added it up to a 60$ price tag. If you have the money and you've never played the game before its worth it this game is amazing and really fun with so much stuff to do your never truly get bored
  13. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    The AI in this game is such a pain that I had to knock 2 points off of the total score. The Ai is beyond frustrating sometimes. This game includes the best fatalities ever in MK, nice selection of characters, and a pretty waesome storyline for a brawler type game. The only problem is that the AI in the story mode become God-liek at points which make me want to break my controller. Online multiplayer is a blast. Expand
  14. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    Already playing this game on my "modded" 360. I've only been playing it for like an hour it's sorta lame, but is fun to play. Definitely not realistic which would either be too much to ask for or it might be too un- MK
  15. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is exactly the same as the normal version of the game, but just bundled with all of the DLC--this includes: DLC characters Skarlett, Kenshi, Rain, and Freddy. It also includes all additional costumes released with the characters, as well as the classic costumes with fatalities for Reptile, Scorpion, and Sub-Zero. I've only seen a couple difference between this version and the normal version: The title screen says Komplete Edition underneath Mortal Kombat, and Quan Chi and Cyber Sub-Zero are unlocked from the get go (in the normal version these characters are unlocked via story mode). If you missed out on this game the first time around, this is a great option to get into it as you'll get everything for $60. Excellent fighting game--good amount of single player stuff to do, and it includes tag battles which can be fun with a group of friends. This is one of my favorite fighting games and I think any fighting game fan will enjoy it to some degree. If you're not a fighting game fan, this is probably your best bet for a game to just mash around in (this or Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom) and have fun. Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    Well I wasn't expecting this. I grew up with fighters and football being my favorite genre. Fighters have really been in a dark place for a while. There just isn't a lot you can do for replay value for those without a great internet connection. It doesn't help that the stories in fighting games border on ridiculous. Games like DOA and Street Fighter do not even try and you can see everything aside from costumes in a 30 minute play session. Well Ed Boon and company is here to show how things are done. After MK VS DC I thought Netherrealm Studios were done. Well it apparently did well because WB Games gave them infinite money to make this game and it shows. The graphics are amazing. There are over 30 fighting stages, most remakes of older ones from MK 1-3. All of the fighters are also from the first 3 games except the downloadable fighters. The 360 version does not have Kratos however. (PS3 exclusive). It plays like the MK's of old 2-D plane and all. A larger move list, special x-ray moves which look cool as hell, more special moves per fighter, and that is basically all that has been added to the fighting. It is a remake in that regard, Bit each fighters moves look a bit different and the game is nicely balanced, good enough even for tourney play. Of course the staple fatalities are back and babalities make a return as well. These have never been better or more brutal. The story mode will take a few hours to complete but it is worth the play through. The crypt is back and the unlockables are endless. There is also a new mode which is 200 (Or was it 300?) stages where certain things need to be done. No throws, fighting 2 enemies, hitting fighters when they are in the light, and so on and so forth. Some of these are very challenging and give the game variety most fighters lack. Online play is well done and the normal arcade modes are there as well. The game simply has the meat other fighters lack. It looks awesome, it is brutal, and it is fun without being difficult to master. But newbies will have to practice to beat the vets. There are some problems with it. My main problem is the animation is not as fluid as most other fighters. However it is much improved over past MK's. Also I wish their were more variety in throws and a better counter system. Each fighter only has 2 throws and the counter is more of just pushing away from the other fighter. Again like all fighters these days, the DLC was a rip off but at least they did not go the extreme's of Ark System or Capcom. As good as this is, I am a little worried about the next version. How can they top this? Also have to give them their props. Freddie Kruger was a great guest character. Bring on Injustice Netherrealm. It will be a day one buy for me..... Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    95
    Gamers who already bought the game when it came out in 2011, though, won't find enough in the "komplete" edition to justify purchasing it. However, any fighting-game fan that missed it last year shouldn't pass it by the second time around. With smooth graphics and gameplay, great controls, and excellent online multiplayer and spectacular single-player gameplay, Mortal Kombat has reclaimed its crown as the best fighting game.
  2. Mar 29, 2012
    83
    The Mortal Kombat: Komplete Edition extras are a little light, but that shouldn't keep you away from picking up one of the best fighting games in recent memory. This version comes with a Skrillex-enhanced soundtrack and a voucher for the feature film. It's not as complete as it could have been, but this Komplete Edition is still worth snatching up for first time buyers!
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    85
    That being said, for those gamers who skipped the original 2011 release, Mortal Kombat Komplete is a phenomenal fighting game and well worth the $60 asking price. But for those who already own the original title there is little reason to pony up that kind of cash given that the entirety of Komplete's included DLC can be already be purchased for less than $20.