Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. May 6, 2011
    100
    Mortal Kombat is BACK. Remember how you felt when you walked through the arcade and saw MK for the first time? That feeling will come shooting back as soon as you put the disc in. FIGHT!
  2. May 2, 2011
    100
    Fighting fit and ready to rip off your head, it's definitely the best Mortal Kombat game released to date.
  3. Apr 27, 2011
    100
    Ed Boon can rest easy, his Mortal Kombat reboot is a resounding success. With its creative modes, stellar story and revamped fighting mechanics, Mortal Kombat is one of the best fighting games on the PlayStation 3. Best of all, there's more than enough single-player content for even those who never want to go up against another human being. Flawless victory!
  4. Apr 25, 2011
    100
    Easily the best game the franchise has produced. Engaging for pros and newcomers alike, packing tons of content and wrapped in a gorgeous presentation, it's not just a show of love for fans of the series, but a game likely to make many more.
  5. Apr 22, 2011
    100
    An incredible package that should appeal to any fighting game fan or anyone who grew up with the series. Ed Boon and his team at NetherRealm have created a love letter to fans that will stand the test of time.
  6. Apr 19, 2011
    100
    With its shockingly terrific solo components and a multiplayer offering that gives you plenty of options, Mortal Kombat might just be the most complete fighting game ever released. Oh, and yeah, it's a lot of fun to play, too.
  7. Apr 28, 2011
    95
    If you enjoy fighting games, you'll enjoy this one, and with so much to unlock it's got plenty for you to do and keep you busy. If you're a fan of Street Fighter IV who has never liked Mortal Kombat, I do suggest you give this one a try as I think both games are very well made.
  8. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    This is the best Mortal Kombat yet. It didn't blow my mind to the degree that Mortal Kombat 2 and 3 did back in the day, but when it comes down to the gameplay and longevity tied to it, this new entry towers above its 2D lineage.
  9. Apr 29, 2011
    94
    If you've ever liked fighting games and have a strong stomach, you simply need to check this game out. Everything that a Mortal Kombat fan has ever wanted out of the series is present and accounted for here. This title has trimmed all the fat, in the most gleefully gruesome ways possible. Fighting games simply don't come any more fun and exhilarating than this. It's a flawless victory.
  10. Apr 26, 2011
    94
    Mortal Kombat goes back to its roots, making it even better than past Mortal Kombat games. There is so much content and there are so many improvements that this title is the best fighting game you'll find in stores right now.
  11. Apr 22, 2011
    94
    Go buy this game, simple as that.
  12. Apr 26, 2011
    93
    Bloody, gory, ridiculous...no matter how hard you try to put it down, you will soon find yourself picking it back up. It immerses players in ways few fighting games - aside maybe from the last Capcom console outing - have ever done before. A tour de force!
  13. Apr 21, 2011
    93
    It plays superbly, looks fantastic, has features galore for both single player and multiplayer, and has all the gore and fatalities you missed so much in Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe. Welcome back, Kombat.
  14. Apr 25, 2011
    91
    A tirelessly crafted make-good well worth experiencing.
  15. Apr 19, 2011
    91
    Mortal Kombat has achieved something that I never thought I'd see in my lifetime: a fighting game that has more than enough single player content to keep casual players involved, with a gameplay system that can satisfy even the most hardcore fighting game fans. NetherRealm Studios' dedication and attention to detail on all fronts shows that they are much more in tune with what gamers look for when purchasing a new game more so than any other fighting game developer out there.
  16. May 20, 2011
    90
    It could seem that after almost two decades Ed Boon and his team will have had enough of the Mortal Kombat series. New Netherrealms game proves something entirely different. Even though the creator of this crazy and brutal universe had admitted during interviews that he would like to start something new, he still treats Mortal Kombat with heart. Only to have it torn out and smashed into pieces in fountains of blood for the players' entertainment. The newest installment in Mortal Kombat series is an absorbing, thought out, atmospheric and at the same time absurd game.
  17. 90
    All in all, Mortal Kombat brings together everything that made the franchise great and brings back everything that players will love and remember from all those years ago in arcades. The gore is in full force, the characters are still as memorable, and the controversy has piled on in huge amounts. It's a nice touch that the game is very accessible to the wider audience too (as long as they're old enough, though).
  18. May 9, 2011
    90
    Aside from those admittedly minor issues, Mortal Kombat is an impressive piece of work. It's got more than enough gore to satisfy the older fans, a deep combat system to draw in tournament-level players, and a huge amount of content. It's nice to see that after twenty years, the series can finally move towards being something other than a guilty pleasure.
  19. 90
    A brilliant homage to the 2D fighters that birthed it and brilliantly plucks features equally from more modern fighters as well as adding a few new ones of its own. Definitely brilliant – just not quite perfect.
  20. May 4, 2011
    90
    A great surprise: Mortal Kombat is incredibly entertaining, ultra violent and has the greatest selection of single player modes we've seen in the genre these latest years. It may not be as technical and deep as Capcom's fighting games, but it surely is even more fun.
  21. May 3, 2011
    90
    I really thought fighting games were on there way out a couple of years ago. But with games like Mortal Kombat there is now proof that life still exists in this genre. In fact Mortal Kombat provided some of the most enjoyable gaming I have had in 2011. If you're a fan of the series or looking for a new game to sink your teeth into, Mortal Kombat is definitely worth a look.
  22. May 1, 2011
    90
    The latest Mortal Kombat is, in our opinion, the best in the series so far. This is more ambitious than the previous ones, has a perfect roster of fighters and offers more content than any other fighting game.
  23. Apr 30, 2011
    90
    After many years of missteps, Mortal Kombat is, at last, back to its 2D glory. The latest chapter of the franchise will satisfy even the most demanding fans of the series, offering a wealth of offline modes, including probably the best Story Mode we have ever seen in the fighting genre.
  24. Apr 30, 2011
    90
    The most fun I've had with a fighting game in many, many years. There is an unrivalled amount of single player content and a busy online system, all of which is a joy to play.
  25. Apr 28, 2011
    90
    If it wasn't for the poor online experience, Mortal Kombat would have been this gen's king of fighting games. The sheer quantity and quality of contents is staggering, greatly above genre standards, and the return to the series' proven 2D gameplay make this game a must buy for every fighting games lover.
  26. Apr 27, 2011
    90
    It's fun, it's fast and it's fantastic, unless the sight of (virtual) blood makes you faint there's no good excuse not to pick it up.
  27. Apr 22, 2011
    90
    While Mortal Kombat may not completely overwhelm you with features, it does offer more replayability than recent offerings from other fighting game developers - Capcom included. This game may not quite have tournament-level gameplay depth and that's mostly due to some minor issues with hit detection and the combo system, but this is still the most polished and pro-gamer-worthy MK we've seen in the last decade.
  28. Apr 20, 2011
    90
    The amount of detail that was put into this game is astounding and it is also, graphically speaking, one of the most beautiful fighters out there. Be sure not to miss out on this round of Mortal Kombat.
  29. Apr 19, 2011
    90
    Visually, Mortal Kombat looks great. If you are hoping for a highly detailed, gruesome experience, then Mortal Kombat definitely delivers.
  30. 90
    Mortal Kombat still isn't quite up to Street Fighter's level of complexity, but it's a deep, incredibly brutal fighter nonetheless, offering tons of variety and hidden extras. It's a goofier reboot than we were expecting, but it's also the most fun the MK series has been in years.
  31. Apr 19, 2011
    90
    For casual fans who want to have a fun bloodbath, plus the hardcore crowd that carries the franchise with its gaming dollar, this definitely won't disappoint you.
  32. Apr 19, 2011
    90
    Mortal Kombat is not only back, it's ripping off heads. This reboot has an unprecedented amount of kontent (with a k), unlocks, charm, and raw fun. Even if you haven't liked previous Mortal Kombats, believe me, you'll be hooked the first time you triple d.ck punch someone.
  33. Jun 8, 2011
    88
    I enjoyed this new vision of Mortal Kombat more than any previous edition in the franchise. It has some issues, mostly in the single-player game, but all the hardcore fighters are here for the human-on-human interactions so it probably isn't a deal-breaker. If you love Mortal Kombat or just want to play an uber-violent and bloody fighting game then Mortal Kombat is the reigning champ and definitely worth adding to your collection.
  34. May 1, 2011
    88
    Mortal Kombat is a well-polished, fantastic entry into the fighting genre. If you are not into fighting games, this one won't change your mind, but if you do enjoy picking up the sticks and throwing down, this one is for you. Overall, this is a fantastic package that exceeds expectations, and is definitely worth checking out.
  35. Apr 20, 2011
    88
    Mortal Kombat boasts an impressive depth fueled by massive innovations and is poised to take the crown of the undisputed champion of fighting games. Now is the time to bear witness to the resurrection of an iconic gaming series.
  36. Apr 26, 2011
    87
    Mortal Kombat is back. Filled with singleplayer content and with a roster that includes all the most beloved Kombatants, this new chapter is definetly the best Mortal kombat ever. If you are a fan, don't miss it!
  37. Apr 20, 2011
    87
    Mortal Kombat is here. Its gameplay system can satisfy all kinds of gamers and the game offers tons of variety and hidden extras. It's really a return to form for the franchise.
  38. Apr 22, 2011
    86
    Mortal Kombat looks like the better twin brother of the first game of the series. It is rich in content, has a great online multiplayer and it is a fighting game which attempt to appeal both casual gamers and hardcore gamers. This is the new entry in the Mortal Kombat franchise that may be the jump-start the series needs.
  39. Apr 20, 2011
    86
    It's a worthy part number nine, and the new modes make sense. Its essence focuses on the core: Beating someone else up, with stunning visuals and loads of fatalities.
  40. May 1, 2011
    85
    While it's fair to say that Mortal Kombat is flawed, it's also fair to say that we all expected it to be – and because of that it's actually far better than we could have imagined. It isn't particularly clever or sophisticated, but it's slick, sick and gruesomely entertaining. Complaining that Mortal Kombat is all style over substance is like complaining that Michael Bay's films have a lot of explosions in them – if it's not your cup of tea, go drink somewhere else. But if you want your action loud, colourful, exciting and unpredictable, you know exactly where to kome (last one, I promise).
  41. Apr 27, 2011
    85
    Mortal Kombat has finally made the jump to the current console generation. And the result is a true Mortal Kombat offering great fights and even greater finishing moves.
  42. Apr 26, 2011
    85
    Offers a staggering [amount] of unlockable content and a solid campaign mode.
  43. Apr 21, 2011
    85
    But when it comes down to it, it really seems like the PS3 is the best fit for Mortal Kombat. (With that said, I'll probably end up doing most of my playing -- reluctantly, mind you -- on the 360, where it seems the bulk of my personal network of friends is competing.)
  44. Apr 19, 2011
    85
    Over-the-top, bloody, and bursting with content, Mortal Kombat is a return to form for the franchise.
  45. Apr 21, 2011
    84
    When you take it all into consideration, Mortal Kombat is a pretty good entry into the series, namely for the surprisingly high-quality story mode, but it falls short in other areas. You'll spew vulgarities almost every time you have to choke down a 1v2 fight and when the AI suddenly gains near-psychic prediction abilities, but when it's an even 1v1 fight, the game is a lot of fun. The choice to essentially reboot the series was a wise one, and now is probably your best chance to get caught up with the Mortal Kombat story, short of replaying the originals. However, some truly asinine fights will certainly dull the enjoyment from time to time.
  46. May 10, 2011
    83
    Mortal Kombat is a great return to form for the franchise though and a veritable gore-laden treat for fans. A joy to play in any mode, MK simply needs its multiplayer refining to make the experience smoother and more gratifying to play. Its roster could have used a new character or two, but the 25 on the disc and two unlockable pugilists will keep the hardcore players happy.
  47. Apr 21, 2011
    83
    In one swift blow, Mortal Kombat reminds me why I dressed up as Sub-Zero for Halloween when I was six: It's brutal, aggressive, and awesome. The blunders with the auto-difficulty, story, and online can be easily patched or passed over by the return of the franchise to its arcade roots - where it belongs.
  48. May 5, 2011
    82
    Mortal Kombat is not a game that will satisfy beat 'em up enthusiasts for long – it doesn't have the required depth and there are too many momentum swinging variables that prevent skilled players from achieving the winning percentage they deserve. For everyone else though, it's a whole lot of fun. It's silly. It's crude. It's easy to learn. And, as a result, it's eminently charming and easy to like.
  49. May 10, 2011
    80
    Mortal Kombat is back and this time it's pulling no punches.
  50. May 9, 2011
    80
    Frustratingly, though, you cannot see what feature you are paying for until after you have bought it – meaning that all your hard work will often wind up buying you a rubbish extra music track instead of something rather more exciting, like a new fatality.
  51. May 2, 2011
    80
    Players waiting for their shot at the throne can watch fights in the theatre, with the lovely touch of having your Xbox avatar cheer along and even mark the winner out of ten at the end of a bout. Unfortunately King of the Hill can suffer from appalling lag at times, reducing its quirky appeal in comparison to the smoother one-on-one fights.
  52. May 2, 2011
    80
    Returning to give fans the proper dose of Fatality driven action, Mortal Kombat regains its passion.
  53. Apr 29, 2011
    80
    Mortal Kombat finally gets over its overwrought heritage and laughs along with us. It's a great fighting game, stuffed with things to do.
  54. Apr 26, 2011
    80
    Mortal Kombat is a morbid celebration of recognition. The game does everything you'd expect from a product of the franchise. Especially online the qualities of the fast gameplay come to fruition, but offline the game doesn't let down by any means. It's too bad though, that the storymode, a large part of the singleplayer, isn't more than a few cutscenes intertwined with a bunch of fights.
  55. Apr 25, 2011
    80
    Even if gamers may have to wait for something truly definitive, Mortal Kombat represents significant, praiseworthy progress for the series. A joyful respite for long-battered fans and a highly entertaining, bloodied distraction for the rest.
  56. Apr 22, 2011
    80
    Mortal Kombat is a great fighting game, simply quite far away from the strict mechanics of Street Fighters or The King of Fighters. The main gameplay brings with it a huge nostalgia effect, and works in a great way for who loves this franchise. The strong single player experience and the good multiplayer are enough to ignore a bunch of tiny problems.
  57. Apr 21, 2011
    80
    Feels like such a thorough piece of fan service, it's difficult to see how NetherRealm Studios will ever be able to follow it up, as it feels like there's little left to do. Still, for now that doesn't matter. Mortal Kombat feels like the return of an old friend - a thoroughly unhinged friend, but one we're delighted to have back.
  58. Apr 20, 2011
    80
    Mortal Kombat is both superb fan service and a good fighting game, with tons of game modes and options. Unfortunately it lacks precision and has no chance to compete with "beat'em up monsters" like Super Street Fighter IV.
  59. Apr 19, 2011
    80
    Of course, if you're like the vast majority of the folks who wandered by my desk during the weeks that I played Mortal Kombat, you want to see one thing, and one thing only: utter carnage. And hey -- it's here in spades. Just try to remember that for once, Mortal Kombat is more than the sum of a few flying body parts.
  60. Apr 19, 2011
    80
    A successful sequel that both reboots and redeems the wayward series, though it's not a flawless victory. Character balance, inconsistent detection and a stingy coin reward system drag down an otherwise bloody good time.
  61. Apr 19, 2011
    80
    A great game. It's not the most polished fighter out there, but it has a distinct flavor and it'll be a hit at gamer get-togethers.
  62. 80
    It's a blood-soaked love letter to the original series but hauls everything else up to date, making it a tasty treat for newcomers and a nine-course medieval banquet for fans.
  63. Unremarkable, but it's puerile charm makes it more than the sum of its (body) parts. [July 2011, p.87]
  64. Apr 21, 2011
    70
    Not too bad. Great tacky design and lots of content make this a fighting game worth your buck.
  65. Apr 20, 2011
    70
    The series has always ridden in the wake of its own spectacle, but after years of unfocused deviation, we finally have an evolution that demonstrates clear progress. It's the best 3D game in the series by a long way, and that's because it embraces the 2D heritage which always made Mortal Kombat its own kind of game.
  66. May 20, 2011
    50
    Borderline broken as a fighter, but, taken on its own meagre merits, a giggle to mess around with. Still, though, it falls a long way short of what could have been. [Issue#72, p.80]
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 346 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 127
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    When I first heard that they were making a new Mortal Kombat I wasn't exactly excited. I thought back to the ps2 era MK games and few positive adjectives came to my mind. Add to that the underwhelming MK vs. DC Universe of a few years ago and my hopes were decidedly bottom of the barrel when it came to MK9. But this morning I got a call from my brother this morning at 1:30 saying he had just picked up MK9 and was coming over. Now, you have to understand that I haven't heard from my brother in over a year. To make a long story short, at our parent's funeral in Winter 2010 there was a huge fight. My brother told me and the other siblings he would never speak to us again. It hurt to hear my big brother regard us so harshly and honestly, the last year has been hell for me. So when I heard from him this morning it was quite the shock.

    When he got here we exchanged few words and proceeded to start up the game on my 50" HD TV. I was hesitant at first and refused to play versus mode to start, telling my brother to simply play story mode while I watched. It didn't take us long to realize how magnificent this game truly was. During one of the early cutscenes my brother let out in amazement "it's like they're rewriting my childhood, hell yes." I don't want to spoil anything for you, but the story mode is the most awesomely presented story in fighting game history. I'm not ashamed to say there were a few high fives exchanged amongst us when we finally beat the last bosses. I had to get my hands on all the characters after that. We immediately went into versus and started taking eachother on just like we had in MKII for the SNES. It was one of the best experiences of my life. The gameplay isn't hard to get into and I can tell there's going to be a lot of room to get better. Maybe one day I'll even be able to beat big bro!

    So as 7AM hit us and we decided to get some rest, I realized something. None of the old hardships came back to light. This was fun like My brother and I hadn't experienced in ages. Fun I thought I had lost forever. Through all the gore and friendly competition we both realized what makes us equals as men, but more importantly, what made us equal as brothers. So as the sun rises here, I'm telling you, go out and buy this game.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    They did it right. The best idea in the world is for Raiden to travel back in time to the first Mortal Kombat...My fave part of that brilliance, is that it kills off all ridiculously stupid characters in that...unspoken...era of MK. This game gave me a gamers boner and I haven't quit killing my friends. It made me think back to being 8 years old at a pizza parlor, running out on my parents just so I could kill Korean guys in Mortal Kombat 1...the arcade...Yes,the smell of pizza makes me think of MK. I can't knock this game, they have all the right characters and i'm sure there are a crap ton more on the way! If you aren't a fan of MK, this would be the one and only to try. It's a huge step up and I love it to death. Full Review »
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This game is just well to put it shortly, the best fighting game I have ever played. I mean it has a brilliant story mode an excellent way of having a reboot, the actual fighting is as fluid and gory as ever, the challenge tower is full of randomness and well challenge! The fatalitys are some of the most gory i've seen. Man this is definitely in my top 5 games ever! Full Review »