Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 338 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mortal Kombat returns to consoles after a long hiatus featuring a return to the gruesome fatalities.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. May 6, 2011
    100
    Mortal Kombat is BACK. Remember how you felt when you walked through the arcade and saw MK for the first time? That feeling will come shooting back as soon as you put the disc in. FIGHT!
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    94
    If you've ever liked fighting games and have a strong stomach, you simply need to check this game out. Everything that a Mortal Kombat fan has ever wanted out of the series is present and accounted for here. This title has trimmed all the fat, in the most gleefully gruesome ways possible. Fighting games simply don't come any more fun and exhilarating than this. It's a flawless victory.
  3. 90
    All in all, Mortal Kombat brings together everything that made the franchise great and brings back everything that players will love and remember from all those years ago in arcades. The gore is in full force, the characters are still as memorable, and the controversy has piled on in huge amounts. It's a nice touch that the game is very accessible to the wider audience too (as long as they're old enough, though).
  4. May 1, 2011
    88
    Mortal Kombat is a well-polished, fantastic entry into the fighting genre. If you are not into fighting games, this one won't change your mind, but if you do enjoy picking up the sticks and throwing down, this one is for you. Overall, this is a fantastic package that exceeds expectations, and is definitely worth checking out.
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    85
    Offers a staggering [amount] of unlockable content and a solid campaign mode.
  6. May 9, 2011
    80
    Frustratingly, though, you cannot see what feature you are paying for until after you have bought it – meaning that all your hard work will often wind up buying you a rubbish extra music track instead of something rather more exciting, like a new fatality.
  7. May 20, 2011
    50
    Borderline broken as a fighter, but, taken on its own meagre merits, a giggle to mess around with. Still, though, it falls a long way short of what could have been. [Issue#72, p.80]

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 125
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    When I first heard that they were making a new Mortal Kombat I wasn't exactly excited. I thought back to the ps2 era MK games and few positive adjectives came to my mind. Add to that the underwhelming MK vs. DC Universe of a few years ago and my hopes were decidedly bottom of the barrel when it came to MK9. But this morning I got a call from my brother this morning at 1:30 saying he had just picked up MK9 and was coming over. Now, you have to understand that I haven't heard from my brother in over a year. To make a long story short, at our parent's funeral in Winter 2010 there was a huge fight. My brother told me and the other siblings he would never speak to us again. It hurt to hear my big brother regard us so harshly and honestly, the last year has been hell for me. So when I heard from him this morning it was quite the shock.

    When he got here we exchanged few words and proceeded to start up the game on my 50" HD TV. I was hesitant at first and refused to play versus mode to start, telling my brother to simply play story mode while I watched. It didn't take us long to realize how magnificent this game truly was. During one of the early cutscenes my brother let out in amazement "it's like they're rewriting my childhood, hell yes." I don't want to spoil anything for you, but the story mode is the most awesomely presented story in fighting game history. I'm not ashamed to say there were a few high fives exchanged amongst us when we finally beat the last bosses. I had to get my hands on all the characters after that. We immediately went into versus and started taking eachother on just like we had in MKII for the SNES. It was one of the best experiences of my life. The gameplay isn't hard to get into and I can tell there's going to be a lot of room to get better. Maybe one day I'll even be able to beat big bro!

    So as 7AM hit us and we decided to get some rest, I realized something. None of the old hardships came back to light. This was fun like My brother and I hadn't experienced in ages. Fun I thought I had lost forever. Through all the gore and friendly competition we both realized what makes us equals as men, but more importantly, what made us equal as brothers. So as the sun rises here, I'm telling you, go out and buy this game.
    Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    best mortal kombat game ever period packed full of content without shadow of a dout the best ever cant believe it after mk2 then sstreet 4 now this amazing Collapse
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    awesome game very much like the old games, but with better features. I highly recommend this game to anyone who loves fighting games and especially to those who are fans of the franchise. Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    Mortal Kombat is a nice videogame saga (for me). But this game really surprised me: good stroy, good gameplay, awesome fatalies (and babalities) and a lot of new mode. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2011
    9
    so much fun although a bit excessively violent i'm in australia so had this shipped to me by a really but i can't c why it was banned the combat is on par with many other games out there and how did this get out but Duke Nukem get in?........ anyway the combat is fun and easy enough (i'm new to the genre so i would know) also the graphics are brilliant and the characters look awesome everything done in this game has a weighty feel to it and i just love the fatalities and the x-ray moves set new holds for absolutely stuffing people up i love it althoug i could do without the one on 2 fights that appear a lot in the campaign Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Despite having a significantly larger amount of "Kontent" than SSFIV, Mortal Kombat fails to bring that classic feel back that it tried to with this title. Being completely unbiased I love the MK series but I more so love fighting games in general and this is more "new" than classic. It offers many modes that will keep you busy for a few months if you're looking at it from a casual perspective which this review is based on but look how long Marvel vs Capcom 3 lasted. Even the hard core fans are just about ready to give that up for the slew of epic fighters releasing over the next 2 years. This game is a definite buy for hardcore gamers of the fighting genre but if you aren't very complex you probably won't be able to pick up the combos as they're even harder than SFIV combos. Go out and buy it, if you love MK. 8/10 Expand
  7. May 17, 2011
    0
    This game is horrible, do not buy.

See all 125 User Reviews