Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. May 3, 2012
    68
    Mud offers new and interesting ideas to an arcade experience, but the gameplay is maybe too lightweight for motocross fans.
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    53
    The combination of racing and roleplaying elements made Milestones Scar something special. The attempt to transfer that formula into the dirt racing of MUD didn't work out that well.
  3. Jun 1, 2012
    70
    It is aimed at the wrong market, they should have made MUD suitable for the hardcore MX fans, despite this Milestone have done it again, well, they nearly did it again.
  4. May 8, 2012
    40
    One thing you can say about MUD: FIM Motocross World Championship is that it's not short on in-game content and activities, even if they're poorly executed. But MUD: FIM Motocross World Championship fails to appease arcade enthusiasts or simulation fanatics, muddying the waters between two gameplay styles.
  5. May 8, 2012
    60
    It lacks the ambition and style of some of its four-wheeled contemporaries, and you could argue that this license would have been better served by a semi-simulation like Milestone's own SBK. But by focusing on what makes motocross fun to watch rather than ride, it replicates the excitement of jumping from lip to lip astride a two-stroke tearaway... just about.
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    60
    From the same team behind the awesome SBK, here comes a new arcade game with the MX1 and MX2 motocross championship license. The result is a forgettable experience with nothing really new to offer, a disturbing soundtrack and some strange and unexpected physics glitches.
  7. May 4, 2012
    70
    MUD - FIM Motocross Championship is a discrete game, only for motocross-addicted who wants to ride like one of the real champions or play troughout a well structured career mode.
  8. Feb 26, 2013
    60
    I commend the developer for including different modes, but their inadequacies reveal a title that doesn't fully develop any one aspect of itself.
  9. Apr 27, 2012
    60
    The licence and authenticity is in place but the gameplay is too lightweight for real fans. [June 2012, p.78]
  10. 40
    A classic case of a racer that doesn't know whether to be a simulation or arcade game and in the end never ends up a satisfying example of either.
  11. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    MUD's immediate and very arcade experience could disappoint the most serious gamers, but the great number of teams, bikes, riders and tracks coming from the MX1 and MX2 licenses are enough to attract every motocross lover.
  12. Apr 30, 2012
    70
    A good take on the the world of motocross in videogame form. Its strictly arcade style could be too simplistic for someone, but also very enjoyable for many others, who doesn't complain a lack in strategy and technical awareness for a more direct approach to the races.
  13. 40
    An annoying feature that requires you to “buy” unlocked events with earned points adds unwelcome repetition, and 12-person multiplayer only means sharing the pain with others. Steer clear.
  14. The career mode is a repetitive series of unlocked events and the addition of an extremely rudimentary Trick Battle mode doesn't do much to break the tedium. At the very most, this is no more than an afternoon's entertainment.
  15. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    The game features new interesting ideas, but unfortunately they haven't been developed in a good way.
  16. 40
    Motocross has so much more to offer than this dire racer. [Issue#84, p.87]
  17. Mar 7, 2013
    40
    MUD: FIM Motocross World Championship is an unfortunately titled mess that really serves no audience.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    Mud is an arcade motocross game based on an actual Championship, as such it features all the official locations and riders from 2012. Not the actual tracks mind you, just their country locations. The tracks still manage to look realistic though in the way they are designed. It is important to realize that this is not a MX vs ATV game, they have very little in common. In MUD you only ride bikes. MUD is also more linear since the main point is that you follow and complete a Championship. In the Championship mode you do plain motocross racing, goal to finish, there's no freetstyle or trick events in this mode. However apart from the Championship mode MUD also offers a customized career mode where you can play a fictional rider and level him up by purchasing skills. In this mode you do a range of races: against time, head to head, freestyle or tricks, etc. You can buy new gear, change teams and bikes. The gameplay in MUD is unforgiving; there's no rewind and the AI is tough, and once you fall off it can be very difficult to re-claim your position. To win you have to learn the tracks and be aware of the other riders. My only complaint of MUD is that I wish the Career Mode would have offered different tracks to those in the Championship mode, because once I completed both of the Championships it felt a bit dry racing on the very same tracks again. They should have introduced some new tracks, something crazier and more unrealistic. It would have elevated the game. I enjoyed MUD, it was a challenging and fun racing game. Full Review »
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Does any know how you play as Ryan villopoto on this game? So far it is a good game I wish it did have all the riders in it like I said if any can tell me how to race as villopoto Full Review »
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    I REALLY HOPE THE PEOPLE THAT MADE MUD THE GAME SEE THIS. I think this game has great potential. Get rid of the boosting after you scrub and the nos can or w/e it is. Replace that with making the bike feel like its going faster. I feel like when i play that game the bike is a pw50 especially down straights and uphills. Also change the scrubbing to using the left analog stick. I say this because some jumps you should just be able to do a little scrub. Also it would give you more variety. Last but not least WORK ON THE PHYSICS IN AIR. When I just tap the a button I do a no footer WTF!!!! When I want to move my bike around in air my bike acts like a glitch it seems. Full Review »