Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship is the only videogame that exclusively features the MX1 and MX2 championships, as well as the amazing Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations. The brand new game engine features 14 different bikes, 84 riders (including stars such as Ryan Villopoto, Tony Cairoli, Chad Reed, Ryan Dungey and Ken Roczen) and 12 official tracks, and also features fully deformable terrain conditions, a realistic MX handling model and much more. MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship promises to deliver the most challenging and fulfilling motocross gaming experience ever seen. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    The game features new interesting ideas, but unfortunately they haven't been developed in a good way.
  2. Apr 30, 2012
    70
    A good take on the the world of motocross in videogame form. Its strictly arcade style could be too simplistic for someone, but also very enjoyable for many others, who doesn't complain a lack in strategy and technical awareness for a more direct approach to the races.
  3. Jun 1, 2012
    70
    It is aimed at the wrong market, they should have made MUD suitable for the hardcore MX fans, despite this Milestone have done it again, well, they nearly did it again.
  4. Apr 27, 2012
    60
    The licence and authenticity is in place but the gameplay is too lightweight for real fans. [June 2012, p.78]
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    53
    The combination of racing and roleplaying elements made Milestones Scar something special. The attempt to transfer that formula into the dirt racing of MUD didn't work out that well.
  6. 40
    Motocross has so much more to offer than this dire racer. [Issue#84, p.87]
  7. 40
    An annoying feature that requires you to “buy” unlocked events with earned points adds unwelcome repetition, and 12-person multiplayer only means sharing the pain with others. Steer clear.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    Mud is an arcade motocross game based on an actual Championship, as such it features all the official locations and riders from 2012. Not the actual tracks mind you, just their country locations. The tracks still manage to look realistic though in the way they are designed. It is important to realize that this is not a MX vs ATV game, they have very little in common. In MUD you only ride bikes. MUD is also more linear since the main point is that you follow and complete a Championship. In the Championship mode you do plain motocross racing, goal to finish, there's no freetstyle or trick events in this mode. However apart from the Championship mode MUD also offers a customized career mode where you can play a fictional rider and level him up by purchasing skills. In this mode you do a range of races: against time, head to head, freestyle or tricks, etc. You can buy new gear, change teams and bikes. The gameplay in MUD is unforgiving; there's no rewind and the AI is tough, and once you fall off it can be very difficult to re-claim your position. To win you have to learn the tracks and be aware of the other riders. My only complaint of MUD is that I wish the Career Mode would have offered different tracks to those in the Championship mode, because once I completed both of the Championships it felt a bit dry racing on the very same tracks again. They should have introduced some new tracks, something crazier and more unrealistic. It would have elevated the game. I enjoyed MUD, it was a challenging and fun racing game. Collapse
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Does any know how you play as Ryan villopoto on this game? So far it is a good game I wish it did have all the riders in it like I said if any can tell me how to race as villopoto Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    This game is not as bad as the reviews it is getting. I mean you have real riders, real bikes, and real tracks. The gameplay is good, and you are not falling off your bike at every bump, and turn. I own the MX series, and to be honest this is the most fun I have had with a MX game. Definitely a great buy for the money for MX fans. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    I REALLY HOPE THE PEOPLE THAT MADE MUD THE GAME SEE THIS. I think this game has great potential. Get rid of the boosting after you scrub and the nos can or w/e it is. Replace that with making the bike feel like its going faster. I feel like when i play that game the bike is a pw50 especially down straights and uphills. Also change the scrubbing to using the left analog stick. I say this because some jumps you should just be able to do a little scrub. Also it would give you more variety. Last but not least WORK ON THE PHYSICS IN AIR. When I just tap the a button I do a no footer WTF!!!! When I want to move my bike around in air my bike acts like a glitch it seems. Expand