Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. May 30, 2011
    40
    I'd like to say that MX vs. ATV Alive is a game for motocross purists, but I feel even that is a stretch. It's just not a very good game, even at the budget price.
  2. May 25, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. May 24, 2011
    25
    The only thing that can possibly be complimented with Alive would be a few vague ideas with the potential for fun; but grading on those alone is hardly enough. Whatever the game could have been is smothered in the dirt.
  4. 40
    Tracks are boring. [Aug 2011, p.96]
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    40
    A rather depressing waste of money. [Issue#73, p.88]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    This game is the **** I have been playing it all day, Stewart rules. This is definitely the best motocross game out there. I dont get what the critics are smoking? Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2011
    10
    Got my gamestop stuff and been rocking the blaze for hors. bar banging add it rock solid. haven't downloaded compound yet, but the stuff on the disk is good as reflex, maybe better Full Review »
  3. Aug 31, 2014
    6
    This is a game that gets the Riding aspect of motorcycles and ATV's absolutely RIGHT and exactly nothing else even comes close to right. All 6 that I'm giving are for the actual riding gameplay, which is nailed, everything from computer riders to the fact the track changes with grooves from each lap.
    Which just serves to punctuate how it failed at everything else. First, NO CAREER MODE. so basically everything you do is exhibition, it means nothing. there is a lame attempt at medals for coming in 1st, 2nd, or 3rd, but they do not match difficulty, so if you get 1st on average, there is no difference made if you get 1st on 'pro' or 'all time'. The game can't even really start until you get to level 25, where most of the bikes and tracks are unlocked, and by that time most gamers will be fed up.
    To be fair, this game was sent on a platform where you pay less in the beginning (i believe it shipped at 39.95) and then you pay to upgrade what you want through their live lobby. But what if they shut down their live marketplace and you could never upgrade anything? then you are left with a barebones game you cant do anything with, AND THATS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED. shame on them, I could maybe understand if they were going bankrupt or out of business after being sold, but MX vs. ATV SUPERCROSS drops later this year.
    Full Review »