Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MX vs. ATV Alive is the newest title in this racing series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    83
    MX vs. ATV Alive is one of the best racing games I've played in a while, and is actually a racing game I'm somewhat decent at. The Rider Reflex System didn't take that long to get used to and if you have issues controlling the vehicle, you can always go into a free roam area to practice (and get some small XP). The only thing that makes me rate this game the way I did was the unlock system. If it was based on race performance and not ludicrous amounts of XP, I'd definitely rate the game higher.
  2. May 13, 2011
    77
    MX Vs. ATV Alive doesn't raise the bar when it comes to racing action, as its over comprehensive controls and familiar presentation won't wow everyone. But for fans of motocross and previous examples of Rainbow Studios' work, it's definitely worth taking a ride with.
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    70
    As a racing game, MX vs. ATV Alive is fantastic. The controls are near perfect, the action is always intense, and it's just a fun game to play. Unfortunately, a bad system for unlocking new stuff and a severe lack of content really hold Alive back from reaching its full potential. Hopefully THQ delivers some quality downloadable content in the coming months, because if any game deserves it, it's MX vs. ATV Alive.
  4. May 12, 2011
    66
    This game has a serious lack of gameplay modes. However, the XP system is a lot of fun for anyone who likes to customize their racer down right down to the tiniest detail.
  5. May 19, 2011
    65
    A sad example of a game that has so much going for it, but lacks the content to back it up. The game plays great, is a blast online and contains moments of brilliance, but its lack of any kind of tutorial, career structure and just plain content really drag it down.
  6. Jun 13, 2011
    58
    MX vs. ATV Alive isn't a stand out racing title, but for a budget priced game it ended up being a whole lot better than I would have suspected.
  7. May 24, 2011
    25
    The only thing that can possibly be complimented with Alive would be a few vague ideas with the potential for fun; but grading on those alone is hardly enough. Whatever the game could have been is smothered in the dirt.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    This game is the **** I have been playing it all day, Stewart rules. This is definitely the best motocross game out there. I dont get what the critics are smoking? Expand
  2. May 13, 2011
    10
    So, I agree with most of the reviews that there isn't much to this game outside of the racing, but who cares. There is no other motorcycle game like this, and the fact that it's dirtbikes makes it that much better. The reflex control returns, and that's awesome. The fact that you don't get knocked off the bike with every little bump now is awesome. The weight and clutch control, seat bounce, scrub and whips, all of this is a really nice touch add the control that was missing from every other racing game I've played. There is no other motocross game (just like there was only 1 matrix).
    I do have to say though, all this makes it difficult to play properly for a noob, but if you can't seat bounce or control the clutch, you don't really have to worry about it. I wouldn't take a way a bit of the control and I don't think it makes things more difficult for rookie's, just leave the difficulty setting appropriate until you're ready for the additional challenge and control.
    Expand
  3. May 10, 2011
    10
    Got my gamestop stuff and been rocking the blaze for hors. bar banging add it rock solid. haven't downloaded compound yet, but the stuff on the disk is good as reflex, maybe better Expand
  4. May 10, 2011
    9
    Got it at the walmart near me. Been playing it all day. Game informer don't know sh**. Rocks like a mother. More nationals, barbanging is badass, schoolin my bros all morning. Want my JS7 compound! Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    Gave this game a second shot, once you get the controls down it's pretty good best MX game I've played. Upgrades are cool and lots of gear options. definately woth the Collapse
  6. May 12, 2011
    9
    I like this game much better than Reflex. I dont spin out so many times randomly anymore... now if i crash or do something bad in the corner it feels like my fault instead of some random action that popped up out of nowhere. I still wish it had a better career structure thats for sure but still you cant beat 40 bucks for the game new. Expand
  7. May 14, 2011
    2
    cant believe i waited for this game it has kick ass graphics bike controls are sweet but the tracks blow stewarts compond is the only track worth riding jumping is lame you seem to guy 90ft up but 2 ft across then other times its the other way around reflex was way better no supercross tracks outdoor tracks are retarded shorts tracks dont even waste or time playing them why cant they just make a game were they have a supercross season an outdoor season make the tracks like real tracks like they race on today ... but on the other hand bikes sound just like the real thing ride wheelies for days ill pay the 60 if thats wht it takes to make a kick ass game Expand