MX vs. ATV Reflex Xbox 360

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 10 out of 31
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jakeT
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    this game is amazing, if you rate it bad, it's because you are not experienced with the real world of motocross and how the machine works because this is a very realistic game!
  2. RustyD
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    This is an amazing game, and the physics engine is incredible! being a real life rider and racer, i know how it fells to fly through the air and also having to save yourself when your about to crash. if you dont know what its like to ride, then go buy this game becuase you can get a pretty good idea when playing MX vs ATV Reflex.
  3. DJG
    Dec 2, 2009
    8
    I think that the new Reflex game is great! I have only downloaded the demo and I am already in love. The only thing that I really have to complain about is how sensitive the controls are for the reflex control. I found myself dramaticly whipping the bike or accedently sliding the bike out just from tapping the right joystick. Aside from that, I think that the game is very realistic and I think that the new Reflex game is great! I have only downloaded the demo and I am already in love. The only thing that I really have to complain about is how sensitive the controls are for the reflex control. I found myself dramaticly whipping the bike or accedently sliding the bike out just from tapping the right joystick. Aside from that, I think that the game is very realistic and fun to play. Expand
  4. KurtC
    Dec 20, 2009
    4
    I was expecting this game to be ALOT better than I anticipated it to be. The gameplay isn't even remotely better than the older version, I don't like the fact that you have to get yourself out of a 'Pickle' so to speak, if you fall, you fall get over it. Sorry but a 4 from me
  5. Brad
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    over all i found the game fantastic, the reflex system and terrain deformation are absolutley brilliant and set a standard for any new mx game to come out. the only thing keeping this game from getting a 10 is the sound of the 450's, they sound really tinny, apart from that THQ have hit the nail on the head.
  6. Travis
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    The free ride maps feel immensely overwhelming in a good way, and after a few times smashing face first over the handle bars, you will want to thank THQ for finally bringing us seperate rider control. The music and presentation are both spot on, and the real-time terrain deformation is something to behold. What are you doing reading this? Get on your dirt bike and go buy this game!
  7. Jimmy
    Jan 9, 2010
    5
    As a huge fan of mx and sx this game was a must get for me, now I kinda regrett it. First off, the A.I. Is by far the most pathetic I have ever seen in any racing game........Ever. I am playing the motocarrer at all-star level and am winning races by 20.+ seconds, Its that bad. If you dont get a good start you will almost certainly get destroyed by some loony on the first corner, and if As a huge fan of mx and sx this game was a must get for me, now I kinda regrett it. First off, the A.I. Is by far the most pathetic I have ever seen in any racing game........Ever. I am playing the motocarrer at all-star level and am winning races by 20.+ seconds, Its that bad. If you dont get a good start you will almost certainly get destroyed by some loony on the first corner, and if you make it past the first corner with not enough speed to clear the pack expect to get squashed by another idiot on the first jump. Its soooo bad you will want to restart the race if you find yourself last place after the 2nd corner as you will have no hope in hell of getting through the pack alive. But when you do get a good race (rarely) it is very fun. You actually see riders turing the wrong way into a corner, the wrong way, instead of left they will take a hard right and take out about 3 dudes, its just amazing ( I only race mx and sx as the other race types, omnicross etc are sooooooooooo boring.....very, very boring) The new reflex controls are pretty cool if you want to pull out some good whips and scrubs, but cornering with it is pretty much useless as it doesnt really do anything, apart from leaning back over the whoops-sections I never use it because it has a tendancy to make you very vulnerable to any small bump or ditch in the road, and you will spin out and crash and be forced to watch another amazingly bad crash physic animation. The new "terain deformation" system is pretty amazing, although I dont know how a 125cc bike can make a 4 foot deep hole in the ground. Anyway it is cool, the track changes each lap and changes the way you race aswell, race lines and rutts form and make cornering much faster, and hektik as water will rise from under the dirt. I can go on all day but basically this game has taken 5 steps forward and 3 steps back from the last one, the graphics are meh and the sound is exactly the same. If you love mx and cant wait to see the 2010 AMA championship get it, if you are just looking for a cool race game with trucks, get dirt2. Go Chad Reed! Expand
  8. ChanseW
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    While the events within the game are nothing to write home about; the beautiful tracks, unique 'Reflex' control, and the (sometimes) tense off-road action make it a nice addition for any racing fan's library.
  9. WestonY
    Dec 27, 2009
    4
    this game is quite possibly one of the worst games ive played. thq has taken the fun out of the game. its freaking glitchy as hell, being able to ride straight through a boulder, but a pebble will send you flying through the air. you cant hardly control the bike anymore. lame
  10. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    A truly amazing MX Vs. ATV game in fact one of the best. lots of content, great track design, expansive career mode, it's just great and worth the money (if you can excuse the many glitches).
  11. Jan 21, 2017
    4
    Jeu d'arcade étonnamment pointu et exigeant dans le maniement de ses différents véhicules qu'ils soient moto ou quad : l'inertie et la nécessité de corriger la position du pilote en permanence tout en dosant les gaz n'est pas une sinécure. S'ensuit donc une longue série de gamelles dont la récurrence a de quoi fâcher, surtout lorsqu'elles sont provoquées par les autres pilotes, lesquelsJeu d'arcade étonnamment pointu et exigeant dans le maniement de ses différents véhicules qu'ils soient moto ou quad : l'inertie et la nécessité de corriger la position du pilote en permanence tout en dosant les gaz n'est pas une sinécure. S'ensuit donc une longue série de gamelles dont la récurrence a de quoi fâcher, surtout lorsqu'elles sont provoquées par les autres pilotes, lesquels vous font tomber une fois sur deux.

    Bref, je ne cache pas que MX machin casse les bonbons plus vite qu'il n'accélère, un peu à la manière des Motostorm d'ailleurs. Comme ceux-là, la fluidité est satisfaisante, les graphismes convaincants, la partie sonore soignée... mais les problèmes d'IA et de maniabilité se rejoignent. Les circuits particulièrement vicieux n'aident pas non plus à vrai dire.

    Les bases sont donc là mais victimes de graves soucis d'équilibrage, rendant le jeu rapidement irritant et désagréable.
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. The game looks incredible, but that perfect combination of terrain deformation and reflex controls, make a great combo.
  2. The game has been built to please both the newcomers and the hardcore MX vs ATV crowd and that’s a very tough balance to strike. Rainbow and THQ can be proud of their most recent offering and there’s no way anyone could complain.
  3. It’s finally here. Big-time motocross and off-road racing with REAL dirt and separate bike and rider control... Rainbow Studios deliver a pot of pure gold.