MX vs. ATV Reflex Xbox 360

MX vs. ATV Reflex Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MX vs. ATV Reflex marks the return of the off-road racing franchise and features the all-new Rhythm Racing 2.0 physics engine, Rider Reflex control system and real-time terrain deformation. The Rider Reflex control system provides unparalleled precision and fluidity by separating machineMX vs. ATV Reflex marks the return of the off-road racing franchise and features the all-new Rhythm Racing 2.0 physics engine, Rider Reflex control system and real-time terrain deformation. The Rider Reflex control system provides unparalleled precision and fluidity by separating machine steering from body positioning, which allows the independently controlled rider to shift his weight, perform death-defying stunts and avoid potentially devastating wrecks. Unprecedented terrain deformation creates ever-changing courses as off-road vehicles carve lines and deep ruts that have a real-time impact on gameplay and remain persistent through the full length of each race. [THQ] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s finally here. Big-time motocross and off-road racing with REAL dirt and separate bike and rider control... Rainbow Studios deliver a pot of pure gold.
  2. Minor gripes aside, though, Reflex is the most fun you'll have being caked in mud.
  3. If you’re looking for a game to curb that racing fix you so desperately crave, or just looking for something new to give you a break from the endless array of shooters on shelves, MX vs. ATV Reflex will more than answer the call.
  4. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    77
    A terrific off-road experience in some areas. Shame it feels weak in others. [Apr 2010, p.101]
  5. 75
    While the game has its fair share of annoying problems and suffers from being a bit too straightforward, it offers a solid off-road experience; motocross fans will be hard pressed to find a title better than this one.
  6. The increased rider control really makes it feel like you are an MX pro, skidding round the tracks like you know what you're doing. However, the improved physics can make bikes and, especially, ATVs feel like you're riding a squirrel with a sugar high as opposed to a finely tuned vehicle – a lot of fun but ultimately out of control.
  7. It feels like Rainbow Studios has been making the same games for a decade now, and still haven't managed to find the right formula. MX vs ATV Reflex is not a bad game, but feels really low budget and is just mediocre.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. jakeT
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    this game is amazing, if you rate it bad, it's because you are not experienced with the real world of motocross and how the machine this game is amazing, if you rate it bad, it's because you are not experienced with the real world of motocross and how the machine works because this is a very realistic game! Expand
  2. RustyD
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    This is an amazing game, and the physics engine is incredible! being a real life rider and racer, i know how it fells to fly through the air This is an amazing game, and the physics engine is incredible! being a real life rider and racer, i know how it fells to fly through the air and also having to save yourself when your about to crash. if you dont know what its like to ride, then go buy this game becuase you can get a pretty good idea when playing MX vs ATV Reflex. Expand
  3. Brad
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    over all i found the game fantastic, the reflex system and terrain deformation are absolutley brilliant and set a standard for any new mx over all i found the game fantastic, the reflex system and terrain deformation are absolutley brilliant and set a standard for any new mx game to come out. the only thing keeping this game from getting a 10 is the sound of the 450's, they sound really tinny, apart from that THQ have hit the nail on the head. Expand
  4. DJG
    Dec 2, 2009
    8
    I think that the new Reflex game is great! I have only downloaded the demo and I am already in love. The only thing that I really have to I think that the new Reflex game is great! I have only downloaded the demo and I am already in love. The only thing that I really have to complain about is how sensitive the controls are for the reflex control. I found myself dramaticly whipping the bike or accedently sliding the bike out just from tapping the right joystick. Aside from that, I think that the game is very realistic and fun to play. Expand
  5. ChanseW
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    While the events within the game are nothing to write home about; the beautiful tracks, unique 'Reflex' control, and the While the events within the game are nothing to write home about; the beautiful tracks, unique 'Reflex' control, and the (sometimes) tense off-road action make it a nice addition for any racing fan's library. Expand
  6. Jimmy
    Jan 9, 2010
    5
    As a huge fan of mx and sx this game was a must get for me, now I kinda regrett it. First off, the A.I. Is by far the most pathetic I have As a huge fan of mx and sx this game was a must get for me, now I kinda regrett it. First off, the A.I. Is by far the most pathetic I have ever seen in any racing game........Ever. I am playing the motocarrer at all-star level and am winning races by 20.+ seconds, Its that bad. If you dont get a good start you will almost certainly get destroyed by some loony on the first corner, and if you make it past the first corner with not enough speed to clear the pack expect to get squashed by another idiot on the first jump. Its soooo bad you will want to restart the race if you find yourself last place after the 2nd corner as you will have no hope in hell of getting through the pack alive. But when you do get a good race (rarely) it is very fun. You actually see riders turing the wrong way into a corner, the wrong way, instead of left they will take a hard right and take out about 3 dudes, its just amazing ( I only race mx and sx as the other race types, omnicross etc are sooooooooooo boring.....very, very boring) The new reflex controls are pretty cool if you want to pull out some good whips and scrubs, but cornering with it is pretty much useless as it doesnt really do anything, apart from leaning back over the whoops-sections I never use it because it has a tendancy to make you very vulnerable to any small bump or ditch in the road, and you will spin out and crash and be forced to watch another amazingly bad crash physic animation. The new "terain deformation" system is pretty amazing, although I dont know how a 125cc bike can make a 4 foot deep hole in the ground. Anyway it is cool, the track changes each lap and changes the way you race aswell, race lines and rutts form and make cornering much faster, and hektik as water will rise from under the dirt. I can go on all day but basically this game has taken 5 steps forward and 3 steps back from the last one, the graphics are meh and the sound is exactly the same. If you love mx and cant wait to see the 2010 AMA championship get it, if you are just looking for a cool race game with trucks, get dirt2. Go Chad Reed! Collapse
  7. KurtC
    Dec 20, 2009
    4
    I was expecting this game to be ALOT better than I anticipated it to be. The gameplay isn't even remotely better than the older version, I was expecting this game to be ALOT better than I anticipated it to be. The gameplay isn't even remotely better than the older version, I don't like the fact that you have to get yourself out of a 'Pickle' so to speak, if you fall, you fall get over it. Sorry but a 4 from me Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers