User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 49
  2. Negative: 9 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    If you like Naruto just hop on this and avoid what critics say. Most likely 90% of the people reviewing this game have not watched the show so avoid what they all say.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Very quickly. The game has remained faithful to the gameplay promised and so far much appreciated, the battle system is certainly the highlight of NUNS. The boss battles are spectacular as expected giving the player an unforgettable actions typical of the series. As far as spectacle can not be criticized at all, in fact it is one of the best games of the genre for both versatility and fun. The story continues from the events following the saga of Pain lasting until the fourth ninja war. The exploration is certainly not the strong point of the game but excellent side dish to make during the story. I also believe enough property to a phase musou to vary the gameplay. There are no substantial changes from Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 but the game proves to be valid, however, consists of a high technical level, improved animations and more. The roster of characters is in my opinion the only real flaw of the game, I would have expected something significantly different, such as the presence of the 4 kage and the 7 swordsmen, I hope it will soon add as DLC. As I said before, the strong point of UNS3 is the battle system accompanied by a compelling story that captures the players carrying them in the world of ninja. This is a title not only appreciated by fans of Naruto but also from other players, I highly recommend it Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    It's fun and fast-paced. It makes you feel like a ninja even if you're rocking a gut and smoking some weed. Though the fights are almost always extremely sentimental and emotional, it's fun nonetheless
  4. May 1, 2013
    8
    A surprisingly fun fighting game and a mostly faithful adaption (some contrived battles where before there might have been just a brief argument in the manga/anime for example) Other then that there's far more story here then any of the previous games.

    A huge roster most of whom have multiple outifts/special move sets.

    If you're a naruto fan this is a must buy, if you're a fighter
    fan you might find some fun here it might surprise you but you're probably better off elsewhere where fighting mechanics take precedent over a faithful/fun adaption of an anime. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Naruto Shippuden Ultimate Ninja Storm 3 is an amazing title if you're a Naruto fan. The roster is large and while the new character count is low, all the characters feel much cleaner and tighter. While in previous games a spamming tactic would almost always end in victory, Storm 3 is much more strategy and skill based online. Aside from online is a very cinematic story mode that has a decent length without doing any side missions. The story can be very slow and down right boring at times. This does balance with the fast paced and incredible boss fights however making the story very worth playing through as well as unlocking all the characters in the roster. Other modes include an online mode with tournaments, ranked matches, free matches, endless matches, and more. Offline one can also create tournaments locally as well as learn timing and combos in the expansive training mode. In the end this game is a simple fun game that you will love unless you take it too seriously. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    These games always surprise me.

    I hate the anime on the focus of the story being garbage and an awful main character, but this is an incredibly fun fighting game with a huge roster of characters. Even if you don't like Naruto, but like fighting games, you owe it to yourself to at least test this game.
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    This game is a must buy if you're a Naruto fan. Just the option of playing as your favorite Naruto character is awesome. The story is pretty accurate but it looks like it needed more work. Online is also unplayable because people constantly spam. I suggest for the next Naruto game they add more complex movesets and jitsus that can be do with different analog combinations (just an idea). 8/10
  8. Mar 5, 2013
    1
    Ultimate Ninja Storm 3 is the new entry of the lucky CC2 series. The gameplay is "smoother" and solid at the same time. This gameplay, don't fix the whole battle system that remain unbalanced, favoring some characters over others. A lot of "key characters" like Kin&Gin Brothers are not playable. You will remember them because they have a particular kind of chakra, that will be used later in order to exploit a technique that is fundamental for the story plot. The Story mode, also if very enjoyable, ends with "fillers" and this could bother all the Naruto Fans. Plus, the roster seems recycled from "Generations" and the lack of new characters, like the swordsmen of the mist and the reanimated Kages don't explain why a character don't revealed in the anime is already playable. It seems that cyberconnect2's guys have preferences that go over the ask of their fans.
    The DLC bonus, also, don't justify this lack of contents.
    Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2013
    0
    I reviewed this game as a 0 because of the disrespect of Cyber Conect with Naruto fans. They promissed us a game with to many characters, a huge history mode and I tell you what they did. They destroyed the game on the end of history mode, giving us an end to Naruto story. They promissed a history mode that our choice would change the game, but what really changes is only the ninja weapon you will use. They could finish the story as the did, but as a alternative ending. Besides that, none of the new character are playable. The hidden mist sword ninjas, silver and gold brother, and even the edo kages (that are completely done on the story mode) are playable. I bought this game, and I was disappointed. It's only ninja storm generations with the jinchurikis, Madara and Nagato. And the worst is that they put some 1rst phase characters as young naruto, young sasuke, only to fill up the character list, but they not put them all. OMG I'm really disapointed Cyber Connect, I expected more of you. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. May 9, 2013
    63
    If you're familiar with Naruto, it's faithful stuff. If not, it's hard, fast, and bloody weird. [June 2013, p.83]
  2. May 9, 2013
    70
    All in all, Naruto is worth a pick up for Naruto fans or those who enjoy a simple combat game.
  3. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    Surprisingly deep. [Issue#97, p.64]