Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Apr 20, 2012
    86
    So the bottom line is this: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations is the first anime game I've played in a while that doesn't deserve the distinction of "for fans only."
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    86
    While not being the best fighting game on the market, it is certainly one of the most refreshing ones I have played in a long time.
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    85
    Overall, not surprisingly there is a lot here for fans of the series, but there is also an excellent story driven fighting game for fans of the genre.
  4. Apr 11, 2012
    75
    Some corners were cut in terms overall production values and the gameplay may be too watered down for fans of more technical fighters, but if you're still on the fence about Naruto, this is the game that will make it or break it for you.
  5. Apr 10, 2012
    75
    The new Naruto is more Clash of Ninja and less Ultimate Ninja. It is rather an entertaining martial arts snack than a main course.
  6. Apr 10, 2012
    75
    This is a good Naruto game and absolutely a must have for the fans. There's a lot to explore but it must be said that it's a shame there isn't a tutorial for people who are new to the franchise or haven't ever watched the anime.
  7. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations is sure to be a hit with fans. No doubt they were already going to get this since the track record for the Ultimate Ninja Storm series is a positive one.
  8. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Button bashers and proficient veteran ninja's alike will find this a worthy reason to revisit the Naruto universe.
  9. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Probably the best manga inspired game around with its fast paced and accessible gameplay, and its gigantic roster. The new Story Mode is a step back compared to Ninja Storm 2, but the smart gameplay changes make this title considerably funnier, especially online.
  10. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Spectacular fighting game from the anime series, huge characters roster and plenty of moves. Simply a no brainer choice for the fans.
  11. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations is a fun game with a lot of exciting moments and loads of fan appeal to tie it all together. If you're a Naruto fan, this is a must-have title. If you aren't, you might want to wait for a price drop to $40 or so. It's very easy to get into, so you can enjoy it yourself or play with friends without having to worry about people taking a long time to learn all the moves. I only expected a simple fighter, and this game ended up being a really fun surprise.
  12. Mar 23, 2012
    85
    The combat system, amazing fan service and thought out presentation make this arena fighting game something both Naruto fans and fighting game entusiasts will highly enjoy.
  13. Mar 21, 2012
    75
    Fundamentally the same game yet manages to take the game in the new direction.
  14. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Its gameplay is simple and accesible, and genre fans will miss some more depth. But fans of the series will love its great roster of characters and the loyal representation of combats.
  15. Mar 19, 2012
    77
    Naruto returns to PS3 and Xbox 360 with a pure action game, an enjoyable and accessible fighting game.
  16. Mar 15, 2012
    75
    Though not quite as ambitious as it could (or should) be, Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations is an enjoyable and accessible fighting game-one that you don't have to be a Naruto fan in order to enjoy.
  17. Mar 15, 2012
    75
    I definitely feel like Generations is worth checking out, not only for the hardcore Naruto fans but for fighting game fans in general. It's a really beautiful looking game, with a fun but easy to understand fighting system, and offers up a lot of variety with its roster. It's surely not the deepest fighting system out there, and certainly isn't the most balanced, but I'm having a lot of fun with the game regardless. If you're on the fence then at least give it a rental, but I have no problem suggesting you buy the game, as I definitely think it's worth the asking price.
  18. Mar 13, 2012
    85
    The different approach to the single-player story works well, and though it retreads a lot of familiar ground, it never feels like it's wasting time, maintaining a constant focus on Naruto and Sasuke.
  19. Jun 16, 2012
    75
    Not only a mouth full, but also a spectacular fighting game. The action remains true to the series, characters have lots of different fighting styles and has expansive online options. But why has the open world from previous games been removed and is the story told so poorly?
  20. Jun 4, 2012
    80
    As long as you're one of the franchise's faithful, there's a lot to like here among the plethora of unlockables, an in-depth story mode, and solid online play.
  21. May 14, 2012
    76
    A step back in terms of story mode. Naruto fans get a huge amount of 72 fighters and a better multiplayer experience. But the singleplayer mode is disappointing.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I love this title is amazing, have much characters, an ecellent gameplay, incredible story, amazing graphics, good control, music. This is aI love this title is amazing, have much characters, an ecellent gameplay, incredible story, amazing graphics, good control, music. This is a new incredible Naruto's game. I ca't wait for play other. Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Naruto UNSG is a welcome 2.5 edition to the series. Fans of the series will thoroughly enjoy this instalment in the series as a collection ofNaruto UNSG is a welcome 2.5 edition to the series. Fans of the series will thoroughly enjoy this instalment in the series as a collection of the entire character roster to date, plus many extras. With 72 playable characters, and 15 support, this game boasts the largest roster in any Naruto game. Cyber Connect 2 have showed time and time again that they are dedicated to keeping to the source material and this is portrayed in UNSG as well. This is a day-one purchase for me, and I strongly recommend it to other naruto fans. Though many of my friends who aren't even fans of the show still enjoy these games. Full Review »
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This game was a huge was a huge step down from the last one. The story mode had some cool cut scenes but it did not follow the anime when itThis game was a huge was a huge step down from the last one. The story mode had some cool cut scenes but it did not follow the anime when it came to details. And the worse part about the story was the repetitiveness of it, when i was beating it I felt like I was forcing myself to. Another thing they messed up on this game, probabaly the biggest, was the online. It just turned into people spamming till the other person runs out of substitutions so now its like a button mashing **** fighter. Full Review »