Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    75
    The game plays very well, has plenty of tracks and options, a fully fledged career mode, and adjustable A.I. that will allow you to play as realistic as you care to.
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    75
    Not a failure by any means. Fans will enjoy it, and there's plenty to do in the stock car racing world until the next eventual game in the series rolls out of the pit. But casual fans may feel left behind by the game's heavy technicality and erroneous difficulty decisions.
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    73
    NASCAR 2011 is a racing game about a real sport that has all the tracks and best racers and allows you to play realistically or play more like an arcade racing game.
  4. Apr 18, 2011
    73
    I came away from Nascar 2011 impressed. I think part of this was that I had zero expectations of the game going in but it is a fun, accessible video game version of the sport. Hardcore Nascar fans might find room for improvement but as a decently featured entry into Nascar it is a worthy first effort.
  5. May 4, 2011
    72
    NASCAR 2011: The Game lays an excellent foundation for future iterations in the series. The arcade-style racing is engaging and the sense of speed is executed beautifully. However, the all-too-simple Career mode and somewhat broken online play hold the game back from what could have been, and what hopefully will be in the near future. I can recommend this game to NASCAR and racing fans that follow the sport. For casual racing fans, rent or borrow it first to see if you've got to have it.
  6. 70
    New developers bring new impulse. NASCAR comes to life with nice graphics and a range of game modes – and few errors. Even so it is a must-have for all the long year fans.
  7. 70
    For a first-time effort, NASCAR 2011 has lots to like. But it needs some serious behind-the-wall garage time to get its setup right. [June 2011, p.79]
  8. Mar 29, 2011
    70
    Sometimes you don't have the car to beat, and you end up point racing for whatever you can get. Eutechnyx's effort here is appreciated, but it's not championship material.
  9. Apr 8, 2011
    68
    Feels kind of like a $30 title in a $60 dollar package. While the gameplay is solid, the shallow modes, disappointing lack of polish, and overall mediocrity really prevent the game from reaching the high quality of previous NASCAR games.
  10. Apr 8, 2011
    66
    It's far from being an awful game, even with it's glaring flaws. Race tracks are nice to look at, car models are detailed and the overall presentation is rather solid. But the more players dig into it, the more they will realize that somehow, Eutechnyx missed the boat.
  11. May 5, 2011
    65
    It's a very easy and sometimes arcade-ish game, it really doesn't have what it takes to simulate such a thrilling driving experience.
  12. May 16, 2011
    64
    NASCAR 2011 isn't bad for Eutechnyx's first effort. It's not horrible, it's not great, it's merely okay. But NASCAR should be a great video game. Past games on console and PC certainly provide enough guidance as to what does and doesn't work. Maybe my expectations were too high. The one revelation I found in NASCAR 2011 is I will never be able to race at Bristol. It's too much like driving in Chicago traffic.
  13. Apr 11, 2011
    64
    Feeling rushed out of the gate, NASCAR 2011 is functional, not flushed out.
  14. Apr 11, 2011
    60
    Had it been taken as seriously as other racers on the market, NASCAR 2011 could have been a very solid title.
  15. Apr 7, 2011
    60
    The real problems appear with both the wait times to actually get to a race and the glitched experience that emerges from the first wave of the green flag (if you're lucky enough to see it).
  16. Apr 6, 2011
    60
    "For fans only" is a well worn cliche, but in a game as incredibly specific and dedicated as NTG: 2011, it's the truth.
  17. Apr 4, 2011
    60
    It gets the job done, but NASCAR 2011 is a better reminder of the great old NASCAR games than it is a good game in its own right.
  18. Jul 4, 2011
    58
    Graphically, this game isn't as crisp as the EA titles, though I would say Activision did well to represent all possible sponsors to give this a better sense of realism and the game does have a lot to work with for future years.
  19. Apr 25, 2011
    52
    The lack of polish and steeper learning curve puts NASCAR 2011: The Game into the "for fans only" category. Everyone else should have more fun launching turtle shells at each other or speeding through topsy-turvy tracks in futuristic hover cars.
  20. Apr 19, 2011
    50
    The racing gameplay at its core is fantastic and entertaining. People unfamiliar with NASCAR will find that the assists let them get behind the wheel easily, but both novices and veterans alike will find a lot of fault with just how uneven and broken the bugs can make the proceedings. Ultimately, while there is a good game in there, it comes complete with so much baggage that it's impossible to fully recommend.
  21. 48
    Broken online play, lack of caution flags, and the inability for the pack of cars to spread out. You'll have fun for five minutes, then become incredibly frustrated.
  22. May 10, 2011
    40
    For now, I'd pass on NASCAR 2011: The Game. The multiplayer is completely busted, and I'm a big fan of voting with your dollar. If you're a NASCAR fan, maybe you should let your vote be heard by not picking up this mess. For those of you who did, I really I hope that the patch delivers on the promised fixes because I'd be greatly upset if I had spent $60 on this.
  23. Aug 1, 2011
    35
    NASCAR 2011: The Game feels like a slapdash effort, a rough draft of a game dressed up with a fancy cinematic and some licensed music and sent out to make a quick buck off the fans.
  24. Apr 28, 2011
    33
    I really wanted to like NASCAR 2011: The Game; but while the core racing can be pretty interesting (especially on the short tracks), the overall game is held back by paper-thin career mode, unformed gameplay features, and unfriendly difficulty. I'm not a follower of NASCAR, but I hoped NASCAR 2011: The game would make want to. I didn't.
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    4
    This game had so much potential but fell flat on it's face. I had so much hope for it I bought it on release day and was disappointed with it after one race. The game had so many bugs and online wasn't playable. You couldn't race in a full room on Xbox Live without it messing up somehow. So after about 4 months of waiting for a patch to come out it finally did. It managed to fix some bugs but caused other issues. Online was still broken and you still couldn't run more then 8 in a room without it messing up. To say the least I was very disappointed.

    One thing that doesn't let me down is the developers dedication to the fans. They interact with them via Twitter and the companies forums. They are willing to take user feedback and apply it. They also listen to our concerns and will be releasing a 3rd patch shortly. But it won't be able to bring my trust back to Eutechnyx. I am hoping they will be able to improve on there 2nd NASCAR game.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This is the worst NASCAR game I have ever played. Glitches are insane and there is no true career mode. It also happens to be one of the easiest because of some of the worst AI I have ever seen in a racing game. I really hope there is not a NASCAR the Game 2012. Full Review »
  3. Apr 17, 2011
    6
    NASCAR The Game 2011 has its moments, but overall rarely delivers a fun or authentic NASCAR racing experience. --- The single player 'Career' mode is more accurately a season mode. You race through the 2010 Sprint Cup season against a field made up of most of the 2010 regular Cup teams and some high profile Nationwide and Truck Series drivers. Aside from unlocking alternate paint schemes, there is no progression element in the game. You begin with a top quality Sprint Cup team and do not upgrade your car or progress to a better team. A series of short 'Invitational' events also become available as you advance through the season which highlight some of the features of the game. A practice mode lets you work on the setup of your car to find some speed when the default setup doesn't suit you. --- I experienced a lot of frustration trying to find a combination of difficulty settings that made the single player game consistently enjoyable for me. There are a number of driver assist settings to experiment with although even with all of these turned off the car was rarely challenging to control. AI skill level is more of a problem. On most settings, I usually pull away to a 3 second lead within a few laps at which point a rubber band effect kicks in keeping the AI in formation behind me, too far back to apply any pressure but also out of reach of being lapped except during pit stops. It is only at the highest AI skill level that opponents behave in a believable way. The precision and consistency required at this level are more frustrating than fun for me, although I expect that some would enjoy it. Configuring a race to include pit stops can make it more interesting, but also exposes more AI problems and deviations from the NASCAR rulebook. --- Of course, online multiplayer doesn't suffer from these AI issues and can be an incentive to hone your driving skills. However, I experienced a lot of technical problems with online sessions if they had more than about half of the advertised 16 player limit. --- Posts on the developer's forum indicate they plan to release a patch to fix a number of the problems with the game. If the can deliver these fixes, NASCAR The Game 2011 may have something to offer serious fans of NASCAR and racing games. Full Review »