Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    43
    The game seems like a missed opportunity to me. Sub-par graphics, uninspired game play and game breaking bugs just add up to make a game that should really be avoided. Yet the sparks of humour and the hint of a deeper game play mechanic just make me feel that with a little more effort, Naughty Bear could have found his true home in digital distribution.
  2. Feels empty and faintly depressing. [Christmas 2012, p.93]
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    40
    A weak attempt to make its homicidal bear more interesting after the fairly negative reception of the first game.
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    40
    So while Panic in Paradise is largely a better game than its progenitor in terms of structure, delightful hats and sensible pricing, this elaborate sandbox for sadists is not a great deal more enticing than it was last time. It's as trashy as ever, without nearly enough charm or sharp humour to balance its unpleasant, vengeance-driven narrative.
  5. Oct 26, 2012
    25
    It is such a shame that the gameplay mechanics once again fail Naughty Bear, as there will not many fans willing to give this second hand bear another chance after this.
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    25
    I don't know why this sequel exists, outside of a cynical cash-grab or a frankly ridiculous belief that the original was almost perfect and could get away with trying the same trick twice. Both circumstances are unforgivable. No game about a psychopathic teddybear should be this dreadful.
  7. Oct 18, 2012
    23
    While it's a passionless, nihilistic exercise in senseless violence, it's real crime is being a tragically unfun video game.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    In 2010, 505 Studios released Naughty Bear. It had an excellent concept but was ultimately panned for a lousy camera, awful multiplayer, and weak replay value. Luckily, their new release, Naughty Bear: Panic in Paradise has rectified these issues. The camera controls much better, there is plenty more to do in a much cheaper ($15) package, and there is no multiplayer. I award this game an 8 because while it is exactly what a game of this kind should be, it suffers from the occasional crash and its repetitive nature means it will likely only be played for short bursts rather than hours at a stretch.

    If you are considering buying Naughty Bear: PiP, ask yourself this: am I missing a game that will chase the blues away? Am I the kind of person that enjoys violence? If you say yes to both of those questions, Naughty Bear: PiP might just be the game for you.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    If you want a unique game that'll make you laugh and give you a while of good entertainment get this game. Yes it's stupid fun, but ten times more effort than 90 percent of the typical FPS's you can pick up. I personally got this and episode 4 of the walking dead for twenty bucks. You can't beat the value. Full Review »
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    5
    Its not the best game in the world but it is addictive and fun to play. Reminds me of an old sandbox game for the N64 or something.. Its hours of fun, but that's all it is so don't expect to play this game forever. The humor that the game brings along with the challenge of unlocking new weapons and items makes it worth buying if you got the extra coin, but after you've seen all the many ways you can spill gory fluff out of other teddie bears you might get your fill. Full Review »