NBA 2K11 Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 101
  2. Negative: 11 out of 101
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    6
    Every year 2k increases the amount of player animation on both offense and defense which gives us less and less split-second control. 4 out of 5 times you won't be able to take advantage of pump-faking your defender into the air because it takes 2 seconds of animation to go where you want to go, nevermind not being able to take a jumpshot exactly where you'd like to, either. Also, theEvery year 2k increases the amount of player animation on both offense and defense which gives us less and less split-second control. 4 out of 5 times you won't be able to take advantage of pump-faking your defender into the air because it takes 2 seconds of animation to go where you want to go, nevermind not being able to take a jumpshot exactly where you'd like to, either. Also, the unpredictable animation will make your jumpshots inconsistent now that shot releases for some players are unfairly quick. When you are defending the animation punishes you heavily for pressing to one side a little too much. If this franchise wants to keep it's simulation reputation it better start giving back full control to the player - more animated moves does not accomplish this. Oh yes, and after they updated the game to force mandatory play-calling for the My Player mode, I stopped playing it. It totally changed and wrecked the game for me. I will not buy 2k12 if this is not changed back. Everything else, especially the presentation, is great. The amount of animation and mandatory play-calling for My Player mode ruined it for me. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    6
    I don't know what game the reviewers played, but this game is simply not fun. Not accessible at all, you'd need to put in dozens of hours of at least to even have a chance against the AI on standard difficulty, and the canned animations frequently cause you to do things you don't want to. Further, being forced to run plays in my player mode makes the game unfun: at best you get a wide openI don't know what game the reviewers played, but this game is simply not fun. Not accessible at all, you'd need to put in dozens of hours of at least to even have a chance against the AI on standard difficulty, and the canned animations frequently cause you to do things you don't want to. Further, being forced to run plays in my player mode makes the game unfun: at best you get a wide open shot that simply comes down to correctly pushing a button (or wiggling a stick). While realistic, this isn't very rewarding, especially when it happens as rarely as it does (most plays simply entail you running around and setting a pick for someone). Which is really a microcosm of the whole game; realistic but not rewarding. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2010
    6
    After remarkable releases over the years that changed the dynamic of simulation in basketball video gaming, NBA 2k11 delivers a highly enticing treat of basketball to fans who feel as it is there duty to engage in one of the most anticipated releases of this decade. However, aside from the fantastic gameplay and realistic style of play modeled by the NBA of today and the past, I can't helpAfter remarkable releases over the years that changed the dynamic of simulation in basketball video gaming, NBA 2k11 delivers a highly enticing treat of basketball to fans who feel as it is there duty to engage in one of the most anticipated releases of this decade. However, aside from the fantastic gameplay and realistic style of play modeled by the NBA of today and the past, I can't help but to wonder if the Michael Jordan attraction caused this game to become superior than it really is. Don't get me wrong, of course. This game is sensational, from the innovative style of gameplay dynamics, to the presentation. This is a flawless franchise and it has improved considerably from the previous year, but beware. This game is about michael jordan, not about the NBA as much as we don't like to admit such a claim, so please keep that in mind when delving into the title. Collapse
  4. EJA
    Dec 21, 2010
    6
    In the last jordan challenge against utah, i can score 60, 10 assists, win by 20 against the jazz and lose the challenge for having only 3 steals and thats frustrating. rest of the game is great
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    Great Game. Great game modes. But there some bugs. Like creating a character, you cant customize the face size and other features. But other than that its a great game
  6. Oct 10, 2010
    6
    After remarkable releases over the years that changed the dynamic of simulation in basketball video gaming, NBA 2k11 delivers a highly enticing treat of basketball to fans who feel as it is there duty to engage in one of the most anticipated releases of this decade. However, aside from the fantastic gameplay and realistic style of play modeled by the NBA of today and the past, I can't helpAfter remarkable releases over the years that changed the dynamic of simulation in basketball video gaming, NBA 2k11 delivers a highly enticing treat of basketball to fans who feel as it is there duty to engage in one of the most anticipated releases of this decade. However, aside from the fantastic gameplay and realistic style of play modeled by the NBA of today and the past, I can't help but to wonder if the Michael Jordan attraction caused this game to become superior than it really is. Don't get me wrong, of course. This game is sensational, from the innovative style of gameplay dynamics, to the presentation. This is a flawless franchise and it has improved considerably from the previous year, but beware. This game is about michael jordan, not about the NBA as much as we don't like to admit such a claim, so please keep that in mind when delving into the title. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Jan 15, 2011
    90
    A solid game with great AI, better graphics, more animations and more precise controls. NBA 2K11 is far better than last year's entry.
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    87
    Everything that Michael Jordan touches, turns into gold. NBA 2K11 is the best game of its kind because of all the improvements that Visual Concepts has added.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    95
    The best basketball of all time, with no strings attached. Go out and buy it.