User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 95
  2. Negative: 10 out of 95

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    2K11 is an incredibly deep basketball sim. It's also the only noteworthy basketball sim this year since EA chose to cancel their Live/Elite entry for 2010. But, don't let that give you the idea that you'd merely be settling. 2K11 boasts a complex control scheme which grants the gamer unparalleled control of his/her favorite team. Add to that the inclusion of the the much publicized Jordan2K11 is an incredibly deep basketball sim. It's also the only noteworthy basketball sim this year since EA chose to cancel their Live/Elite entry for 2010. But, don't let that give you the idea that you'd merely be settling. 2K11 boasts a complex control scheme which grants the gamer unparalleled control of his/her favorite team. Add to that the inclusion of the the much publicized Jordan Challenge mode and this is one of the greatest sports games ever released. Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    By far this is the truest adaptation of the NBA by any and every standard. From small intricacies of the new crossover system. To the new and improved physics and shooting techniques. This game will absolutely blow you away whether you are a fan of the sport/NBA 2K series or not. Graphically the game is a cut above anything we've seen in a sports game to date. This is how I came to myBy far this is the truest adaptation of the NBA by any and every standard. From small intricacies of the new crossover system. To the new and improved physics and shooting techniques. This game will absolutely blow you away whether you are a fan of the sport/NBA 2K series or not. Graphically the game is a cut above anything we've seen in a sports game to date. This is how I came to my score of a Perfect 10 rating:

    Graphics: 9.5 (Best looking sports game out right now, can't quite give it a 10 here though.)
    Sound: 10 (Commentary is INSANELY accurate. They speak about events outside of the game as well.)
    Gameplay: 10 (New controls, New features, Awesome All-Around.)
    Replayability: 10 (This is a 10 for me because I'm a huge basketball fan, This may not be the same for everyone, but for a fanatic like me it is definitely worth it. With the new Jordan Challenges, My Player Mode, Jordan: Creating A Legend Mode, Online Team, Crew, and Exhibition games, it has a wealth of options for any gamers style.

    Overall: 10 BEST SPORTS GAME EVER!!!
    Collapse
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This is a really great game. If you are new to basketball and or aren't that interested in the sport, don't buy this game. However, if you are in love with the game absolutely buy this game. It's the most realistic sim I've ever played. It is frustrating at first because it's so difficult but if you continue to play the game and get better it is extremely rewarding. Hands down the bestThis is a really great game. If you are new to basketball and or aren't that interested in the sport, don't buy this game. However, if you are in love with the game absolutely buy this game. It's the most realistic sim I've ever played. It is frustrating at first because it's so difficult but if you continue to play the game and get better it is extremely rewarding. Hands down the best sports game I've ever played. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    it can be super hard and frustrating, but this is seriously one the most addicting and fun sports games i have played in a while... Player ratings are a little on the unrealistic side
    learning curve is steep
    so many addicting modes.... association, myplayer (sucks you in) and the jordan stuff is awesome series will only get better only qualm is the online servers just seem to be terrible,
    it can be super hard and frustrating, but this is seriously one the most addicting and fun sports games i have played in a while... Player ratings are a little on the unrealistic side
    learning curve is steep
    so many addicting modes.... association, myplayer (sucks you in) and the jordan stuff is awesome series will only get better

    only qualm is the online servers just seem to be terrible, super laggy (basically have to play nba jam style and constantly dunk)

    but yeah.. get over the learning curve and get into it! (still much more accessible than madden and other spots games)
    Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is probably the deepest and best sports title I've ever played. There are so many options and gameplay types and most of them are a blast. The commentary is some of the best I've seen, the gameplay is realistic, challenging, and fun, but the highlight of the game is the Michael Jordan content with all the classic teams, players, and Jordan moments. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This game is the basketball game you have been waiting for your whole life.I'm from Chicago so you know how happy I am sense I watched just about ever game Michael Jordan and the bulls played throughout the whole 90's.Even if it was a different star like Dr. J it still would of been perfection.It's just an added bonus for me.Honestly the passing is a bit off with the players sometimesThis game is the basketball game you have been waiting for your whole life.I'm from Chicago so you know how happy I am sense I watched just about ever game Michael Jordan and the bulls played throughout the whole 90's.Even if it was a different star like Dr. J it still would of been perfection.It's just an added bonus for me.Honestly the passing is a bit off with the players sometimes acting like there psychic but I am not going to knock it for that because that really is all that I see is a bit off.Wow this has to be played to be believed.It makes all NBA Live's games and the other past 2K games obsolete. Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    Awesome game.From the presentation, to the player models to the core gameplay, it's just terrific.Brilliant simulation of the game of basketball, loved the hp half tome report.10 on 10.
  8. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    I am what you may call a 2k fan boy getting pissed off at those who claim live/elite to be better. In saying that this years game is little short of brilliant, I had high expectations and almost everyone of them was surpassed. The gameplay is so tight and realistic I found myself enjoying watch the computer play itself. There is much more control with isomotion and the players run in gameI am what you may call a 2k fan boy getting pissed off at those who claim live/elite to be better. In saying that this years game is little short of brilliant, I had high expectations and almost everyone of them was surpassed. The gameplay is so tight and realistic I found myself enjoying watch the computer play itself. There is much more control with isomotion and the players run in game plays with a real sense of urgency. Watch Mike Miller run through multiple screens to get an open look is sensational. The game is not perfect however as there is the occasional choppy animation and the classic teams while great for the starting line ups are largely made up of 50-58 overall made up bench players who play for several teams. The MJ features are a lot of fun and tearing John Starks up for 55 is a fond memory of mine. Its not perfect but the best basketball simulator of all time and will give you hours and hours of realistic fun. Expand
  9. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    As a kid growing up and idolizing Michael Jordan, I always pretended I was him playing basketball. I had the jersey, the shoes, and even drank Gatorade after I was done playing hoops. When basketball video games would come out I missed the fact the Jordan was not in the game. If you were like me, you would go to the â
  10. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    The only game feature that drew me to this game was my player mode. 2k10 was the first game I ever played in this franchise and it blew me away. 2k11 improves on graphics, animations and neat new features like the Michael Jordon mode which adds in the chance to play as teams from the 80's & 90's. Playing in short shorts was awesome! The 2k basketball franchise is so solid, variable and soThe only game feature that drew me to this game was my player mode. 2k10 was the first game I ever played in this franchise and it blew me away. 2k11 improves on graphics, animations and neat new features like the Michael Jordon mode which adds in the chance to play as teams from the 80's & 90's. Playing in short shorts was awesome! The 2k basketball franchise is so solid, variable and so complex that it is nearly like watching a real basketball game. The winning formula of realistic gameplay and the many great game modes sucks you in. In regards to the controls and learning moves the game has a steep learning curve but it is well worth it. Expand
  11. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    I rarely if ever buy a sports game, but as a Bulls fan how could I resist the first game to give us a real Michael Jordan. And I was not disapointed. The Jordan Mode alone is worth the price of admission. Getting to match the 96 Bulls against the LeBron lead Heat will forever answer your questions as to the best team ever. This is a must buy for Bulls fans, a must buy for basketball fans,I rarely if ever buy a sports game, but as a Bulls fan how could I resist the first game to give us a real Michael Jordan. And I was not disapointed. The Jordan Mode alone is worth the price of admission. Getting to match the 96 Bulls against the LeBron lead Heat will forever answer your questions as to the best team ever. This is a must buy for Bulls fans, a must buy for basketball fans, and one of the funnest games I've played all year. Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Iam totally pleased with this game!! Not only is this the only basketball game EVER!! To have MJ its the best basketball game ever made. From the controls to the graphics to the gameplay perfect!!
  13. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    Its Amazing So Amazing. Playing Michael Jordan and competing against some of the best players in NBA history is awesome. You can play against Dominique Wilkens and see him do some insane dunks, play against Jazz Duo Stockton & Malone, watch Patrick Ewing dominate the post, its just awesome. The controls are a little tough to handle. You might lose for a while, but after you get use to theIts Amazing So Amazing. Playing Michael Jordan and competing against some of the best players in NBA history is awesome. You can play against Dominique Wilkens and see him do some insane dunks, play against Jazz Duo Stockton & Malone, watch Patrick Ewing dominate the post, its just awesome. The controls are a little tough to handle. You might lose for a while, but after you get use to the controllers sooner or later youll start to dominate. Also while playing a game, you feel like your watching a live NBA game, people passing by will ask you who's playing. Franchise mode is always fun, building your team to win a championship is cool, but your always gonna get the Lakers or Heat in the finals.
    great gameplay, good graphics, great commentary in game, also great music playlist. All around great game.
    Expand
  14. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    I have this game and its good but it is very similar to NBA 2k10 and i am disappointed they did not change the dunking controls. Also it lacks player skills like even Michael Jordan he is not that amazing in this game also with Kobe Bryant one of the best basketball players right now and he is lacking skill. Next theres people that are overrated like Steve Blake he knocks down almost everyI have this game and its good but it is very similar to NBA 2k10 and i am disappointed they did not change the dunking controls. Also it lacks player skills like even Michael Jordan he is not that amazing in this game also with Kobe Bryant one of the best basketball players right now and he is lacking skill. Next theres people that are overrated like Steve Blake he knocks down almost every three pointer no problem. But overall its a pretty decent game. Expand
  15. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    Incredible game! Needless to say that the whole jordan thing rocks and if u were watching him at the time a kind of nostalgia will rule you....... Association:Great! i believe the best mode in the whole game.Myplayer:Very good even if i sometimes get frustrated and very rewarding.Jordanchallenge:Amazing Graphics: id give a nine out of ten but still top notch Controls:nine and a half out ofIncredible game! Needless to say that the whole jordan thing rocks and if u were watching him at the time a kind of nostalgia will rule you....... Association:Great! i believe the best mode in the whole game.Myplayer:Very good even if i sometimes get frustrated and very rewarding.Jordanchallenge:Amazing Graphics: id give a nine out of ten but still top notch Controls:nine and a half out of ten. The contros were really easy to adapt to as this was my first 2k game.Sound:Very realistic and you can even listen to the games soundtracks(they are pretty good) during the game.Replayability:I think ill keep coming back to this game for a long time..... Expand
  16. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    NBA 2K11 is the best NBA game to date, the gameplay is realistic, the presentation of the game is awesome and the sound is amazing although the commentatery could be better, the Micheal Jordan content adds hours to this already massive game.
    I would highly recommend to anyone.
  17. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    This game might be old but I decided to give my two cents. Before 2K12, this was the best basketball game ever. Ignore those people making bad reviews. It sounds like ALL of them do NOT know how to even play 2K ball. 2K10 was one of the worst to have come out on the 360. 2K11 is much more smooth and fun than it's predecessor. The game felt more complete. The Jordan Challenges are a niceThis game might be old but I decided to give my two cents. Before 2K12, this was the best basketball game ever. Ignore those people making bad reviews. It sounds like ALL of them do NOT know how to even play 2K ball. 2K10 was one of the worst to have come out on the 360. 2K11 is much more smooth and fun than it's predecessor. The game felt more complete. The Jordan Challenges are a nice feature. You were put in 10 of MJ's most memorable games. (Like dropping 63 Points on the Celtics or humiliating a Drexler-led Trailblazer team with Jordan dropping 6 threes in the first half for an NBA Finals record) My Player was decent. It had the draft combine which was DLC for NBA 2k10. Quite similar to 2K10's My Player but was a little bit more improved. For the price of this right now it is quite a steal. Expand
  18. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Here's the deal,I grew up in Chicago,I love Michael Jordan and the bulls I played basketball from age 5 to 25 and I'm 38 years old,so put it together.You wait your whole life for a game like this and most of the time it doesn't happen but guess what--It happened.I would probably love it even if it was a crap game but it's the best basketball game ever made to the date of 10-2010.I can'tHere's the deal,I grew up in Chicago,I love Michael Jordan and the bulls I played basketball from age 5 to 25 and I'm 38 years old,so put it together.You wait your whole life for a game like this and most of the time it doesn't happen but guess what--It happened.I would probably love it even if it was a crap game but it's the best basketball game ever made to the date of 10-2010.I can't even count the times I made Jordan in past basketball title but..that's the past.The game,well the presentation is bar none the graphics are real,The sound is awesome and the game play is a game with a replay value where there is no end cause it's so freaking awesome.2K's football titles in the past on the xbox used to be so ahead of there time that it would give me the chills and I'm back to that point.If a game can make you an emotional mess than it's one of a kind and Love it Jordan fans cause there will probably never be another game where the focus is so high on Michael Jordan.Ladies and gentlemen the greatest basketball player of all time is back in the spotlight and he's hotter then ever! Expand
  19. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    One of my favorite sports games of all time. Everything offline is fantastic. From association mode to My Player, you can't really go wrong. Given the fantasy draft option for association mode, and the ability to play 12 minutes quarters and 82 game seasons for each of the 5 positions you can create in My Player gives this game virtually infinite replayability. I was playing it all theOne of my favorite sports games of all time. Everything offline is fantastic. From association mode to My Player, you can't really go wrong. Given the fantasy draft option for association mode, and the ability to play 12 minutes quarters and 82 game seasons for each of the 5 positions you can create in My Player gives this game virtually infinite replayability. I was playing it all the way from launch until the release of 2K12. The only real drawback is the online. 2K's servers are absolute trash. But like I said, this game is fantastic as a single player experience, or a local one with friends. The lack of a strong online component detracts very little. Expand
  20. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    NBA2K11 is hands down the best basketball game ever made. it's only flaw coming in the "My Player" mode where you must play all 82 games, which takes too much time. However, it offers easy and learn able controls, and it's overall fun. Even if you're not a huge B-Ball fan, you'll enjoy this game.
  21. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    I have had this game for over a year now, and am still playing it. Probably have logged in about 50 hours already and is still hooked as ever. That should say enough.
  22. Oct 6, 2010
    0
    By far this is the truest adaptation of the NBA by any and every standard. From small intricacies of the new crossover system. To the new and improved physics and shooting techniques. This game will absolutely blow you away whether you are a fan of the sport/NBA 2K series or not. Graphically the game is a cut above anything we've seen in a sports game to date. This is how I came to myBy far this is the truest adaptation of the NBA by any and every standard. From small intricacies of the new crossover system. To the new and improved physics and shooting techniques. This game will absolutely blow you away whether you are a fan of the sport/NBA 2K series or not. Graphically the game is a cut above anything we've seen in a sports game to date. This is how I came to my score of a Perfect 10 rating:

    Graphics: 9.5 (Best looking sports game out right now, can't quite give it a 10 here though.)
    Sound: 10 (Commentary is INSANELY accurate. They speak about events outside of the game as well.)
    Gameplay: 10 (New controls, New features, Awesome All-Around.)
    Replayability: 10 (This is a 10 for me because I'm a huge basketball fan, This may not be the same for everyone, but for a fanatic like me it is definitely worth it. With the new Jordan Challenges, My Player Mode, Jordan: Creating A Legend Mode, Online Team, Crew, and Exhibition games, it has a wealth of options for any gamers style.

    Overall: 10 BEST SPORTS GAME EVER!!!
    Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Jan 15, 2011
    90
    A solid game with great AI, better graphics, more animations and more precise controls. NBA 2K11 is far better than last year's entry.
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    87
    Everything that Michael Jordan touches, turns into gold. NBA 2K11 is the best game of its kind because of all the improvements that Visual Concepts has added.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    95
    The best basketball of all time, with no strings attached. Go out and buy it.