Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The NBA 2k Franchise is back with NBA 2K12.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    Were it not for the online issues, NBA 2K12 would be the closest thing to a "perfect" video game basketball experience we have yet come to. In fact, it still probably is. This is one of those rare sports games where the offline content nearly made me forget about the online component.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    95
    Realistic, challenging, gorgeously presented and chock full of solid gameplay, NBA 2K12 is the new benchmark for solid sporting titles.
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    93
    2K Sports raised the bar very high last year, and we though it would be very difficult for another entry to surpass it. Fortunately we were mistaken, and it improves almost everything from the previous game, with new and revamped game modes, basketball legends and more fun matches. A must-have.
  4. 90
    NBA 2K12 is not to be missed, lockout or no.
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    90
    On the whole, NBA 2K12 not only improves on last year's game with tighter controls and other incremental improvements, but 2K Sports has also delivered enhancements and revisions that matter.
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    85
    The best offline basketball video game around and one of the best sport sims yet. Our overall judgment is however strongly impacted by the disappointing online support, with frequent disconnects and heavy lag. We hope the developers will be able to fix it.
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    75
    NBA 2K12 is definitely a game any basketball fan should own and a game that will keep you occupied until 2K13 is released at a minimum. If I had more online friends who played the game I know I would have enjoyed the online experience more than I did, so it's definitely a game you should check out if you know a few friends who would also play. Casual sports gamers should at least rent this game and see if it tickles your fancy. Swoosh!

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    Perfection,amazement just downright fun.I just got done playing multiple games online and it was like I was controlling a real game on the television.Now offline let me get started by saying that I don't want to get into everything because everything is perfect.I can't find one thing wrong with this title.I mean come on the commentary is better then any game I have ever watched in the past on TV.I played basketball for several years and this is the first time that I feel like I'm 15 years younger and I'm playing again.Let me just say this,after playing this game put in NBA Live 10,09,NBA 2k9.2K10.There obsolete,that's how good this is.EA has done a good job with there hockey and soccer,Sony has done an amazing job with there Baseball but nothing and I mean nothing can compare with the brilliance of this game. Expand
  2. May 2, 2012
    10
    Outstanding job by 2k, great updated graphics, new 2k share is awesome, great menu, great gameplay, great commentary, and all of the above. One of the best sports games ive ever played. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Visual concepts know how to improve on a game by far the best looking sounding and playing NBA game of all time. 2k Sports has done it again! Raiseing the bar even higher! Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    The NBA 2k series has come a long way since the first but lately it has been lacking something new. Right off the bat looking at the visuals I wasn't impressed they looked exactly like those of 2k11 nothing new there. Going on to the My Player experience it has improved even more than the previous two versions which is what was expected but I have to say it exceed my expectations. Now for the basketball experience the game excels like it should but some things are still missing. After playing it I notice that 2k games goes with a premium and standard lay out (like how Polyphony did with their cars in Gran Turismo) for player although they don't say it you can notice it and what I mean by it is the difference between the star in the NBA and the players who aren't stars. When you are using some like Kobe Bryant or Dirk Nowitski every thing is correct for these players such as their jumpers and their signature layups ext. But when using a non superstar 2k games has a number of generic moves and will give a player the one that looks the closest to theirs which takes away from the realism. But overall it is still a great game but I only wish some other things where added to the game such as having the correct voices for the PA announcers for the correct court and having a variety of commentators like Reggie Miller or Jeff Van Gundy. So I'm giving it an 8.5 its a great game but some bigger improvements can be made to it. Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2013
    8
    It is overall a good game, I just feel NBA 2k12 is missing something and just is not as good as NBA 2k11. There are some improvements as compared to the previous installment but I just did not enjoy this as much as 2k11. That aside though, 2k12 is still a great game Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    The look of the game is great, they definitely did their homework on presentation. Now with that being said, if you can stand a game that plays robotic (to the point where your players feel like they are lagging online, but you are playing an offline game), an online league that you can't control, multiplayer vs mode (2 on 2, 3 on 3.. etc.) that you can't change between players, doesnt have a blacktop online mode, takes 5 minutes to synchronize the rosters and save your game data every so often when you are playing, and restricted online gameplay. Then this game is for you.

    If you are like me and you wish for a more smooth flowing game, with more control of the product you own. You will email and plead to EA to get back into the NBA market.
    Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    0
    This game is horrible when playing with friends. It trys to be more realistic, but it ends up setting up instances that make no sense. People glitch to the basket. Baskets are made but not counted. The home team somehow always has an advantage. This game is 20x more frustrating at just not as fun as the last. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews