User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 118
  2. Negative: 24 out of 118

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    4
    Its not entirely a bad game, but its got its major faults. non existent defense. u can literally run through defending players as they step out of the way and let u through. this is especially bad with lebron james and kobe bryant. even on the hardest difficulty defense puts in no effort. thats 40% of the game, so i took 4 marks off. the revitalised offense controls are good, but shooters can shoot over the top of people no problem. thats another 2 points. Will be eagerly awaiting NBA Live this yr, as a $20 downloadable game, might be the good stuff, Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    3
    What happened??? I only gave it a 2 because I liked the music, quality of the commentators, and Blacktop. Character creation and My Player is horrible, nothing kept me interested in playing this game. It feels like they took a great franchise and smashed it with a cinder block and took the remains and through them in a fire. I was a huge fan of 2K12, looked great, played great, felt right... ... This is not a good sign of things to come 2K. You really need to get back "in the game", before EA releases their title next year. Hear my full review on the show, http://liquidgamer.podbean.com Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    3
    Too many glitches and bugs. The multiplayer is terrible and lags like crazy. The My Player mode is a joke because you still start out as a terrible player. Guys make 3's easier than lay-ups. Also, if you didn't pre-order the game, you don't get the All-Star Weekend which is something that has always been included throughout the history of sports games. 2K can suck it.
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    I bought this game hoping it would be better than the last few years... Every year I tell myself I won't buy it and I do and every year I'm disappointed at all the things they refuse to fix. Clunky/Unresponsive controls, clicking one button gets you stuck in a 3 second animation while the pc just walks past your defense, Your AI defense is so poor when the AI's defence is responsive, TL;DR Stop buying the same game with the same flaws with one new game mode with one new change Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2014
    3
    Everything about this game is worse than the last 2 except for the animations. The game does everything except what you want your player to actually do. If you are within 5metres of any player you will get flung like a magnet to them whilst your opponent runs free and rains three's. This even occurs running into your own players which is completely ridiculous and then you'll then get called with a foul when you knock over someone for running into them. It is virtually impossible to play D in my player mode and everything feels completely sluggish and broken compared to the previous games where your player could run fluently around the court and only get glued to players if there was a screen. Expect to get fouled out of the game a lot because steals are now non existent - you will get called every time you reach in hlwever the opponents will be able to steal the ball of you at will with no fouls which is great news for you.The jay z layout of the game is terrible - your player stats don't show up in a neat graph anymore but you have to manually scroll down the screen with one stat displayed at a time with a number which is like 40 stats. The soundtrack sucks - nearly every song is hip hop and there is absolutely no variety which is just a terrible decision because it gets old fast. The game is also impossible to play on xbox live - especially my player because you now have to sign your player up to 2k servers which basically means every time you click a menu button you'll have to wait about 3 minutes while the game connects to the servers for no reason!!! This game is a piece of junk and all the new ideas like shoe creator are wasted because the gameplay is so bad. Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    3
    This game is one of the worst 2k games. The players are to over powered online and it's really fake. Centers and power forwards miss rebounds that bounce off their faces. Contact layups are a basic automatic miss. 2k developers better step it up or they're going to lose another customer
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    This game is really decent. It is good sometimes but horrible other times. In my team there are really bad calls and it glitches out. I think the best mode is. My career because you decide the fate not the computer like many modes. Black top is fun to play with friends.
  8. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    I cant stand this game. Tried to play it for months with my friends and its just FAKE! No defense. All 3s if u drive good luck defending it. Players contour in the air. The my player takes forever just to be good even though i average 30 a game. Music was shut off after 2 mins of a bleeping kanyes mercy. Just get FIFA or the new live 14 coming out
  9. kb8
    Jul 16, 2014
    0
    This game is SOOOOOOOOOO BAAADDD!!!!!! I cannot even begin to explain how annoying it is!!!!! It is so unrealistic! I've never played such a bad game in my life. The rebounding is absolutely ABSURD!!! I put in Shaquille Oneal and Roy Hibbert together and they were outrebounded by the Orlando Magic (they do not have Dwight Howard)!!!! I honestly think they might pay their critics to give them good reviews because I have never heard someone say a single good thing about it in person. This game SUCKS!!!!!!!! Worst game I have EVER played!!!! Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    80
    This is a welcome new standard for sports videogames as a whole and with any luck, will generate interest in getting the audio right. There are only so many places left to make it new and NBA 2K13 has crossed another off the list.
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    82
    This is still a great game, and sports fans will love this, but for those still clinging to NBA 2K11 or 2K12, you'll want to take the plunge if you really need that roster update or desperately want to play as the Dream Team.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    There's no need for another basketball game series if the NBA 2K franchise keeps releasing games like this. [Jan 2013, p.74]