Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: USA Basketball – Finally answer the question: Who would win a head-to-head duel between the 1992 Dream Team and the 2012 squad? MyCAREER Mode – Build your MyPLAYER by giving him signature skills, and acquire your very own custom animations using Virtual Currency (VC). Includes all-new GM sit-down feature, new endorsement paths, improved in-game AI, and all-new swag including casual clothing, equipment, custom shoes and much more. NBA 2K “MyTEAM” – Collect players, uniforms, arenas and boosts to put together your own team. Track the talent marketplace that fluctuates based on real-life performance, and then take your team online to play against other players’ MyTEAMS in a new tiered matchmaking system. The Control Stick: For the first time ever, all dribble moves have been mapped to the right analog stick, as well as shooting, passing, and post moves. String together devastating crossovers and clutch shots for maximum control and effectiveness. Dynamic Shot Generator: Shots are now dynamically created on the fly, with all-new collision physics created in real-time. Signature Skills: Each player has unique abilities that can alter the course of a game. Players are modeled to impact the game in their own unique way, from Derrick Rose as a “Floor General” to Kevin Durant being “The Closer.” Learn to use each player’s unique ability and change the game on your terms. Revamped Passing System: Improved fast break passing gives players more control. Fire a bounce pass to a cutting teammate or go “Lob City” in transition. Kinect Ready - Act as your team’s floor general by calling out plays and strategies using NBA 2K13’s voice recognition on Kinect. Shoe Creator - One of the most flexible interfaces ever allow the user to customize up to 45 shoe components and layers from the ground up. Create original shoes from all the major shoe brands and deck your player out with his own signature creation. Classic Teams – The best teams in NBA history are back, and can now be taken online. Challenge your friends with squads such as the ’96 Bulls and ’65 Celtics. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    96
    NBA 2K13 is a love letter to basketball fans everywhere. 2K Sports continues to impress, resist the urge to rest on its laurels, and produce a fantastic product that innovates in unforeseen ways.
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    94
    Once again, the best basketball simulator, beating its only rival –itself. Better animations and some new additions to the gameplay move the game one step forward, even though it isn't any revolution for the series. For the Spanish-speaking players: for the first time NBA 2K offers Spanish commentators, so good news for you!
  3. Oct 6, 2012
    91
    While the shift towards having more control on offense has left the defensive game a bit out of step, NBA 2K13 is still highly entertaining overall, offering enough changes to keep players interested in starting another career, season, player, or franchise.
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    90
    Without contenders, NBA 2K13 holds on it's crown. This is the best basketball game so far.
  5. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    In spite of a lack of competition, Visual Concepts hasn't eased off the brakes. Every year the developer continues to deliver. NBA 2K13 isn't just the best basketball game of the year, it's the best sports game of the year.
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    87
    NBA 2K13 really proves to be the king of sport franchises. The music, the atmosphere, the total package this basketball palooza breathes NBA and America. All there is left to say is that 2K13 basically is a slam dunk on all fronts.
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    70
    For the first time since it went from being a good basketball game to a cultural touchstone, it's taken a step backwards. The controls have become far too complex for much of its audience, and there's no one mode that captures your attention as much as the now-absent Jordan and Greatest challenges.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 9 out of 33
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    The game is great. The pick and roll works well this year. I love the animations. Everything seems closer to real basketball than ever before. I can't wait to play more online!! Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    NBA 2K13 is good enough to render 2K12 obsolete. The NBA 2K Series is a series of great basketball games. It takes me about a month to get a great feel for the latest version, and at first I had reservations about this game. Most of my issues at first were with the Virtual Currency (VC) system. When you first start out VC seems like a ripoff, and most likely you are going to spend real money instead of waiting to have enough VC to create a competitive MyTeam or MyPlayer. Beyond the VC, this game is an improvement in every facet of the game. In 2K12 dribbling moves and breaking down the defender were only moderately effective. 2K13 revolutionizes dribbling controls to make this a much more enjoyable and exciting game. I like the Jay Z presentation and feel it is a real improvement, not everyone shares this opinion. (Guess it depends on whether or not you like Jay Z, I must.) One real presentation difference is the use of Music Videos during the intro to some games, also in MyPlayer the use of commercials versus all of the still billboards. The main new feature of this game is the MyTeam mode, which has you playing other real online oponents to move through a Playoff structure. I really like the new mode, but this is where you are going to spend real money to build a good team, instead of waiting until you have enough VC to pick up a couple of Superstars. Now, some players are abusing this mode in 1 of 2 different ways: 1) Building a team of all 3 Point shooters and launching away the entire game (completely unrealistic and could use patching) 2) Building a Superteam even though it is costing them real $ (Played a team with CP3, Wade, Lebron, Durant and Howard yesterday, again this should be patched to allow a maximum # of Superstars). Negative: If you do not have Xbox Live, you will not have access to about Half of the content in this game. All-in-all, NBA 2K13 is a major improvement where it counts - Gameplay, has improved Presentation and a fun online MyTeam mode. One last thing - 2K13 is far more "explosive" that 2K12. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    I didn't think 2k sports could do it, but they keep getting better with each and every installment. I'd still like to see a more open choice to skipping games in myCareer mode and I don't like the lack of multiple mycareer player appearances, but it's still a very well made and executed game Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    This game is good, but not great. Some great things are the new MyTeam mode, new game intros, and of course, the game soundtrack. But there are no major fixes for screwed up player models and a hard to navigate menu. Collapse
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    6
    2k Sports did OK with this game. Everything about it is ok. They are all lazy, money eaters. My MyPlayer is rated a 99. His pass is a 95, but whenever I try to pass out of a double team, a big man comes out of the blue and intercepts the pass. He is a 6'2 point guard, and gets blocked by all of the other point guards. This really frustrates me. 2k really needs to step it up, because right now, I'm on the verge of buying NBA Live 14. Also, they need to improve the rating you get coming into the nba. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    4
    Its not entirely a bad game, but its got its major faults. non existent defense. u can literally run through defending players as they step out of the way and let u through. this is especially bad with lebron james and kobe bryant. even on the hardest difficulty defense puts in no effort. thats 40% of the game, so i took 4 marks off. the revitalised offense controls are good, but shooters can shoot over the top of people no problem. thats another 2 points. Will be eagerly awaiting NBA Live this yr, as a $20 downloadable game, might be the good stuff, Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    This game is really decent. It is good sometimes but horrible other times. In my team there are really bad calls and it glitches out. I think the best mode is. My career because you decide the fate not the computer like many modes. Black top is fun to play with friends. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews