Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: USA Basketball – Finally answer the question: Who would win a head-to-head duel between the 1992 Dream Team and the 2012 squad? MyCAREER Mode – Build your MyPLAYER by giving him signature skills, and acquire your very own custom animations using Virtual Currency (VC). Includes all-new GM sit-down feature, new endorsement paths, improved in-game AI, and all-new swag including casual clothing, equipment, custom shoes and much more. NBA 2K “MyTEAM” – Collect players, uniforms, arenas and boosts to put together your own team. Track the talent marketplace that fluctuates based on real-life performance, and then take your team online to play against other players’ MyTEAMS in a new tiered matchmaking system. The Control Stick: For the first time ever, all dribble moves have been mapped to the right analog stick, as well as shooting, passing, and post moves. String together devastating crossovers and clutch shots for maximum control and effectiveness. Dynamic Shot Generator: Shots are now dynamically created on the fly, with all-new collision physics created in real-time. Signature Skills: Each player has unique abilities that can alter the course of a game. Players are modeled to impact the game in their own unique way, from Derrick Rose as a “Floor General” to Kevin Durant being “The Closer.” Learn to use each player’s unique ability and change the game on your terms. Revamped Passing System: Improved fast break passing gives players more control. Fire a bounce pass to a cutting teammate or go “Lob City” in transition. Kinect Ready - Act as your team’s floor general by calling out plays and strategies using NBA 2K13’s voice recognition on Kinect. Shoe Creator - One of the most flexible interfaces ever allow the user to customize up to 45 shoe components and layers from the ground up. Create original shoes from all the major shoe brands and deck your player out with his own signature creation. Classic Teams – The best teams in NBA history are back, and can now be taken online. Challenge your friends with squads such as the ’96 Bulls and ’65 Celtics. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    96
    NBA 2K13 is a love letter to basketball fans everywhere. 2K Sports continues to impress, resist the urge to rest on its laurels, and produce a fantastic product that innovates in unforeseen ways.
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    94
    Once again, the best basketball simulator, beating its only rival –itself. Better animations and some new additions to the gameplay move the game one step forward, even though it isn't any revolution for the series. For the Spanish-speaking players: for the first time NBA 2K offers Spanish commentators, so good news for you!
  3. Oct 6, 2012
    91
    While the shift towards having more control on offense has left the defensive game a bit out of step, NBA 2K13 is still highly entertaining overall, offering enough changes to keep players interested in starting another career, season, player, or franchise.
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    90
    Without contenders, NBA 2K13 holds on it's crown. This is the best basketball game so far.
  5. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    In spite of a lack of competition, Visual Concepts hasn't eased off the brakes. Every year the developer continues to deliver. NBA 2K13 isn't just the best basketball game of the year, it's the best sports game of the year.
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    87
    NBA 2K13 really proves to be the king of sport franchises. The music, the atmosphere, the total package this basketball palooza breathes NBA and America. All there is left to say is that 2K13 basically is a slam dunk on all fronts.
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    70
    For the first time since it went from being a good basketball game to a cultural touchstone, it's taken a step backwards. The controls have become far too complex for much of its audience, and there's no one mode that captures your attention as much as the now-absent Jordan and Greatest challenges.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 8 out of 33
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    The game is great. The pick and roll works well this year. I love the animations. Everything seems closer to real basketball than ever before. I can't wait to play more online!! Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    NBA 2K13 is good enough to render 2K12 obsolete. The NBA 2K Series is a series of great basketball games. It takes me about a month to get a great feel for the latest version, and at first I had reservations about this game. Most of my issues at first were with the Virtual Currency (VC) system. When you first start out VC seems like a ripoff, and most likely you are going to spend real money instead of waiting to have enough VC to create a competitive MyTeam or MyPlayer. Beyond the VC, this game is an improvement in every facet of the game. In 2K12 dribbling moves and breaking down the defender were only moderately effective. 2K13 revolutionizes dribbling controls to make this a much more enjoyable and exciting game. I like the Jay Z presentation and feel it is a real improvement, not everyone shares this opinion. (Guess it depends on whether or not you like Jay Z, I must.) One real presentation difference is the use of Music Videos during the intro to some games, also in MyPlayer the use of commercials versus all of the still billboards. The main new feature of this game is the MyTeam mode, which has you playing other real online oponents to move through a Playoff structure. I really like the new mode, but this is where you are going to spend real money to build a good team, instead of waiting until you have enough VC to pick up a couple of Superstars. Now, some players are abusing this mode in 1 of 2 different ways: 1) Building a team of all 3 Point shooters and launching away the entire game (completely unrealistic and could use patching) 2) Building a Superteam even though it is costing them real $ (Played a team with CP3, Wade, Lebron, Durant and Howard yesterday, again this should be patched to allow a maximum # of Superstars). Negative: If you do not have Xbox Live, you will not have access to about Half of the content in this game. All-in-all, NBA 2K13 is a major improvement where it counts - Gameplay, has improved Presentation and a fun online MyTeam mode. One last thing - 2K13 is far more "explosive" that 2K12. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    I didn't think 2k sports could do it, but they keep getting better with each and every installment. I'd still like to see a more open choice to skipping games in myCareer mode and I don't like the lack of multiple mycareer player appearances, but it's still a very well made and executed game Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    8
    This game is by far my favorite sports game to date. It could be the fact that I just love basketball, or the fact that I'm a huge fan of Jay-Z. Either way, this game is amazing. The controls are more fluid than ever and the signature animations are a sight to behold. It did take me at least 10 games to fully understand the control scheme, but once you get it down, there are endless possibilities. With the addition of the control stick, it does feel a little more like the NBA Live series, most recent being NBA Live 10. People are sure to nitpick, but as a 26 year old gamer, I can appreciate how far we've come. I get endless enjoyment out of playing as the Dream Team(complete with Barkley and Pippen) and also as the 2012 Olympic team. The classic teams are all here. With the exception of just a few I would have liked to see. But overall, I cannot stop playing. The animations are crisp and the gameplay is airtight. Keep in mind, I do not play sports game online. So my review is really for the offline gamers. Tons of fun. Scoop it if you can. Traded in Madden 13 to get it and could not be happier with my choice. Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2012
    6
    I can't believe all the lies I see I had to create a user just so I could write the truth. Let me be very clear this game is not I repeat NOT better then 2k12. the my player mode or as they call it in 2k13 my creator mode is crap. as a rookie your only given like 5 min or so to play in game that determines where you get drafted making it very hard to get picked higher then 10th. I almost forgot its much harder to level your person up unlike in 2k12 that if you got high enough in a drill you would not only get XP but you would get like +1 inside shot and so forth, not in 2k13 drills are almost useless even if you get gold you only get about 60 XP that's it no extra state for doing good. 2nd if you have multiple people using your gamer tag too bad you have to create one person and they are there forever so you can't have multiple my career modes with different people because if you try it will put that one person in every time. and it won't let you change the persons name. 3rd the playlist is so short you will get sick of it before you know it. the last problem I have is with the controls well others like the whole control stick thing I hatted it and sometimes you do a dribble move you never meant to, oh and if you where like me and never really used them in the first place it punishes you with great def all around. I almost forgot for those who got the All star DLC with the pre order don't bother its controls are so glitchy its not even worth it. so whats good about the game well they have included a lot more older teams and legends into the game which is a plus in my book. the graphics have also improved. if you don't have other people using your Gamer tag my career is a plus as far as looks you can go talk to the GM of your team just like in real life and it shows it. also you can buy apparel to change your players look when he is on the court getting to the arena and all that good stuff. oh and also in the off season your GM will ask you who you think they should try to sign taking a page out of MLB2k12. though at least in my case they went after no one I said they should so it felt like they really didn't care. Overall I am deeply saddened by NBA 2k this year I thought it would be better but it was a big disappointment do yourself a favor and keep 2k12 or re-buy it because 2k13 is just a shinny pile of crap. its going down the road of Madden and that's not a good thing. only reason its not getting a lower score is because well its not as good as 2k12 its still at times a decent game. Collapse
  6. Feb 13, 2013
    5
    One of the most dissapointing titles for me.. HUGE 2k fan.. Bought the Dynasty for this one.. MY PLAYER mode for me was RUINED.. MICROTRANSACTIONS and the VC points dropping into everything I do.. I do NOT play online nor should i be forced too to get my full VC points that i shouldof earned to get MY PLAYER guy to develop at a decent rate.. Complete fail on that part Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    This game is really decent. It is good sometimes but horrible other times. In my team there are really bad calls and it glitches out. I think the best mode is. My career because you decide the fate not the computer like many modes. Black top is fun to play with friends. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews