Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Face off against opposing crews online using your MyPLAYER. Create your logo and face off in 5v5 battles with other crews featuring leaderboards and stats. Play with 14 of the top European teams, featuring authentic uniforms and players. Player attributes and tendencies automatically update daily to reflect true life hot and cold streaks. Now, each game played in the NBA can have an effect on your game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    93
    It’s a credit to NBA 2K14 that despite not one but two new basketball sims looming on the next-gen horizon, it still managed to draw my attention squarely to the current-gen court and keep it there.
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Sure, the new game mode is a little disappointing, and existing modes could have done with at least a small update, but these are minor complaints in what is easily the finest basketball gameplay seen to date – and arguably one of the greatest sporting simulations of all time.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    The mix of real news and improvements works great, proposing an episode of NBA 2K enjoyable and long-lasting.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    88
    The Path to Greatness might not be the revolution we hoped for, but the rest of a game is. The quality of its gameplay is unmatched and constantly challenges you. There's also enough to do with plenty of modes which will keep you hooked for quite a while.
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    85
    No surprise here – another remarkably enjoyable title from the series that’s been a definition of a perfect sports game for years. [12/2013, p.66]
  6. Oct 11, 2013
    85
    There is so much to see and do in NBA 2K14 it can feel overwhelming for someone like me who isn’t a huge fan of the sport. The sheer attention to detail and ease of use though really drew me into the experience. The Lebron story mode is a novel idea, and the presentation is simply awe-inspiring.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    While it still exudes personality, style, and class, some of its key areas are in need of fresh ideas. NBA 2K14 is great, yes, but somehow feels like a missed opportunity.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 62
  2. Negative: 37 out of 62
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    It simply is a great game that will keep us in company before the next-gen version comes out! NBA 2K14 shows us how good these developers are in improving their product every year. Expand
  2. ERB
    Nov 22, 2013
    8
    I highly recommend you guys to buy this game.NBA 2K14 is a fun game.Especially the game play.It is fun and it is also entertaining.NBA 2K14 is so far the best 2K title of It's generation.Although there weren't some improvements in the graphics and it is clearly identical to last year's 2K13 but still that doesn't matter.The dunks and moves in this game looks cool and it is way more better than the other 2K titles.You can also make your own characters and even make a basketball team in this game.You can also choose what kind of dunk your player will do and the Historical Jordan dunk is really awesome.Even the Historical Drexler dunk is also awesome.This game rocks so It gets a 8/10 from me because of the game play.So I recommend you gamers to buy this new game and try playing It and I bet that you will have a fun time with this game. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    7
    Ante la nulidad por parte de EA de sacar un juego de baloncesto al menos decente, 2K Sport ha ido desmejorando su propio saga que alcanzó su punto álgido en la entrega de 2010, NBA 2K11. Y es que desde entonces y concretando con la de esta temporada, a los fallos históricos de la franquicia tales como la mala optimización en la versión de PC sin soporte para el cursor del ratón obligando a jugar con mando, malos emparejamientos entre jugadores quedando ligados un base con un pívot con demasiada frecuencia, la mala personalización de los rookies en cada temporada que pasa y la nulidad de jugar con guiris al saberse estos todas las jugadas “chetadas”, se les suman las malas aportaciones de las últimas entregas: como la desaparición de la web para configurar ligas online obligando a jugar partidas contra equipos dirigidos por la máquina, que el juego ya no guarde todas las canastas de un partido para poder guardar las mejores jugadas, que cualquier jugador puede taponar a otro por detrás aunque le saque 20 centímetros o que los pívots se siguen cansando de una forma desproporcionada.
    Algunas cosas buenas hay, claro que sí. Pero hay que buscarlas en profundidad para encontrarlas, en vez de mostrarse por sí solas, , como una mayor importancia al contacto físico y a la habilidad de cada jugador.
    Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    3
    So let me begin with my perspective coming into this game. I recently found my old NBA 2K9 game in the back of my game shelf and decided to play it. I had completely forgotten how much fun it was! The controls were tight, graphics were solid (for a game released in '08), team selection was awesome (50's-90's all-star teams), and the blackcourt mode was perfect. Three point competitions between ray allen, larry bird, reggie miller, and shaq...fun as hell! The pickup basketballs games were also an awesome feature and me and my buddies played them for hours.

    So fast forward to a few days ago when i was checking out the games at redbox. I happened to see they had 2K14 out so i immediately rented it. Now mind you, 2K9 was the last game in the series I played so I was really anxious to see what had been done. I put the game in and immediately jump into a quick game....and I immediately am dissapointed. IN 5 YEARS the game looks exactly the same! Me and my friend actually commented that the graphics looked kinda worse! The controls were clunky, as they bloated the hell out of them with a million fancifications (my own word) you can do, and I couldn't even get Michael Jordan to f***in dunk! They gutted the blackcourt mode which pissed me off the most, and in the version they do have you can't even pick Dr. J or MJ for your damn team! The Lebron thing I didn't really get into but it looked pretty stupid, I was too pissed to play it and returned the game within a few hours.

    VERDICT:
    In the 5 years since 2K9, the game has just gotten worse in gameplay, graphics, and content. I don't understand the positive reviews for this game that it is getting in the press. The game blows, and I'd recommend 2K9 as it's actually a great game. To close, 2K sports is just cashing in each year on the same game (or worse) with new rosters, DONT BUY IT!
    Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2014
    2
    If the goal in making this game was to ruin the franchise, they are well on their way. The gameplay isn't intuitive, rebounding is ridiculous, and your player's movements/motions are usually a solid half to full second behind you commands. Also, the right stick control for special moves, cross overs, etc. is just terrible. 2013 was solid enough, but 2014 offers zero improvement, and in fact took a serious step backwards. Anyone giving this game a 9 or 10 is out of their mind. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    1
    I was very excited for this game as I was a loyal customer ever since EA nuked NBA Live. I was severely disappointed as the controls are tragically downgraded to the point where it is not fun any more. Any point guard or player in the game no matter ball security or dribbling rating lose the ball when creating contact with another player. Alley-oops are extremely over-powered, dribbling is atrocious as you can be using the trick stick and automatically attempt a shot if you hold the stick in one direction for too long (millisecond), shooting is completely useless as I have had three A+'s in a row during a game and all three miss. The fast break is one of the only ways to get easy baskets. The only upgrade from 2k14 from 13 is the soundtrack other than that it is a steep downgrade and should be up for worst games of '13-'14. To be honest nothing really works as it should, 50% of the time when dribbling to the paint your point guard loses the ball, and even if you would try to pass it would just get deflected anyway. The only reason that I am giving it a 1 is because LeBron finally gets what he deserves with a cover. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    I'm utterly shocked anyone is giving this even mixed ratings! I've seen better games graphically than this since 2006! It looks like rubbish for the most part. The learning curve on this is disgusting! And by that I mean that this game should be accessible to people who know nothing of NBA basket ball. And even for someone like me who knows the basics this is shockingly bad. My opposing player switches almost at random and sometimes seems to do so as they dunk so my rating is poorly affected. If I'd not purchased this game digitally on a youtubers recommendation I'd be returning it for a refund.

    All in all a poor game at best with much reduced features from the newest gen consoles. A lot of the story elements are removed yet a god like or moronic AI seems rampant.
    Expand

See all 62 User Reviews