Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Face off against opposing crews online using your MyPLAYER. Create your logo and face off in 5v5 battles with other crews featuring leaderboards and stats. Play with 14 of the top European teams, featuring authentic uniforms and players. Player attributes and tendencies automatically updateFace off against opposing crews online using your MyPLAYER. Create your logo and face off in 5v5 battles with other crews featuring leaderboards and stats. Play with 14 of the top European teams, featuring authentic uniforms and players. Player attributes and tendencies automatically update daily to reflect true life hot and cold streaks. Now, each game played in the NBA can have an effect on your game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    93
    It’s a credit to NBA 2K14 that despite not one but two new basketball sims looming on the next-gen horizon, it still managed to draw my attention squarely to the current-gen court and keep it there.
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Sure, the new game mode is a little disappointing, and existing modes could have done with at least a small update, but these are minor complaints in what is easily the finest basketball gameplay seen to date – and arguably one of the greatest sporting simulations of all time.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    The mix of real news and improvements works great, proposing an episode of NBA 2K enjoyable and long-lasting.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    88
    The Path to Greatness might not be the revolution we hoped for, but the rest of a game is. The quality of its gameplay is unmatched and constantly challenges you. There's also enough to do with plenty of modes which will keep you hooked for quite a while.
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    85
    No surprise here – another remarkably enjoyable title from the series that’s been a definition of a perfect sports game for years. [12/2013, p.66]
  6. Oct 11, 2013
    85
    There is so much to see and do in NBA 2K14 it can feel overwhelming for someone like me who isn’t a huge fan of the sport. The sheer attention to detail and ease of use though really drew me into the experience. The Lebron story mode is a novel idea, and the presentation is simply awe-inspiring.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    While it still exudes personality, style, and class, some of its key areas are in need of fresh ideas. NBA 2K14 is great, yes, but somehow feels like a missed opportunity.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 64
  2. Negative: 38 out of 64
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    It simply is a great game that will keep us in company before the next-gen version comes out! NBA 2K14 shows us how good these developers areIt simply is a great game that will keep us in company before the next-gen version comes out! NBA 2K14 shows us how good these developers are in improving their product every year. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    Very disappointed in this years 2k. I have every 2k since 2k1 with Iverson on the cover for Dreamcast and have purchased it yearly since. myVery disappointed in this years 2k. I have every 2k since 2k1 with Iverson on the cover for Dreamcast and have purchased it yearly since. my enthusiasm for this years release wasn't quite there with next-gen consoles on the horizon but if 2k is to charge a full $60 for the title, it better be a new game. instead its a disappointing updated version of last years title with more annoying controls.

    The game play is incredibly sloppy even at superstar difficulty. the collision is crazy with players falling for their lives like they've been hit by a mack truck, randomly loosing the ball with any contact, and simply loosing the ball while dribbling. the game plays like a middle school recreation game rather than an NBA game.

    furthermore, issues with the previous title haven't even been touched. in the first 5 games i played, i incurred the same exact issues from last years edition. the out of bounds problem, freezing/random quiteness after the game, Chandler Parsons not even resembling his half brother, ridiculously incorrect shot releases, and terrible player ratings. the developers seem to think Arron Brooks somehow deserves a 77 rating (3rd highest on the Rockets), Gallinari who was a borderline All Star before getting hurt is in the low 70's, Gordon Hayward in the 60's while Stephen Jackson who isn't even signed to a team is somehow a 79.

    Overall, the game plays virtually like last years title with some new terrible animations of players dramatically falling over each other and a new control layout. this is the first time since 2000 where i can honestly suggest to skip this years version and pray that the developers instead took their time to release an epic game on next gen consoles.
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    Its a decent game but it doesnt deserve a 9 or an 8!Its just the same game as 2k13 and 2k13 was pretty fun.Lets see what the next-gen 2k will be like.
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    3
    So let me begin with my perspective coming into this game. I recently found my old NBA 2K9 game in the back of my game shelf and decided toSo let me begin with my perspective coming into this game. I recently found my old NBA 2K9 game in the back of my game shelf and decided to play it. I had completely forgotten how much fun it was! The controls were tight, graphics were solid (for a game released in '08), team selection was awesome (50's-90's all-star teams), and the blackcourt mode was perfect. Three point competitions between ray allen, larry bird, reggie miller, and shaq...fun as hell! The pickup basketballs games were also an awesome feature and me and my buddies played them for hours.

    So fast forward to a few days ago when i was checking out the games at redbox. I happened to see they had 2K14 out so i immediately rented it. Now mind you, 2K9 was the last game in the series I played so I was really anxious to see what had been done. I put the game in and immediately jump into a quick game....and I immediately am dissapointed. IN 5 YEARS the game looks exactly the same! Me and my friend actually commented that the graphics looked kinda worse! The controls were clunky, as they bloated the hell out of them with a million fancifications (my own word) you can do, and I couldn't even get Michael Jordan to f***in dunk! They gutted the blackcourt mode which pissed me off the most, and in the version they do have you can't even pick Dr. J or MJ for your damn team! The Lebron thing I didn't really get into but it looked pretty stupid, I was too pissed to play it and returned the game within a few hours.

    VERDICT:
    In the 5 years since 2K9, the game has just gotten worse in gameplay, graphics, and content. I don't understand the positive reviews for this game that it is getting in the press. The game blows, and I'd recommend 2K9 as it's actually a great game. To close, 2K sports is just cashing in each year on the same game (or worse) with new rosters, DONT BUY IT!
    Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2014
    2
    If the goal in making this game was to ruin the franchise, they are well on their way. The gameplay isn't intuitive, rebounding isIf the goal in making this game was to ruin the franchise, they are well on their way. The gameplay isn't intuitive, rebounding is ridiculous, and your player's movements/motions are usually a solid half to full second behind you commands. Also, the right stick control for special moves, cross overs, etc. is just terrible. 2013 was solid enough, but 2014 offers zero improvement, and in fact took a serious step backwards. Anyone giving this game a 9 or 10 is out of their mind. Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    1
    Broken online mode. 3 points is killing 1v1 matches. This game is Call of Duty in Sport Sims. All money spend on ADs. Game dont have anyBroken online mode. 3 points is killing 1v1 matches. This game is Call of Duty in Sport Sims. All money spend on ADs. Game dont have any changes in this year too.
    (Обзор gamerstv.ru)
    Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    I'm utterly shocked anyone is giving this even mixed ratings! I've seen better games graphically than this since 2006! It looks like rubbishI'm utterly shocked anyone is giving this even mixed ratings! I've seen better games graphically than this since 2006! It looks like rubbish for the most part. The learning curve on this is disgusting! And by that I mean that this game should be accessible to people who know nothing of NBA basket ball. And even for someone like me who knows the basics this is shockingly bad. My opposing player switches almost at random and sometimes seems to do so as they dunk so my rating is poorly affected. If I'd not purchased this game digitally on a youtubers recommendation I'd be returning it for a refund.

    All in all a poor game at best with much reduced features from the newest gen consoles. A lot of the story elements are removed yet a god like or moronic AI seems rampant.
    Expand

See all 64 User Reviews