Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
Buy On
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    Unlike the Wii version, the fully functional online component means you (almost) always have access to some stiff human competition over Xbox Live. And it definitely looks much sharper.
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    Despite some AI issues and the occasional online hiccup, NBA Jam is more fun than we remember it being.
  3. 86
    NBA Jam has been lovingly recreated by a team that clearly understood the appeal of the original. Get together with friends for this one.
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    Nearly 17 years after I fed my first quarter into an NBA Jam Arcade machine, my love for the franchise is still just as strong, even if this version does not love me back as much.
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    Though this game is a visceral and grand experience, I can't get away from the fact that it was supposed to be a free pack-in, and instead they've slapped a $50 price tag on it. It would've surely been the best pack-in of all time. As a stand-alone retail game, I can still recommend it, but only for fans of the NBA Jam series.
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    If you were waiting for all available versions of NBA Jam to hit stores, the addition of Online make this the version of choice. On the other hand, if you don't plan on playing online, I would recommend picking-up the Wii-version and experiencing the game how it was initially meant to be played.
  7. Nov 18, 2010
    The HD versions are undoubtedly superior to the Wii's offering, and the core gameplay represents the best in the franchise. It's just a shame that the secondary game modes are so poorly executed, as better implementations of them would have added a lot of replayability, and made for a much better value.
  8. Nov 26, 2010
    NBA Jam is a great arcade style sports game, period.
  9. 80
    If you're in any way nostalgic about the original Jam games, at this price it's a slam dunk.
  10. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jan 6, 2011
    A hugely accessible and addictive game for anyone. [Issue#67, p.89]
  11. Dec 19, 2010
    EA Sports NBA Jam is a great revival of a classic franchise. If you were a fan then there is no reason to pass up on this offering as it brings just enough to the table to make it worth your while.
  12. Dec 17, 2010
    This is a highly recommended, high-octane, action-paced sports game that will definitely satisfy basketball fans but also sports fans in general.
  13. Dec 11, 2010
    The New NBA Jam stays true to its roots and origins, bringing all of the good and bad aspects to this generations' platforms. It's up to you to decide if this arcade and fast action packed game is worth the price.
  14. Nov 23, 2010
    The standard gameplay in NBA Jam is insanely entertaining, and if you've got a group of players ready to play at your side, you'll easily get $50 of enjoyment out of it.
  15. Jan 2, 2011
    Bad AI, a shortage on modes and average visuals stop NBA Jam from being a top tier game.
  16. Nov 27, 2010
    NBA Jam just about deserves release as a proper boxed retail product, boasting a fairly hefty array of modes and other content. What's important is that it preserves the gameplay and spirit of the original games, giving it a nostalgic cachet that makes it almost irresistible, despite its frustrations.
  17. Nov 19, 2010
    If you have friends to play with and any measure of nostalgia for the arcade original, there's no doubt that you'll get every penny's worth from NBA Jam. If you have plans to play it alone or against random strangers, there are better options out there -- and it doesn't even take calculus to figure that out.
  18. Nov 17, 2010
    NBA Jam is a disappointing retail package, mainly because it would've been one of the greatest Xbox Live or PlayStation Network releases of all-time. As it stands, this $50 disc adds a few modes to the Jam that you know and love, but at the end of the day the reason that you'll invest is the classic gameplay, not the Remix Modes.
  19. Nov 23, 2010
    Well done! The classic arcade gameplay returns.
  20. Jan 4, 2011
    NBA Jam meets most of its expectations.The game is very entertaining however it must be said that this should have been a downloadable game. The game just doesn't feel like a full retail game but remains amusing nonetheless.
  21. 70
    As a $15 bare-bones Arcade title Jam would've been a treat, but what you get for the extra $35 is hardly fair value. [Jan 2011, p.63]
  22. Dec 2, 2010
    NBA Jam gives the player the 90's style of gameplay that fascinated a lot of gamers in the past. Unfortunately 360/PS3 gamepads did not work like Wii Mote, decreasing the funny component of the experience. There are also lot of issues with the AI.
  23. Nov 30, 2010
    Just the same game we already played on Wii with the addition of online multiplayer. Maybe it would've been one of the greatest downloadable games of the last 4 years, but as a retail title, it's a little bit disappointing.
  24. Nov 26, 2010
    With the full complement of players, NBA Jam is great fun in short bursts, but it's impossible not to feel that EA has swamped a simple game with extraneous modes desperately to try and justify a retail release.
  25. Nov 25, 2010
    Those who miss the orinal NBA Jam, or simply want an arcade basket title won't be dissapointed by this new version. In retains all the original's elements and respects its formula, adding up several game modes. It may surprise you for the number of hours you can keep playing.
  26. Nov 17, 2010
    This rim-rocking arcade classic returns, and though it's pretty shallow, it's still an awful lot of fun.
  27. Dec 20, 2010
    In closing, I have to say I enjoyed my time with EA's 2010 release of NBA Jam, but I would have liked it a lot more if it were a free unlockable or even a $10 or $15 Xbox Arcade release – but as a standalone full-priced release it is hardly worth it.
  28. Nov 30, 2010
    So while the core game remains as entertaining as ever, what we've got here is essentially a fun little multiplayer-focused game which EA has burdened with a cache of tiresome, superfluous and unnecessary bonus modes, the overall focus designed around squeezing out a full-blown retail release.
  29. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Jan 30, 2011
    Should've followed 3-on-3 NHL Arcade's XBLA lead. [Feb 2011, p.108]
  30. May 12, 2011
    If you've ever gotten caught up in a multiplayer game of Jam at the arcade or experienced the console conversions during the mid-'90s, this NBA Jam reboot is likely the closest anyone's come to getting it right since Midway's Hangtime series.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Aug 6, 2016
    NBA Jam by EA is everything you love about NBA Jam,but on higher quality consoles.

    This obviously mean the graphics are much better than
    NBA Jam by EA is everything you love about NBA Jam,but on higher quality consoles.

    This obviously mean the graphics are much better than the previous games,the framerate is at a solid 60 and rarely hitches.

    The gameplay is just classic NBA Jam.That is all.In terms of modes,you have remix tour,which consists of normal games with powerups,games of 21,Backboard Smash,where both teams try to break the other's backboard.First team to do that wins.Then you have Classic Campaign,which you must beat all 30 NBA teams,using just one (have to beat your own team too) and a Legends team from all 6 divisions.

    Commentary is hilarious,of course.

    Soundtrack and sound effects are OK.

    The only real problem with the game is the inconsistent AI,they will play terrible one game and you blow them out,but then next game can play like gods,and you can't score as they steal the ball from you every time you have it and block everything you try to do.

    That said,NBA Jam is a very good arcade basketball game.Go out and get it.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 31, 2014
    NBA Jam is a fun arcade simulator on the Xbox 360. Someone looking for a fun basketball experience in short bursts should definitely pick this one up.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    I had some good fun with this game, especially when playing co-op. It got kinda old tho, despite various modes and online play. Tons of secretI had some good fun with this game, especially when playing co-op. It got kinda old tho, despite various modes and online play. Tons of secret characters like Bill Clinton and Bush and Obama helped to keep my interest, but once I found out EA had no plans to update the rosters, and since you cant edit them yourself, I sold the game. Full Review »