Need for Speed Carbon Xbox 360

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 82
  2. Negative: 21 out of 82
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FrostManMike
    Feb 23, 2009
    1
    This is one of the worst racing games i've ever played. Compared to Most Wanted, they took 1000 steps back. The only half way cool aspect of the game is the auto sculpting the body kits. Other then that, the controls suck, visuals suck, and the game play sucks. A complete waste of a game.
  2. simonglenn
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    omg omg, i played the demo and thought it wasnt that good, but am i proven wrong in a big way with the full version, this game is amazing, i love the canyon duels and the night time driving what a buzz you get and super graphics at top speed using nitro and no drop in framerate, i have a 42inch plasma hdready and it looks fantastic. a must have.. great job ea 10/10
  3. BobS.
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    Great fun! Definitely a 10.
  4. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Probably the only racing game ever created worth playing. It had great handling and a great backstory behind the game. The cars were great, customization was unreal. All around amazing game.
  5. ACE5
    Nov 9, 2006
    8
    Overall, this is a good game. But a few things bother me about this title... This is basically a mix of NFS: Underground and NFS: Most Wanted, which isn't bad, but... I was expecting some new content, and not for them to just bring back what everyone liked about the past games. The graphics were nice, but, all of the lighting effects from most wanted are hidden because of the Overall, this is a good game. But a few things bother me about this title... This is basically a mix of NFS: Underground and NFS: Most Wanted, which isn't bad, but... I was expecting some new content, and not for them to just bring back what everyone liked about the past games. The graphics were nice, but, all of the lighting effects from most wanted are hidden because of the nighttime setting. Know the game is set up like a gang war, which has you fighting for territory. Which isn't bad, but the game world feels about the same size as Most Wanted. I was expecting an environment at least twice as large. And another thing I don't like about this game, and the past two is, That the majority if cities in the real world have a fairly large set of straight intersections in their down town area. NFS seems to think that cities streets are all curved lines. It would have been easy for them to put an area in there with a nice amount of traffic to get through. My opinion... This game is not living up to it's potential. Expand
  6. DarrenD.
    Oct 1, 2007
    6
    After Most Wanted I was very dissapointed with this game. It's very easy and boring and looks worse than NFSMW did. Avoid this if you have any sense.
  7. StevieB.
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    Best need for speed yet! each nfs game gets better and better with new and original features and after each one you think to yourself that they've done everything and won't be able to come up with anything new but they've managed it again. the new autosculpt feature is immense!!! you will be fiddling with it for hours trying too make your camaro look perfect and when you Best need for speed yet! each nfs game gets better and better with new and original features and after each one you think to yourself that they've done everything and won't be able to come up with anything new but they've managed it again. the new autosculpt feature is immense!!! you will be fiddling with it for hours trying too make your camaro look perfect and when you have spent every last penny on it you win an even better already done up car off a boss. its madness. crapy story but do not miss out and buy this amazing game. Expand
  8. GeorgeD.
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    Truly one of the finest arcade racers on the market currently.
  9. RedXIII
    Nov 1, 2006
    7
    Though there has been upgrades from most wanted carbon is basically a regurgatation of the past 3 NFS titles, the city is almost the exact same as underground 2, but looks a heck of a lot better. I like that they brought drifting back and added canyon dueling, muscle cars are a nice touch as well, the online play is very fun but sometimes laggy, overall this is a lot like the other NFS Though there has been upgrades from most wanted carbon is basically a regurgatation of the past 3 NFS titles, the city is almost the exact same as underground 2, but looks a heck of a lot better. I like that they brought drifting back and added canyon dueling, muscle cars are a nice touch as well, the online play is very fun but sometimes laggy, overall this is a lot like the other NFS titles that is why it is a 7, but that does not hold it back from being a good game that is very fun to play. Buy if you like racing games, but if your sick of the NFS titles then this is nothing different (for the most part). But I personally like this game, though it is nothing new. Expand
  10. Andyman
    Nov 13, 2006
    5
    I just don't get it. It's like EA spent the last year trying to recycle Underground 2 into Carbon. Where do I start? Let's see... the environment is actually LESS detailed than Most Wanted, the "new" world map looks like a Risk reject, the performance upgrades don't give you an edge, your wingman just gets in the way, there's no Speedbreaker in the Canyon races, I just don't get it. It's like EA spent the last year trying to recycle Underground 2 into Carbon. Where do I start? Let's see... the environment is actually LESS detailed than Most Wanted, the "new" world map looks like a Risk reject, the performance upgrades don't give you an edge, your wingman just gets in the way, there's no Speedbreaker in the Canyon races, the AI catch-up is extremely inconsistent, there's STILL no custom controller configuration... need I go on? Electronic Arts: is Hot Pursuit 3 too much to ask? Expand
  11. Feb 13, 2012
    5
    I had fun racing don't get me wrong, it's just not as fun as some of the other NFS games. Also who in the hell made the achievements/trophies for this? It is god awful. Believe it or not we all have lives and it's really stupid that one of the first achievements I unlocked was finishing the game. Fun for a little while but no lasting value.
  12. Dec 26, 2011
    0
    very bad game , terrible controls and unreal handling. Parts are too expensive and cops are way too hard. Not a very good game in my opinion. Don't get it .
  13. SauliH
    Jan 12, 2009
    1
    Why does every driving game these days require a disgustingly badly written storyline and free roaming? This would be the result, if Disney had made GTA, but the point is, not every game has to be like GTA. I have a hard time imagining anyone to whom the ridiculous teenage boasting would appeal. Maybe pre-teens find it cool, but I doubt it. The UI co-driver system is just pointless extra Why does every driving game these days require a disgustingly badly written storyline and free roaming? This would be the result, if Disney had made GTA, but the point is, not every game has to be like GTA. I have a hard time imagining anyone to whom the ridiculous teenage boasting would appeal. Maybe pre-teens find it cool, but I doubt it. The UI co-driver system is just pointless extra feature stacking, when you feel your product isn't good enough as a plain driving game. Gladly, I bought it used for 10 euros. Even that is too much for this game. Please, for your own sake, avoid this game. Expand
  14. Jan 16, 2014
    1
    A stale entry to the series that really nailed in the death of Need for Speed. I think EA's decision to release one NFS game per year, especially when they also have the fantastic Burnout franchise that really forced the market to get sick of the over the top car customization that was good when the Fast and the Furious was first released but just like the films all you can really do isA stale entry to the series that really nailed in the death of Need for Speed. I think EA's decision to release one NFS game per year, especially when they also have the fantastic Burnout franchise that really forced the market to get sick of the over the top car customization that was good when the Fast and the Furious was first released but just like the films all you can really do is put the cars in new locations and the locations in NFS Carbon are nothing to really remember and this game was just money for old rope. Expand
  15. Aug 18, 2016
    6
    Need For Speed Carbon is a huge step back from Most Wanted.

    Carbon's story continues from where MW left off,and is well fleshed out.I won't spoil it for you in case you want to play the game. The handling is quite good,very similar to MW.The new Canyon boss battles are way too frustrating however.It's a shame too as Carbon had a chance to eclipse MW. The new AutoSculpt feature
    Need For Speed Carbon is a huge step back from Most Wanted.

    Carbon's story continues from where MW left off,and is well fleshed out.I won't spoil it for you in case you want to play the game.

    The handling is quite good,very similar to MW.The new Canyon boss battles are way too frustrating however.It's a shame too as Carbon had a chance to eclipse MW.

    The new AutoSculpt feature allows you to modify different zones of your hood,skirts,spoilers,and fenders.
    This also affects handling,making the great customisation system even better.

    The game's graphics are good,but there are framerate problems in the game.

    Sound design and soundtrack are OK.

    Overall,NFS Carbon is a decent game,but a huge step back from Most Wanted.That said,if you see it on the cheap,give it a play,as it is still quite enjoyable.
    Expand
  16. Jun 17, 2015
    10
    Por Mim Melhor necessidade para a velocidade, investiu MUITO MAIS Muito Bem na SUA historia, Carros topos, Trilha sonora Muito boa, e grafico Realmente bom pra Época, Por Mim Rolava NFS Carbon 2 '-'
  17. Feb 14, 2016
    9
    Game is goofy, old, out of style, glitches, handles like a brick, and the acting is meh at best. However Carbon does one thing that many games even 10 years later fall short and that is provide an enjoyable experience. The clunkiness of the cars is manageable and it has some funny moments, the driving is surprisingly enjoyable and cop chases while laughing unrealistic, and the pursuitGame is goofy, old, out of style, glitches, handles like a brick, and the acting is meh at best. However Carbon does one thing that many games even 10 years later fall short and that is provide an enjoyable experience. The clunkiness of the cars is manageable and it has some funny moments, the driving is surprisingly enjoyable and cop chases while laughing unrealistic, and the pursuit breakers are glitch often and are unpredictable, it still is enjoyable. At this point I would say get it used for $5 and have some goofy fun time racing. Was it worth a full $60 AAA launch price, no but it is still fun and I would recommend to anyone who has $5 to spend on a game. Who doesn't love crashing into oncoming traffic at 230 mph in a Lamborghini and seeing a mini van fly off into the night sky? Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 80
    The new goodies aren't all winners -- the wingman concept didn't bowl me over, paying instead of playing to unlock extras bites -- but there are enough innovations that work to make this feel like more than just an updated version of an old and successful game.
  2. A solid racing game. It might have a few rough edges and frustrating spots, but overall it’s a fun game.
  3. There is nothing remarkable about it, but Carbon will provide some good fun with its Career Mode and great online options.