User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DME
    Nov 3, 2012
    7
    It could of been spectacular. Unfortunately, this game lacks much polish. But, it's still a lot of fun. Cops are much more aggressive than the original Hot Pursuit. As a result, chases are very exciting. Spike strips, armored police cars, SWAT trucks, and road blocks are all present. Races are fast, intense, and challenging. There's plenty to do, the city is designed well, and graphics look nice. Soundtrack is varied, with rap, rock, alternative, and electronic selections. The new EasyDrive menu allows for quick destination selections and vehicle modding. No, you cannot modify the look of your car, but you can modify it's performace (no fine tuning, though). As for the game's flaws... The mini-map is useful for evading pursuits, but it's just awful for navigation. I've ended up taking wrong turns plenty of times due to the fact that the routes I was supposed to take appeared on the mini-map too late. And if you take a wrong turn during a race, you're pretty much screwed and will have to restart. In cop chases, crashing doesn't end the chase (and it shouldn't), but respawning is so unpredictable. It can either screw you over or give you an unfair advantage. Sometimes you'll pick up right from the spot you crashed and sometimes you magically teleport far away from the group of cops that were chasing you. But here's my biggest complaint: Getting busted doesn't do anything. You can have an intense 30 minute pursuit and then finally get trapped, but it doesn't even matter. There's no consequences. You just respawn in another area and get to continue the game without any punishment. That's annoying. Players are better off letting the cops pull them over because the pursuit will end quicker and there's no punishment for it. Two other flaws are the game's limited views (third person and bumper only) and lack of manual transmission. Now, while these flaws seem heavy and game-breaking, they really aren't. I experience the same emotions with Most Wanted as I do with Call of Duty: I'm having a lot of fun playing, but at the same time I'm constantly criticizing it. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    While some (including myself) may question EA's decision in naming this "Most Wanted", one cannot deny that Criterion (as usual) produced a stellar, addicting racing game. Sure, it's not the same as 2005's Most Wanted, but it's still a fun, gorgeous, fantastic racing game, easily one of the best of the year.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Do yourself a favor and buy Need for Speed: Most Wanted right now. Criterion's last reboot of the popular Hot Pursuit series left many fans wanting, including myself. This new entry also by Criterion lends its hand to another famous entry from like 7 years ago. This is the best entry in the Need for Speed series in a very long time and is one of the best arcade racers ever made. Just like Hot Pursuit there is no story and the only goal you have is to reach the top of the Most Wanted list. How do you do that? Well, it's entirely up to you. There is often so much to do that it is mind boggling. You move up the Most Wanted list by earning speed points which you get by drifting, driving in oncoming traffic, near misses, air time, completing races, and of course pursuits. The only one of these you can't do free roam is the race and if you don't want to tackle races you don't necessarily have to. It is strongly encouraged though and every race can give you upgrades to your cars. Did I mention how many cars there are? because there are over 100 and once you find them in the world they are unlocked and you can switch at any time. Each car has their own set of challenges to complete. The entire game encourages competition with your friends via leaderboards too. Who has the fastest time on a race? on a speed camera? who has the highest jump for a billboard? You're job is to knock your friends off that list and conquer the leaderboard yourself. The new iteration of Most Wanted should be a most wanted title and is some of the most fun I've had with an arcade racer. Period. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    5
    Whether you enjoy this game is totally down to your expectations, as Need for Speed fans seem to love it while I and other Burnout fans find this average at best. I'm never comfortable with open world racers though Burnout Paradise was the exception to the rule, this however just is too average. The handling is a cross between arcade and well a bad simulator, after a while you do get used to it but things get worse as all the cars virtually handle the same which gives little incentive to try new cars. Races are exciting but poorly structured, and the mini map is no help at all. Most races you have to remember the routes to take, which can get frustrating. The environment feels lifeless but look great, and online seems really devoid of excitement. I strongly urge Criterion to restore the Burnout series with a proper Burnout structured game, ditch this open world nonsense! Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    unbelievable game, the game Need for Speed game ever released. It got a 9 instead of 10 due to lack of dual screen mode. The best NFS game ever released, love it
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    This is a very hard game to review. I have nothing Bad to say about the game but nothing good either. Having played the older version of this game and then having played the new version I can't say that the games felt overly different. Criterion have improved the handling models of the cars and the cars themselves look pretty good and accurate (The damage models are also pretty realistic). The issue I have is that the game is in no way gripping. All the cars have almost exactly the same events attached to them which get very repetitive. during the Most Wanted take downs the cars would drive into walls or down dead ends making it at times simple to take them out. AI card can drive over spike strips with no damage to tyres. I did not notice an onscreen clock which meant you could not predict day/night cycles and the camera angles are awful. they only allow you two options and neither are good. The behind car angle felt sloppy and you did not have an in car angle only a front bumper angle. It just sucked out the life of the game a bit. I will not say this game is unplayable and not worth a look into if you like racers in a similar vein (Split/Second, Blur, NFS Hot Pursuit etc) but as an arcade racer it just did not have enough to get my attention or enough to keep the enjoyment up. Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If this game was as good as any previous NFS title on the 360 or any of the previous Burnout games on the 360 it would get a lot better user scores. As it is it deserves its user scores but not its critic scores. I always say graphics only deserve a bad score if they distract you and the graphics here distracted me and it has been a long time since I have said that. Most Wanted cars are plain and without characters. The game is without character. Its like they took bits from Burnout Paradise and bits from the original Most Wanted and said - how can we use these bits to make the worst racing game on the 360. In no way recommended. Expand
  8. Apr 11, 2013
    2
    Load of crap, constant pauses, car feels likes its floating on the road no feeling of control. Burnout paradise was pure genius this is pure junk, looks good but fails in just about every other way, avoid.
  9. Nov 3, 2012
    3
    No no no no..... Good? It is beautiful, and it has a great concept for multiplayer Bad? everything else. Is this the first multiplayer game that you cant even choose the color of your car? The cars feel so fake, the engine noise can't be right, and the steering feels so lagged out and arcade that the cars don't even feel real. I loved the first Most wanted, one of my favorite racing games, but this game just had me wanting to play the original instead. Critereon... Sorry but please make another burnout.... Expand
  10. Nov 7, 2012
    2
    This is such a disappointment, and to call this game Most Wanted is blasphemy. The original is one of the best racing games ever, but this game just feels like a mess. Burnout Paradise was a great game, but I didn't play that game when I felt like playing Need For Speed, so perhaps they should have just called this game something else. Honestly, Forza Horizon feels more like the old Most Wanted to me than this game does. The cars in this new MW feel limp and sound weird, the customization options from the original MW are gone and now you get parts from winning races instead of buying them when you earned enough money. It all just feels streamlined the wrong way, as though EA tried to trim out things that weren't fun but ended up trimming some of the bast parts of racing games. Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This is how Criterion think Need for Speed could and should be. I must say they have definitely freshen up the entire series with revolution in gameplay and a tribute to one of the best racing game ever, Most Wanted.
    This might not be the Most Wanted sequel you have been expecting for a long time, but this is really a masterpiece. A open-world that worth exploring, customization
    on-the-fly. Even without the customization system it's still a really great NFS.
    Criterion, you're the man.
    Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    Oh Criterion,what have you done.. By rights,this should be a good game,but its been almost completely ruined by a rudimentary yet astonishingly bad design decision!.. Hence the score,but if this critical flaw gets corrected,i will review my score & review. For now,I'll start with this oversight before i get to the game & its positives..

    What on earth were Criterion thinking when they
    failed to implement a normal,staple in-car view?! Yes,thats right,the game has no normal,usable in car cam! & by that i mean bonnet cam or even an equivalent height view.. The game offers a frankly pathetic 'choice' of 2 views only.These views are either a behind car view or an EXTREMELY low bumber in-car view?! The bumper cam is so low,that you would be forgiven for thinking that you have been shrunk & are driving in an extremely tiny but extremely fast go kart or Sinclair C5 or something.. This view is so low,that its unusable,feeling way too fast for skill to be a factor & very limited visibility due to your limited perspective.Who drives a car,hanging off the front of their bonnet with their heads literally an inch off the ground!? I don't like to use & don't use either of those views when i play racing games.The in-car bumper cam is so bad,that i use the behind car cam,which i hate using & never use.THATS how bad the in-car cam is.. I resent being forced to use a view i hate,because of the lack of any usable alternatives.Shocking!!... I literally can't quite believe it,its a travesty to not have a bonnet cam or equivalent height in car view in a racing game,& really struggle to think of any other game thats done this.They are alienating a great many potential gamers with this glaring omission in the game & i can't believe i haven't seen any critic reviews that have picked up on this..

    Ok,onto the positives.. The game looks great with some nice graphical effects.The free roaming city(Its great to see there's actually a reason to free roam,unlike their Hot Pursuit a couple of years back)looks great,& they have created a bustling environment,with plenty going on & places to race & go when being chased by the police.The engine sounds are absolutely superb,& definitely improve the feel of the game in itself.The police chases are good fun & theres a fairly decent choice of cars for this type of game & the handling thankfully isn't over arcadey like Hot Pursuit was,though if i'm honest,would have still preferred more realistic,technical handling(this is not a Burnout title after all).As it is though,it plays more like the later Burnout games than Need for Speed,in fact i would say this is more a Burnout game with the Need for Speed name slapped on it.Is it too much to ask for my Need for Speed games to be like,well,Need for Speed?..
    There's plenty of races designed for each individual car,as well as the titular most wanted racers you have to take down,one at a time during the course of the game.Autolog is well implemented too.Sometimes the game feels a bit hollow & soulless,pumping music into your ears while the game makes crashes at every opportunity(whether you want to or not),which Criterion seem obsessed with,along with over the top jumps that a car just wouldn't survive in real life & rubber band racing.. Other racers seem obsessed with smashing into you too,which is annoying when you just want to race.I wish there was an option to turn other cars aggression off,& therefore the rubber band 'racing' feel to it all. I feel like i'm having to play the game how they want me to play it,rather than how i want to play it,especially with the lack of view choices forcing me to use the behind car cam which only exacerbates the imprecise handling as you constantly swerve from side to side..Not good. Having a normal in-car cam could help with precision,if only it had such a view.........

    So,to summarize,the game had a lot of potential,& there is fun there to be had,but only if you like your out of car or very low bumber cam views. If your one of the many people that don't use those views like me,then you'll be cursing the game while your playing it,because you have not been catered for & blatently ignored,& your resenting being forced to use a view you don't want to use,when you should be enjoying the game..
    What a waste & such a shame.. Maybe they will patch a proper view in,in which case,as i say will re think my review,but i wont hold my breath..
    I resentfully give this game a 5,because without a usable view,this game is almost unplayable to me..
    Expand
  13. Nov 19, 2012
    4
    I was looking very forward to this game. I bought it the day it came out, and have already sold it after becoming the number 1 'most wanted'. What a disappointment. Great graphics, and detail. Awesome transitions into the races, but the fun pretty much stopped there. The races were just repetitive after the first 4 or 5 cars. The 'most wanted' races lacked any depth or story, and anything that made it exciting to get the new car. A HUGE world, and only a handful of races. I missed the knockout races, the drift races, the speed camera races. A 9 for my anticipation... but a sad 4 for my experience. Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    This game has no soul at all. Taking down the most wanted rivals is completely boring. There is no character associated with a vehicle, no story at all. It's simply unlock a most wanted challenge and then beat it, get car, rinse, repeat. Customization is gone completely as all mods are the same for each vehicle and you unlock them in the same generic races over and over again. The online is kind of hit or miss for me...they reward crashing WAY too much. Nobody races with any finesse they just fly around slamming into you all the time. And WTF is up with the speed trials and challenge events!?! This is supposed to be a racing game!! In some events you actually have to try and PARK your car longer than anyone else in a specific spot!! That's right...the object is to PARK your car?!?! What the heck is Criterion thinking!?!?! After the awesomeness that was NFS: The Run, I had high hopes for this game but if you ask me Criterion screwed up just about every single aspect of this game and sucked all the fun right out of the online game. This is definitely one to avoid for sure. Expand
  15. Nov 29, 2012
    5
    I really wanted to enjoy this game - I thought that, since its' predecessor (and supposed inspiration) was so much fun, that this can in no way be a disappointment. Let me start off by saying that this is not NFS, this is not Most wWanted's sequel - this is just burnout with no story and licensed cars.

    There is no semblance of a plot to be had here; the basis of the whole game is to
    find random cars scattered about the whole map, evade cops and compete in races - doing the latter two nets you points, which contribute to your most wanted score; once you get to a certain point, you race a most wanted car then, "shut it down", or in other words, crash it to obtain the car, after which, you just rinse and repeat until you're number 1. That's it. You do get an intro scene for each race (that you can skip), so that is kind of a plus - but I can't understand why criterion didn't add some type of plot - it doesn't need to be complicated, just something to add motivation to the game.

    One thing that you can't skip however are the crash scenes. The horrible crash scenes. Every single time you crash your car, either from scraping a concrete fence or by going through a police blockade, you will be treated to a 5 second un-skippable replay of your crash. This is only compounded by the sluggish handling in the game - it takes around 3 seconds from the time you use your analog stick, to the time it actually takes for the car to turn! It feels like i'm driving a brick with melted butter for wheels.

    The use of car modifications does make the handling more manageable and the crash scenes less frequent, but these design choices are still rather infuriating - and only furthering my frustration with the game is it's horrible "rubber-banding" Slender-man style AI; no matter how far you are ahead of your opponent, he will catch up and outrun you, and if you crash (especially in the beginning of the game), then you're almost guaranteed to lose. With that said, there are some good things about this game.

    Namely the aforementioned car mods, and the graphics. The frame-rate is incredibly smooth, the lighting is great and there is absolutely no pop in. I think that's partly due to how empty Fair-haven feels: there are no pedestrians and barely any civilian cars - in fact, I would say that one out every 10 or so cars is highway patrol! There is also a greatly diminished sense of speed, you could be driving 120mph (193km) and feel like it's 40ish - some type of motion blur could help that, but really, that's only a minor gripe.

    The soundtrack is pretty good; it has a good mix of rock, grunge, break-beat, dub-step and Drum and Bass. It is a little on the short side though, and it would be cooler if I could pick my own stations, a la GTA and Sleeping Dogs. I would link to a couple songs, but amazon doesn't allow it, so Google it...

    Tl;dr

    I found this game rather disappointing, the handling, crash scenes, lack of story and empty environment are all serious issues (which can of course be solved with an inevitable sequel), but the graphics, car mods and police chases are all definite pluses.

    Graphics: - 9.7 Other than a few less then stellar textures (stop the car and look at the canyons), the graphics are gorgeous.

    Sound: 9 - Great soundtrack, but a little on the short side.

    Presentation: - 5 No story whatsoever, but it does have a slick look.

    Game-play: 5 - The car handling needs to be improved, and the crash scenes are inexcusable.

    Replay Value: 6 - Multiplayer, and collectibles extend the game somewhat, but it's still on the short side.

    Side note - I actually wrote a better and more cohesive review, but my computer crashed and I lost it! Then I proceeded to get writer's block, so ya; fun stuff...
    Expand
  16. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Spectacular. This game was sensational EA got hit once again recreating a classic. The passing system for instant repair was very good and practical cars around the scene was also found to be an excellent idea. Ramps, persecutions, good gameplay, beautiful graphics and great; fun make this game be right purchase.
  17. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    When this game was revealed at E3 2012, I was excited. We haven't been given a outstandingly good NFS game in a few years and with the number of bad release in it's name (The Run, Hot pursuit, Pro street to name a few), I felt like the franchise was slowly dying. This game I thought would pick things back up. I could not have been more wrong.
    With the title of "NFS Most Wanted" comes a
    great burden to take the name of what I feel was the last great NFS game released in 2005. Sadly, this game does not live up to expectations. There is literally NO story at all. simply do some races and then do one more. Rinse and repeat. The campaign mode can simply be beaten just by playing in the obviously focused online multiplayer. Granted, the online offers a lot of variation but that is not what a game needs. A game to be able to stand on single player which this game just does not. The multiplayer itself is extremely unfair to new players of this game as they can be instantly paired up with some players who have unlocked the higher tier cars, offering new players no enjoyment. All in all, this game is a disappointment and a possible seal in the NFS future. Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Sin duda Criterion ha dado una vitalidad que NFS necesitaba... esta REIMAGINACIÓN de Most Wanted les ha quedado increíble!! quizás lo que se le puede reprochar es que el mapa es un poco pequeño, pero que va... el juego es fluido, entretenido y eso es lo importante... quizás falto algo de customización visual pero no rompe con el esquema de juego.... altamente recomendado Expand
  19. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    This game is brilliant yes it has need for speed on the cover but this is not need for speed but this is an overall great racing game. I have saw people say that the handling is poor although they are wrong that is the new type of handling in these racing games nowadays it just gets a little bit of getting used to. Also the graphics are brilliant I feel like I am immersed by this big gorgeous city where you can explore anywhere anytime. As with every game though there are a couple of problems like you can't buy and unlock the cars anymore you have to find them which does not give me as near as much satisfaction as unlocking them. Another point is that the most wanted leader board is just something there for you to look at when you take out the car and capture of the most wanted driver it feels good but moving up the leader board does not make you feel like it was enough of a challenge or immersing enough into the the story. There are no cutscenes meaning that you do not find out about the characters which means you get no motive to actually beat them on there are cutscenes they are gorgeous but they are just creating the car and introducing the track nothing more nothing less. Overall I think this game is absolutely brilliant and any serious racer or a person who wants to get into racing games this is indeed a must buy I will just say I want a need for speed like underground 2 which I think personally was the best. Expand
  20. Nov 2, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Y la blackList? que paso con la historia?? el garage las tiendas, la customizacion, las partes destruibles para huir de la policia los efectos de pintura y todo lo que se esperaba del Most Wanted original??? Es una basura, otro NFS the run en que pasas por una gasolinera y no podes tener el color de tu auto favorito sino al azar, sin vinilos, etc prefiero 1000 veces el forza horizon, ese si parece mas NFS most wanted con las carreras callejeras y todo lo demas como rivales customizacion, historia etc Expand
  21. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    As a massive NFS fan this was a huge let down. While it looks nice, its just so boring. The game has no soul and by the midway point I found I was playing it just to sell on and say I'd done it. Avoid this and go buy Forza Horizon, that has everything in it that this game should have had. Namely, its fun to play. Also, the decision to name this Most Wanted is a disgrace. The original had everything you'd want from an arcade racer, this has nothing in comparison. I can't can't help but laugh at this being labelled 'Need for Speed: Most Wanted - A Criterion Game', if I was Criterion I'd be ashamed to put my name to such a weak effort, not including it in the title. Very poor. Expand
  22. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    I really liked burnout paradise so it wasnt to my surprise that i really liked this game. I have no idea what the other need for speed games are like so i see this game purely for what it is And that is pure fun! My only gripe is most of the music isnt to my taste and i would rather input my own. Also i hear two songs being played at the same time sometimes which is annoying that must be a glitch which should be patched. I would like to see more scenic routes aswel Its also a shame theres no real punishment getting caught by the po po. I think there should be some kind of fine like having your car impounded and having to earn it back. Expand
  23. Nov 4, 2012
    6
    I was very excited for this game as the original most wanted and criterion's hot pursuit were my two favorite NFS titles, unfortunately this game was a big letdown. In general the game is gorgeous to look at and all the cars handle well with variety in looks and stats. I found it quite fun to roam around in the single player looking for new cars, jumps, and fences to knock down. However these fun distractions cannot cover the problems exist in both the single player and multiplayer. In single player almost all of the cars are open to you right from the start, you simple have to find where they are parked in the world. This provides a great motivator to get out and explore the open world that criterion has created. However there are no general races in the world. Each car is given 5 races it can compete in. These 5 races provide upgrades for the car when beaten. Upgrades include things such as a lightweight chassis to increase acceleration and top speed or off-road tires to increase handling off-road at the expense of acceleration and top speed. So once all unlocks have been obtained the player can customize the ride to suit the race they are in. However each car can only race in those 5 races. Once you Expand
  24. Nov 7, 2012
    2
    Really disappointed. Only 2 camera angles, hard to see checkpoints, stupid crash animations. NFS The Run was better than this! I have played every single NFS title, it's obvious EA are paying for high reviews because I have no idea how the game is scoring so well critically, whilst the customers are unhappy with this product.
  25. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    Poorly executed game that lacks the original Most Wanted's theme. The charm that the previous Need for Speed games like Most Wanted and Carbon is completely gone from the game. Lack of creativity by making the player drive around the city and randomly winning races for absolutely no reason whatsoever. This is not the Need for Speed game that we have been waiting years for..
  26. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    If you don't already own a NFS game, then you should get this. This game is mighty fine. I have not played many NFS games, and this game made me very happy that I bought it. Great graphics, awesome gameplay and free mode. No need to unlock cars (thank god). Flaws is the hard system of controls to use and some boring multiplayer modes. Overall, a good game. It's like Forza had sex with GTA.
  27. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    it's a dumb down burnout paradise the music get's old fast it should not be called Need for Speed: Most Wanted it's burnout paradise 2 the Need for Speed: Most Wanted 2005 is way better they did not do well by it
  28. Jan 15, 2013
    7
    Playing two racing games simultaneously could be considered a poor idea but I think it allowed me to hone in what exactly it is that I enjoy in racing games. With that said, please forgive me if my review feels like I'm pointing out what was different from Forza Horizion. First off, this game is a lot fun to just mess around in and Criterion did a great job of creating a gritty city that feels alive and dangerous. Driving around Fairhaven is filled with close calls and action-movie worthy crashes. But in that lies a huge problem, crashing was way to easy. The driving felt clunky to the point where cars didn't really turn how you expect them to (read: everything felt very unpredictable) and they felt really sticky; however, if you needed to make a 90-degree turn at 150mph, no problem, just grab the brake and drift it out. It seemed like the driving system didn't really have itself together and as such you would find yourself crashing into things constantly throughout races and that was the source of difficulty. Through this drive-crash-repeat gameplay style it exposed another huge issue I had with the game: rubber banding AI. I know Forza Horizon had it to but it was so poorly implemented here I was in awe quite a lot. There were points that I would crash multiple times per lap yet I was still able to catch right up to the AI. Conversely, I would "takedown" a competitor and I would gain a good bit of ground only to see their icon on the map fly up at what could only be 300+mph and then slow down as soon as it got close to me. As a result everything was a close race and it felt like you were never really rewarded for driving a solid race, but only a good last 30 seconds. So given the flaws above I still found myself really enjoying the game. It didn't have the variety I would have liked in races as you find yourself doing the exact same race 5 times with different cars. One thing I think Criterion did a great job tapping into is allowing the player to drive all the cases (minus the 10 Most Wanted) right out of the gate at no cost to them. While I think currency in racing games makes sense, it would be great if this concept was replicated in other games, or maybe releasing a class of cars at each stage or something to that effect. So if it wasn't obvious by now I think this was the lesser of the two racing games from 2012, but was still a lot of fun to play and so much so that I think I'll get back into the NFS franchise after a hiatus since Pro Street. I've heard the online is really good so maybe I'll give that a shot but I get aggravated very easily by people messing around online rather than actually trying to play. Expand
  29. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    The latest Need for Speed game in series is developed by Criterion, and has had much hype and received many awards at E3.

    The latest NFS game has gone back to its roots of Police chase racing and I've got to say Criterion have done an amazing job, with a huge free roam style game, it may seem like it's a bit too much for the average player to take in but those who love to explore will
    not be disappointed with this game, all cars are unlocked straight from the start of the game, the only catch...You got to find them! Visuals: Using a modified chameleon engine, this game runs sweet with outstanding visuals, and it shows that Criterion are very proud of their game with the intros to each race showing off the visuals of the game, I've got to say i'm very impressed, all cars looks stunning, the shading, the dirt coming off the back of the car in front of you when you take the game offroad superb. 9/10

    Sound: As with all Need For Speed games it comes with a huge variety of music, ranging from Skillex to We are the ocean and the who, and if none of the tracklist are what you fancy you can always set up a playlist from your computer and play that as you're playing, all cars sound like how you'd expect them to, just try and find a tunnel and listen to those engines purr!! 10/10

    Gameplay: The game is played to how you like it, want to explore no problem go explore, there is tonnes to explore to this massive sandbox racer, cars to find and explore, the police chases are very immense you'll find yourself spending hours just trying to annoy the police just by causing trouble, with the ability to take down cops and other players the game has a very burnout feel with licenced cars, The multiplayer I've not done a whole lot as I was more trying to focus on the SP side of the game, but the gameplay of the MP I've played is a very party mode arcade racer which you shall not be disappointed with 10/10

    Playability/Control: With the standard racing controls the game is definitely a pick up and anybody can play, with the added autolog 2.0 it makes the game VERY easy to navigate and for you to try and beat your friends time! 9/10

    Overall: I've got to say this is one of the best racing games I've ever played and is my racing game of 2012, if you're a fan of Need For Speed, Burnout or Arcade racing games you NEED this game for your collection you shall not be disappointed! 9/10
    Expand
  30. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    The only need for speed that i loved is most wanted(the original). This one has no dna of the late game but is more for me a mod of burnout paradise. The visual is awesome but the gameplay is noticably different from the original. There is no spot tha you can use to destroy police car like construction site or fuel tank or the giant donut of a restaurant. You can ram into a car at full speed while being chase and it does not even imobilise you . You just can continue the pursuit like nothing passed. Its so easy to beat that a four years old kidd would not have any trouble passing thru the whole game. If you have a young kidd it would be a good start for him. (after telling him not to behave like that in the future.) If u like burnout paradise and nice car and the graphics is more important for you than the gameplay,than this game is for you. If you like driving challenge or just plain fun of destroying police car than you can play the original need for speed most wanted like i did today. Expand
  31. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    I like the new Most Wanted so much... It have the best Gameplayparts from Burnout Paradise with the Need for Speed Police Chase... But i think the Games Title is a Fail... I call it "NFS Burnout" :D The graphics are amazing and the Cars sound is unbelievable good... The best Arcade Racer in a long time (maybe since Burnout Paradise :D)
  32. Oct 31, 2012
    3
    Wow just wow why all this love? I got this game because one of my friends said it was pretty much Paradise 2. let me be clear its not even close. now I have played a lot of NFS games and also Burnout games, but this one seems to take the lazy way. if you don't like Multi player don't bother even renting this game no real single player what so ever, you don't get to earn different cars by taking them down like in Paradise no you get them all but wait there is a catch they are all scattered around the map and the best part if you want to change to a different car you don't get to go to a garage or a junkyard oh no you have to drive all over the map just to find a car you like then take that one. don't even get me started on the police chases. like many of the others said nothing happens when you get busted and it seems more weak no spikes or anything and it seems way easier to get away from them. what about multi player you ask glad you did. this is where it gets OK. it is pretty much like Burnout P's multi was expect of course once again you get all the cars and the races are boring. while some challenges are fun most are a wast of time, and when you take down a friend it just does not feel as great as it should no epic showing of your friends car being destroyed or anything like that just a little thing that says you took down so and so. the controls are just like NFS nothing new about them. as I played the single player for some dumb reason I figured out quickly that they is no customizing what so ever. sure there are things like win this race get traction tires but that's it no hey lets change my color or anything like that unless you go through a drive in and even then you still don't get to chose your color it does it random. overall I am very sickened by this game and also sickened by the BS the critics are giving it. probably got paid to give it a higher raking by EA. only reason it got a 3 is because its sort of fun to play with friends online and the graphics are good. Expand
  33. Nov 1, 2012
    2
    Disappointing. I'll keep it short and sweet. I'll start with the good. This game is pretty to look at. Music is good. Excellent marketing. Now the bad. Control is sluggish. It's like Criterion couldn't decide if they wanted to make this a sim or arcade and left it limbo. No visual customization options. You can't even choose color, decals, rims, etc. NO CANDY PAINT :(
    Automatic
    transmission. Period. You do not have the option for manual transmission. No story. Not even a effort to make a story. Earn points to race other cars. That's it. Must FIND cars to acquire them OR earn points by racing then beat another car only then will you earn another car. Only 2 camera views. No fine tuning .for example: adjusting turning/handling, braking, acceleration, height, spoiler height. etc. While in free roam or race GENTLY bump another car or wall or anything and car is wrecked. Cannot deactivate crash camera. Tons of time wasted watching yourself crash. Only through mini-map are tracks clearly designed. Some maps have the assist arrows to go >>. Most don't and you end up barreling through a intersection and find yourself going the wrong way. rent this game. Don't waste your hard earned cash on this like I did. My two cents. I have no idea why so many game sites are giving this game high marks. My only guess is EA supports their website through ads ... and lots of them. If the reviewer doesn't play ball they, take away all that support. This game does not deserve to have the "Most Wanted" title. Stick with the 2005 classic , not this garbage. Expand
  34. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    One of the best NFS game since original Most Wanted! Awesome city, good picture, interesting tracks. What else do you need?! Show me another one racing game with track in airplane graveyard! And lighting! God, it awesome! And one more thing - this is intro for each race, EACH RACE INTRO IS DIFFERENT!!! Again one of the best NFS since MW and of the best racing game in recent years. But, have minuses too, for example boring upgrade system. Expand
  35. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    NFS: Most Wanted is a superb game that blends fun, and high octane action together seamlessly. The game's single player may be short if all you do is chase after the "top-10" but, the real play value and the variety of areas to drive around is what gives this game literally limitless longevity. Coupled, with the high-speed adrenaline styled multiplayer. This game is a a 9/10. Reason being, is that firstly this game does right with making the multiplayer as wacky as possible, with mods such as "Takedown", "Highest-Jump", and "Racing", with other various mods. NFS: Most Wanted feels similar to Burnout, and has some Split Second multiplayer for those who are die-hard racing fans. The game this time around isn't more so a racing game for the casual racing game, but more so a game for anyone who wants to pick up a game for short too long bursts of gameplay. Whether, or not you're an experienced racer gamer, this game is meant for everyone and does well with its gorgeous scenery, the off-road ramps, and the games gameplay over all. The game falls short though in a lackluster storyline, there is no real depth, and this time around there's only two views when driving. Third person, and first-person with just the road and no view this time around with the front view of your cars bumper. Overall, this game is stellar, and is worth buying for both the online aspects, and the single-player aspects aside. Expand
  36. Nov 2, 2012
    0
    This must be one of the worst racing games I ever played. First of all, the pc version has massive fps drops and is pretty much unplayable. There is also a delay when you turn which makes it impossible to keep the car on the road. The car handling is also terrible and I bet Super Mario Karts have better car handling. It really feels like you driving a boat. Also every time when you start the game you have to watch a stupid intro for about 3 minutes, you can Expand
  37. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    It must be said, I HATE racing games. I'm never very good at it, but I am enjoying this game. The visuals are absolutely gorgeous, the cars are fabulous, and I'm really having a good time playing online trying to take my friends out in races. There are some challenging races but some can be a bit dull unless you hit a cop car and start a chase.They LOSE a point for the weird advertising that happens mid game! How weird to shove product placement after you win or lose a race. For me the fun is in the co-op, and I don't play it at all unless my friends are online. There's no real campaign, no sort of story telling or anything like that. Expand
  38. Nov 6, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can honestly say that NFS Most Wanted 2005 was, in my opinion, the best game in the NFS series. It had so many things which set it apart from any other racing games. Firstly, I loved the customization. Buying a car that you've had your eye on, with money saved up from races you've won, and then going on to customize the color, body parts, unique paint jobs, rims, window tint and so on.. It was one of the most enjoyable things about the game, making your car unique from everyone else. Another thing that I loved, was the way the heat level worked. The more you used your unique car in police chases, and wanted level milestone events, the higher your heat level would get, only lowering once you re-customize (change the appearance) your car. Another thing that was very enjoyable was the police chases. These were the most Epic police chases of all time. Once again, the higher the heat level, the more intense the police chases would be starting with the normal cruisers, and moving to more intense chases with spike strips and choppers, along with suped up white corvettes hunting you down. You could use pursuit breakers which were marked on your map with an orange triangle to help you successfully evade the police. If you were caught, you were forced to pay your fines with the money you had won from past races, or use a marker so your car wouldn't be impounded. ....Needless to say... EVERYTHING that I loved about the first need for speed, has been left out of this game. No customization whatsoever. The only thing you can change in this game is the color, and that is selected randomly when you drive through shops that are placed throughout the map. This also repairs your car. The only upside to this is that it makes it easier to recover if you find yourself with flat tires after hitting a spike strip during a police pursuit. There are no more pursuit breakers, which makes evading police a bit more annoying.. even if you didn't like the breakers to begin with, the option was nice if you desperately needed to get away from the police to avoid having your favorite car impounded. The heat level isn't nearly as good in this game either... Not that it matters, because if you get busted, there are no consequences. No more paying fines, or worrying about having your car impounded... You can actually save yourself time by just getting busted and skipping the police chase all together, which just makes the game that much more lame.. Busted? oh well... no worries.. just be on your marry way. The currency is gone entirely from this game. No more saving up to buy that special car you had your eye on.. you just find cars randomly throughout the map and can hop in and drive... This isn't all that bad, except for the fact that when you find a car that you actually enjoy driving, you only get to use it for 5 or 6 races/events... then its on to the next car to gain your points required for the next black list member... Oh I forgot... there are no longer even black list "members".. Its just a blacklist number 10-1, with a specific car that you race against. No unique, original story line or characters to face.. just a random car. And so far, it's insanely easy to move up the ranks.. I had only completed 2 or 3 races when it was time to challenge the first black list "car"..
    Other notable problems with this game are the lack of manual shifting (the option isn't even there) and the lack of views - behind the car, or in front of the front bumper. The graphics aren't bad, but they're certainly nothing to write home about. In the end, I was so excited for this game because its predecessor was the most enjoyable racing game of the entire NFS series. But when all is said and done, everything that made the first game fun and unique, has been removed from this game, leaving it a forgettable, mildly fun (at best) racing experience.
    At this point, I would have more fun replaying the old most wanted game.. They need to take a look at the old game, bring back everything that I mentioned above which made the game unique, and put together a REAL most wanted game, because in my honest opinion, this is not NFS Most Wanted.. it doesn't even deserve to share the same title as its predecessor.
    More like NFS Unwanted if you ask me..
    Expand
  39. Nov 8, 2012
    6
    What can be said about Need For Speed: Most Wanted 2012? Well, it does not deserve the name it was given. Considering that this is a reboot and not a remake makes it a disappointment for me. I played the 2005 Most Wanted for hours on my PlayStation 2 and when I first heard about this reboot I knew it would most likely be a let-down. While the game itself is not too bad it still just doesn't deserve to be called Most Wanted. If anything, its as if Criterion made a new Burnout game and they just decided to name it Most Wanted. Expand
  40. Nov 8, 2012
    3
    Looks good, umm that's it really,why is it that regardless of the make of car the wheels and tyres have been replaced by ball bearings. In a nut shell the physics of driving are diabolical, all cars drive the same, on ice !! This has put me off this game, not sure what they were trying to achieve here, but it has failed !!
  41. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    e muinto bom em comparaçao com forza e a mesma coisa mas need e um pouco melhor pois os carros ja vem no jogo nao precisa comprar por isso acho que para os consumidores brasileiros forza esta melhor pois todo o jogo esta m portugues dublagens ingresos de corrida radio tuuuudo por isso passa a frente de need mas neeed esta melhor em termos graficos
  42. Nov 8, 2012
    2
    A clumsy take on the Most Wanted name, this game removes all the street race style of the original. Even as a solo title it would be weak, but trying to link it to the original is a sad attempt at name recognition.
  43. Jan 28, 2013
    0
    Total garbage. If you enjoy racing games such as Forza, Gran Turismo, Dirt, or anything remotely realistic don't even bother with this. You would be wasting your money. The controls and gameplay are simply horrid. The graphics are great, but when the gameplay is this terrible there's no way to put up with it.
  44. Nov 11, 2012
    5
    Its ... Good if your looking for a burnout game but if your looking for a need for speed game its crap. I was hoping for a good new need for speed game after the last crap game The Run.Nothing like old Most Wanted.
    PROS : Like Burnout , Good graphics , Great selection of cars , Cool map , Good music , You get good cars straight away , Finding cars is fun. CONS : Cant modify your
    car!!!Cant even choose the colour???, Crap story , Small map , No money involved , Nothing happens when you get caught by the cops , Crash cam gets really annoying after awhile. All and all the game is OK. Expand
  45. Jan 28, 2013
    0
    Trash game without soul. Multiplayer Burnout clone.
    They uses MW name, and now no sequel for original. Never.
  46. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    This game is a better pill to swallow if you lean towards liking the Burn-out games, less if coming from a Need for Speed gameplay point of view.

    For me Need for Speed Most Wanted (the original) was for me the pinnacle of the NFS Series. It had everything but multiplayer because of the age it was released. Let's put it this way. They released a PS2 version at the same time.
    Regardless this game was fantastic.

    But again that is just my opinion and you know what opinions are in common with. Let me break it down though.

    Strengths of Need for Speed (original)

    - Single player (cheesy) but still cool story about working up your ranks.
    - Car modifications. Not as much as you would like (is there ever?) but still a great selection of decals and/or body kits.
    - Did I say single player? Boss races that had feeling. Chance to gain a pink slip and take your opponents car. Opponents that mattered in single player. Really cool feeling of "working up the ranks"
    - Fear. Get busted enough and lose your car. PERMANENTLY. Good stuff right there.
    - A real economy. Money got you new rides or greatly needed upgrades. You could get different body kits and greatly change the look of your car (which in turn lowered your wanted level).

    Need for Speed 2012

    - Not really a sequel to Need for Speed Most Wanted.
    - No story. No story at all.
    - Great multiplayer.
    - Not so hot view options.

    This game could have been so much more. It is very pretty to look at. The multiplayer is fantastic but when it comes down to it, it's not a NFS Most Wanted sequel, it's a watered-down Burn-out sequel.

    So again if your new to the series or coming from needing a Burn-Out sequel then this might float your boat. Otherwise the only thing this game has in common with NFS Most Wanted the original is cops.
    Expand
  47. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    Criterion strikes again, butchering a long-dead hit series with even more of a fluke of a game. I'm going to be a bit personal in this review, first off. The developers at Criterion must not be capable of any form of higher thought process, because if they were, they would have stopped making Need for Speed, and let it die a noble death long before the crap that was NFS: The Run. In short, Need for Speed has become Burnout, because someone at EA was an idiot and cut the Burnout series, then entitled Criterion to get their grubby hands on Need for Speed. Crashing is a good thing, driving isn't, customization is non-existant, police chases are cliche and lame, at best. There is no thrill to this game, nor is there to any recent Need for Speed games. Undercover was the last of them, folks, the very last decent Need for Speed game. As others have stated, you CANNOT customize anything, save for your paint, which is reset whenever you drive in for a tune-up. The "blacklist" is nothing but a boring checklist now, if that. There is no story, no characters, no cars to upgrade to, per se. All there is in this game is more of Criterion's trademark crap, heated to serve. I refuse to even bother going into detail about this game, as there is no detail, what you see is what you get. I was one of few lucky enough to just have played a rental, but if you are considering buying this game, HEED THIS WARNING: This is NOT like the original NFS:MW, and you will be wasting your time any money if you think that it will be anything remotely enjoyable, as Most Wanted 1 was. Criterion, you continue to make a grown man cry with your redundant failure to make games. EA should have let you die out with the Burnout series, and saved Need for Speed the agony that it has received with you at the helm. Expand
  48. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    I remember the 2005 version being my favorite need for speed. How times have changed. Controls feel sluggish. Lighting animations are very realistic but make the game harder to play. In the real world I can squint when the sun is in my eyes. It doesn't work in a video game. Cut scenes are boring and drawn out. I also felt like a magnet to other cars. If I saw them I would hit them. They seem to always be in that sweet spot. This game is going back to the store. Will wait for the next one. Hopefully its better. Expand
  49. Nov 16, 2012
    1
    This is burnout with a NFS title. The game absolutely sucks. Nothing much more I can say about it. The feel of the driving sucks, the way it goes into a impact replay every time you hit something sucks.... it just sucks. Nothing about this game is good except the graphics. This was a huge disappointment. Critereon need to stick to making arcade games. NFS was a good game. This is just BS!
  50. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    You can call the handling 'arcade', but a better term would be 'garbage'. There's a term in automotive journalism regarding handling called a 'dead spot' in a steering wheel. The handing in Most Wanted is ALL dead spot, until you get to the point that you are spinning out of control or careening into a building. If you have heard that this game is like driving a car on ICE, that is exactly correct. Crashing is frequent, and restarts are constant. After over a dozen attempts, I could not complete the first 'Ambush' race with a time restraint of 2:00. 2 minutes to evade the police?? It takes that amount of time for your 'heat' level to go away. The game design is clueless. There isn't much to do in the world, and all of the cars handle the same. Forza Horizon is the only choice for 360 owners. A used copy of GT5 is a better choice for PS3 players. Expand
  51. Dec 6, 2012
    7
    As an avid player of the original Most Wanted, I had very high hopes for this game and while it didn't meet them all I think overall it turned out very well. The original was more challenging especially when it came to cop chases, which was one of my favorite aspects that I was disappointed to see "simplified". I was able to beat the game (All Most Wanted Drivers) without ever once being caught by the cops a feat I would have considered near impossible on the original. With that said the rest of the game was pulled off with excellence, especially on merits such as graphics and enjoyment of driving. Unfortunately, as a lack of the depth of the police chases I see no replay value to the game and once I finished finding all of the cars (not jackspots still missing a couple of those) and reaching Most Wanted Rank 1 the game found its way to the shelf and I pulled the original back out which is much more fun to just play around in. I sad a lot of negative in the review but still rated it a 7, you may be wondering why. It is because despite it's shortcomings it is by far the best NFS/Burnout game to release since the original Most Wanted in 2005. It is also the best non-simulation racing game to release in about the same time frame. It is also the most fun I have had playing any racing game in years for about 10 hours, until you run out of variety and realize that it reaches a point where the difficulty flattens out and becomes too easy around Most Wanted rank 5. Expand
  52. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    Though its not as good as the 2005 release of "Most Wanted", this game still gives it a run for its money. The presentation, game-play and overall feel of this game are great.
  53. Apr 3, 2013
    5
    This is a racing game, so the NFS series is the latest part of me did not meet your expectations. The Run is even better than that, because there were still cars can be controlled, but it could not. Unbreakable prevented cars, can be performed only in third place in racing. But what is nice to have an open-world game, and the graphics are nice and all parts of the city early in the game has been acquired and car. But even so, the game is mediocre. Expand
  54. Mar 4, 2013
    2
    This is the laziest racing game made to date... No story, no customization, no car dealers and no point. This is Burnout Paradise with real cars and a NFS title.. The only thing nice about this game is sound and visuals, but in a game where the only plot is running from cops and the only human interaction is a pain in the butt narrator that luckily only speaks twice during the entire game, that's just not enough... Worst NFS made to date, i even preferred Pro Street and Undercover to this Expand
  55. Mar 18, 2013
    5
    Overall it was a rushed game and is not like the ORIGINAL Most Wanted game. They actually ruined the series and also letting ''Top Youtubers'' play it first so users can get a look at the game was a horrible mistake.
  56. Jan 25, 2014
    3
    If you loved the first most wanted and as a result are thinking of getting this game, well think again. I am not sure how you manage to make a game 7 years after the original and utterly destroy everything that was excellent about the first.

    Positives are the graphics, the cars and the soundtrack.
    Negatives, the police chases are repetitive, boring and beyond aggravating whilst the
    first game offered something, frantic, fast paced, destructive and a little stressful, the new game has replaced it with a dumbed down version lacking any of the real fun that was present in the earlier title.
    The car customisation has taken a turn for the worst, no longer can you race to purchase upgrades to take on those harder challenges, now you must beat the race to get the upgrade, you don't progress to better cars you are given whatever car you want. There is no discernible story and no real incentive to play.

    The multiplayer is probably good, but I have not tried it as I intended to play through the main game first but since I am horribly disappointed with the game that will no longer be happening.

    The biggest problem is simply that they named it most wanted, cashing in on a successful game by implying some sort of re-imagining or sequel then presenting us with a glorified multiplayer arcade racer which if that is what I or most other people had wanted, then it would have been great, but unfortunately what we most wanted was most wanted.

    You will have more fun playing through the original again than playing this terrible game.
    Expand
  57. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    When I played this game i'm like what the hell is this what is this....... its nothing like I expected,that company that made it doomed the whole game its not worth the buy wrong company made it so....
  58. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    NFS MW is a great installment to the NFS Series although it doesn't have the customisation that Underground 2 and the old MW had its still a great racing game to have. The car switching just makes it a whole lot easier to get the car you wanted without any fuss the multiplayer is a great laugh with friends and is just very enjoyable although people say Criterion ruined it its really hard to tell if its for you, if you like realistic driving simulators then that's what Forza and Gran Turismo are there for, on the other hand if you are a long term fan of the NFS series and enjoyed Most if not All of the NFS games then this game in a good one to pick up. Expand
  59. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    An enjoyable game with great graphics. My problems with it are the lazy backround enviorments and multiplayer is not that great. Also not as many cars as i would have hoped.
  60. Jul 22, 2013
    0
    I have owned and played every NFS game since NFS 2 SE for PC, and I'm probably the biggest racing-junkie out there. I don't come out and write reviews too often, but this game really made me want to come out and express my displeasure.

    When I first heard about Criterion making a "sequel" to the original Need For Speed Most Wanted, I was extremely excited. Criterion made Burnout Paradise
    (Once of the funnest racing games this generation), Need For Speed Hot Pursuit (Another great game), and here they are making the long awaited sequel that fans have been begging for YEARS (Youtube, Facebook. Every video fans asked for a new NFS MW)

    Boy, they really let all of them down.

    Of course, no one knew any better before it came out. Positive reviews were coming out a few days before launch, and I would even check Google news every few hours for any new info on it. I pre-ordered the Limited Edition for $60.

    It came in 2 days after launch, and I immediately played it. And was immediately disappointed.

    There are examples of the devs being CHEAP everywhere you look. There are only 2 car views (compared to the original: 4 views) The licensed soundtrack is HORRIBLE (I turned it off after about 5 min) The "career mode" is NOTHING. It is far too easy, and didn't make me want to come back to play the game. You just drove around doing random races for not real purpose. Oh and no split-screen! If that isn't cutting corners, I don't know what is. The freaking GAMECUBE ORIGINAL HAD SPLIT/SCREEN! Seven years ago! And they can't do that today!

    Probably biggest letdown though: Overall, it was not fun to play. Cars handled like TANKS. While in Burnout Paradise it took SKILL and good reflexes to get by traffic at blazing speeds, here you will crash out in random situations. MANY TIMES. I consider myself an excellent racer, and when I keep crashing for BS reasons too many times, there is a problem. (There is also too much traffic, as if they want you to continue to keep crashing out.)

    You drive around, "hijacking" whatever car you see. You get no feeling of "accomplishment" and again is extremely boring. No visual customization (but you can change the paint by going through repair shops. Its random too. Common, this is so pathetic that they completely IGNORED the BEST PART about the original game!)

    Cop chases was the best mode in the original MW. It was very dramatic, and was it was fun smashing into cop cars (WITHOUT "CRASHING OUT" YOUR OWN CAR EVERY TIME YOU TOUCH SOMETHING) and knocking donuts shops over, blowing up gas stations. It was very cool. In this game however, it is a total JOKE. There is no dramatic music, no things to knock over. If they replaced those with something else, I would be happy. But no. The cops are SUPER DUMB, and will try to take yo out no matter what (the original, they also tried to spin you out, but again you wouldn't get "crashed out".)This makes for REAL BORING cop chases. I didn't even try in them, because nothing happened to you if you were caught! (The original had cool videos, and you would have to pay with money or impound you're car.)

    Looking at the online stuff, it's obvious Criterion spent most of their time here. And I admit, I give them some credit for making a somewhat decent system. Too bad they ENCOURAGED players to take each other out(Yes, they give you points for this)! I wouldn't go 30 seconds without someone smashing into me. This is not real racing. And no way is fun. Anyone who says otherwise is either brainwashed from all the mediocre games lately, or works for EA.

    In the end, this is more of a "reboot" and new interpretation of the term "Most Wanted". If they tried to make something original that was fun--they failed. If they intended to make a direct sequel--COMPLETE FAIL. This game gave me no enjoyment, and is currently sitting on Craigslist for $30. (Funny fact: the game was $35 everywhere 2 weeks after it came out. Thanks guys!)

    I will never pre-order a NFS game again. EA had every reason in the world to make this a fun, enjoyable game. And failed. They are ANNIHILATING the fans that have been here for them since the beginning. While the original game was fun, and overall a well-polished AAA game, here we have a over-rated CR@P that is a COMPLETE disgrace the Need for Speed series and racing games nowadays. Criterion must be INSANE to think they made a great game. The "professional" critics have not played the earlier NFS games: back when they were well-polished fun, long-lasting experiences to realize that this is total CR@P. They are praising mediocre games that do not have any heart or soul (I guarantee the older NFS games had a bigger budget and had more man-hours into them. That's why they are still great today!)
    Expand
  61. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    I gave this an 8.0 just because the M3 GTR is DLC. DO NOT HATE ME OR ANYTHING, READ MY COMMENT CLEARLY. If you don't read carefully, then I'll just ignore your comment.
  62. Aug 14, 2013
    1
    This game is horrible, I got the Limited Edition for $14,99 and now I understand why... Is over and over again the same is not fun is horrible and boring... DO NOT BUY IT!
  63. May 9, 2014
    9
    it's very cool play it alone, chasing police, winning cars, racing, finally
    but this game is much better to play online
    the 2005's NFSMW is much better than this, not by the item nostalgia, but for fun
  64. Nov 23, 2013
    2
    Beautiful scenery, unfortunately none of it can be applied to your vehicle. Love the music. Only 2 camera views? Disappointing. Lacks a story line and even character names. As far as I know my character is a car thief who wears a helmet. Was really hard to get into due to my lack of racing games for the 360, that wouldn't be a problem if difficulty was an option, I can of course forgive them for that. I understand a game needs to have challenge but if your making this type of game at least put a restart option at the end of the race. Instead I'm forced to stare at a sideways screen for 10 seconds, then forced to drive until it finishes autosaving, then I am able to pause and restart. If that isn't bad enough I am forced to watch every single crash which takes an unbearable amount of time out of gameplay. Controls seem to lag and WHERE DID THE RACE DIVERSITY GO!? The original Most wanted dropped drift racing but introduced a few new race styles. This has two. From knockout, tollbooth, drift, sprint, circuit, drag, and snapshot, we get to keep the 2 most boring... Thank you EA team! Any race that involves police it repetitive, the cops will always be in the same place. SWAT vehicles. Really? A truck moving at 250 mph can't move a SWAT truck an inch. That's believable. I was psyched to hear a new Most Wanted was being released having been a big fan of the original PS2 version but was very disappointed after 2 minutes of gameplay and it only became worse. I can't understand why they would make a game this bad and then name it Need for Speed Most Wanted. Why destroy such a great games' name like that? Sorry to lay into this game so hard but for me this game is just a train wreck and does not deserve the name it was given. I do hope someone out there received more enjoyment from this game than I did. Expand
  65. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has many great features to like about it, yet there are drawbacks to each of them.

    First of all, the city of Fairhaven has great. The Seattle/ Pacific Northwest-themed location is a nice change from the constant southern-California theme we have seen in countless racing titles. The city is visually stunning, very lively-looking, and many hidden alleyways, parking structures, train tracks, and other areas not marked on the map that adds a lot of depth into the city and takes deep exploration to find every nook and cranny which I believe makes an excellent open-world to drive around. There is one pretty big issue I found with the city, despite the diversity of sprawling city streets, dense industrial and port areas, and open highways that leads to the rural farmlands, it is not well designed for police chases. It is very hard to escape from the police when free-roaming because the lack of alternate roads and intersections that provides less options to hide or change direction if you know police cars are coming down the same road. Many of the alleyways are useless for hiding as police cars will find you. I can't count how many times I was in the "cool down" stage of a chase and I was stuck going down one road with no alternate route to drive away from the police searching for me. Every time I was in cool down I had to "hope and pray" they weren't coming at me on the same road as it happened very, very often. This made pursuits fluctuate from exciting to annoying. Paradise City was a much better map for police chases (If you played online) and had countless alternate routes to escape that Fairhaven lacks in many areas of the map.

    The police chases in the game range from exciting to annoying (As stated above). I do like how the heat system works when you raise your heat and cool it down. It causes the police to often change their tactics and depending how the pursuit plays out, you can have a decent variety of police cars chasing you at once (Which is dynamic and also realistic), but the SWAT trucks are going a bit too far in my opinion. The way the police chases carry out in the city are not well suited for the way the city is designed (Again, as I mentioned earlier) and would have been better if the police were less frequent during free roam and less difficult to evade (spawning randomly everywhere)!

    The biggest chunk of this game is the career mode and I'll start with the good parts about it: it will take you a very, very long time to complete. The career mode is also the biggest problem in this game. The career mode's biggest drawback is the structure of it....and there isn't one. All the cars (Except the Most Wanted cars) are unlocked and just need to find them. I hate this "everything is open to you from the start" structure! I don't like everything handed to me, I like to earn them like in NFS Hot Pursuit or even Burnout Paradise. An even bigger problem with the career is that every car has their own events which every car has a heavy overlap of the same events which means racing the same race in a different car over and over and OVER again. It turns the career into a chore and the repetition has myself putting the controller down after awhile as if I am taking a break from doing college homework. This is why it took me about a year to "complete" this game, because every 2-3 times I repeated the same event and the AI difficulty made it ridiculous. The career mode is the most monotonous I have ever played in a racing game. I can't even hold onto my favorite cars to complete the career!

    I have nothing good to say about the upgrades, I found most of them useless (in my opinion), and had to earn them in every car repeating the events. I can't even select where to start with a car, I can only start where the car is located.

    The online does not have cop chases and everyone keeps crashing into each other so I never bothered again with online. Not as good as Burnout Paradise.

    The car selection is good and diverse, but not as large as NFS Hot Pursuit or other previous NFS titles. Why the heck did they remove the Hummer H1 from the previews? Car handlings are ok, but depends on the car.

    The soundtrack is pretty good, had a nice variety and found many favorites, but the lack of dramatic chase music that is very common in the past NFS titles was a big disappointment.

    Lastly, the DLC improved the game's car selection and the airport was a nice addition but the airport feels like it's incomplete, smash n' grab events are not fun and actually crash the game where it is literally impossible to complete the expanded career therefore the DLC actually broke the game and will forever be "incomplete" on my profile.

    Overall, this game has good quality with a city and car list to admire, but with the career mode being a chore, mixed feelings with the police chases, and the glitch with the DLC (Xbox 360 version), every feature has pros and cons.

    Score 7 (3 for the city, 3 for the cars, 1 for the cops).
    Expand
  66. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    E.A Has once again created a sensation of a game with this game but the fact is that when you've completed all most wanted races all you can do is complete races to win upgrades for all of the cars. Now if you take a look at one of the closest rivals to NFS- Burnout you kind of get the same game but not real cars Over all if your looking for an amazing game for single-player and a long game play time this ones for you Expand
  67. Jun 5, 2014
    6
    This game is by no means perfect, but also not necessarily a bad game, either. It would be a lie if I said I didn't enjoy this game, even a little bit, because I got a lot of enjoyment out of it. Being a major Burnout fan, along with being an avid fan of NFS games, I thought that a NFS with similar mechanics to Burnout would be ideal. Of course, this game isn't really NFS at all, more like a weird spin off game. None of the mechanics or themes are similar to the older games of the franchise, and I can safely stand by those that believe this is a dirtying of the Most Wanted name.

    However, if we disregard the fact that they labelled this with such an absurd title, then we can finally enjoy what the game REALLY is. If Criterion set up their own franchise with an entirely different name, then I believe this game would not have crashed as hard as it did. I can't simply remove points because of a namesake; that's just ridiculous. Nobody was forced to buy this, and nobody was forced to akin this game to the original Most Wanted. People chose to do this because of the title, but simple research shows that this game is NOTHING like the original Most Wanted. So why complain? It was a cheap shot, but anyone with common sense would look beyond it. The game itself is fun; multiple vehicles with varying handling, each with their own set events to complete to unlock new performance modules. Every action is simple and intuitive via easydrive, though the world map is a little confusing, with no labeling of roads or districts, and is not even set in a satellite view to clearly display what lies where. This can get very confusing rather quickly for first time players, but overlooking this, it's not such a major problem.

    The pursuits aren't strictly riveting, and once you get used to them, they are simply too easy. After a while it gets a little tedious, and is really just a distraction.

    The races can be interesting, and they're is a host of several different event types; the basic sprint and circuit races, along with ambush events in which you must evade the police in as short a time as possible, and an event type where you must retain an optimal speed to keep your average speed as high as possible to achieve the gold medals. This variation is very welcome, and each event proves to be an interesting challenge.

    I'll admit that the game isn't a masterpiece, but it's nowhere near as bad as people make it out to be. If I had the choice, I would rate it 6.5/10. However, since I can't, I'll give it a six just to appease those that feel a little cheated with this installment.
    Expand
  68. May 28, 2014
    4
    NFS: Most Wanted (2012) falls short of expectations as both Need for Speed game and/or Burnout game. Criterion game ruined both by making a game that doesn't offer story, challenge or even good controls. The game is open-world but don't let that fools you, the races are very limited and repetitive and the streets of the city aren't balanced at all, ad to that frustrating controls that only rely on drifting with almost non-existing steering. Burnout Paradise didn't have story but it had good controls, big and fun open-world and over the top cars action while the on the other hand NFS series was always known for good lengthy story, great selection of cars and deep customization options; Most Wanted (2012) doesn't have any of these pros, it only got all the cons from the two making it a very hard to recommend game to anyone. The graphics are probably the only good thing about this game. Overall this is basically Burnout Paradise with less content, less fun, less action and frustrating controls. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Jan 11, 2013
    60
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted is caught between two worlds. The game can't quite decide if it wants to be an arcade or a simulation racing game, and it takes a lot to get used to this in-between zone it occupies. That said, once the adjustment period is over, there is a lot of enjoyment to be had when it's not being frustrating.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    85
    A technically sound and entertaining sandbox for arcade racers. The name should be Need for Burnout, though. [Dec 2012]
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    70
    An open world street racer set in an interesting city. There's a lot of things to do, but they get pretty repetitive after a while. The autolog for online competition is brilliant though.