Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: To be the Most Wanted, you must outrun the police, outdrive your friends, and outsmart your rivals. With a ravenous police force gunning to take you down, you will have to make split-second decisions. Use the open world to your advantage to find hiding places, hit jumps and earn new vehiclesTo be the Most Wanted, you must outrun the police, outdrive your friends, and outsmart your rivals. With a ravenous police force gunning to take you down, you will have to make split-second decisions. Use the open world to your advantage to find hiding places, hit jumps and earn new vehicles to keep you a step ahead. Your friends are at the heart of your experience. In an open world with no menus or lobbies, you will be able to instantly challenge your friends and prove your driving skill in a variety of seamless multiplayer events. Your rivals will do everything they can to stop you from getting to the top. In this world, there can only be one Most Wanted. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    100
    Criterion has done it again, setting a new standard for arcade-style racing games which won't be surpassed until the next generation of consoles has been on sale for a while. It actually leaves one feeling a bit sorry for Forza Horizon, which is a very good game, and infinitely superior to its predecessors. But Need For Speed: Most Wanted is, by whatever criteria you may see fit to apply, a great game.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    If you desire structure, if you wanted a game to be meted out to you, you might find its instant freedom somewhat overwhelming. But Most Wanted is all about deviation and deviance. It's the racing game for people who don't tend to like racing games.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    90
    The presentation is mostly right on, and the gameplay feels on par with Criterion's best work.
  4. 85
    Most Wanted delivers raucous entertainment in spades, whether you're battling Fairhaven City's finest in the campaign or dueling network competition in serious races and silly trick competitions. After years of revisiting Burnout Paradise's recurring playground, we finally have a fresh racing addiction to keep us hooked until Criterion's next seemingly inevitable open-road opus.
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    Each year we are given a new Need for Speed title and this has been one of the best in a long while.
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    The single-player game lacks a bit of structure and the multiplayer is certainly chaotic at first, but the game excels in providing socially connected racing that gets under the skin.
  7. Jan 11, 2013
    60
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted is caught between two worlds. The game can't quite decide if it wants to be an arcade or a simulation racing game, and it takes a lot to get used to this in-between zone it occupies. That said, once the adjustment period is over, there is a lot of enjoyment to be had when it's not being frustrating.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 71
  2. Negative: 31 out of 71
  1. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Spectacular. This game was sensational EA got hit once again recreating a classic. The passing system for instant repair was very good andSpectacular. This game was sensational EA got hit once again recreating a classic. The passing system for instant repair was very good and practical cars around the scene was also found to be an excellent idea. Ramps, persecutions, good gameplay, beautiful graphics and great; fun make this game be right purchase. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    NFS: Most Wanted is a superb game that blends fun, and high octane action together seamlessly. The game's single player may be short if allNFS: Most Wanted is a superb game that blends fun, and high octane action together seamlessly. The game's single player may be short if all you do is chase after the "top-10" but, the real play value and the variety of areas to drive around is what gives this game literally limitless longevity. Coupled, with the high-speed adrenaline styled multiplayer. This game is a a 9/10. Reason being, is that firstly this game does right with making the multiplayer as wacky as possible, with mods such as "Takedown", "Highest-Jump", and "Racing", with other various mods. NFS: Most Wanted feels similar to Burnout, and has some Split Second multiplayer for those who are die-hard racing fans. The game this time around isn't more so a racing game for the casual racing game, but more so a game for anyone who wants to pick up a game for short too long bursts of gameplay. Whether, or not you're an experienced racer gamer, this game is meant for everyone and does well with its gorgeous scenery, the off-road ramps, and the games gameplay over all. The game falls short though in a lackluster storyline, there is no real depth, and this time around there's only two views when driving. Third person, and first-person with just the road and no view this time around with the front view of your cars bumper. Overall, this game is stellar, and is worth buying for both the online aspects, and the single-player aspects aside. Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    I really liked burnout paradise so it wasnt to my surprise that i really liked this game. I have no idea what the other need for speed gamesI really liked burnout paradise so it wasnt to my surprise that i really liked this game. I have no idea what the other need for speed games are like so i see this game purely for what it is And that is pure fun! My only gripe is most of the music isnt to my taste and i would rather input my own. Also i hear two songs being played at the same time sometimes which is annoying that must be a glitch which should be patched. I would like to see more scenic routes aswel Its also a shame theres no real punishment getting caught by the po po. I think there should be some kind of fine like having your car impounded and having to earn it back. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2014
    5
    This game removed half of the features I enjoyed from the original game. Even the spike reinflating wheels removes the challenge from theThis game removed half of the features I enjoyed from the original game. Even the spike reinflating wheels removes the challenge from the game. But it's still good either way Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    This game is a better pill to swallow if you lean towards liking the Burn-out games, less if coming from a Need for Speed gameplay point ofThis game is a better pill to swallow if you lean towards liking the Burn-out games, less if coming from a Need for Speed gameplay point of view.

    For me Need for Speed Most Wanted (the original) was for me the pinnacle of the NFS Series. It had everything but multiplayer because of the age it was released. Let's put it this way. They released a PS2 version at the same time. Regardless this game was fantastic.

    But again that is just my opinion and you know what opinions are in common with. Let me break it down though.

    Strengths of Need for Speed (original)

    - Single player (cheesy) but still cool story about working up your ranks.
    - Car modifications. Not as much as you would like (is there ever?) but still a great selection of decals and/or body kits.
    - Did I say single player? Boss races that had feeling. Chance to gain a pink slip and take your opponents car. Opponents that mattered in single player. Really cool feeling of "working up the ranks"
    - Fear. Get busted enough and lose your car. PERMANENTLY. Good stuff right there.
    - A real economy. Money got you new rides or greatly needed upgrades. You could get different body kits and greatly change the look of your car (which in turn lowered your wanted level).

    Need for Speed 2012

    - Not really a sequel to Need for Speed Most Wanted.
    - No story. No story at all.
    - Great multiplayer.
    - Not so hot view options.

    This game could have been so much more. It is very pretty to look at. The multiplayer is fantastic but when it comes down to it, it's not a NFS Most Wanted sequel, it's a watered-down Burn-out sequel.

    So again if your new to the series or coming from needing a Burn-Out sequel then this might float your boat. Otherwise the only thing this game has in common with NFS Most Wanted the original is cops.
    Collapse
  6. Nov 8, 2012
    2
    A clumsy take on the Most Wanted name, this game removes all the street race style of the original. Even as a solo title it would be weak, butA clumsy take on the Most Wanted name, this game removes all the street race style of the original. Even as a solo title it would be weak, but trying to link it to the original is a sad attempt at name recognition. Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2013
    0
    Trash game without soul. Multiplayer Burnout clone.
    They uses MW name, and now no sequel for original. Never.

See all 71 User Reviews