Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: To be the Most Wanted, you must outrun the police, outdrive your friends, and outsmart your rivals. With a ravenous police force gunning to take you down, you will have to make split-second decisions. Use the open world to your advantage to find hiding places, hit jumps and earn new vehicles to keep you a step ahead. Your friends are at the heart of your experience. In an open world with no menus or lobbies, you will be able to instantly challenge your friends and prove your driving skill in a variety of seamless multiplayer events. Your rivals will do everything they can to stop you from getting to the top. In this world, there can only be one Most Wanted. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    100
    Criterion has done it again, setting a new standard for arcade-style racing games which won't be surpassed until the next generation of consoles has been on sale for a while. It actually leaves one feeling a bit sorry for Forza Horizon, which is a very good game, and infinitely superior to its predecessors. But Need For Speed: Most Wanted is, by whatever criteria you may see fit to apply, a great game.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    If you desire structure, if you wanted a game to be meted out to you, you might find its instant freedom somewhat overwhelming. But Most Wanted is all about deviation and deviance. It's the racing game for people who don't tend to like racing games.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    90
    The presentation is mostly right on, and the gameplay feels on par with Criterion's best work.
  4. 85
    Most Wanted delivers raucous entertainment in spades, whether you're battling Fairhaven City's finest in the campaign or dueling network competition in serious races and silly trick competitions. After years of revisiting Burnout Paradise's recurring playground, we finally have a fresh racing addiction to keep us hooked until Criterion's next seemingly inevitable open-road opus.
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    Each year we are given a new Need for Speed title and this has been one of the best in a long while.
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    The single-player game lacks a bit of structure and the multiplayer is certainly chaotic at first, but the game excels in providing socially connected racing that gets under the skin.
  7. Jan 11, 2013
    60
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted is caught between two worlds. The game can't quite decide if it wants to be an arcade or a simulation racing game, and it takes a lot to get used to this in-between zone it occupies. That said, once the adjustment period is over, there is a lot of enjoyment to be had when it's not being frustrating.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 70
  2. Negative: 31 out of 70
  1. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Spectacular. This game was sensational EA got hit once again recreating a classic. The passing system for instant repair was very good and practical cars around the scene was also found to be an excellent idea. Ramps, persecutions, good gameplay, beautiful graphics and great; fun make this game be right purchase. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    NFS: Most Wanted is a superb game that blends fun, and high octane action together seamlessly. The game's single player may be short if all you do is chase after the "top-10" but, the real play value and the variety of areas to drive around is what gives this game literally limitless longevity. Coupled, with the high-speed adrenaline styled multiplayer. This game is a a 9/10. Reason being, is that firstly this game does right with making the multiplayer as wacky as possible, with mods such as "Takedown", "Highest-Jump", and "Racing", with other various mods. NFS: Most Wanted feels similar to Burnout, and has some Split Second multiplayer for those who are die-hard racing fans. The game this time around isn't more so a racing game for the casual racing game, but more so a game for anyone who wants to pick up a game for short too long bursts of gameplay. Whether, or not you're an experienced racer gamer, this game is meant for everyone and does well with its gorgeous scenery, the off-road ramps, and the games gameplay over all. The game falls short though in a lackluster storyline, there is no real depth, and this time around there's only two views when driving. Third person, and first-person with just the road and no view this time around with the front view of your cars bumper. Overall, this game is stellar, and is worth buying for both the online aspects, and the single-player aspects aside. Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    I really liked burnout paradise so it wasnt to my surprise that i really liked this game. I have no idea what the other need for speed games are like so i see this game purely for what it is And that is pure fun! My only gripe is most of the music isnt to my taste and i would rather input my own. Also i hear two songs being played at the same time sometimes which is annoying that must be a glitch which should be patched. I would like to see more scenic routes aswel Its also a shame theres no real punishment getting caught by the po po. I think there should be some kind of fine like having your car impounded and having to earn it back. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    This is a very hard game to review. I have nothing Bad to say about the game but nothing good either. Having played the older version of this game and then having played the new version I can't say that the games felt overly different. Criterion have improved the handling models of the cars and the cars themselves look pretty good and accurate (The damage models are also pretty realistic). The issue I have is that the game is in no way gripping. All the cars have almost exactly the same events attached to them which get very repetitive. during the Most Wanted take downs the cars would drive into walls or down dead ends making it at times simple to take them out. AI card can drive over spike strips with no damage to tyres. I did not notice an onscreen clock which meant you could not predict day/night cycles and the camera angles are awful. they only allow you two options and neither are good. The behind car angle felt sloppy and you did not have an in car angle only a front bumper angle. It just sucked out the life of the game a bit. I will not say this game is unplayable and not worth a look into if you like racers in a similar vein (Split/Second, Blur, NFS Hot Pursuit etc) but as an arcade racer it just did not have enough to get my attention or enough to keep the enjoyment up. Expand
  5. May 28, 2014
    4
    NFS: Most Wanted (2012) falls short of expectations as both Need for Speed game and/or Burnout game. Criterion game ruined both by making a game that doesn't offer story, challenge or even good controls. The game is open-world but don't let that fools you, the races are very limited and repetitive and the streets of the city aren't balanced at all, ad to that frustrating controls that only rely on drifting with almost non-existing steering. Burnout Paradise didn't have story but it had good controls, big and fun open-world and over the top cars action while the on the other hand NFS series was always known for good lengthy story, great selection of cars and deep customization options; Most Wanted (2012) doesn't have any of these pros, it only got all the cons from the two making it a very hard to recommend game to anyone. The graphics are probably the only good thing about this game. Overall this is basically Burnout Paradise with less content, less fun, less action and frustrating controls. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    2
    Really disappointed. Only 2 camera angles, hard to see checkpoints, stupid crash animations. NFS The Run was better than this! I have played every single NFS title, it's obvious EA are paying for high reviews because I have no idea how the game is scoring so well critically, whilst the customers are unhappy with this product. Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2013
    0
    Trash game without soul. Multiplayer Burnout clone.
    They uses MW name, and now no sequel for original. Never.

See all 70 User Reviews