Need for Speed: Rivals Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own setWelcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Need for Speed Rivals - Racer Personalization Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    86
    Need for Speed comes back with another outstanding game, full of content and full of fun. However, there's that "something" missing, something only Criterion can give.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    85
    Rivals takes Most Wanted's open world and blends that with the open roads and landscapes of Hot Pursuit, with a paradise filled with distractions and dangers. The seamless transition between single- and multiplayer it so that another player can challenge of help you in every event. Rivals guarantees a continuous sense of excitement and sensation with great controls and a relentless sense of speed.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Mixing an offline and online driving experience is the key for Need for Speed Rivals, a look into the next generation of gaming.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 28, 2013
    80
    If you tend to see the glass as half full, instead of half empty, you will see Rivals as a success. Gameplay innovations make up for the lack of technical fidelity present in the old gen versions. [Issue#237]
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    75
    The small player cap is disappointing in this day and age, but AllDrive shows real potential. The frame-rate issues I encountered were a downer on an otherwise impressive arcade racing game.
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    75
    There is no doubt that the driving mechanics of Rivals are fantastic, and most of the game's systems are a success. However, it's a multiplayer-oriented game that fails to bring players together, and the content elsewhere is merely good.
  7. Nov 26, 2013
    40
    Perhaps most disappointing of all is the actual world. The map consists of long wending noodles of road draped over Frostbite landscapes. It’s built for you to drive fast and bang into cars, so it minimizes the concept of mastering a route or reacting to the road. It’s all long, thin, shallow. This means there’s little sense of place. There is minimal traffic. There are too few opportunities to actually turn onto another road or take a shortcut. The world even feels small. You’ll be chasing someone, or running from someone, and suddenly you’re back where you were just a little while ago. It all feels so constrained.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 12 out of 28
  1. Jun 22, 2015
    10
    This game is so much fun, it has lots of variety and can either be played on free explore mode or by hopping easily between races. I am tryingThis game is so much fun, it has lots of variety and can either be played on free explore mode or by hopping easily between races. I am trying to complete it but it take so long, there are at least 60 levels for each of the cops and the racers. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    This is a great game, it has the good graphics of most wanted(which I loved), and the cop and racer game play like hot pursuit. A bigThis is a great game, it has the good graphics of most wanted(which I loved), and the cop and racer game play like hot pursuit. A big beautiful map with fast cars that look great. I could be in free roam the whole time. It's so fun. I recommend this game. If you like urban ares more, i would recommend most wanted Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    A great game made better by the fact other online players can play along side you on the main game map. This can be frustrating when in a mainA great game made better by the fact other online players can play along side you on the main game map. This can be frustrating when in a main game mision but surely makes it more fun as you never know what will happen next. not as realistic as other games like Forza horizon but i would say alot more fun. Expand
  4. May 20, 2015
    6
    I dont like racing games in general but Rivals looked like a game that promised racing to its best. How ever, I was treated to a knock offI dont like racing games in general but Rivals looked like a game that promised racing to its best. How ever, I was treated to a knock off Need for Speed: Most Wanted. The physics in this game does not make sence and feels sloppy. Also, When I would crash into another car head on, the car would barely have any physical damge showing. The drifting in this game is pretty fun but all of the races and pursuits feel unrealistic and could have been better. If you want to buy a needd for speed game, go with the 2012 version of Need for Speed: Most Wanted. The open world map is filled with guard rails on the rad which makes the player have to go all the way until the end of that road just to go some where else. The multiplayer feels like Sinplayer with smarter or stupider AI depending on the skill of the player. In conclusion, I would not recommend this game to anyone and you should focus on another racing game like the 2012 most wanted or the New forza Horizon 2. Thank you for reading this Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2014
    3
    Ah, where shall I start..... Well, to begin with there's a mandatory 1.3 GB installation on your hard drive. Yes, it's bearable, but it'sAh, where shall I start..... Well, to begin with there's a mandatory 1.3 GB installation on your hard drive. Yes, it's bearable, but it's unwanted. The game opens up with literally half an hour of tutorials accompanied by a god-awful story line. Once I actually jumped into multiplayer I was disappointing further. When it comes to selecting a car, the game offers no comparisons so in order to see if the new car has better stats than the old, you have to flip back and forth 30 times just to get an idea of what to pick. The customization options are at least nice, with different paint jobs and decals available. The actual racing honestly begins to fall short for two reasons. 1) The multiplayer is terrible. The player-to-player interaction that EA showed off so much transforms into high-leveled racers rampaging around the map destroying you in two hits. If you go into the settings, you can play offline instead, which is somewhat better. However.... it completely removes the spontaneity that the multiplayer offers and instead you're left with the halfway-decent bots. Even then... 2) The regular missions and single player are dull. The game gives you boring objectives, such as "Bottom-ram a racer 10 times" . We've all seen these before and they get very old, very fast. On top of that are random encounters that typically see little variations and few epic moments.

    Even if you're alright with all of that, many of the other features are implemented poorly. The music can't be changed, so it's either pop in your earbuds or put up with whatever crap is on the radio. The graphics frequently suffer from pop-up and disappearing scenery. Online multiplayer lags, pedestrian cars randomly disappear, and the cars for the police force are mostly made up of stupid variations of the exact same cars.

    The only positives the game has is that 1) It looks pretty (when the trees and mountains don't magically evaporate) and 2) the customization is plentiful and impressive. Unless you're a die-hard racing fan, I would look at one of the other many racing games available. Perhaps one that doesn't rely on poor multiplayer to give you a good racing experience.
    Expand
  6. May 2, 2014
    2
    Turn on Single Player and you have Hot Pursuit 2010 with everything being worse. With other people, this game is somehow even worse thanTurn on Single Player and you have Hot Pursuit 2010 with everything being worse. With other people, this game is somehow even worse than before. This game includes a required (!) 1.6 gigabyte HD texture install that only works on some consoles (!!!) and far less options in the options menu than Hot Pursuit 2010. Hot Pursuit 2010 let you change controls to whatever you want, set how the music player does its thing, go from mission to mission instantly, and free roam was just a thing you could mess around with if you wanted to. This forces you to use the controls it gives you, the music player has NO options, you have to drive to every mission unless you want to wait for the unbearable loading times, and free roam is required no matter what. If you didn't turn on the ridiculously hidden single player setting, you have to deal with online players that destroy you constantly interfering with your stuff. The "missions" consist of the same 3 objectives done repeatedly, and you're given assignments to complete while doing the missions. These assignments are simply roadblocks put in your way to force you to free roam and only let you unlock one version of each cop car. The cop cars received, however are free. On the racers side, you unlock the same car no matter which version of the assignment you chose, and you have to spend money to unlock it. You won't have any money, however, because the "pursuit tech" (which, in HP2012, you had at all times and you had all of) is ridiculously expensive.

    If you're gonna buy a NFS game, buy any PS1 NFS, PS2 NFS, or Hot Pursuit 2012.
    Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    0
    One word...RIPOFF! Icant play this cos i dont have a hard drive! When i did at someone elses house i was appualled! The lighting was bad. TheOne word...RIPOFF! Icant play this cos i dont have a hard drive! When i did at someone elses house i was appualled! The lighting was bad. The hit detecion was super off! I glitched when i was in a race so i flying in the air, the map disappered and when it did a load of cops smashed into be and i got busted! This game is terrible! Expand

See all 28 User Reviews