Need for Speed: The Run Xbox 360

Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 65
  2. Negative: 2 out of 65
Buy On
  1. Nov 30, 2011
    91
    If you focus on the pure details of the cars and racing itself, Need for Speed: The Run stands head and shoulders above past installments as well as other racing simulations.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    91
    The Run takes the venerable franchise in a startling new direction while preserving all of the aspects that have made the series so successful. This one is definitely worth taking a look at.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    90
    A solid, polished product that's a bit rough around the edges on occasion, but not so much that it takes away from the core experience, which is boosted by a solid storyline and robust array of online options that makes it one of my favorite entries in the series to date. If you're looking for an arcade racer with a lot of flash and the speed to match, give The Run a spin. It's great ride.
  4. Dec 5, 2011
    85
    NFS: The Run is a fast, frantic, and thoroughly enjoyable racer. The idea of a movie-encased racing game is an excellent one, and despite the fact that EA's first attempt lacks due tact or sophistication, the over-the-top plot does add extra context and excitement to the basic premise of driving at ridiculous speeds.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    85
    A lot of my driving fantasies were realized in this game. I found myself grinning the whole time, gripping the hell out of the controller, leaning into turns with my body, gritting my teeth as I mashed on the nitro button to boost past rivals. If you've ever found yourself daydreaming about whipping past slow cars on the highway, passing on the sidewalk, or bashing police cars off the road, you're going to love this game.
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    84
    The Run falters with its high-profile but underdeveloped plot as well as some awkward design choices. However, it overcomes these potholes with courses that are a blast to drive and simple multiplayer that keeps you hooked in.
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    83
    As I said, I've been a fan of the Need for Speed franchise for quite some time, but even I've been rubbed a bit raw by some of the franchise's evolution over the years. It's not like EA and Black Box were struggling to find an identity, but they seemed to always be looking to switch things up just for the sake of switching. With Need for Speed: The Run, it seems like EA finally found the right mix of action and challenge, and the sporadic out-of-the-car sequences give just enough of a break to keep you pushing forward.
  8. Nov 18, 2011
    82
    I enjoyed the refreshing diversity of the 40+ track sections you get to experience as you cross our great country.
  9. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 28, 2011
    81
    The driving in this driving game is fast, sexy and frequently exciting. [Feb 2012, p.94]
  10. Pelit (Finland)
    Dec 9, 2011
    81
    A very pretty and in some parts surprising arcade racer. It takes a step or two towards the original Need for Speed and that's a good thing. There's one annoying problem, though. The stupidly expensive police cars are just, well, really stupid. [Dec 2011]
  11. 81
    More like an FPS than a racer, The Run lacks the performance and depth of Gran Turismo and Forza, but delivers on insane speeds and nail-biting arcade thrills.
  12. Jan 18, 2012
    80
    Although the single-player adventure runs out of fuel way too soon, the intensity of the racing while driving beautifully rendered "dream" autos makes up for the brevity, and a few replayable modes (Challenge and online) greatly increases Need for Speed: The Run's gameplay driving distance.
  13. Nov 18, 2011
    80
    Need for Speed The Run is currently the best arcade racing title. It feels like a Hollywood experience. Unfortunately the campaign has a short length but you can spend many hours on the multiplayer and all of the challenges.
  14. 80
    Doesn't reach the heights of last year's Hot Pursuit, but at it's core, The Run is still a well-tuned arcade racer that gets a lot more things right than it gets wrong.
  15. Nov 16, 2011
    80
    The ingredients used in Need for Speed: The Run do not differ from those used in previous games: fast cars and dangerous racing remain the main attractions. The story mode, even being short and simple, delivers high doses of adrenaline. And while we're driving, it's all that matters.
  16. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    Does so many things right. It's an action game for people who like cars, or perhaps a racing game for people who like action. In fact, it's both of these things at the same time. Too often racing games get repetitive and lose their luster about halfway through. The Run takes a simple formula and amps it up to appeal to junkies of both genres.
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    It's possible Need for Speed The Run won't provide as many hours of entertainment as previous NFS games, but then it packs in unique events and some incredibly exciting chase sequences, meaning it packs a lot of entertainment-per-hour. It's not very forgiving of mistakes, but then it provides greater rewards as a result.
  18. Jan 24, 2012
    78
    Need for Speed The Run is a game that has just enough issues to make it an average game. It is filled with potential, and it eventually could have made a really great game. The cross-country race is a great story-telling mechanic and the cutscenes are well done. The progression of the Driver Level to gain more bonuses could have been given out more consistently and some of the cars could have handled better. If you don't mind driving for a while to unlock cars and abilities, then you should find a satisfying experience.
  19. Nov 22, 2011
    78
    Need for Speed is back with a story, but lacks innovative elements and a motivating single-player experience. Hopefully EA will continue to improve the story and doesn't loose sight of the single-player game because of focusing on the Autolog.
  20. Nov 22, 2011
    78
    Overall there is nothing bad about The Run. It promised and did not deliver a completely engrossing story.
  21. Nov 17, 2011
    78
    Need for Speed: The Run did not match some of the players expectation, because of the poor narrative and below standard AI. Nevertheless, thanks to an intersting driving system the game results in fun arcade racing.
  22. Game Informer
    Nov 13, 2011
    78
    Need for Speed: The Run is by no stretch a bad game; it just fails to capitalize on its chances. San Francisco to New York is a long haul, and it's even longer when not enough happens in between. [Dec 2011, p.112]
  23. Nov 26, 2011
    77
    Built around fast action and quick-changing objectives, the core experience might be over quickly, but it never fails to impress.
  24. Nov 15, 2011
    77
    With a driver level and an improved Autolog, The Run is a fun time regardless of the campaign's shortcomings. Challenges and multiplayer is what's going to keep The Run in your Xbox 360 during the holidays and I would suggest a purchase of the game if multiplayer is what you want to invest the majority of your time into, rather than the story.
  25. Nov 16, 2011
    76
    Simplified gameplay and a not deep enough experiences in The Run fail to offer the feelings from the best iterations of the Need for Speed series.
  26. Dec 16, 2011
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  27. Nov 19, 2011
    75
    Sure the game has some load time issues, a few frame rate hiccups, but honestly the game whips by you at such a high rate, all these issues are soon forgotten as soon as the timer starts and the race begins.
  28. Nov 18, 2011
    75
    A more than decent entry in the series, although below the excellent Hot Pursuit of last year. It is a good idea to propose a coast-to-coast trip through the USA, and we'll see some iconic places, although the story is not that attractive.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 44
  2. Negative: 9 out of 44
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    What a great game, the graphics are amazing and besides the story line there are many auto challenges. The cars are great and the handling isWhat a great game, the graphics are amazing and besides the story line there are many auto challenges. The cars are great and the handling is very realistic. Best Need For Speed yet. The story had me on my seat and felt more realistic than any other racing game I have played. The intense action scenes make the story incredible. I will be playing this game till the next NFS comes out. Love it. Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    "Need for Speed: The Run" isn't the best NFS game created, but highly entertaining. First of all, the visuals are just straight gorgeous. The"Need for Speed: The Run" isn't the best NFS game created, but highly entertaining. First of all, the visuals are just straight gorgeous. The frostbite 2 engine makes **** real. Every detail and aspect of the game looks realistic. The gameplay is quite different from Hot Pursuit; It's kinda more heavier in a way. The story is also a great aspect to look forward to. I won't say anything about it, but it's really a michael bay style campaign. Overall a great game that excelled my low expectations. Have fun driven! Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing GOTY, the graphics are amazing, this is a must buy. This is the best nfs I have played, you have to buy this if you like the series.Amazing GOTY, the graphics are amazing, this is a must buy. This is the best nfs I have played, you have to buy this if you like the series. Amazing story. Full Review »