Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passes and navigate narrow canyons at breakneck speeds. Powered by DICE’s state-of-the-art Frostbite 2 engine, Need for Speed The Run takes the action racing genre to new heights with stunning visuals and car physics that hug the road even at top speeds all built around a gripping storyline. The cars are hot, the racing is intense and the story will have you at the edge of your seat… all the way from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Empire State building. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 65
  2. Negative: 2 out of 65
  1. Nov 30, 2011
    91
    If you focus on the pure details of the cars and racing itself, Need for Speed: The Run stands head and shoulders above past installments as well as other racing simulations.
  2. The driving in this driving game is fast, sexy and frequently exciting. [Feb 2012, p.94]
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    It's possible Need for Speed The Run won't provide as many hours of entertainment as previous NFS games, but then it packs in unique events and some incredibly exciting chase sequences, meaning it packs a lot of entertainment-per-hour. It's not very forgiving of mistakes, but then it provides greater rewards as a result.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    70
    The game is way too short and there isn't enough to its narrative to get even close to being interested in playing it again. While there are some cool moments, I generally found myself getting too bored or frustrated with the races and the game's conclusion only made the story even more pointless.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    65
    All this awesome racing action gets somewhat lost amid the nonexistent story, the dumb/scripted AI, the lack of options, and the overall shortness of the game. The Run is not a marathon racing game, it's a quick and dirty drag race.
  6. 60
    Racing across the USA for a cash prize is a great concept, and perhaps there's a Jerry Bruckheimer and Michael Bay collaboration in there somewhere. Or possibly there's a sequel that can inject some variety and fun into proceedings, rather than a succession of thankless, exhausting rubber-band races against faceless opponents and stereotypical rivals. Need for Speed: The Run does generate some memorable highlights, but they're simply too few and far between.
  7. Nov 16, 2011
    40
    The game might look decent enough, but the overly scripted racing and under scripted plot fail to engage the player or give the feeling of a white knuckle battle to reach the finishing line. You end up barely caring about Jack's plight and when it comes to the gameplay... Lets just say if you're a fan of the franchise stick to Hot Pursuit, it's where Need For Speed shines - The Run on the other hand just crashes and burns. Repeatedly.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 9 out of 40
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    What a great game, the graphics are amazing and besides the story line there are many auto challenges. The cars are great and the handling is very realistic. Best Need For Speed yet. The story had me on my seat and felt more realistic than any other racing game I have played. The intense action scenes make the story incredible. I will be playing this game till the next NFS comes out. Love it. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Absolutely superb game. i have played almost every racer out there and this one is right at the top. if you want proper good fun and a great sensation of fast driving and beautiful graphics YOU MUST GET THIS GAME!! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Very fun, love the handling. Some really cool levels like the avalanche and New York. I find sim racers boring and I think this racing style with appeal to more gamers. Don't knock it until you try it. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    First off, I'd like to say that Need for Speed is my second favorite game franchise out there (Next to GTA) and I have played every single game in the series. The Run looked promising, so when I gave it a try, I had some high expectations. While certainly not a perfect game, I did enjoy the entire concept, beautiful cutscenes, fast driving, amazing graphics, great tracks, and attempt at a story. The ending of the game opened up room for a sequel to The Run, and I can say that I am thourougly looking forward to it. As long as Black Box improves some areas like the story, more cutscenes, customization, some sort of weapon usage similar to Hot Pursuit in gameplay, and maybe even an open world, then we could have a real winner of an NFS game! Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    The driving part is fun if you like arcade style racing, but I find the reset mechanism annoying... The visuals and sounds are great. The landscapes are gorgeous and quite detailed.
    However, I don't like the out of car portions. It is just a complete waste of time. On the plus side the story is ok.
    In general I would have preferred if the race would have been one big race across the US from start to finish, but I guess this wouldn't fit on one DVD. Maybe we will see something like that in the future?
    Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2011
    6
    OMFG! This game is okay at best! The online play will probably suck. Just let me get these offline achievements, and I swear gamefly you can have this back! Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    3
    Such a super frustrating game. Let's start with the good : graphics and sound make it feel like a really intense and desperate drive across the country. But..... loading times are totally unacceptable - I would suggest having something nearby to keep you occupied while u stare at a loading screen every 30secs, this really disrupts the speed of the game. The pointless QuickTime sequences are just unneccessary and again disrupt the flow of the game. Sometimes I wonder whether they even test some games before launch because if u just stray off track into the dirt even a tiny bit, the game just frustrating warps you back to a checkpoint, and of course another loading screen. This game is enjoyable in parts, but I was expecting a fast and fluid drive across the continent, but the are just too many frustrating disruptions. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews