Need for Speed: The Run Xbox 360

Need for Speed: The Run Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passesNeed for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passes and navigate narrow canyons at breakneck speeds. Powered by DICE’s state-of-the-art Frostbite 2 engine, Need for Speed The Run takes the action racing genre to new heights with stunning visuals and car physics that hug the road even at top speeds all built around a gripping storyline. The cars are hot, the racing is intense and the story will have you at the edge of your seat… all the way from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Empire State building. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 65
  2. Negative: 2 out of 65
  1. Nov 30, 2011
    91
    If you focus on the pure details of the cars and racing itself, Need for Speed: The Run stands head and shoulders above past installments as well as other racing simulations.
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 28, 2011
    81
    The driving in this driving game is fast, sexy and frequently exciting. [Feb 2012, p.94]
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    It's possible Need for Speed The Run won't provide as many hours of entertainment as previous NFS games, but then it packs in unique events and some incredibly exciting chase sequences, meaning it packs a lot of entertainment-per-hour. It's not very forgiving of mistakes, but then it provides greater rewards as a result.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    70
    The game is way too short and there isn't enough to its narrative to get even close to being interested in playing it again. While there are some cool moments, I generally found myself getting too bored or frustrated with the races and the game's conclusion only made the story even more pointless.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    65
    All this awesome racing action gets somewhat lost amid the nonexistent story, the dumb/scripted AI, the lack of options, and the overall shortness of the game. The Run is not a marathon racing game, it's a quick and dirty drag race.
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Racing across the USA for a cash prize is a great concept, and perhaps there's a Jerry Bruckheimer and Michael Bay collaboration in there somewhere. Or possibly there's a sequel that can inject some variety and fun into proceedings, rather than a succession of thankless, exhausting rubber-band races against faceless opponents and stereotypical rivals. Need for Speed: The Run does generate some memorable highlights, but they're simply too few and far between.
  7. Nov 16, 2011
    40
    The game might look decent enough, but the overly scripted racing and under scripted plot fail to engage the player or give the feeling of a white knuckle battle to reach the finishing line. You end up barely caring about Jack's plight and when it comes to the gameplay... Lets just say if you're a fan of the franchise stick to Hot Pursuit, it's where Need For Speed shines - The Run on the other hand just crashes and burns. Repeatedly.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Best NFS ever with detailed world and things from Underground, cool music and atmosphere, also has good style-story on background.....................
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    From dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes theFrom dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes the whole world just stuningly beautiful and there is only so much that words can describe. Intense white knuckled racing is absolutely addicting. The autolog helps you compete with your friends and makes the game so much more competitive. Multiplayer is splendid and is even more enjoyable with friends as winning gives you much bragging rights. A huge variety of cars to choose, from vintage muscles to modern supercars. This game gives you that adrenaline feeling that few games on todays market offer. A must have for any racing fan, be it arcade or sim fan. This game is absolutely fun and I have no idea why IGN gave it such a crappy score. The only thing I agree with their review is that this game is slightly short but that may perhaps be that Im enjoying myself so much and finished the game too quickly which leaves me craving for me. This game is a masterpiece. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    What a great game, the graphics are amazing and besides the story line there are many auto challenges. The cars are great and the handling isWhat a great game, the graphics are amazing and besides the story line there are many auto challenges. The cars are great and the handling is very realistic. Best Need For Speed yet. The story had me on my seat and felt more realistic than any other racing game I have played. The intense action scenes make the story incredible. I will be playing this game till the next NFS comes out. Love it. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    I think the most important thing to know about this game is that it is short. I completed the game on easy in 4 hours. Had I paid $60 for thisI think the most important thing to know about this game is that it is short. I completed the game on easy in 4 hours. Had I paid $60 for this game, I would have probably hated this game. Since I got it for $20 and knew it was short, I found the campaign to be fun. The cars really give you a visceral experience as you race across the country. Definitely more of a rental, but I still had a lot of fun with it. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2015
    7
    Well the game plays like a movie. I like the action, the graphics and the music, but it only took me 2 and a half hours to finish it. Also theWell the game plays like a movie. I like the action, the graphics and the music, but it only took me 2 and a half hours to finish it. Also the QTE's are annoying. Sorry, but I'm going back to the NFS Underground era Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2014
    5
    The game feels too much like an action move. It is over scripted and gives you little freedom if any to make your own decisions. The racing isThe game feels too much like an action move. It is over scripted and gives you little freedom if any to make your own decisions. The racing is up to scratch as you would expect but the weight of the game's let downs overshadows any positive aspects. Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    3
    Such a super frustrating game. Let's start with the good : graphics and sound make it feel like a really intense and desperate drive acrossSuch a super frustrating game. Let's start with the good : graphics and sound make it feel like a really intense and desperate drive across the country. But..... loading times are totally unacceptable - I would suggest having something nearby to keep you occupied while u stare at a loading screen every 30secs, this really disrupts the speed of the game. The pointless QuickTime sequences are just unneccessary and again disrupt the flow of the game. Sometimes I wonder whether they even test some games before launch because if u just stray off track into the dirt even a tiny bit, the game just frustrating warps you back to a checkpoint, and of course another loading screen. This game is enjoyable in parts, but I was expecting a fast and fluid drive across the continent, but the are just too many frustrating disruptions. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews