User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 102
  2. Negative: 33 out of 102
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 22, 2008
    8
    Although it has bugs in psychics and control which makes the already unrealistic (cinematic) gameplay a bit further it is still an entertaining game. I've played all the NFS titles and (of course this isn't the best) I thought that a gamer who never played this franchise (or simply don't hate EA) can enjoy all the stuff in there and for him/her is much more than "60-70%" in Although it has bugs in psychics and control which makes the already unrealistic (cinematic) gameplay a bit further it is still an entertaining game. I've played all the NFS titles and (of course this isn't the best) I thought that a gamer who never played this franchise (or simply don't hate EA) can enjoy all the stuff in there and for him/her is much more than "60-70%" in score (and seeing the users' rating that's true). I really don't understand the majority of the reviews. If EA wouldn't be this strict in release dates thus letting the programmers correct bugs and fine-tune the game I would give it 9 points but this time let's say a strong 8. Expand
  2. Tim
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    I've been having fun playing it! I don't see why the reviewers have been so tough on NFS: Undercover. The core gameplay is fun, the world is huge, and visually it's solid. I haven't had any issues with framerate, at least nothing glaring. Sure, there isn't a lot of innovation here, and the story is cheesy, but I've been having a ton of fun with it. Overall,I've been having fun playing it! I don't see why the reviewers have been so tough on NFS: Undercover. The core gameplay is fun, the world is huge, and visually it's solid. I haven't had any issues with framerate, at least nothing glaring. Sure, there isn't a lot of innovation here, and the story is cheesy, but I've been having a ton of fun with it. Overall, I'm happy with my purchase. Expand
  3. Daz
    Dec 19, 2008
    9
    it's a LONG time since i've disagreed so strongly with the proffessional reviews, but i really do with this game. i think this is ace and am realy enjoying it. it has a gentle learning curve and exciting races. It does suffer from slowdown but i can put up with that for a game this enjoyable. the prof. reviews are wrong in my opinion.
  4. TANK
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    Maybe its because I am new to the xbox360 but, I loved this game. I haven't played many other need for speed games so I was not comparing it to anything else. The game is fun, exhilarating and made me keep coming back for more (until I completed the game). I got a real kick out of the one on one battles. The camera put itself on the lower bonnet, while speeding in and out of cars. Maybe its because I am new to the xbox360 but, I loved this game. I haven't played many other need for speed games so I was not comparing it to anything else. The game is fun, exhilarating and made me keep coming back for more (until I completed the game). I got a real kick out of the one on one battles. The camera put itself on the lower bonnet, while speeding in and out of cars. Fun stuff all the way. There was probably a few dropped frames along the way but I think the gameplay overshadowed any of that! Expand
  5. JohnWiseman
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    The driving physics are actually very good once you learn how to use its full potential. The new highway races offer a great sense of speed and fun by weaving through traffic. If you loved NFS: Most Wanted, then you will definately enjoy Undercover. Don't listen to the harsh reviews - this game is definately worth playing for fans before ProStreet.
  6. JimRandal
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Honestly, I don't know what the people doing the reviews are looking at. I have been a fan of the series since the old days and this NFS is a definite improvement. Having scores come in below 50 for an NFS title is just plain politics and this type of stuff just kills the video game culture. Rate the game for what it is and in saying that, i give this NFS a 9.
  7. Andyman
    Nov 22, 2008
    8
    Let's see... reviewers criticized Carbon and ProStreet for NOT being like Most Wanted... so EA makes a sequel that's similar to Most Wanted, but superior in virtually every way, and those same reviewers criticize Undercover for... you guessed it, being LIKE Most Wanted... WTF? The game isn't perfect, but it is FUN, period. I'll put one of these so-called "professional"Let's see... reviewers criticized Carbon and ProStreet for NOT being like Most Wanted... so EA makes a sequel that's similar to Most Wanted, but superior in virtually every way, and those same reviewers criticize Undercover for... you guessed it, being LIKE Most Wanted... WTF? The game isn't perfect, but it is FUN, period. I'll put one of these so-called "professional" review sites in perspective... IGN gave the God-awful Summer Athletics a 5.2, and NFS:U a 5.0... lay off the pharmaceuticals, guys. Expand
  8. Tabitha
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    Greatest in the NFS series behind Most Wanted (Most Wanted was my favorite!!). I was worried about buying another NFS because Carbon wasn't that great and Pro Street was the worst yet (glad I rented that one) but Undercover delivered a satisfying product. Fun to play and the cops are much harder to evade most the time than in Most Wanted in my opinion. Some quirky frame rate bugs but Greatest in the NFS series behind Most Wanted (Most Wanted was my favorite!!). I was worried about buying another NFS because Carbon wasn't that great and Pro Street was the worst yet (glad I rented that one) but Undercover delivered a satisfying product. Fun to play and the cops are much harder to evade most the time than in Most Wanted in my opinion. Some quirky frame rate bugs but I can look past them. Hopefully if there is any future NFS installments they will just get better from here. Keep up the good work EA. Expand
  9. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    What is it with reviewers lately?If a game comes out and it's easy on default difficulty then it gets bashed with a bad review.Like devil may cry 2 was awesome game but because it was easy it got bad reviews from everybody but play magazine.Then devil may cry 3 comes out and it's way to hard so they have to literally make another version of the game,devil may cry 3 special edition.Give meWhat is it with reviewers lately?If a game comes out and it's easy on default difficulty then it gets bashed with a bad review.Like devil may cry 2 was awesome game but because it was easy it got bad reviews from everybody but play magazine.Then devil may cry 3 comes out and it's way to hard so they have to literally make another version of the game,devil may cry 3 special edition.Give me a break,this game is amazing for 2008 and if you don't like it to be easy then put it on hard or don't play it.They set this game like a movie and I really love everything about this game except it's not as smooth to play as other driving games but I'll tell you one thing,Midnight club Los Angeles is a better game but it is WAY too hard and you can't bump down the difficulty.Great game EA!9 Expand
  10. AnonymousMC
    Nov 26, 2008
    9
    I agree with Anonymous's comment. I have never played the nfs franchise, and I just picked it up. I really enjoy playing it even moreso than Burnout (longer consecutive time driving rather than having my momentum broken by crashing the car). It's biggest flaw are its occasional drop in framerate. It has happened twice (when my car went through fences) that it was jarringI agree with Anonymous's comment. I have never played the nfs franchise, and I just picked it up. I really enjoy playing it even moreso than Burnout (longer consecutive time driving rather than having my momentum broken by crashing the car). It's biggest flaw are its occasional drop in framerate. It has happened twice (when my car went through fences) that it was jarring enough to temporarily make me lose my concentration, but I won anyhow, so that's ok :) What I like about this game is that it's quick and seamless to jump from one race to another. And if I finish a race but still don't win it, it's not all lost. I have accumulated $ from just driving around. I never feel like I'm wasting time. I enjoy playing the game, but I've never played a nfs game before (wait...I think I did...on PC, but that was so long ago). Collapse
  11. AnonymousMC
    Nov 28, 2008
    8
    Anyone who rated this poorly didn't play through far enough to get their brain around the terribly corny cut scenes, poor design choicfes and slew of visual bugs. I have no idea what's going on in the story of this game and why I get speeding tickets during races that deduct $250 from my totaly every 10 seconds. However, the race tracks are cleverly set up to make even theAnyone who rated this poorly didn't play through far enough to get their brain around the terribly corny cut scenes, poor design choicfes and slew of visual bugs. I have no idea what's going on in the story of this game and why I get speeding tickets during races that deduct $250 from my totaly every 10 seconds. However, the race tracks are cleverly set up to make even the slowest AI seem competetive. NFS has ALWAYS had huge problems with making their Race AI competetive. Undercover is NFS in it's greatest form. Yes there are MANY visual issues and the frame rate oftens gets sluggish. I admit that the team could have spent more time on polish but gameplay wise I've NEVER seen NFS stronger. forget what you hear from reviewers about this game being a bad match between Carbon and MW... It's like a patchwork quilt of every existing NFS to date... A homage to... Themselves. But it feels good.
    This is the first time ever in NFS that after an opponent knocks you off the road you can get right back up, chase him down and do the same.
    Expand
  12. AnonymousMC
    Nov 30, 2008
    8
    Even with its glitches, graphicaly, cinimatically, and in other ways, i found this game very entertaining. Even with these flaws, which occasionally provide chuckle, this game has an interesting storyline. I think that EA is doing a good job working with what they have got. It is a street racing game. They all have the same basic idea, and this turned it upside down (kindof). one quality iEven with its glitches, graphicaly, cinimatically, and in other ways, i found this game very entertaining. Even with these flaws, which occasionally provide chuckle, this game has an interesting storyline. I think that EA is doing a good job working with what they have got. It is a street racing game. They all have the same basic idea, and this turned it upside down (kindof). one quality i will give to EA is the expansive highway system. I really enjoyed cruising while being persued by the 911 GT2 cops. Also I amtired of critics saying that it is EA's fault. If you lok closely, the game was created byBlack Box and marketed by EA. the strict deadline may be EA's fault, but i think they deserve another chance. as far as the entire series goes, I still think that NFS most wanted holds the crown hands down. even though it is an old game, i sometimes find myself burning up camden for hours on end. Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 62
  2. Negative: 8 out of 62
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    75
    A good time can be had, but only if you're patient...and a really big fan of Most Wanted. [Holiday 2008, p.68]
  2. NFS of old was about hot cars, hot pursuits and miles and miles of open road, and Undercover make a semi-successful fist of recapturing some of this magic. Looks great, plays fine. There’s no getting around the fact, however, that Undercover is basically Most Wanted with a new lick of paint. Can somebody please green-light Hot Pursuit 3? Surely the open-world horse has been well-and-truly flogged?
  3. 50
    It's clear that the Need For Speed series is in need of a GPS unit so it can get back on track.