NeverDead Xbox 360

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 46
  2. Negative: 20 out of 46
Buy On
  1. 72
    This nutty shooter offers some zany and creative gameplay-mechanics and a refreshing old-school experience. Unfortunatley our enjoyment was held back by camera issues and a frustrating lack of variety. In the end the game feels more like a grind than an epic adventure.
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    70
    NeverDead's heart is in the right place: committed to entertaining you, no matter the cost - even if it means losing your head a few too many times along the way. [March 2012, p.120]
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    70
    An unusually innovative combat system that, although lacking the game structure to properly exploit it, still offers some enjoyably bizarre entertainment.
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    70
    A decent action-game that resembles Devil May Cry's gameplay in many ways, with less style and a single, interesting new idea that Rebellion, unfortunately, didn't develop as it deserved.
  5. Jan 30, 2012
    70
    It's not dead on arrival, but it never reaches its true potential. It's not enough to stand out, but Neverdead will satisfy those willing to try something different.
  6. CD-Action
    Feb 13, 2012
    65
    The problem with NeverDead is that while its Japanese design (the characters, the story) is really good, the game mechanics implemented by the British team are not. [March 2012, p.58]
  7. Feb 10, 2012
    65
    NeverDead is a unique game that is marred mostly by its poor design choices. Still, I found myself really enjoying the ridiculous premise and limb severing game play.
  8. Jan 30, 2012
    63
    Fun though it is, NeverDead is several good ideas short of fulfilling its conceptual promise.
  9. Feb 1, 2012
    61
    We wanted NeverDead to be a good game, because it was trying to achieve something different. But the game is frustrating and sometimes even boring.
  10. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    Neverdead isn't a great game, and that's disappointing. It doesn't take much time with the game to figure out what does and doesn't work, and that makes it all the more baffling that it's not better than it is. The idea of severing limbs and tossing them about and never actually dying is great, but the combat and physics that surround it are downright bad. Neverdead is certainly worth a rental, as you might be able to stomach its shortcomings better than I did. This is a title that you'd play on a rainy day when you have nothing else to do; it's certainly not a game that you must play immediately.
  11. Feb 16, 2012
    60
    NeverDead does try something new and original, but its mechanics are unpolished and poorly implemented.
  12. Feb 2, 2012
    60
    The tale of the immortal demon hunter is far from fresh and presented mostly uninspired, but the dismemberment concept works remarkably well, although it just scratches on the surface of its potential - a problem shared by almost every aspect of the game. And how Rebellion managed to mess up the shooting mechanics is beyond me.
  13. Feb 1, 2012
    60
    NeverDead had a good chance to bring something new in the videogame market but it failed due to an awkward development. Rest in peace Bryce.
  14. 60
    If I'm being brutally honest, aside from the dismemberment and decapitation mechanics, NeverDead is a goulash of sterile platitudes and worn-out stereotypes. It's great for a few chuckles right out of the box, but once you've been playing for a while, the game's shortcomings start to pile up pretty quickly. Perhaps my disappointment was magnified because the game had so much potential, but ended up being the same game we all played numerous times ten years ago.
  15. Jan 31, 2012
    60
    NeverDead's immortality mechanic is certainly intriguing, as are its destructible environments. You may even develop an attachment to Bryce by the end of his quest. If the combat was more involving, and the destruction more deliberate, the developers at Rebellion might have been on to something. For now, in trying to tread new ground, NeverDead's greatest success is in finding the middle.
  16. Jan 31, 2012
    60
    Enjoyable highs interspersed with crushing lows make NeverDead as inventive as it is frustrating.
  17. Jan 31, 2012
    60
    Neverdead is a classic example of an interesting premise falling flat on execution. A brilliant exercise in game physics and boss battles, this game is weighed down mostly by the mundane combat across nearly a dozen dull and uninspired levels.
  18. Jan 31, 2012
    60
    NeverDead is a prime example of a game that conjures an excellent premise, but then destroys it with poor design choices. We don't play games to be exhausted, we play them to have fun, and there are just too many moments in this game that feel like a chore.
  19. Jan 31, 2012
    60
    NeverDead feels like gaming's equivalent of Buckaroo Banzai, or Phantom of the Paradise, or any one of those weird B-movies you used to find lurking in the midnight spaces of an old video store and which you often loved for their unlikely concepts or their wilful obscurity more than their actual quality. NeverDead hasn't been given room to get the most out of its strange ideas, but it's still plucky, warm-hearted and genuinely idiosyncratic.
  20. Feb 10, 2012
    58
    It is still the best effort Rebellion has put forth in quite some time, it just ends up that their aim was just a little off to really hit the mark this time. It is worth a romp through though and I highly enjoyed the antics, ideas, game play, and overall look and feel of the game, it just really falls short in heart and story.
  21. Feb 1, 2012
    55
    Neverdead has a lot of good ideas, unfortunately they are doomed by a completely broken camera and a caotic and repetitive action. The dismemberment also is a non feature and it's broken too, adds nothing to the 3rd person shooting mechanic.
  22. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 10, 2012
    50
    A great concept with potential, torn to pieces by bland shooting, horrid dialogue and frustrating design. Swordplay can be fun but there's little else to enjoy. [Issue#82, p.88]
  23. Feb 5, 2012
    50
    A boring, repetitive and uninspired action shooter that is saved only by some of the very interesting ideas Rebellion has implemented.
  24. Jan 31, 2012
    50
    This is a genre that is hardly lacking for content. Unless you're a true hack 'n' slash nut, I recommend you look elsewhere.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 9 out of 22
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    7
    It's both good and bad. Sure the characters are a little under-developed but the concept here is different and unique. Tactics and most of theIt's both good and bad. Sure the characters are a little under-developed but the concept here is different and unique. Tactics and most of the enemies will repeat over and over again but I'm still enjoying it after all. IGN was a little harsh on it giving it a 3 (awful), but in my opinion this is still a game that should be at least be looked at. Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    I honestly loved this game the style of it was great the body being blown around. It took me as surprise as I thought its never dying aspect II honestly loved this game the style of it was great the body being blown around. It took me as surprise as I thought its never dying aspect I thought it was a bit sketchy, but It was well worth it. Full Review »
  3. Feb 5, 2012
    4
    I think I have to differ with my fellow user reviewers. NeverDead follows the same cycle of developers creating a great idea, but in the endI think I have to differ with my fellow user reviewers. NeverDead follows the same cycle of developers creating a great idea, but in the end the opportunities for a great game are squandered thanks to poor dialouge from the characters, poor design decisions, and poor characters in general. In my opinion it's just another good idea gone bad. Full Review »