NeverDead Xbox 360

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 46
  2. Negative: 20 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Feb 19, 2012
    47
    Don't expect to be playing NeverDead very long unless you can forgive the games technical issues and ho-hum gameplay the campaign will last anywhere around the six to eight hour mark.
  2. Feb 2, 2012
    40
    No amount of perfunctory challenge maps can make up for a game design so functionally lazy, so utterly indifferent to your enjoyment, that it can't even be bothered to make its lone gimmick work even slightly well within its hacked-together world. If the developers in charge of NeverDead didn't care enough to make it a remotely enjoyable experience, why should you care enough to bother with it?
  3. Jan 30, 2012
    63
    Fun though it is, NeverDead is several good ideas short of fulfilling its conceptual promise.
  4. Mar 1, 2012
    45
    We give developer Rebellion a pat on the back for trying something original in the shooter genre, but it simply doesn't work that well. The story is dumb and so is main character Bryce. The gameplay is incredibly repetitive and gets really frustrating, really fast.
  5. Feb 22, 2012
    70
    NeverDead's heart is in the right place: committed to entertaining you, no matter the cost - even if it means losing your head a few too many times along the way. [March 2012, p.120]
  6. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    Neverdead isn't a great game, and that's disappointing. It doesn't take much time with the game to figure out what does and doesn't work, and that makes it all the more baffling that it's not better than it is. The idea of severing limbs and tossing them about and never actually dying is great, but the combat and physics that surround it are downright bad. Neverdead is certainly worth a rental, as you might be able to stomach its shortcomings better than I did. This is a title that you'd play on a rainy day when you have nothing else to do; it's certainly not a game that you must play immediately.
  7. Feb 17, 2012
    20
    NeverDead is garbage, and there is no good reason to ever play it.
  8. Feb 16, 2012
    37
    NeverDead had some interesting ideas, but they play out badly here, between the loose, flawed gameplay and the problematic presentation, not to mention the lack of any significant replay value, despite a few decent game moments and the presence of co-op.
  9. Feb 16, 2012
    60
    NeverDead does try something new and original, but its mechanics are unpolished and poorly implemented.
  10. Feb 16, 2012
    45
    Ultimately NeverDead is a failed opportunity to do something special. Too many bad design choices hold back the overall experience. Repetitive gameplay, constantly having to recover your limbs, useless supporting characters, poor controls, the list goes on. The real curse for the main character isn't immortality, but forever being a part of this game.
  11. Feb 12, 2012
    40
    NeverDead could have been something interesting. Instead it squanders this with poor design and a story that is hard to care about. If the designers had worked on the combat, or some of the potential that could have been explored with the dismemberment, it could have been a sleeper hit. Instead it is a game that will hopefully be ignored and quickly forgotten, as there is very little here to recommend about it.
  12. Feb 10, 2012
    40
    Konami, I know you've been making games for years. We all really enjoyed the arcade games you've graced us with through the decades. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles will live in our hearts forever. You had X-Men, Dance Dance Revolution, ESPN NFL Primetime, and of course your golden egg, the Metal Gear Solid series. But please, can we say NeverDead never happened, never alive? Chalk this one up, call it a tax write-off, and get back on the horse of awesomeness.
  13. Feb 10, 2012
    65
    NeverDead is a unique game that is marred mostly by its poor design choices. Still, I found myself really enjoying the ridiculous premise and limb severing game play.
  14. Feb 8, 2012
    20
    There are bad games that failed due to poor budget, ill-conceived mechanics, or a simple lack of skill, and then there are bad games like NeverDead -- that could have been good if the developers hadn't cut corners, used its innovations as excuses to get away with incompetence, and absolutely, positively, failed to give a single solitary shit about the people unlucky enough to be playing. For games like that, there is not an adequate word in the English language to vocalize my disgust.
  15. Feb 6, 2012
    40
    We'd hoped a NeverDead that would have brought some punk and goofy spirit to generally too serious TPS games. In the end, Konami's title doesn't lack new ideas, but they are so poorly used that we'd rather stay dead.
  16. Feb 5, 2012
    50
    A boring, repetitive and uninspired action shooter that is saved only by some of the very interesting ideas Rebellion has implemented.
  17. Feb 3, 2012
    30
    The story is just supposed to string together the action sequences, which is where the strength of the game is supposed to shine. Unfortunately for NeverDead, it seems to have forgotten that essential element.
  18. Feb 2, 2012
    40
    Aside from the premise and dialogue, NeverDead does little else right. The controls feel underdone and glitchy, the graphics are lackluster, and the combat and level design for most of the game are just underwhelming.
  19. Feb 2, 2012
    43
    Like flowers in a trash dump, the fragrance of NeverDead's high points is overpowered by the tons of garbage surrounding them. Even the most worthwhile moments are awkwardly handled, and there's nothing fun or helpful about having your body torn apart over and over again.
  20. Feb 2, 2012
    60
    The tale of the immortal demon hunter is far from fresh and presented mostly uninspired, but the dismemberment concept works remarkably well, although it just scratches on the surface of its potential - a problem shared by almost every aspect of the game. And how Rebellion managed to mess up the shooting mechanics is beyond me.
  21. Feb 2, 2012
    40
    The animation is clunky and below par, but the art direction is quite good, in a lowbrow, pulp comic book kind of a way. The script is trite, and music and voice acting both well below par, but you still couldn't accuse it of being a technical shambles. Design wise, though, it's formulaic, tedious and messy.
  22. 72
    This nutty shooter offers some zany and creative gameplay-mechanics and a refreshing old-school experience. Unfortunatley our enjoyment was held back by camera issues and a frustrating lack of variety. In the end the game feels more like a grind than an epic adventure.
  23. Feb 1, 2012
    60
    NeverDead had a good chance to bring something new in the videogame market but it failed due to an awkward development. Rest in peace Bryce.
  24. Feb 1, 2012
    55
    Neverdead has a lot of good ideas, unfortunately they are doomed by a completely broken camera and a caotic and repetitive action. The dismemberment also is a non feature and it's broken too, adds nothing to the 3rd person shooting mechanic.
  25. Feb 1, 2012
    61
    We wanted NeverDead to be a good game, because it was trying to achieve something different. But the game is frustrating and sometimes even boring.
  26. 60
    If I'm being brutally honest, aside from the dismemberment and decapitation mechanics, NeverDead is a goulash of sterile platitudes and worn-out stereotypes. It's great for a few chuckles right out of the box, but once you've been playing for a while, the game's shortcomings start to pile up pretty quickly. Perhaps my disappointment was magnified because the game had so much potential, but ended up being the same game we all played numerous times ten years ago.
  27. 45
    A unique concept let down by clunky controls, repetition and cringy script-writing.
  28. Jan 31, 2012
    16
    NeverDead is a game, and it can be completed. In my opinion, those are the two truths that cushion the space between a D- and an F. Remove those two facts, and you're left with an amateur effort that redefines the boundary between bad game and flat-out punishment.
  29. Jan 31, 2012
    60
    NeverDead's immortality mechanic is certainly intriguing, as are its destructible environments. You may even develop an attachment to Bryce by the end of his quest. If the combat was more involving, and the destruction more deliberate, the developers at Rebellion might have been on to something. For now, in trying to tread new ground, NeverDead's greatest success is in finding the middle.
  30. Jan 31, 2012
    60
    Enjoyable highs interspersed with crushing lows make NeverDead as inventive as it is frustrating.
  31. Jan 31, 2012
    60
    Neverdead is a classic example of an interesting premise falling flat on execution. A brilliant exercise in game physics and boss battles, this game is weighed down mostly by the mundane combat across nearly a dozen dull and uninspired levels.
  32. Jan 31, 2012
    30
    NeverDead sways between boring, frustrating and painful.
  33. Jan 31, 2012
    40
    This lack of polish wouldn't be nearly as frustrating if not for the fact that the game's primary feature – the dismemberment of the main characters – makes the game less fun than it would have been as just a plain old third-person action game. Sure, it's a unique idea – but not every idea is worth pursuing. In the case of NeverDead, this concept should have been left on the cutting room floor. You could say the same about the game itself.
  34. Jan 31, 2012
    70
    An unusually innovative combat system that, although lacking the game structure to properly exploit it, still offers some enjoyably bizarre entertainment.
  35. 40
    This should have been better. Rebellion has done likeable banter in Rogue Trooper, Shinta Nojiri has made better stories, and they've all cracked jokes that don't fall this flat. But NeverDead honestly feels like a game whose creators gave up on it half-way through. It's a tragedy that it fails on so many levels.
  36. Jan 31, 2012
    60
    NeverDead is a prime example of a game that conjures an excellent premise, but then destroys it with poor design choices. We don't play games to be exhausted, we play them to have fun, and there are just too many moments in this game that feel like a chore.
  37. Jan 31, 2012
    50
    This is a genre that is hardly lacking for content. Unless you're a true hack 'n' slash nut, I recommend you look elsewhere.
  38. Jan 31, 2012
    60
    NeverDead feels like gaming's equivalent of Buckaroo Banzai, or Phantom of the Paradise, or any one of those weird B-movies you used to find lurking in the midnight spaces of an old video store and which you often loved for their unlikely concepts or their wilful obscurity more than their actual quality. NeverDead hasn't been given room to get the most out of its strange ideas, but it's still plucky, warm-hearted and genuinely idiosyncratic.
  39. 75
    Even if NeverDead isn't quite the quirky prize it might have been, it's certainly an idiosyncratic (and often one-legged) dance through entertainingly outlandish territory.
  40. Jan 31, 2012
    80
    NeverDead is a cool and solid hack'n'slay like the good old Devil May Cry games. The crazy setting and the immortal hero will not appeal to every player, but I like the new and fresh gameplay mechanics.
  41. Jan 30, 2012
    70
    A decent action-game that resembles Devil May Cry's gameplay in many ways, with less style and a single, interesting new idea that Rebellion, unfortunately, didn't develop as it deserved.
  42. Jan 30, 2012
    70
    It's not dead on arrival, but it never reaches its true potential. It's not enough to stand out, but Neverdead will satisfy those willing to try something different.
  43. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 10, 2012
    50
    A great concept with potential, torn to pieces by bland shooting, horrid dialogue and frustrating design. Swordplay can be fun but there's little else to enjoy. [Issue#82, p.88]
  44. Feb 19, 2012
    47
    Neverdead tries to mix shooters and action games but it fails, merging common defects from both genres and without adding nothing good.
  45. CD-Action
    Feb 13, 2012
    65
    The problem with NeverDead is that while its Japanese design (the characters, the story) is really good, the game mechanics implemented by the British team are not. [March 2012, p.58]
  46. Feb 10, 2012
    58
    It is still the best effort Rebellion has put forth in quite some time, it just ends up that their aim was just a little off to really hit the mark this time. It is worth a romp through though and I highly enjoyed the antics, ideas, game play, and overall look and feel of the game, it just really falls short in heart and story.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 10 out of 23
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    7
    It's both good and bad. Sure the characters are a little under-developed but the concept here is different and unique. Tactics and most of theIt's both good and bad. Sure the characters are a little under-developed but the concept here is different and unique. Tactics and most of the enemies will repeat over and over again but I'm still enjoying it after all. IGN was a little harsh on it giving it a 3 (awful), but in my opinion this is still a game that should be at least be looked at. Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    I honestly loved this game the style of it was great the body being blown around. It took me as surprise as I thought its never dying aspect II honestly loved this game the style of it was great the body being blown around. It took me as surprise as I thought its never dying aspect I thought it was a bit sketchy, but It was well worth it. Full Review »
  3. Feb 5, 2012
    4
    I think I have to differ with my fellow user reviewers. NeverDead follows the same cycle of developers creating a great idea, but in the endI think I have to differ with my fellow user reviewers. NeverDead follows the same cycle of developers creating a great idea, but in the end the opportunities for a great game are squandered thanks to poor dialouge from the characters, poor design decisions, and poor characters in general. In my opinion it's just another good idea gone bad. Full Review »