• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 29, 2012
  • Also On: PC, PC
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. 40
    Nothing we haven't seen before. [June 2012, p.101]
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    40
    This is an old-fashioned and totally uninspired online arena shooter that one can hardly recommend – and not only because you will have problems to find someone on the deserted servers.
  3. 40
    An unbearably bland arena-based shooter that only manages to make the Quake-style action seem more old-fashioned and irrelevant than ever.
  4. Mar 1, 2012
    40
    It just feels generic. It feels like they took what the original developers made and added a shiny gloss to it, ignoring what made it special to the time period it originally existed in. There's nothing that feels special about Nexiuz, neither changes that make it feel comfortable on its new home, nor any additional features to warrant a special purchase.
  5. Feb 28, 2012
    40
    Take out the Mutators and you have one of the most generic-looking FPS games ever designed. I get nauseated looking at the uninspired player models and wimpy guns, yet the game seems aware of where it came from. Like the original 2005 Nexuiz, this is a game made by a community. It's just that it's an enclosed community of people who seem to misunderstand what made the classics so good.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    When I first saw this game's trailer, I shook my head in disbelief. How could a game change so much from its original form in just only around 6 years? In case you don't know, Nexuiz was an old Quake 2 mod from 2005. It was a fun Multiplayer arena FPS, and better yet, it was FREE. The game finally comes back after 7 years in 2012 under the same title, Nexuiz. Now just because it has changed so much from its original form, doesn't mean it is a bad game. Its a fun game and great for people who like to play the classic, fast-paced, arena shooters we all know and love, e.g. Quake 3 or Unreal Tournament. The game looks absolutely beautiful for a console game and runs at an amazing 60 fps. Tight controls, fun gameplay, and endless replayability, this game is great for old and new fans alike. However, Many can agree that PC is made for these types of fast-paced shooters, as on console you aim sort of on a grid, making it slower to aim around you and slower to react to being shot. This can ruin it at sometimes, but mostly, you will be OK when it comes to the console shooter. Another complaint I have is that there is a very limited number of maps, only 9 available at launch. Obviously this can be fixed through DLC packages and what-not, but its no excuse for the amount at launch. This is a very fun arena shooter, a good game for those who are looking for a new console "old-school" style, Fast-paced FPS. Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2012
    5
    I really wanted this game to shine since I played the quake mod and the free release on mac and I had a good time playing it. This new version looked pretty good however it has an extremely big problem, the fan base the mod gained on PC and Mac will be unlikely to buy it on console, really few people who had the previous version will buy this one. Then comes the presentation, the menus are quite ugly and you could see not much thought was put on them. Graphic-wise this game looks pretty good since it was made with an engine we know we can trust however there are a few textures that pop and some details that could have been improved but its ok for me. Now the gameplay. Its fun to have a quick-paced arena shooter but it still has its shortcomings, there are no single player modes apart from bot practice which disappointed me a lot when my gold membership expired. After the struggle of finding a match it becomes fun and refreshing. Another problem I had was the characters, in both teams the characters looked pretty much the same, there was almost nothing that varied in character design. Overall this game manages to have fun gameplay but too many downsides for me to be able to recommend it, download the demo since its always ok to try but remember there are downsides and in a month or two really few people will be playing this. Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    No players online. Bot's are OK, but don't really use powerups effectively. Good and cheap if you and a friend feel a need for some old school action online 1 on 1, but for more than that, look elsewhere Full Review »