User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 166
  2. Negative: 74 out of 166

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Kevin
    Oct 9, 2006
    7
    With all the hype around NHL 07 for the XBOX 360, I would have expected more from this game. That said, this game is still very good, but there are a few annoying parts about this game. The Franchise has gotten abit better, but there is still some grips about it. The fact that some of your free agents are re-signed even if you don't want them, and also some problems with confidence With all the hype around NHL 07 for the XBOX 360, I would have expected more from this game. That said, this game is still very good, but there are a few annoying parts about this game. The Franchise has gotten abit better, but there is still some grips about it. The fact that some of your free agents are re-signed even if you don't want them, and also some problems with confidence levels. The gameplay does have it's beefs, like how a defender responds to a deke, and so fourth. Bill Clement, it's obvious he didn't do much recording in the studios. This game is about a 7, and I haven't played 2k7, so I can't really say much about kush's product compared to EA. Expand
  2. lonP.
    Sep 15, 2006
    5
    Game play seems artificial compared to 2k. Still a very raw game. Wait until next year's effort to try this one.
  3. JerryP.
    Jan 29, 2007
    5
    I'm afraid I have to agree with John G. The graphics and Skill Stick are awesome but the rest of the game play is ridiculous! Getting the puck from the CPU is almost impossible without knocking him off the puck but the CPU can grab it from you just by being close! Except for breakout passes, every other pass you try to make RARELY goes where you want it, especially int he offensive I'm afraid I have to agree with John G. The graphics and Skill Stick are awesome but the rest of the game play is ridiculous! Getting the puck from the CPU is almost impossible without knocking him off the puck but the CPU can grab it from you just by being close! Except for breakout passes, every other pass you try to make RARELY goes where you want it, especially int he offensive zone! Cheap goals happen way too often. Your teammates play like minor leaguers so unless you can skate through everyone, and Im sure there's people who can, its just not all that rewarding. I didn't give it a 2 because there are lots of things I like but theres no way I can honestly give it a 9 because it DOESN'T play like a real hockey game, no matter what the other guys are saying! Expand
  4. JugsterJ.
    Sep 23, 2006
    6
    Camera angle too far away, so you cant really see any graphichs, not a nex-gen feel (SURPRISE), graphics are okay anyway. Controls not a big deal. Basically same disappointment nothing new. Game should be prices at $20.00. Good thing I rented it online because I sent it back right away. BET the PS3 versions of all EA sports will be different (remember madden has no camera ANGLE, just find Camera angle too far away, so you cant really see any graphichs, not a nex-gen feel (SURPRISE), graphics are okay anyway. Controls not a big deal. Basically same disappointment nothing new. Game should be prices at $20.00. Good thing I rented it online because I sent it back right away. BET the PS3 versions of all EA sports will be different (remember madden has no camera ANGLE, just find that hard to believe a big game as MADDEN with no camera angle option). YOU CAN TURST MY REVIEW AND SAVE YOUR MONEY. Expand
  5. JackJ.
    Sep 18, 2006
    6
    After playing both hockey games quite a bit, this one falls short. It does initially wow you with the new controls, and mabye casual hockey fans will find some value in it. The AI and the controls (especially on defence) are far more detailed, deep, and realistic in 2k7. While 2k7 isn't a huge improvement over 2k6, it is still superior to EA's offering. For casual fans, you After playing both hockey games quite a bit, this one falls short. It does initially wow you with the new controls, and mabye casual hockey fans will find some value in it. The AI and the controls (especially on defence) are far more detailed, deep, and realistic in 2k7. While 2k7 isn't a huge improvement over 2k6, it is still superior to EA's offering. For casual fans, you might not notice the difference, or care. But although EA has made big strides with this game, they still have a ways to go in the realism department. Expand
  6. JonC.
    Sep 27, 2006
    5
    I sure do hope the EA sport curse dosnt carry to ovechkin. This game sux, go play the 2k series.
  7. MartinM.
    Mar 21, 2007
    5
    I've been playing this series since the beginning, and I've always loved it, even though it's never been close to perfect. But the thing that really bugs me (pun intended) in this edition is all the freaking bugs, not only in the gameplay, but in the stats section.. WTF? Home regulation losses register as overtime losses!? I can lose every home game, and still be .500 in I've been playing this series since the beginning, and I've always loved it, even though it's never been close to perfect. But the thing that really bugs me (pun intended) in this edition is all the freaking bugs, not only in the gameplay, but in the stats section.. WTF? Home regulation losses register as overtime losses!? I can lose every home game, and still be .500 in points.. sick, the team standings section is useless (when you try to sort by points, it sorts by winning percentage instead and so forth). In the gameplay: 10 pucks over the boards in a row of the face off? Goalies from the short buss? And the line chemistry ting. I'm using the Wings. Holmstrøm, Zetteberg, Datsyuk.. pretty good line this year no? Not according to this game, in fact, they're not compatible at all... EA this is sloppy, sloppy, sloppy. Expand
  8. BradH.
    Aug 15, 2007
    6
    The graphics and look of the game are good, the game just feels kind of cheesy or cheap... Too many weird things happen, I've played hockey since i was 4, and i know it cant be perfect... but there are weak goals that the goalies score on themselves... the line rating system is weird... players have to do big circles to get back in to the play on defense.. its hard to hit people... The graphics and look of the game are good, the game just feels kind of cheesy or cheap... Too many weird things happen, I've played hockey since i was 4, and i know it cant be perfect... but there are weak goals that the goalies score on themselves... the line rating system is weird... players have to do big circles to get back in to the play on defense.. its hard to hit people... there are only a few moves you can do.. its got potential but right now i dont understand a lot of the stuff that happens in this game. Expand
  9. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    Since this game obviously is horrible compared to the newer games, I will review this for the time it came out. It was a fun game and I found myself playing it a lot. It was a turning point for the better games, and it doesn't really offer a lot. It's O.K. but far from great.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 90
    The Skills Stick alone make NHL 07 a completely different game and one worthy of the new NHL. [Oct. 2006, p.96]
  2. 87
    A great hockey game, pure and simple...NHL 07 represents the first truly next-generation gameplay innovation.
  3. The bar has been raised. Stellar graphics and a great new stick/shooting system are the hallmarks of this title. While perhaps a little light, yet, on the multiplayer aspects, the game does have a solid franchise mode and is just pure fun to play.