User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 166
  2. Negative: 74 out of 166

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ReelWorld
    Sep 15, 2006
    9
    Graphically stunning. The new control scheme certainly adds challenge to the game from the get-go and does require a learning curve. Goalie animations are much improved and the cheap goals are a thing of the past mostly. Replay value is right up there and this could quite honestly be the best sports game that EA has released to date!
  2. boxboxer
    Sep 16, 2006
    8
    Once you learn the controls this will be the best of the 2 this year, I gave it an 8 only because the ice could still use some work.
  3. RobN.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Truely the best EA game I've ever owned. A remarkable achievment
  4. SeanE.
    Feb 18, 2007
    4
    I preferred the game when you could actually skate with the puck, u cant skate more then 10m without getting poked or someone stumbling into you and you losing it, also when i am on the attack i can never land a pass, the ai on your team is horrible, so many times i have tried to set up a one timer to realize that the other player went behind the net, NHL07 for regular xbox is way better I preferred the game when you could actually skate with the puck, u cant skate more then 10m without getting poked or someone stumbling into you and you losing it, also when i am on the attack i can never land a pass, the ai on your team is horrible, so many times i have tried to set up a one timer to realize that the other player went behind the net, NHL07 for regular xbox is way better then NHL07 for the 360. Expand
  5. ChristopherS.
    Aug 9, 2007
    9
    Best-Hockey-Game-Ever. Anyone who rates this below an 8 is nuts and likely hasn't got past the game's learning curve. There are some small glitches, and that is the only reason it's not a 10.
  6. DanielT.
    Dec 15, 2006
    2
    Introducing a new controller setup without a practice mode is insane - and looks meh.
  7. Adam
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    I haven't had this much fun playing a sports game in a long time. Yah, there should have been a more next-gen checking system and few more online/offline options. All and all though what it comes down to is playing hockey and this game does on the ice what every hocky game should do from now on. and that is...letting us control the stick. Thanks EA.
  8. Kevin
    Oct 9, 2006
    7
    With all the hype around NHL 07 for the XBOX 360, I would have expected more from this game. That said, this game is still very good, but there are a few annoying parts about this game. The Franchise has gotten abit better, but there is still some grips about it. The fact that some of your free agents are re-signed even if you don't want them, and also some problems with confidence With all the hype around NHL 07 for the XBOX 360, I would have expected more from this game. That said, this game is still very good, but there are a few annoying parts about this game. The Franchise has gotten abit better, but there is still some grips about it. The fact that some of your free agents are re-signed even if you don't want them, and also some problems with confidence levels. The gameplay does have it's beefs, like how a defender responds to a deke, and so fourth. Bill Clement, it's obvious he didn't do much recording in the studios. This game is about a 7, and I haven't played 2k7, so I can't really say much about kush's product compared to EA. Expand
  9. MarkW.
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    A simple, pure, fun game.
  10. lonP.
    Sep 15, 2006
    5
    Game play seems artificial compared to 2k. Still a very raw game. Wait until next year's effort to try this one.
  11. Brysonic
    Sep 10, 2006
    9
    The new controls are much more intuitive. Nice to finally see some inovation...
  12. TimB.
    Sep 20, 2006
    2
    Almost as exciting as watching elementary school hockey on an iPod...
  13. jimbreyer
    Sep 20, 2006
    2
    The controls are pretty cool. They don't make up for the overall beta-version feel of the thing.
  14. JonN.
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    Best NG sports game on the market. Wicked controls...feels like you are playing hockey.
  15. RedwingsRockRangersSuck
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    The best game with out a dout. Skill stick makes it the best golies save are awesome looking too, but I can make awesome moves between my legs or anything so that could be better.
  16. JerryP.
    Jan 29, 2007
    5
    I'm afraid I have to agree with John G. The graphics and Skill Stick are awesome but the rest of the game play is ridiculous! Getting the puck from the CPU is almost impossible without knocking him off the puck but the CPU can grab it from you just by being close! Except for breakout passes, every other pass you try to make RARELY goes where you want it, especially int he offensive I'm afraid I have to agree with John G. The graphics and Skill Stick are awesome but the rest of the game play is ridiculous! Getting the puck from the CPU is almost impossible without knocking him off the puck but the CPU can grab it from you just by being close! Except for breakout passes, every other pass you try to make RARELY goes where you want it, especially int he offensive zone! Cheap goals happen way too often. Your teammates play like minor leaguers so unless you can skate through everyone, and Im sure there's people who can, its just not all that rewarding. I didn't give it a 2 because there are lots of things I like but theres no way I can honestly give it a 9 because it DOESN'T play like a real hockey game, no matter what the other guys are saying! Expand
  17. BenjaminF.
    Jan 4, 2007
    1
    Great game with awesome gameplay and graphics, but its too damn easy.....I have been playing the EA Sports NHL Series for about 7 years now, and difficult mode is SOO easy.......they need to make this game harder...in my dynasty, sidney crosby has 67 pts in 7 games......thats almost 10 pts a game average.....realistic? I think not!
  18. mattlaritechikie
    Jan 6, 2007
    2
    welll this adam N kid is the biggest idiot i have ever seen.....this game is one of the easyest games i have ever seen....i always win like 10-1....my friend once won 23-1!!!!.....you can ALWAYS blow oast the defense men ......and you can cut across the net and always score...or unless you hit the post/crossbar..or you are a sucky guy and you miss the net....so i would take off that adam Nwelll this adam N kid is the biggest idiot i have ever seen.....this game is one of the easyest games i have ever seen....i always win like 10-1....my friend once won 23-1!!!!.....you can ALWAYS blow oast the defense men ......and you can cut across the net and always score...or unless you hit the post/crossbar..or you are a sucky guy and you miss the net....so i would take off that adam N kids repley he knows nothing about this game!! Expand
  19. GatorB.
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    This is an excellent hockey game. That being said, I agree that it is probably one year off from being a perfect hockey game. EA has put down a great foundation. I
  20. MichaelM.
    Dec 26, 2006
    9
    I'm speaking as a hockey noob, but this game is so much fun to play (once I worked out the rules). Very intuitive. I just wish there was more stuff to do... and that GB were better.
  21. KevinG.
    Oct 6, 2006
    2
    I have been playing NHLPA/EA hockey since 1994 and this is the fisrt time I regret spending the money for this piece of crap. Seems they did away with the skating engine that really made the 06 game altogether and now the controls are mushy, passing accurately is almost impossible and the "star" icon under the player is WAY TOO BIG, plus the view is so far away you can't even read I have been playing NHLPA/EA hockey since 1994 and this is the fisrt time I regret spending the money for this piece of crap. Seems they did away with the skating engine that really made the 06 game altogether and now the controls are mushy, passing accurately is almost impossible and the "star" icon under the player is WAY TOO BIG, plus the view is so far away you can't even read the player names on the jerseys! Dynasty control screens are so small that you can't read them also. VERy VEry Disapointing, Why not bring back Air Warrior! Now there is a game worth the money! Expand
  22. Superyoma
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Skill stick and watching the goalies is next level sports gaming!
  23. AtomH.
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    The best hockey game made in the last 10 years.
  24. BrianB.
    Sep 14, 2006
    8
    The graphics are amazing, though the ice does not look as good as 2K7. The control scheme--once you get the hang of it--makes the game feel more like hockey than any NHL game to date, though winning face-offs is next to impossible. The loose puck AI is much improved, but the defensive game is still lacking, and CPU teammates move offsides far too often. The presentation is really rounded The graphics are amazing, though the ice does not look as good as 2K7. The control scheme--once you get the hang of it--makes the game feel more like hockey than any NHL game to date, though winning face-offs is next to impossible. The loose puck AI is much improved, but the defensive game is still lacking, and CPU teammates move offsides far too often. The presentation is really rounded out by the commentary from Thorne and Clement, but it's not as deep as previous commentaries in the series, which included more analysis of the way you were playing. All in all, a great game of hockey, with a few areas for improvement. Expand
  25. SteveG.
    Sep 15, 2006
    3
    I've been playing EA and 2K intensively with the 06 and this week. While both have progressed this year, IMHO this one still lacks the detail and polish.
  26. PhilipP.
    Sep 15, 2006
    8
    This is 12 years in the making. Ever since 2000 I have played the 2K series starting on Dreamcast because I haven't been happy with an EA NHL game since NHL 95 on Genesis. EA has finally won me back. This game is not flawless, fights, team ai not setting up offence/defence correctly (i got used to passing back to the blue line in 2k, but i'm not willing to trust my defencive This is 12 years in the making. Ever since 2000 I have played the 2K series starting on Dreamcast because I haven't been happy with an EA NHL game since NHL 95 on Genesis. EA has finally won me back. This game is not flawless, fights, team ai not setting up offence/defence correctly (i got used to passing back to the blue line in 2k, but i'm not willing to trust my defencive line to be onside). But the new Skill Stick makes this game a beauty, the controls work great on offence and defence. I have never been so excited when I score a goal, no matter if I strip the goalie of his dignity, or it just trickles in. Congrats EA, can't wait to see the polish in 08. Expand
  27. DebL.
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Awesome game, love the new controls and goalies look and play fantastic.
  28. DaveK.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Buy it now...play 10 games to get used to the controls...and you will be very happy.
  29. TP
    Sep 17, 2006
    9
    Great game, got some bugs but it really paves the way for a improvement in EAs 2nd shot at Next Gen in NHL 08.
  30. [Anonymous]
    Sep 17, 2006
    9
    Closest thing to real hockey I've ever played...few minor bugs like the computer shot totals, but forgivable considering this is the first effort for next gen...great job EA!
  31. SS
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    It's amazing! I love that you learn how to shoot, learn how to skate, deke and check, and learn how to pass. I suppose it would be harder for a casual gamer, but I love that playing this game involves skill. I think it's the best NHL since 96
  32. Bobbobbo
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  33. RobE.
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    The game plays more like real hockey then its predecessors.
  34. LawrenceM.
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    NHL 2007 for the Xbox 360 is the best hockey videogame I've played since NHL 94, and that's saying something. The goal variety is amazing, the puck physics are phenominal, and for once the opposing goalies have individual characteristics and styles. EA has finally managed to pump out a fun to play simulation hockey game.
  35. GeorgeM.
    Sep 20, 2006
    3
    Compared to some of EA's other efforts (esp. football), must say this one is a disappointment.
  36. TadSmith
    Sep 20, 2006
    3
    Online, it's still behind the competition.
  37. JugsterJ.
    Sep 23, 2006
    6
    Camera angle too far away, so you cant really see any graphichs, not a nex-gen feel (SURPRISE), graphics are okay anyway. Controls not a big deal. Basically same disappointment nothing new. Game should be prices at $20.00. Good thing I rented it online because I sent it back right away. BET the PS3 versions of all EA sports will be different (remember madden has no camera ANGLE, just find Camera angle too far away, so you cant really see any graphichs, not a nex-gen feel (SURPRISE), graphics are okay anyway. Controls not a big deal. Basically same disappointment nothing new. Game should be prices at $20.00. Good thing I rented it online because I sent it back right away. BET the PS3 versions of all EA sports will be different (remember madden has no camera ANGLE, just find that hard to believe a big game as MADDEN with no camera angle option). YOU CAN TURST MY REVIEW AND SAVE YOUR MONEY. Expand
  38. RavenX301
    Sep 28, 2006
    8
    The same person seems to be reviewing this game to give it a terrible over all....your not fooling anyone. The game IS a step in the right direction. I would only buy 2K games before this becasue A) they were cheaper, and B) they were more deep than EA's games......Even though B may still be true, after last years piece of sh$t 2K6, i wasnt to thrilled to have seen they didnt change aThe same person seems to be reviewing this game to give it a terrible over all....your not fooling anyone. The game IS a step in the right direction. I would only buy 2K games before this becasue A) they were cheaper, and B) they were more deep than EA's games......Even though B may still be true, after last years piece of sh$t 2K6, i wasnt to thrilled to have seen they didnt change a damn thing in the gameplay. Still the same boring play......same, same, same, same......Not that EA is'nt to be blamed but this was the most exciting hockey game I've played sense 2002 Hitz, and i am still enjoying it. Jugster J seemed to be nothing but a moron so you CAN TRUST MY REVIEW, give them both a shot and buy the one you like most. Expand
  39. J.A.
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    EA knows hockey and "It's in the game". Graphics are truly next gen and the new control setup work perfectly. This game has it all. From the stitching on the players jerseys to realistic puck physics. If you love hockey you will love NHL o7. One of the developers actually read through the entire Collective Barganing Agreement in order to make Dynasty mode authentic. EA paid attention EA knows hockey and "It's in the game". Graphics are truly next gen and the new control setup work perfectly. This game has it all. From the stitching on the players jerseys to realistic puck physics. If you love hockey you will love NHL o7. One of the developers actually read through the entire Collective Barganing Agreement in order to make Dynasty mode authentic. EA paid attention to every detail. Expand
  40. KublaG.
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    Wicked game! Visuals are amazing, and the new controls are very intuitive. NHL 07 rocks, can't wait to see how it improves in NHL 08!
  41. WarrenL.
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Love the new controls. Awesome game EA. You have outdone your competition.
  42. JackJ.
    Sep 18, 2006
    6
    After playing both hockey games quite a bit, this one falls short. It does initially wow you with the new controls, and mabye casual hockey fans will find some value in it. The AI and the controls (especially on defence) are far more detailed, deep, and realistic in 2k7. While 2k7 isn't a huge improvement over 2k6, it is still superior to EA's offering. For casual fans, you After playing both hockey games quite a bit, this one falls short. It does initially wow you with the new controls, and mabye casual hockey fans will find some value in it. The AI and the controls (especially on defence) are far more detailed, deep, and realistic in 2k7. While 2k7 isn't a huge improvement over 2k6, it is still superior to EA's offering. For casual fans, you might not notice the difference, or care. But although EA has made big strides with this game, they still have a ways to go in the realism department. Expand
  43. CharlieC
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    Awesome, blows 2K away. The new controls rule!
  44. JohnCrew
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    Hey...it would be nice if 2K fanboys didn't come on here in groups and give NHL low ratings...it just proves how afraid the 2K fanboys are of NHL 07...the best hockey game on the market by far...go back to your 2K website and stay there. Besides it won't change the HIGHER Metacritic given by real reviewers, and it won't change the minds of consumers either seeing that NHL 07Hey...it would be nice if 2K fanboys didn't come on here in groups and give NHL low ratings...it just proves how afraid the 2K fanboys are of NHL 07...the best hockey game on the market by far...go back to your 2K website and stay there. Besides it won't change the HIGHER Metacritic given by real reviewers, and it won't change the minds of consumers either seeing that NHL 07 is outselling NHL 2K7 by about 20 to 1. Expand
  45. JonC.
    Sep 27, 2006
    5
    I sure do hope the EA sport curse dosnt carry to ovechkin. This game sux, go play the 2k series.
  46. A.B.
    Dec 31, 2007
    8
    I used too play hockey and I could never skate for long with the puck. You have to constantly pass it around and this game allows you to do that with pin point accuracy. But it is hard to get the puck off the AI. But I found a trick to doing it. All you have to do when they are coming down , You land a huge hit on the guy and one of your guys comes along and takes and bang, You are back I used too play hockey and I could never skate for long with the puck. You have to constantly pass it around and this game allows you to do that with pin point accuracy. But it is hard to get the puck off the AI. But I found a trick to doing it. All you have to do when they are coming down , You land a huge hit on the guy and one of your guys comes along and takes and bang, You are back on offense. Expand
  47. MartinM.
    Mar 21, 2007
    5
    I've been playing this series since the beginning, and I've always loved it, even though it's never been close to perfect. But the thing that really bugs me (pun intended) in this edition is all the freaking bugs, not only in the gameplay, but in the stats section.. WTF? Home regulation losses register as overtime losses!? I can lose every home game, and still be .500 in I've been playing this series since the beginning, and I've always loved it, even though it's never been close to perfect. But the thing that really bugs me (pun intended) in this edition is all the freaking bugs, not only in the gameplay, but in the stats section.. WTF? Home regulation losses register as overtime losses!? I can lose every home game, and still be .500 in points.. sick, the team standings section is useless (when you try to sort by points, it sorts by winning percentage instead and so forth). In the gameplay: 10 pucks over the boards in a row of the face off? Goalies from the short buss? And the line chemistry ting. I'm using the Wings. Holmstrøm, Zetteberg, Datsyuk.. pretty good line this year no? Not according to this game, in fact, they're not compatible at all... EA this is sloppy, sloppy, sloppy. Expand
  48. RichardS.
    Apr 11, 2007
    9
    An excellent game! When I played my first game I thought "this sucks!". I have since played many hours and now think it's thebest hockey game, if not best sports game I've played. I have been a hockey game fan since the Sega Mega Drive days of NHL 92 and NHLPA 93. I loved the speed and freedom of movement. When I bought my xbox I played NHL 2K4 and 2K5 but found them both really An excellent game! When I played my first game I thought "this sucks!". I have since played many hours and now think it's thebest hockey game, if not best sports game I've played. I have been a hockey game fan since the Sega Mega Drive days of NHL 92 and NHLPA 93. I loved the speed and freedom of movement. When I bought my xbox I played NHL 2K4 and 2K5 but found them both really frustrating - it was impossible to pass the puck accurately and every goal I scored was a breakaway as passing was a no-no. I tried to set up good goals but it was impossible. I stuck with the 2K versions as people said the EA games were too arcadey and rubbish. I think NHL 07 is brilliant - I score fantastic, realistic goals with loads of free movement, intricate passing, and attacking moves. I don't understand the other posters' complaints, passing is very well done (I mainly play international games though) and shooting is great too. My only complaints: sometimes I shoot from way out and score yet with no backlift. Also the commentary is too repetitive. Otherwise I am loving it. Expand
  49. BradH.
    Aug 15, 2007
    6
    The graphics and look of the game are good, the game just feels kind of cheesy or cheap... Too many weird things happen, I've played hockey since i was 4, and i know it cant be perfect... but there are weak goals that the goalies score on themselves... the line rating system is weird... players have to do big circles to get back in to the play on defense.. its hard to hit people... The graphics and look of the game are good, the game just feels kind of cheesy or cheap... Too many weird things happen, I've played hockey since i was 4, and i know it cant be perfect... but there are weak goals that the goalies score on themselves... the line rating system is weird... players have to do big circles to get back in to the play on defense.. its hard to hit people... there are only a few moves you can do.. its got potential but right now i dont understand a lot of the stuff that happens in this game. Expand
  50. JohnG.
    Nov 11, 2006
    2
    First, the good: great innovation by EA by putting all the offense controls in the analog sticks, and the goalie movement is uncanny, all which makes for a great shootout game. And of course, the graphics are top notch. But all of that is burried under the sheer medicrity of everything else in the game. In terms of defense, it's terrible!Putting the checking on the right stick makes First, the good: great innovation by EA by putting all the offense controls in the analog sticks, and the goalie movement is uncanny, all which makes for a great shootout game. And of course, the graphics are top notch. But all of that is burried under the sheer medicrity of everything else in the game. In terms of defense, it's terrible!Putting the checking on the right stick makes it so hard to hit. It is extremely difficult to poke check and maintain possession of the puck, while the CPU has no trouble doing this 99% of the time. Passing is impossible, they rarely connect, and of course, the CPU's passing is near perfect. Skating is also erratic, your players always seem to have to skate in a circle to get back on defense rather than just skate backward, leaving the CPU on breakaway most of the time. What makes the game really frustrating is that the CPU can always do things much better than you, and I means superhuman feats, like being able to block a shoot with his skates and/or stick with his back to you or on the opposite side of where the shot was going!And the CPU also seems to recover too quickly form a big hit or a poke check(I even tried slashing to impede the CPU's progress and the player still kept going or as he's shaking it off the puck is still following him!) I did mention that the goalie movement is great, but there are some pretty stupid goals scored in the game, like the goalie stopping the puck his glove, only to continue sliding backward and thus his glove hand crossing the goal line and whenever the goalie clears the puck and it's turnover, it almost immediately results in a goal since the goal never recovers. Overall, great shootout, terrible hockey game. Sort it out next year, EA. Expand
  51. AdamN.
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    All the people who dont like this game want the same old game where you always win a 7-6 game. EA has made this game as realistic as possible at this time. The old games were SOOOOO unrealistic. I don't want to be able to destroy every offensive player by hitting Y, and then usig unrealistic turbo to blow by the defenders and score with the same move. I want a real game where you All the people who dont like this game want the same old game where you always win a 7-6 game. EA has made this game as realistic as possible at this time. The old games were SOOOOO unrealistic. I don't want to be able to destroy every offensive player by hitting Y, and then usig unrealistic turbo to blow by the defenders and score with the same move. I want a real game where you fight in the corner, and then set up plays to score. One Timers aren't automatic goals anymore, and the goalies dont slide and stack the pads on ever play like in nhl 06. EA shouldnt change a single thing about the gameplay. You need to grow a pair and learn how to actually play a realistic hockey game. Expand
  52. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    Since this game obviously is horrible compared to the newer games, I will review this for the time it came out. It was a fun game and I found myself playing it a lot. It was a turning point for the better games, and it doesn't really offer a lot. It's O.K. but far from great.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 90
    The Skills Stick alone make NHL 07 a completely different game and one worthy of the new NHL. [Oct. 2006, p.96]
  2. 87
    A great hockey game, pure and simple...NHL 07 represents the first truly next-generation gameplay innovation.
  3. The bar has been raised. Stellar graphics and a great new stick/shooting system are the hallmarks of this title. While perhaps a little light, yet, on the multiplayer aspects, the game does have a solid franchise mode and is just pure fun to play.