Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    For the first time I can remember in a hockey game, it's not about how fast you set up your one-timer--it's about positioning, spacing, and setting up the perfect play.
  2. Finally, an answer to the early-'90s hockey heyday, NHL 08 is a blazingly swift, smart, well-crafted sports title that brings out hockey's best bits.
  3. I can easily say without a doubt that this is not only the best EA hockey game since "NHL 05," but quite possibly the best hockey game ever. Fans can be happy to know that the series they grew up loving has finally delivered in all department to create the most realistic and authentic hockey game on the market. Second place is the first loser, and that means you 2K Hockey.
  4. 95
    Part of what makes this game so fantastic is that it has the same joyful resonance as those mid-'90s NHL classics. The good times are back.
  5. 08 is the best hockey game in years. [Oct 2007, p.87]
  6. NHL 08 manages to improve on last year’s already great hockey game. If you were a fan of last year’s effort, NHL 08 won’t disappoint.
  7. NHL 08 is by far one of the more impressive NHL titles in the past few years.
  8. Hockey fans and casual sports gamers alike will love NHL 08, as its simple yet deep controls invite all comers to the ice.
  9. There hasn’t been a hockey game this impressive since the days of the Sega Genesis.
  10. NHL 08’s control scheme gives you more control over the puck than any prior entry to the series, as well as completely analog skating with reactive physics. The AI is also extremely realistic and will adapt and strategically defend against your offensive choices, and vice versa.
  11. More precise skate speed control and a revised skill stick make NHL 08 an icy-hot dream.
  12. Bottom line—if you play online and like hockey, then NHL 08 has you covered. If you play offline and like hockey, then NHL 08 has you covered.
  13. With intuitive controls, exciting gameplay and a one-two punch of audio and visual goodness, this game has just about everything that any hockey gamer could want.
  14. EA has excelled in creating its smartest, deepest hockey game to date.
  15. 90
    Despite the poor online modes, the rest of the game is nothing short of stellar. With all of the new tweaks and gameplay options, NHL 08 is worth the time of any hockey fan. Not only has EA managed to prove that this is indeed the coolest game on Earth, it's also one of the best sports titles of the year.
  16. 90
    This years best hockey game offering. Adding vastly improved gameplay to last years impressive control scheme ensures EA's hold on the title of Best Hockey Game Yet Devised.
  17. 89
    EA finally chucked its desire to marry arcade fun with its simulation and got hockey right. NHL 08 has a few nagging flaws -- occasionally suspect team AI, clipping issues, and a lack of ESPN flavor -- but it has nailed the gameplay.
  18. I called Skill Stick one of the greatest innovations in sports videogames last year and now that EA has had another year to fine-tune the system, and add a new skating engine, NHL 08 is the best game on ice.
  19. NHL 08 is the kind of makeover that this series has been waiting for for years.
  20. The most fun NHL game to come out in a long time. The smooth skating and the nicely flowing action make it an enjoyable hockey experience. The AI could still use some fine-tuning, though. [Sept 2007]
  21. The best recreation of ice hockey to date: an excellent sports game! [Dec 2007, p.84]
  22. NHL is easily the best ice hockey game available - a must for fans. [Dec 2007, p.85]
  23. A great NHL experience that all but the most strategy-deficient gamer will enjoy. This ain’t your daddy’s NHL game.
  24. EA's latest NHL title creates one of the most legitimately exciting interpretations of the sport you've ever played.
  25. I was a bit worried that moving toward a slower, sim-based game would hurt the experience, but I found that it’s just as intense.
  26. Yes, NHL 08 can feel challenging and hard, but it rewards you with the sport's best representation in videogame form that we've seen yet. [Oct 2007, p.73]
  27. Last year the clear winner was NHL 2K7 when it came to online play. This year the playing field is definitely more even – it didn’t matter what game I put in I always had fun while playing over Live. However, having some friends over to play, the choice was always NHL 08.
  28. If you are a hockey fan then you need this game. It’s as simple as that.
  29. The improved accessibility is welcome, the deepened career mode is great and the overall presentation quality can't be overlooked.
  30. The finest NHL game EA Sports has ever produced.
  31. A much improved game that harkens back to the old days, where hockey was a great console sport.
  32. NHL 08 is one of the finest depictions of the sport so far and we're actually looking forward to what next year's iteration will offer. And it's not very often we say something like that.
  33. Electronic Arts has once again proved it is the king of American sport, and its constant drive to innovate is something to be commended and rewarded. Roll on next year, we say. [Nov 2007, p.120]
  34. If you are looking for an Ice Hockey game with lots of big hits and injuries then NHL 08 isn’t for you. However, if you’re looking for a good looking, great playing game that makes you think and actually challenges you, then look no further than NHL 08.
  35. NHL 08 is without question the finest hockey game that EA have released for many years and the first real contender to NHL 2K's crown as the premiere hockey simulation.
  36. EA did a superb job, and you need to play this game, whether you appreciate the sport or despise it.
  37. Between getting all the aesthetics right and offering stellar gameplay, NHL 08 has an awful lot going for it, and I'm sure it will please longtime fans of the series.
  38. 80
    One of the most refined sports updates we've seen for quite some time.
  39. Fast, realistic, and cool as ice. [Nov 2007, p.98]
  40. For hockey fans, NHL 08 is the best hockey offering this year. For non-hockey fans, it's a fun game, but not a must-buy sports title.
  41. Nobody does presentation like EA and the menus, rosters and feel of ice hockey are superb. The various leagues and teams are all well catered for and offer anything that a fan could desire.
  42. Time in the cooler has allowed our favorite frozen sport (sorry, curling) some time to roll out genuine improvements. The enhanced AI isn't quite a cure-all for 07's passive defences, but it does bring a satisfying, sim-like feel to the franchise for the first time in years.
  43. Another highly competent sports sim from EA. We've obviously gone back in time without noticing. [Issue#25, p.102]
  44. This year, as 2K8 lags with its overcomplicated controls, EA has managed to slip by. NHL 08 is imperfect, but with its simple gameplay and its clean presentation, it’s somehow on track to lead the league and push it forward.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. FredK
    May 16, 2008
    9
    The NHL 08 gameplay has really improved and it looks more like Hockey games than the older versions. Better puck control and more structured The NHL 08 gameplay has really improved and it looks more like Hockey games than the older versions. Better puck control and more structured Powerplays. Hits are more tough to make (especially when you control Martin St-louis and try hitting Zdeno Chara). It's a really good game and I love it , but it can be even Better . - The goalies are way too hard to beat (but sometimes they give up some weird goals) -The Dynasty mode could be better: - The Prospects Drafted (first Overall) sucks (53 potential) - The GM cannot make "investments" - The GM cannot sign players of his own team during the season , only during the off-season. Full Review »
  2. TomL.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Amazing game! Amazing graphics, superb gameplay, absolute authenticity, what more could you want from a game? An essential for any hockey Amazing game! Amazing graphics, superb gameplay, absolute authenticity, what more could you want from a game? An essential for any hockey fan. Its the only game i use on my 360, its that good!!! Full Review »
  3. ratp0is0nratp
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    Excellent. So real its almost creepy.