User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 60
  2. Negative: 5 out of 60

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexD.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    It's really a shame that game reviewers have started reviewing Japanese RPGs from the perspective of mainstream American gamers recently. Let's face it, most Americans don't like anime, and they don't like RPGs, so trying to tell them whether they
  2. SergeiK
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    I have been playing EA's NHL series since 1992, and I have to say this is by far the best hockey game ever made. It truly is a shame that most gamers won't purchase this; you don't even have to like hockey to appreciate this game. The non-stop action appeals to all gamers and hopefully people can recognize that EA, although a gigantic powerhouse that has come up with many I have been playing EA's NHL series since 1992, and I have to say this is by far the best hockey game ever made. It truly is a shame that most gamers won't purchase this; you don't even have to like hockey to appreciate this game. The non-stop action appeals to all gamers and hopefully people can recognize that EA, although a gigantic powerhouse that has come up with many busts and blunders, is still highly capable of making a high quality, fun game that everyone can enjoy. I've been playing forever as I mentioned, but don't let that discourage you. The smart people over at EA let you implement "NHL 94" controls to simplify it for you Wii-type gamers. Expand
  3. David
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    The game is near flawless! The Be A Pro mode is a lot of fun for skates with the exception of having to sit out and rest during games and the sometimes confusing camera. They just need to make it fun to play goalie.
  4. BlaiseB.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    I haven't played a sports game that felt exciting in years. The skill stick controls are simple but get the job done, the graphics are amazing, and the depth the game provides in Be A Pro gives endless replayablity. Definitely worth checking out.
  5. JasonL.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Undeniably the greatest sports vidoegame I have ever played. Controls great, looks great, great A.I., amazing depth. No other sports game comes close to replicating its real life counterpart the way NHL09 does. A must buy!
  6. SamBarber
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    This game is more like NHL 08.5. Dynasty mode is the same. But Be A Pro is different and somewhat fun. The EASHL is where NHL 09 seperates this game from the pack though. It's really fun to play with your friends and work together. Honestly buy the game if your at all into sports.
  7. JesseMartineau
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    Best hockey ever - I didnt think that it was possible to improve upon NHL08 But the BE A PRO mode is better then I thought it could be - I am in my 3rd Pro Season and still love it - The gamplay IE - Shots - hits - Poke checks - are just getting better and better - cant wait for 2010
  8. SimonSinclair
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    This is the 1st NHL game i have played in years and even though i'm from the football loving UK, NHL 09 is without doubt the greatest sports title i've played on a games console. I really rate it that highly. Wasn't really into hockey before i bought this, but this title has got me that hooked that i have even subscribed to NASN so I can watch the real NHL.
  9. May 30, 2013
    10
    This is the best NHL game ever since they brought out the new shooting configuration with the right stick has made this game the bomb. Also love the way to be the goalie and customize his pads and how so many goalie companies sponsored this game like vaughn and rbk, so sick
  10. CodyB.
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    It amazes me that EA can make such an amazing sports game like this and then turn around and really screw up on Madden 09. I am not even a hockey fan. I bought this game based purely on the metacritic scores. Let me tell ya, this game rocks! If you are a sports fan. Get it. Learn it. Be addicted.
  11. SimonA
    Oct 21, 2008
    9
    I've played the NHL series since good ol' 97 and was amazed with last years game, but this years game takes it all to another level. The AI, the graphics, the controls.. they've laid it all out beautifully. There are a few problems. I love the Be A Pro mode, but the offline AI is a little shaky, especially when your team fails to score again and again unless you do. And I've played the NHL series since good ol' 97 and was amazed with last years game, but this years game takes it all to another level. The AI, the graphics, the controls.. they've laid it all out beautifully. There are a few problems. I love the Be A Pro mode, but the offline AI is a little shaky, especially when your team fails to score again and again unless you do. And some of the computer one timers just inside the blue line drive me insane. Overall this game is the best hockey game ever made, and when you start playing well it works well. Give the dynasty and shot and see how you do! Go Leafs Go! Expand
  12. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    This game is good,it really is but here comes the but...It's not nearly as good as espn hockey 2k4 and 2k5.For single player there should be a way to tweak the difficulty more.A game should be as easy as you want it or as hard and this game is hard even on easy in the single player mode.I can play hockey and I've went back to all the hockey games from ea and 2k and this game just isn'tThis game is good,it really is but here comes the but...It's not nearly as good as espn hockey 2k4 and 2k5.For single player there should be a way to tweak the difficulty more.A game should be as easy as you want it or as hard and this game is hard even on easy in the single player mode.I can play hockey and I've went back to all the hockey games from ea and 2k and this game just isn't well balanced.It is exciting,out of this world exciting especially when there has been no score for a while and then bam you score.It has to do a lot with the commentary but also the game in general.It's great but ea still has a lot of work to do.An 8 is a good score and what the game deserves. Expand
  13. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    I haven't really played a hockey game since ESPN National hockey night in like 94. I have played arcade style games though. This game really plays well. The mechanics and controls are near perfect. The graphics are pretty good. The game does have some glitches and it lacks the features that a lot of other Ea Sports games have.
  14. Dan
    Jul 26, 2009
    7
    This is an AWESOME game!!! Why did I give it a 7? Because it has absolutely unforgivable flaws. The first and most annoying is if you pass for a one-timer and the puck gets deflected or your guy misses it, the man that was supposed to receive the puck is stuck for about 2 seconds. There are a lot of other mini-flaws that could easily be patched. The other one that I didn't notice This is an AWESOME game!!! Why did I give it a 7? Because it has absolutely unforgivable flaws. The first and most annoying is if you pass for a one-timer and the puck gets deflected or your guy misses it, the man that was supposed to receive the puck is stuck for about 2 seconds. There are a lot of other mini-flaws that could easily be patched. The other one that I didn't notice until recently is in multiplayer online games (with more than 1 on your xbox/ps3) the color indicators for the players are not a standard 4 color set, they are random which means you might get a team with a red and an orange, or possibly blue and purple- which makes it incredibly hard to distinguish who is who. Expand
  15. BlueFalcon
    Sep 16, 2008
    7
    There's some great new ideas here. Like taking yourself and making your way into the nhl via the minors and improving on your game. The 6 on 6 real players on live is also a hightlight (although leavers pregame when they don't get the position they want should be dealt with). On the other hand, I'm disappointed with MANY aspects. It's exhausting thinking about how many There's some great new ideas here. Like taking yourself and making your way into the nhl via the minors and improving on your game. The 6 on 6 real players on live is also a hightlight (although leavers pregame when they don't get the position they want should be dealt with). On the other hand, I'm disappointed with MANY aspects. It's exhausting thinking about how many things are wrong after this, their 17th version of the game. Expand
  16. RichardV.
    Dec 24, 2008
    6
    Too many games nowadays are rated based on pre-release review of written features. Then you have the post-release reviews that don't investigate the inner workings of a product. The fact is, the EASHL (MMO) feature of NHL09 is unsecured, imbalanced, unmoderated, unpoliced, unsupported and most importantly, unfinished. With all kinds of exploits that do not get addressed and the fact Too many games nowadays are rated based on pre-release review of written features. Then you have the post-release reviews that don't investigate the inner workings of a product. The fact is, the EASHL (MMO) feature of NHL09 is unsecured, imbalanced, unmoderated, unpoliced, unsupported and most importantly, unfinished. With all kinds of exploits that do not get addressed and the fact you cannot play a club game with 9 or more players (as they get dropped by the server), it's really hard to figure how this game gets an 89 rating. Quite bizzare. Expand
  17. JamieC
    Sep 22, 2008
    3
    Best sports game of all time? Do people play these games before they review them? This game is plagued by the same horrible AI and one sided reffing that every single hockey game ever created has had. 3/4 through a franchise season with penaltys on the max setting and my team has had ONE powerplay, in 64 games .... yet every time i touch the poke check button, a cpu player goes down, to Best sports game of all time? Do people play these games before they review them? This game is plagued by the same horrible AI and one sided reffing that every single hockey game ever created has had. 3/4 through a franchise season with penaltys on the max setting and my team has had ONE powerplay, in 64 games .... yet every time i touch the poke check button, a cpu player goes down, to the tune of 102 powerplays against...... how does that work? i guess when you program your entire defense scheme around interfering with the intended passing target rather then design an actual defensive scheme, it may be too much to ask for a game that has some close resemblance to balance. is it so hard to hire beta testers? EA has put a nice LOOKING game, but again, the gameplay is overcomplicated, "realistic", garbage. beta testers -what? Expand
  18. GaborA.
    Sep 10, 2008
    3
    If Call of Duty 5 comes out and its the same exact game as Call of Duty 4 including the graphics then it will be widely discredited. Well NHL 09 is identical to NHL 08, it costs 60 bucks, and critics are creaming their pants over it. Controls, graphics, commentary, AI(though they claim its better its not reall), every glitches(pass back to point when someone in center is wide open). Its If Call of Duty 5 comes out and its the same exact game as Call of Duty 4 including the graphics then it will be widely discredited. Well NHL 09 is identical to NHL 08, it costs 60 bucks, and critics are creaming their pants over it. Controls, graphics, commentary, AI(though they claim its better its not reall), every glitches(pass back to point when someone in center is wide open). Its all the same. But wait. Be A Pro Mode! Are you a loser who can't play real sports and make real friends? Spend 12 hours a day playing NHL 09's equivalent of World of Warcraft and make the perfect character. For anyone just looking to play it up with friends or online expect to play the same game as last year. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 90
    NHL 09 isn’t just a great hockey game, it’s one of the best sports games to be released in the last decade.
  2. You don’t even have to be a psychotic hockey fan to enjoy NHL 09; just a fan of sports in general and of solid Xbox 360 software. Of course pick this one up if you live and breathe the NHL hockey season, but NHL 09 is also worth a look by those that are still searching for that killer, HD-era sports application.
  3. NHL 09 is a great hockey title, offering some fantastic new features, a deep Be A Pro mode, and some awesome online features.