Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. For the third year in a row, EA Canada has crafted a hockey experience that is seemingly flawless.
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    90
    This is easily the best NHL hockey has ever been on a console, and it sets the bar incredibly high for EA's next release.
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    85
    For the puck lovers, it's still the best simulation out there. Yet, it shows too many similarities with its predecessor.
  4. Jan 10, 2011
    70
    That said, there is no denying that NHL 11 provides an enjoyable recreation of ice hockey, which manages to be both accessible to newcomers and packed with content to entertain more dedicated fans.
  5. Dec 14, 2010
    90
    All in all, NHL 11 is a excellent upgrade over NHL 10 fixing a lot of those issues that we've had with the previous games. Perfect? No, but getting pretty darn close.
  6. Dec 14, 2010
    87
    Knowing that NHL 2K wouldn't be released this year, you'd think EA Canada would take a back seat knowing full well that they will win the title of best hockey game this year, mainly because there are no others. Luckily for us, they realised that would be a stupid idea and went all-out in delivering a fantastic physics engine that really adds to the game.
  7. Oct 28, 2010
    85
    NHL 11 isn't a headline grabbing advance on NHL 09 or 10, it's an extension, the next logical step in a yearly franchise that brings something to a sport many thought they would ever see – sophistication.
  8. Oct 27, 2010
    100
    In the end, this is a game that's hard not to recommend, especially in light of the fact that 2K Sports didn't offer a competitor on the 360 or PS3 this year, so EA could have just stuck with last years game. Instead, they upped their offering to the point that taking this year off could be absolutely the worst thing that 2K could have done.
  9. Oct 25, 2010
    85
    A very good simulation, with well-crafted gameplay, graphics and great longevity thanks to the many modes available.
  10. 100
    EA Sports' NHL 11 is not only the best hockey game ever made, it is quite simply the best and most accurate sports game ever made.
  11. 100
    NHL 11 is not only the ultimate hockey game, it's the ultimate sports game. EA Sports gives us the authentic feel of the NHL in a game where you are the star. It's no doubt in my mind that this is the sports game of the year 2010.
  12. NHL 11 continues to dominate the sports landscape. It's a no-brainer must-have for any modern sports gamer, whether you can successfully discuss the nuances of the Left Wing Lock or can barely name a couple of players on your favorite team. There's enough here for everyone to have a blast.
  13. Electronics Arts are infamous for releasing sports games with bugs. This year though, the gameplay has been hugely improved and their new card based Hockey Ultimate Team is just as good as the FIFA version. For once there isn't much to get frustrated with in this year's NHL.
  14. EA perfects its hockey formula and delivers both nice news and old, solid features.
  15. EA's NHL 11 Hockey celebrates it's 20th year as a franchise by giving us a near perfect sports game. Its only downsides are minor framerate issues and the lack of a "team builder" module.
  16. EA Canada's NHL 11 marks the 20th Anniversary of the storied NHL Franchise, and I can say without a doubt that a new high watermark has been set (NHL 94 purists be damned). This is the closest a game has ever come to recreating the feeling of playing real life hockey.
  17. Yet again, the peerless NHL team has produced a modern classic that will surely sit at the pinnacle of the year's sports releases. This is probably the best hockey game ever -- until NHL 12 comes out, that is.
  18. EA Canada offers up another big hug of hockey love in NHL 11. Simply put, this is how you do hockey!
  19. More than in years past, NHL 11's enhancements will be noticed by a select clientele. It's a product of fan feedback and number crunching, but for that core group of fans, most of the cheese has been cut, making for a rewarding game that's greater than the sum of its updates.
  20. Aside from the minimal framerate drops during Be A Pro and cut-scenes, it's hard to find notable faults to NHL 11. There's a lot to do in this game, whether you play online with EAUHL or Online Team Play or offline with Season, Be A Pro and Be A GM modes. There's no reason why a hockey gamer shouldn't be picking up this bad boy.
  21. NHL 11 is the best hockey game to date.
  22. Like a star player at the apex of his career, NHL 11 still shines on the ice. New innovations like the real-time physics engine and UHL show EA Canada still has some room to grow, but as age creeps up on the stalwart franchise and its prior innovations feel commonplace, some of its weaknesses are starting to appear more evident.
  23. This bugaboo aside, though, NHL 11 really is the best realization of hockey to date. Ultimately, its new physics make for better, more believable hockey that we simply can't recommend enough.
  24. Even without competition to drive them forward, EA has created an immersive and enjoyable hockey experience that any fan of the game will appreciate.
  25. With the additions of the CHL and Ultimate Hockey League and the great Gameplay improvements this is once again the best hockey game available as well as one of the best sports games out there.
  26. 90
    The sheer amount of polish in NHL 11 is staggering.
  27. NHL 11 is easily one of the most feature-packed and entertaining ice hockey games ever created.
  28. NHL 11 is by far the best hockey game out there: period.
  29. Those who don't explore the new mode won't notice too much of a difference with past entries, but this is still a huge game, and hardcore hockey gamers will have a field day.
  30. Despite limited additions over last year, NHL 11 is not only the finest ice hockey game available today but one of the finest sports titles period. A wonderful achievement and one that sport gaming fans owe it to themselves to try.
  31. NHL 11 is mere evolution of previous year effort from EA. It's still the best hockey simulation around.
  32. If you have been curious by the hype behind the NHL, then now might be the time to check it out, especially with next year's football season in limbo. NHL 11 looks good, sounds good, and plays even better. It scores a hat trick with its on ice gameplay, deep EAUHL experience, and flexibility to be fun for casual gamers and the hardcore gamers as well.
  33. NHL 11 is every bit as solid and playable as its predecessor. Broken sticks add very little to the game, despite being peddled as a key new feature, but the numerous refinements show in the physicality on the ice and the returning up-close and personal fighting system.
  34. At the end of the day there is enough depth to NHL 11 keep hockey lovers happy for another year.
  35. 85
    Despite the fact that a lot of the modes have been ported over from last year and Ultimate Team has been seen before in other EA Sports games, NHL 11 still delivers a slew of gameplay improvements and a truckload of content that should please the many hockey fans out there.
  36. Yet given a fairly abbreviated development cycle - by contemporary AAA standards - and considering there's only so much a design team can do in simulating a sport that does exist in the real world, EA has again turned in a great iteration in their popular NHL franchise.
  37. With that said, NHL 11 is the best hockey game on the market to date, and every hockey fan with a penchant for gaming will likely have a blast with the mode of their choice.
  38. 85
    If you are looking for a good ice hockey game, NHL 11 is the best game that you're going to find. However, due to lack of improvement, don't buy this game if you already own NHL 10.
  39. The game is beautiful, the commentary is among the most interactive in any sports title, the new gameplay mechanics in NHL 10 are easy to learn and tough to master, the new Ultimate Hockey Team is insanely addictive.
  40. NHL 11 isn't a universally great game, but if you like what it has on offer, it turns into a great value very quickly.
  41. If EA just introduced the new Ultimate Hockey team and washed their hands of the rest, I would say cash cow...but thankfully the team never lets me down as the introduction of this mode, along with enhanced AI, better game play, and the new physics engine that is so random I find myself catching my breath between puck drops make this an experience I've never felt before.
  42. An extraordinary hockey game. The action is hot and fast, and the intangibles and extras add quality on top of quality.
  43. This is the best hockey game ever made, and is a real feather in the cap for EA Sports in a year where the company literally doesn't have any competition on the Xbox 360 or PS3.
  44. 83
    Scoring, match-making, and goalie quirks aside, this game literally has no competition in the marketplace other than itself.
  45. 80
    NHL 11 carries on all the good work of last year's game, but its overall gloss...doesn't quite hide some quirky AI decision making and shonky goal tending. [Issue#66, p.94]
  46. Dec 25, 2010
    80
    NHL 11 plays a fine game of ice hockey, and it never ceases to surprise us just how much fun every installment of the series is. [Issue#65, p.91]
  47. It's a stonking sports game, but even the commentary repeats lines from old version. [Issue#98, p.90]
  48. Perfect ice-hockey game puts the last-year volume to the oblivion and slightly raised difficulty sets new challenges to all fans. NHL 11 confirms there is no competition for EA on the ice. [Issue#196]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    EA's done it again. Just got the game a few days ago and I'm itching to come home from work and play Ultimate Team. Love the interaction,EA's done it again. Just got the game a few days ago and I'm itching to come home from work and play Ultimate Team. Love the interaction, love the progression, love it period. Best version yet. Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    All I can say is WOW!!!! Watching this game grow from the old days of NHL 94 is just astounding!! The game feels better than years beforeAll I can say is WOW!!!! Watching this game grow from the old days of NHL 94 is just astounding!! The game feels better than years before and the Real time Physics Engine is amazing....it feels real! The only thing that concerns me is the faceoffs...but that could be more me than the game......Any NHL Fan needs to get this game!!!!! Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I thought the game was excellent. I'm not really a big fan of the HUT mode, though I do see it's appeal. While in 2010 I was strictly a versusI thought the game was excellent. I'm not really a big fan of the HUT mode, though I do see it's appeal. While in 2010 I was strictly a versus player (and I got pretty damn good at it), after playing the EASHL alot more, I rarely play anything else. It is very addictive. To those that say they can't score or pass properly; that's ridiculous. Ultimately, if you want a game that has no learning curve and will satisfy your gaming needs, go play pinball. Full Review »