User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 67
  2. Negative: 11 out of 67

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    EA's done it again. Just got the game a few days ago and I'm itching to come home from work and play Ultimate Team. Love the interaction, love the progression, love it period. Best version yet.
  2. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    All I can say is WOW!!!! Watching this game grow from the old days of NHL 94 is just astounding!! The game feels better than years before and the Real time Physics Engine is amazing....it feels real! The only thing that concerns me is the faceoffs...but that could be more me than the game......Any NHL Fan needs to get this game!!!!!
  3. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    I've played hockey games for years, even when 2K was killing years back. EA had managed to create the best hockey game ever. I was surprised at the MS Xbox World review. I read it and was AMAZED at how harsh they were. Disregard that low score, the reviewer has obviously never played a hockey game. And i'm also amazed at how many reviewers haven't comment on the many gameplay improvements. Anybody who has a history of playing NHL games would love this game! Collapse
  4. Sep 24, 2010
    9
    I'm Kaber-gasted! See what I did there? It was like a Leafs/NHL reference. But mixed in with the word â
  5. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    It's the best Hockey game to day, and it may be the best sports game to date. The graphics are outstanding and the new game engine is amazingly real. Ulitimate team is the best new mode since they started Be A Pro mode, and the new Be a GM is deeper than ever. The only down fall of this game is the AI of the goalies that still let in "curve" shots and are really easy to beat short side on a deke. Other than that this is a must get for any hockey or sports fan. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I thought the game was excellent. I'm not really a big fan of the HUT mode, though I do see it's appeal. While in 2010 I was strictly a versus player (and I got pretty damn good at it), after playing the EASHL alot more, I rarely play anything else. It is very addictive. To those that say they can't score or pass properly; that's ridiculous. Ultimately, if you want a game that has no learning curve and will satisfy your gaming needs, go play pinball. Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    NHL 11 has improved in terms of the hitting physics and the new face off system has provided with more meaningful game-play whether its in your end or the other team's end. The Hockey Ultimate Team is a neat edition but I game up on it when I got disconnected from the servers and it counted my game as a loss. Overall NHL 11 is just a roster update with new music, but at least EA Canada is still making great NHL games and hopefully it continues in the future. Expand
  8. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This is simulation not arcade. Without a doubt the best NHL / Ice Hockey Game ever created. The real time physics engine is awesome as well as teh new faceoff system. This is the closest any game has come to the real thing. Don't expect to pick up the controls and score easily, you need to work for your goals especially on All Star and higher levels. Well done EA.
  9. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    This is the best NHL yet. Great graphics, unreal hits, and awesome physics. Every time I play, I am thoroughly entertained from when I pick up the control to when I put it down.
  10. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is an amazing game. The last hockey game I had owned was NHL 2K7, which got boring, cause there is no real challenge in shooting, or stick movement. I like how the EA sports NHL series allow you to use stick control, so you feel like you are actually playing hockey ( I play hockey myself ). I don't have LIVE at the moment, so I can't give the viewpoint of playing online, but the offline play is great. BE A PRO is my favourite (yes I am Canadian) part of the game because I am put in the shoes of my own "Pro". I started my season with the Missisuaga St.Michael Majors and I got drafted after winning the Memorial Cup with the OHL team. It is a pleasure to play this game, and I feel like I'm watching myself on TV. If you never played the EA Sports NHL series games, I suggest you play on easy, if not, its the same old, but fun game! Expand
  11. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    Many won't give it a shot simply due to the lack of major hockey following in the US, but please do yourself and at least give it a try. It is one of the tightest and most polished sports games I've ever played, and truly embodies the cliche "easy to learn, tough to master." I've been playing this game almost every day since it came out, and I'm still uncovering new tricks and strategies to employ. That being said, someone who's never played a hockey game before will have no problem picking up all of the basics after just a game or two. Expand
  12. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    NHL 11 is easily the best hockey game ever made, continuting the tradition of improving on what has been a solid franchise by EA Sports for the past few years. The variety of game modes gives you plenty of ways to play, and the on-ice gameplay itself is unrivaled in both realism and enjoyability. That said, there are small glitches here and there that are really all that keep this game from being called perfect. The occasional glitch or awkward (and sometimes outright bizzare) action taken by your player when you're attempting to do something else can leave you pretty frustrated, and the passing mechanic could stand to be improved, but this is clearly as close as anybody has come to replicating the wonderful sport of hockey. Expand
  13. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    EA has gone and done it again. Every year I say to myself "You are not buying another NHL game" and I now own NHL 2003 straight through to 2011. I played it at a friends house before buying, and the addition of the faceoff engine, more realistic body checking, better shooting engine, goal reviews, broken sticks (and the list continues) left me needing to buy this game. Now in my third season, I still love picking it up and playing a few games before goin' to bed. Expand
  14. May 27, 2011
    9
    Hockey represented as well as I would want it to be. It feels real, looks real, sounds real, plays real. I love hockey video games more than the sport itself. Would be a 10, but I reserve that score only for a ground breaking revolutionary game. The improvements from the last EA NHL are minor, but, you have to move with the herd if you want to challenge the online community. There is a "10" worth of fun to be had here though. The multiplayer servers seem be randomly out of comission for online team play sometimes (probably the true minor irritation that keeps me from scoring it a 10). More long term appeal than possibly anything else out there. Bottom line...If you like video game hockey (who doesn't!), this is the crown jewel to date. Expand
  15. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    NHL 11 is EA's greatest son. The graphics are flawless and as I say every year 'How can the graphics get better?' but they can. Gameplay is brilliant and gets more realistic every year. with the new game engine. Alongside FIFA and Madden you would think this would be hard to compete, but to say this is the best hockey game ever is an understatement. This is the best sports game ever is more like it!! Excellent 10/10. Expand
  16. Sep 15, 2010
    0
    I've played hockey games for years, even when 2K was killing years back. EA had managed to create the best hockey game ever. I was surprised at the MS Xbox World review. I read it and was AMAZED at how harsh they were. Disregard that low score, the reviewer has obviously never played a hockey game. And i'm also amazed at how many reviewers haven't comment on the many gameplay improvements. Anybody who has a history of playing NHL games would love this game! Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Jan 12, 2011
    90
    This is easily the best NHL hockey has ever been on a console, and it sets the bar incredibly high for EA's next release.
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    85
    For the puck lovers, it's still the best simulation out there. Yet, it shows too many similarities with its predecessor.
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    70
    That said, there is no denying that NHL 11 provides an enjoyable recreation of ice hockey, which manages to be both accessible to newcomers and packed with content to entertain more dedicated fans.