Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 60
  2. Negative: 3 out of 60
  1. Nier is as awesome as it is obscure. A game that will be hated by simpletons for its bold approach to the action-rpg genre, and loved by anyone in their right mind for exactly the same reason. The oddly loveable cast, the myriad of different gameplay-concepts (ranging from old school to sheer genius) and the awesome soundtrack make Nier into a roughly hewn diamond, brilliantly shining as the surprise of the year.
  2. It's a game I adored without really being able to put my finger on why, and even with the heavy-hitter, AAA titles that have come out this year, I'd say Nier is simply one of the most enjoyable and unique gaming experiences of 2010.
  3. Nier is an awesome game which brings a great story, lots of gameplay variation, interesting characters and a very good soundtrack. It is the surprise of this year!
  4. 90
    If ever there were proof of the old adage, "don't judge a book by it's cover," Nier is a shining example. While I cannot say for certain whether or not everyone will enjoy it, I can say that everyone should at least give it a try.
  5. This title might not be for everyone but it was an extremely enjoyable experience for me, and I recommend picking up Nier for anyone that enjoys games for the story that they contain and not how they look.
  6. 88
    It is absolutely, positively worth your attention if you are in any way an "RPG Fan." At least rent or borrow it. Give it a try, and see if you are capable of falling for this one like I did.
  7. 85
    Those who enjoy hack-and-slash, giant bosses, heart wrenching stories, endless sheep killing, and games that poke fun of themselves and other games will adore NIER if they can get past the ugly outer layer. If players give it a chance, at the very least a rental, they'll discover how fantastic and funny this game really is.
  8. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Nier won't wow players with its basic mechanics, but in the story it tells, the characters it develops, and the themes present throughout play, it will easily win over anyone seeking something emotionally exploratory and well off the beaten path.
  9. The wonderfully designed characters and intriguing plot do just enough to elevate NIER above much of what is coming out of Japan these days. It is, in many ways, the kind of game critics of the Japanese RPG have been calling for: different, fresh, and in parts distinctly un-JRPG. Not all of it works, but it's a commendable effort, and a memorable experience.
  10. A great combination of action games like Bayonetta and RPG games like Last Remnant. Everything from bosses to the epic music deserves praise.
  11. As an action-RPG, perhaps there is a better option available if you've yet to play through Darksiders, but Nier still manages to stand on its own accomplishments – as varied in mechanics and quality as they may be.
  12. If you find this genre of game appealing, then Nier is likely to satiate your appetite for a while.
  13. The team at Cavia have without question nailed the entertainment portion of the game. But, the gameplay still needs a few tweaks to remain just as engaging. For a first run, Nier is exactly what it should be; a flawed game with a ton of potential.
  14. Variety is the word that defines Nier the best. Variety of genres and game styles which compose an epic, fantastic and full of action adventure.
  15. Nier comes with a bizarre mix of influences and its own accomplishments. Not all of it works, but it's a commendable effort, and a great experience.
  16. The game's good points are just way too good to let the numerous and glaring errors drag things down to the failing grades. Nier is both a gem and a turd, and those who feel the nagging urge to try it out are urged to do so.
  17. 75
    A fascinating mix of varied gameplay, tried conventions and one of the best JRPG stories in a while make Nier a much better prospect than it intially seems.
  18. For the most part it is a hidden gem, and shows a lot of care put into the inside game jokes and attention to detail in the story.
  19. It is hard to classify this game, because it tries its hand at so many different things and that is both its greatest asset and its biggest liability as gamers may well get tired of the seemingly random nature of proceedings. A jack of all trades, a master of none if you will. Stick with it though and you will be rewarded with some truly standout moments and a moving story.
  20. 73
    A game with split-personality disorder, aiming to please everyone with elements drawn from a raft of sources, but in the process it never excels in any one area.
  21. NIER might not the revolutionary title that it inspired to be, but it has some moments that make the downtime worth the effort. The cast, sorrowful fable, and boss battles are some of these moments that makes NIER stand out from the current crop of role-playing games.
  22. Nier is so burdened with poor design choices and outdated mechanics that some won't be able to see the ingenuity through the fit of technical hiccups. [Issue#96, p.124]
  23. 70
    The other side of this coin is that Nier bites off more than it can chew: It wants to be Final Fantasy, God of War, Zelda, Monster Hunter and FarmVille all at once. And the problem with trying so many things is that every new feature you add is a new opportunity to screw the pooch.
  24. Nier is a twisting, turning journey of erratic quality. It's one of the best, worst, most broken, most perfect games I've ever played.
  25. 70
    The ideas that Nier was built on are extremely solid -- the execution just falls short.
  26. Has enough satisfying moments to warrant a playthrough, but only a patient gamer will make it to the brilliant final hour. [July 2010, p.76]
  27. Once you remove the shackles of expectation and simply bask in what the game throws at you (keeping a well opened mind of course) you will come out the other side perplexed and captivated.
  28. If you're one of the many who've grown tired of spikey blonde protagonists and thirty hour corridors, then maybe it's time you let Nier convince you that there is room for change.
  29. Nier comes with the best intentions, such as a different, original and attractive proposal, but with certain gaps that can not be ignored. A great argument, a fantastic artwork and an epic soundtrack; all these attributes are conditioned by outdated graphics and imprecise controls. This new Square Enix video game takes elements from various resources, but it never excels in any aspect.
  30. Square Enix' attempt to create a great action-roleplaying experience is a little disappointing. The game's world is big and the characters interesting, despite the lengthy story and lame graphics. Nier wants to be a great game, but it doesn't even get Nier to that.
  31. Nier could have been something if more thought was put into the actual gameplay and leveling system, rather than making it a linear path through mediocrity.
  32. Old-school, awkward and ramshackle - yet still compelling in a weird way. [July 2010, p.92]
  33. With so many genuinely good action/RPGs that aren't riddled with archaic missions and gameplay, I have trouble recommending Nier solely on the basis of a decent (but unevenly executed) story.
  34. In the time spent playing this, I really wanted to enjoy NIER as an intricate game but it suffers largely from an identity crisis
  35. Quite easily the best not-very-good game we've played in a while. [July 2010, p.96]
  36. A well written story and some good gameplay gimmicks combine with an overall context that lacks coherence. Some issues in the control system and old-gen graphics utterly spoil the fun. A shame, especially for the waste of some good ideas and the well designed supporting characters.
  37. Nier is just a well done average game unable to live up to action rpg's fans expectations. Its combat system can be fun, but the less than stellar story and the plagued graphics don't help in winning this epic battle.
  38. Nier's jack-of-all-trades approach simply doesn't succeed, making for a strikingly uneven experience. You'll want to love this game for its story and music, but you'll struggle to stomach everything else.
  39. The story is rich and engaging, but gameplay is little more than a chore.
  40. It feels like if the game was a bit more polished, it could've been special. Instead, it just shows a lot of promise, but ends up spreading itself too thin.
  41. Ultimately, the game just doesn't want to be liked. Like the emo kid at school, it dares to be different yet ultimately craves acceptance, meaning Nier struggles with everything it does, often showing its less than perfect innards to the player.
  42. You can call it feature creep or over-ambition, but it's the surfeit of content that almost buries the game's achievements. [June 2010, p.100]
  43. Nier is very difficult to dislike, even as you curse the quality control that lets the game oscillate wildly between the fiercely inventive and the utterly generic. Yet while it's hard not to admire a game that dementedly throws so much at the player in an attempt to make something stick, Nier's faults are too many and too severe to wholeheartedly recommend.
  44. Nier is potential squandered. It has some great and not so great characters and enemies placed into an inconsistent world where large portions of your time are spent yawning as you travel through an RPG that has stagnated in a pit of ten year old Japanese RPGs and tries nothing new to make it a worthy purchase.
  45. Nier is ambitious and delightfully crass but hits too many lows and dull points to climb higher than it has. Definitely worth a look if the more original side of gaming is your thing. [Issue#60, p.99]
  46. Nier is a nice game, but its flawed design and dated graphics prevent an original idea to shine with its full potential.
  47. Thanks to a strong narrative and a relatively good concept, Nier is to be considered a decent addition to the PS3's and 360's RPG catalog. Although its visuals aren't surely breathtaking and its gameplay doesn't excel in terms of depth, the game will in fact manage to guarantee a likable experience to any fan of the genre.
  48. A peculiar game, which should mostly fascinate Drakengard fans and appeal to the most inquiring minds.
  49. Nier is definitely an ambitious game that tries to break away from Square Enix's traditional style, but it ultimately isn't up to the task. It's an acquired taste that doesn't go down easy.
  50. Ultimately, Nier is more remarkable for the things it does wrong than for the things it does right.
  51. Nier delivers all of the facets that make up a successful action role-playing game: fun combat, diverse characters, good voice-acting, and addictive quest mechanics. It just doesn't do any of them excellently.
  52. Great aural presentation and infrequent genre remixing aren't enough to save the game from mediocrity, though. Only Japanophiles nostalgic for the early aughts need apply.
  53. Overall, Nier has its ups and downs. There are brief moments where you can see the influence from more brilliant games, such as Zelda and Bayonetta, shining through, but the overall experience is lukewarm at its best moments.
  54. Rarely has a game straddled the line between brilliant and dismal as much as Nier has, and rarely has it made for such a difficult review.
  55. Not Nierly as much fun as we'd hoped. [July 2010, p.96]
  56. This dreary action role-playing game has its worthwhile moments, but they're separated by countless hours of fetch-quest tedium.
  57. Nier has a lot of interesting aspects to it, but none of them come together to make a cohesive experience. It feels like they are all fighting amongst each other and the product as a whole suffers for it.
  58. 45
    Nier wants too much and therefore fails. The gameplay is not challenging, the graphics are below standard and there is no originality whatsoever. So, just don't buy this game.
  59. The environments are practically lifeless, with poor textures and hardly any additional detail in the background, the characters are uninteresting, the narrative has been oversimplified and, finally, the hack'n'slash combat isn't different from the average generic console game we often see today.
  60. 42
    I'm just not convinced that this grab bag of half-baked ideas and gratuitous filler makes for a great videogame. And I learned something about myself, as well: It takes a lot more than sassy books and hermaphrodites to keep my interest these days.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite stories in video game history, I have never been impacted so strongly by a story before, this game has characters that you can really bond to and care about unlike many games where you don't really care whether they die or not. The second time you play through the game it gives you such a different look on everything, I have never wanted to just let a boss kill me in a game before because I felt so bad about what I was doing. The sound is amazing in this game, if you take the time to listen to the soundtrack it is one of the best I have ever experienced in a game. In-game the songs can get a little repetitive but when actually listened to in full they are beautifully written. This game may not have the best graphics but I do think they fit the setting well. The gameplay is pretty good, I never really found myself mad about the controls or anything and the boss fights are generally pretty fun. Yes, the fishing part was stupid as hell but if you get past that one part you are good to go the rest of the game. The replayabilty is pretty high I would say, if you want to get the full story at least play it quick a second time, it will change you feeling about the entire game and you only have to play the second half again. Overall this is a great game and deserves a much better score than it has. Don't listen to the bad ratings when a lot of them gave up after an hour at the fishing part, if you give this gem a chance you will be thoroughly glad you did! Full Review »
  2. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    Nier is one of those games that really catch you off guard. when I first started playing this game I was thoroughly let down. the opening sequence is, down right horrible. However, the game simply picks itself up and dusts itself off from this point on. overall the combat is simple but effective, the graphics are terrible, but it seems the game wouldn't look as nice with any other look. I know this doesn't really make sense, but it is the best way I can describe it. overall the story is pretty bland, but is certainly made up for with the amazingly unique characters. overall I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who is looking for something a little different from square enix's common formula. Full Review »
  3. Jul 8, 2013
    7
    Omg was this game a drop dead Emotional game.Its sad that the company that made this game was shutdown sadly I could see amazing games from them in Next gen if they where still around.This is a good game for Teen's and up. Full Review »