Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    Despite some smaller glitches Nike+ Kinect Training is one of the best latest Kinect titles. And even if a solid basic stamina is needed the extensive amount of exercises and the decent presentation.
  2. Dec 27, 2012
    78
    The wide variety of exercises will ensure you don't get bored. Recommended for the fitness enthusiast in your life.
  3. 77
    With a wide range of exercises, leaderboard challenges, and something for every fitness goal, I highly recommend this game to anyone looking for a challenging and rewarding workout in the comfort of their own home.
  4. 75
    If you're hoping to truly break into the higher tiers of fitness, as exemplified by the pro athletes who make video cameos during the game, you should seek real-life options instead. This one's best suited for NikeFuel addicts and people who just need motivation to work out.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    70
    It’s just potentially too hardcore for the curious, despite the multitude of pick-and-mix routines and athletics tests masquerading as minigames.
  6. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    It requires you to precisely repeat exercises it gives you but Kinect sometimes fails to read your movements correctly (I would say it works fine 66% of the time). [CD-Action 02/2013, p.71]
  7. 70
    Going through the motions. [Jan 2013, p.86]
  8. Jan 19, 2013
    70
    For the price of one personal training session, it's pretty good value. [Issue#93, p.83]
  9. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    Nike+ Kinect Training is not fun, and it's not supposed to be either. It takes training very seriously and does a great job of motivating you with a lot of good and demanding exercises. The presentation isn't great and the trainer gets out of sync sometimes when trying to correct you on something. Overall, this is still one of the best training programs available on Kinect. But it's just not a game.
  10. Nov 12, 2012
    70
    Nike+ Kinect Training is not a fun game, but then again, it was never meant to be about entertainment. It's a game that will push you to your limit and make you break down if you don't know what you're getting yourself into. It feels more realistic in routines and schedules than something like Your Shape, but lacks in presentation with an unresponsive user interface and poor objective and calorie counters.
  11. Nov 12, 2012
    60
    If you have the space and are already a Nike+ convert, Nike+ Kinect Training is a fantastic workout supplement, offering a diverse range of exercises, online functionality and a number of unique features. Unfortunately, occasional Kinect sensor issues ensure that while Nike+ Kinect Training is better than most fitness games on the market, it's still not a patch on getting out and joining a class, or simply going for a run.
  12. Nov 8, 2012
    60
    Another fitness-training title for Xbox 360 that won't give you the right reasons to use (again) your Kinect device.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    First off, you need a LOT of room for this - as you'll need to jump around a lot and do press-ups and all of that to get "Athlete Fit" (theFirst off, you need a LOT of room for this - as you'll need to jump around a lot and do press-ups and all of that to get "Athlete Fit" (the game says this quite a bit.) The impressive thing is how responsive it is - I did the Fitness Challenge and so did my wife, but we both got different things to do, and the trainer said he'd seen enough of one drill for me, but not for her - so it really is watching and deciding what you need - and what it needs to work out how good you are, what your balance is like etc. The assessment at the start is a bit of an intense introduction to the program, it came very close to utterly destroying me, but it gives me confidence that it really knows what's going on. It really was hardcore, and for a non-exerciser like me, a bit off-putting - but it makes total sense. If it doesn't push me to my limits then how will it know what I can do? Off the back of that we got a personalised program - my wife and I chose the same goal, but we both got different drills - so this thing is really adaptive - and for something that almost killed me, surprisingly fun. The menus are clean and simple, the feedback is generally good and the corrections when I get things a bit wrong are usually spot on - like telling me I'm leading with the wrong leg. Of course this is Kinect, so not everything is 100% rock solid - but that's what you expect in a Kinect game. As with most games you spend a lot of time with, the VO can get a little repetitive, but not so it's annoying.

    The first session is packed with tutorials for each drill, but if you've done it once you don't get it again, so the sessions start to flow better with time. You do get new drills each session (well, I have so far) so every so often you'll get taught the new moves and it feels varied and it's a nice change of pace when the tuts kick in. One last point - this is about as far from a game as you can get. It's not fluff like Wii Fit, or Your Shape. From what I've seen so far, it's a serious exercise program and I've got no doubt that if I can take it seriously and stick with it (fingers crossed, I'm such a slacker) then I'll see some decent results.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This is so much more than I was expecting. It starts you off with a completely exhausting, but wonderful fitness test that yields aThis is so much more than I was expecting. It starts you off with a completely exhausting, but wonderful fitness test that yields a surprisingly detailed evaluation of what you're good at and what needs the most work. From there it's nothing but encouragement, with a recommended workout schedule and exercises. Those workouts definitely wear you out, but there's an excellent mix of fun activities that keep it from being a slog. As someone who grew up going hiking and playing baseball but now mostly sits around programming and playing games, this is the first thing I've found in a long time that makes me feel like I'm really going to get back into shape. Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Nice addition to anybody's fitness tools, or as a way to get going on a fitness routine from your living room, love the personal touch withNice addition to anybody's fitness tools, or as a way to get going on a fitness routine from your living room, love the personal touch with the test at the start, and a total workout, not so much of a game, I was never this wasted on wii for sure. Could be too intense for some but I really enjoyed the on screen trainer personality correcting me on some moves and pushing me along.
    There are some neat exercises too, like avoiding walls of ice or glass. You can't cheat it much, seems to see everything, which could be a turnoff for some but I felt the Kinect was really watching my moves. Haven't tried the online features yet, not really my thing but overall really liking this so far.
    Full Review »