Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    May 28, 2013
    There's no actual reason for this. [June 2013, p.91]
  2. May 28, 2013
    The game is still enjoyable, taking down a metallic T-Rex and seeing those limbs fly off in all directions as your katana rips through an enemy’s body is extremely satisfying. The issue is that the game feels empty, soulless; Tecmo seem to have released it for the sole reason to generate additional revenue as they no doubt begin designing Ninja Gaiden 4.
  3. May 6, 2013
    Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge is a decent action game, but not quite at the level of recent DmC: Devil May Cry and Metal Gear Rising Revengance.
  4. May 1, 2013
    A marginally better game than its predecessor, Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor’s Edge is worthy of a rental but the development team are going to have to return to the drawing board if they hope to return the series to its former glory.
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    For as “action packed” and “feature laden” as it is, Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor’s Edge suffers from a lack of balance and will no doubt be a source of frustration for those who try to go against its painful grain.
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    Razor’s Edge manages to fix many of NG3's flaws, except the bad plot. Still not amongst the best action games of the last years and absolutely not up to par with the first two games in the series, it's however a pleasant experience for Ryu Hayabusa's fans.
  7. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Apr 23, 2013
    This is a weird mixture of good and bad. [Issue#97, p.75]
  8. 80
    Besides delivering the roots-respecting experience seasoned demon-slayers demanded, it’s brimming with enough replayability (via Chapter and Tests of Valor challenges, competitive Clan Battles, co-op Ninja Trials, and all of Ninja Gaiden 3’s DLC) to keep players butchering away long after the blood’s dried in the main campaign.
  9. Apr 11, 2013
    Razor’s Edge delivers more content and more gore compared to the original, but nonetheless the fearless Ryu Hayabusa is still miles away from his former self.
  10. 70
    Team Ninja has done everything to please fans short of making a brand new game, but despite its successes this too often feels like an awkward compromise.
  11. 82
    The game could have benefited in taking just a bit more from the structure of older games in the series.
  12. Apr 2, 2013
    A near pixel-perfect conversion from the same game found on Wii U about a couple of months ago. Frantic hack´n slash action.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Slightly more polished turd. That's what describe my feeling about this game. I bought both vanilla version of xbox and ps3 last year and was disgusted by it. I did the same thing for RE. They improved over the vanilla version but the unresponsive controls are still there, the disorienting zooming in camera, bad pacing bad level design too.
    After playing metal gear rising this game feels just weak. In MGSR I can actually feel in control of the action, if I died it was because i did nt responded fast enough on the controls or did a wrong move.
    In NG3RE if I die it's because an off screen enemy doing a cheap grab move. Or the main character did'nt not respond to my control input.
    The game is just not fun not challenging, it feels random and cheap.

    The ninja gaiden franchise was ruined by the new Team Ninja management.
    I own ninja gaiden xbox, ninja gaiden black xbox, ninja gaiden 2 xbox 360. Those titles will always be in my video game collection. Ninja Gaiden 3 RE does not deserve it's place in it.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 24, 2013
    I'm happy that Team Ninja at least TRIED to make it better, but to be honest, it doesn't justify another purchase or playthrough, even at aI'm happy that Team Ninja at least TRIED to make it better, but to be honest, it doesn't justify another purchase or playthrough, even at a discounted price.

    I really can't see what is so different other than a couple of new levels and some generally cheap difficulty.
    And before you say "You're just bad at the game", I have beaten Black, 2 and original three all on Master Ninja (ultimate ninja for 3 with dlc). More importantly I've beaten this game on all difficulties and yes, it's got some pretty cheap design.

    To me, this is actually less enjoyable than the vanilla version. Why? Because while 3 was dumbed down, incredibly boring and easy, this is the same game, with more weapons and ninpo that aren't very useful. The major difference here though,is that it's still very boring, but it's so incredibly frustrating for wrong reasons.

    The actual combat itself is the same, sure there are new weapons and ninpo but that's really it. From my experience, all they did was change the enemies so that the do way more damage and block most of your attacks unless you do something very specific to break their block. Same thing for the Reagent of the Mask. Just like in 3, he's really annoying.

    If you like Ninja Gaiden for it's actual challenge, don't buy this.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    This game is better than Ninja Gaiden 3, and that's not saying much. They added back the ultimate attacks, obliteration attacks and there areThis game is better than Ninja Gaiden 3, and that's not saying much. They added back the ultimate attacks, obliteration attacks and there are plenty of weapons to choose from. With that being said, the gameplay is still dull. This new Team Ninja doesn't have a clue as to what made previous Ninja Gaidens fun, yet challenging. This game throws you in a room and sends wave after waves of enemies all while enemies are in the back shooting rockets at you. Enemies won't attack you, they run behind you and spam grabs. This is the same thing that happened in the first one and it hasn't changed. Most of the bosses only damage you with throws. All in all, it is better than the first, but still, this game isn't fun. Wait until the price goes down, if you must have it. Full Review »